Geelong are officially gone

RoosterLad said:
After winning a couple of games they were supposed to back but got smashed by a group of hungry Roos today. From premiership favourites after winning the mickey mouse cup, now they wont even make the finals.

How funny is it?

Very

i agree, haha hilarious :D :eek: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Geelong were officially gone weeks ago. Until we sort out (read: slash n' burn) some MAJOR personnel/coaching anomalies, we're not in the race. The last few weeks were the offending players trying to impress enough not to be delisted, or at least be offered for a trade.

Not gone yet must win all last five games, however if they manage to make the finals they will only be making up numbers.

Overrated as a team compounded by a whinning coach who has run out of options.

RoosterLad said:
After winning a couple of games they were supposed to back but got smashed by a group of hungry Roos today. From premiership favourites after winning the mickey mouse cup, now they wont even make the finals.

How funny is it?

Very

Congrats on the Crowbots beating the Weagles yesterday :thumbsu:

JUBJUB said:
Congrats on the Crowbots beating the Weagles yesterday :thumbsu:

Minor hiccup. Got beaten by a team which were far better on the day and hungrier, its as if Woosha hadnt fed them all week. We are still top though and we have a bye next week.

But thanks for the congratulations now i must return the favour i guess, afterall i am a wonderful gentleman.

Congrats on backing up your preseason flag with a nice home and away season and an appearance in the finals. :thumbsu: :cool:

Why were we flag favourites in the first place? If I were a punter I would never have had us favourites ahead of the Swans, Crows or Eagles.

What had Geelong done to warrant such confidence? We did beat the team of 2005 on their turf to win the NAB but FFS it was the one great game we had played all preseason. We were indifferent in the wins against Carlton, North and Freo (in Vic). Sure the NAB GF was a good performance - coming back from four goals down, but we won by less than a kick (in NAB rules).

Perhaps the punters thought that in 2005 the Cats were only one kick off beating the eventual premiers at their homeground. They totally ignored the fact that we were lucky to beat Richmond a fortnight earlier and only finished sixth.

We had two 10 goal wins at KP in rounds 1 & 2 (Lions and Roos) but those victories were hardly like beating the Eagles at Subi.

What were the hell were the punters thinking?

List of gones:

Bomber Thompson
Steve Johnson
Kent Kingsley
Charlie Gardiner
Matthew McCarthy
Will Slade
James Kelly
Andrew Mackie

I might just be angry and disappointed, but these players have given me nothing this year. I used to be a big fan of SJ, but now I cant stand it when he gets near it. As for Bomber, bring in Cresswell, the only reason we got to the prelim in 2004. And some (most) of our players need to take their heads out of their proverbials and have a good hard look at themselves. Too cocky, not enough guts, not enough dedication to the jumper.

RoosterLad said:
Haha yes im heaps bitter.
Adelaide will play finals footy. Geelong wont.

Fact.

Yes Rooster. they may be in the finals, but will they crumble like they did yesterday when it matters???

what goes up, must and will come down...it would really suck to see ur team thats on top of the ladder lose the grand final, but i spose time will tell...

RoosterLad said:
How funny is it?
Very

Not as funny as a team who is being hailed as the geatest of all time and is still yet to win anything. I would hate to be a crows fan when (not if) they get knocked out of the finals.

ripitup27 said:
List of gones:

Bomber Thompson
Steve Johnson
Kent Kingsley
Charlie Gardiner
Matthew McCarthy
Will Slade
James Kelly
Andrew Mackie

I might just be angry and disappointed, but these players have given me nothing this year. I used to be a big fan of SJ, but now I cant stand it when he gets near it. As for Bomber, bring in Cresswell, the only reason we got to the prelim in 2004. And some (most) of our players need to take their heads out of their proverbials and have a good hard look at themselves. Too cocky, not enough guts, not enough dedication to the jumper.

Gee..so.. long ( yes I've mentoned it b4)

For such u being such an intelligent poster .. I feel your pain

You would have to arrange to give Mrs Cressa.. keys to the ..umm, sity...umm...smoke stack....

DUNNO where you lot go from here but wouldn't press for Cressa.. rejected < 10 games , seriously dissed Mrs....

best chance give GOD a job!

Jack-Packenham said:
Not as funny as a team who is being hailed as the geatest of all time and is still yet to win anything. I would hate to be a crows fan when (not if) they get knocked out of the finals.

We will be right mate.

Geelong are the ones who crumble on the big stage. 89,92,94,95 how embarrassing

RoosterLad said:
We will be right mate.

Geelong are the ones who crumble on the big stage. 89,92,94,95 how embarrassing

roosterboy, im just glad its adelaide and not NORTH adelaide your talking like this about. geez last thing i need is for a roosters supporter to start basking in glory before weve won anything.

if your crows dont win this years flag they will be sitting right along side those geelong sides you just mentioned; as spectacular failures. let saturdays loss just remind you theres still a lot of footy to be played here and you fellows still have some thinking to do.

in fact, it kinda reminds me of a thumping you fellows gave us over there late in 92, when we were on top of the ladder. that loss really took the wind out of our sails and we went on to lose the GF from there.

Jack-Packenham said:

hahaha seriously shutup. roosterlad is stating facts that geelong's season is over and you pounce onto the crows? do you honestly think geelong are a chance of getting to the finals? you don't do you? so roosterlad is right and you have a go at the crows - a completely irrelevent statement i might add.

now start preparing for 07.

diablo14 said:
roosterboy, im just glad its adelaide and not NORTH adelaide your talking like this about. geez last thing i need is for a roosters supporter to start basking in glory before weve won anything.

if your crows dont win this years flag they will be sitting right along side those geelong sides you just mentioned; as spectacular failures. let saturdays loss just remind you theres still a lot of footy to be played here and you fellows still have some thinking to do.

in fact, it kinda reminds me of a thumping you fellows gave us over there late in 92, when we were on top of the ladder. that loss really took the wind out of our sails and we went on to lose the GF from there.

umm why if the crows dont win the flag will we be 'spectacular failures' we got beaten by 14 goals by west coast, it shows we aren't invincible and the premiership cup is up for grabs.

Geelong are officially gone