Geelong are terrified of losing to the Pies!

Terrified? Nope, some of my friends that support the Cats have been going on about how they will "murder Collingwood" on Friday night.

I'm confident going into this match. The past couple of years we've been good enough to challenge Geelong for 2-3 quarters, but not enough to finish them off. This year, with the addition of Darren Jolly and Luke Ball, and the improvement of Dale Thomas, Sharrod Wellingham (who will hopefully be back for this match), Steele Sidebottom, Dayne Beams, Travis Cloke, and to a lesser extent, Chris Dawes, our team should be able to beat them.

Anyway, I haven't been this pumped for a match in a long time; I can't wait!

3 days, 3 hours, 25 minutes and 0 seconds remaining!:D

Loss means nothing to the Pies mentality. Don't see why a group of professionals would be concerned with what seems to be some form of mental disintergration we're going to suffer following a loss.

We're a mature, solid side who sits 1st on top of the ladder. A loss could potentially spur us on to a more determined assault on the cats later in the season.

Also, we're not even half-way through the season. It's actually quite possible that if we finish top 4 (which we likely will), we could win straight through to the prelim and not even face Geelong in the final series if they get knocked out.

I reckon the thread title should actually be "Saints are terrified of the Cats losing to the Pies."

If we beat the Cats they go down yet another rung on the "relevance" ladder.
God help them if we win and Luke Ball stars.:eek::eek:

Like Lemmings they'll be.

Disagree...there is huge pressure on Geelong to prove they are still the goods. They hate not being top of the ladder. Collingwood has nothing to lose.

[ Fair Enough and You guys don't have to win to prove yourself while we do. Well the Saints should of beaten you but there bad Kicking let them down like you guys in the 08 GF vs Hawks ]

Why is there huge pressure on Geelong to prove they're still the goods ...... unless I'm mistaken the Cats have played in three consecutive grand finals and won 2 of them. One by a record margin - the other by 2 goals in a low scoring match in wet conditions. What more do we have to prove.

All I heard pre season was that the cats were too old - too slow - no more motivation. Please guys - a bit of respect. Pies are coming up against the best team in the last 3-4 years and quite possibly (purely on win loss ratio and 3 consecutive gf appearences - one of the best ever. The side boasts 2 brownlow medallists - numerous all australian players - best and fairest winners etc etc ................

PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHY WE ARE UNDER ANY PRESSURE

As for Collingwood having nothing to lose ------ PLEASE ! Pies have everything to lose. Look at St Kilda last year ..... runners up and everyone said their time would be 2010 ....... looks like they might have missed out on a chance. It's all about the NOW and Collingwood have everything to lose.

Which side is under more pressure - clearly Collingwood.

Sorry if I came off as "abbrasive" or like a Hawks supporter before guys.

Seriously, I think we can all agree that's the biggest insult anyone can call another on BF.

Didn't wanna come on your board and throw mud or seem arrogant.

Just saying how I thought it was. I enjoy a good bit of discussion, and TBH, after seeing different teams' boards I like Pies supporters' style on BF. Most seem to be pretty level-headed and know where their team's at.

Good luck this week guys, hope it's a beauty on Friday.

Win or lose this week, I have a feeling we'll not only see each other again in R19, but later this year also. Should be massive!

Sorry if I came off as "abbrasive" or like a Hawks supporter before guys.

Seriously, I think we can all agree that's the biggest insult anyone can call another on BF.

Didn't wanna come on your board and throw mud or seem arrogant.

Just saying how I thought it was. I enjoy a good bit of discussion, and TBH, after seeing different teams' boards I like Pies supporters' style on BF. Most seem to be pretty level-headed and know where their team's at.

Good luck this week guys, hope it's a beauty on Friday.

Win or lose this week, I have a feeling we'll not only see each other again in R19, but later this year also. Should be massive!

Cheers. Obviously there is still some style in the Geelong posting camp.:thumbsu:

Meh, everyone can talk about the pressure being on us to prove something etc. however we match up very well vs the Cats and the only time they have blown us out of the water was last year's prelim.

I go into the Geelong games very confident and just take a look at the magnitude of our victories in the last two times we managed to beat them from the six starts- when it rains, it pours.

Anyone thinking the pressure is on Geelong is dreaming.

We're top of the ladder
We're the side trying to cement ourselves in the top 4
We're the side trying to gain respect as a genuine flag threat
We're the side who has been spanked by them the last 4 times (including a final and 1 night final)
We lose top spot even if we lose by a little bit

I fail to see how it ISN'T us under pressure.

Because it's round 9, and at the end of the day, we play each other at least once more this year, and a loss to either team isn't going to be the end of any premiership chance, no matter what anyone says.

We could lose to Geelong by 10 goals this week, and still win the flag, that is the way football goes.

I don't think either clubs players, coaches and staff are feeling any particular pressure this week, it is just another home and away game, no bigger then last week, no bigger in crowd or TV audience then ANZAC Day, and in the end all the winner gets is 4 points.

Pressure is created by the media and supporters, most players ignore these 2 outlets leading up to a big match, and I see this week as being no different.

I think if anything, we can place immense pressure on the rest of the competition if both sides this week play a game similar to the StKilda/Geelong home and away game last year, that showed the league how far they were ahead of everyone else.

Expect a cracker, it will be one of the best home and away games you could ever wish to witness.

Karma's A Bitch Geelong

wow im amazed at the cockiness of all the geelong supporters!!
they dont realise if they lose they are back in the rack on the ladder, and the fact that they can lose to collingwood doesnt really matter!!

hope it all goes wrong somewhere cause once the bubble is burst cats fans, its all downhill from here!! not much young talent there for the future........

Anyone thinking the pressure is on Geelong is dreaming.

We're top of the ladder
We're the side trying to cement ourselves in the top 4
We're the side trying to gain respect as a genuine flag threat
We're the side who has been spanked by them the last 4 times (including a final and 1 night final)
We lose top spot even if we lose by a little bit

These who is who isn't under pressure discussions pop up almost inevitably before big games.
I'd be happy that Collingwood are under pressure. They need practice under pressure and need to make a habit of winning under pressure.
The reality is however that Hawthorn and Richmond are under far more pressure.

Re: Karma's A Bitch Geelong

i agree they are cocky, but seriously, they have every right to be. They should expect their team to win most matches... but should not take it for granted.

They will not be this good forever, let them soak it up, i hope their bubble bursts soon, this year soon.

These who is who isn't under pressure discussions pop up almost inevitably before big games.
I'd be happy that Collingwood are under pressure. They need practice under pressure and need to make a habit of winning under pressure.
The reality is however that Hawthorn and Richmond are under far more pressure.

Thats right. Meaningless when fans talk about but when coaches do it then its another kettle of fish.

In the lead up to the prelim, Malthouse came out and said all the pressure was on Geelong. Rubbed my hands withe glee because knew at that moment Collingwood realised they couldn't beat geelong.

Voss did the same v Dogs the week before - and got a similiar result.

While I would welcome it, doubt Malthouse will come out with that stuff again this time round.

Funny what two premierships, three grand finals and 3 minor premierships in a three year period will do to a team :rolleyes:

They have every right to be cocky, just because we are on top doesn't mean we'll win so in that respect you shouldn't get too cocky.

theyre not cocky, theyre confident (fine line if there is one lol)

but seriously they have every right to be. i actually like the cats. unlike the saints, the blues etc they deserve to be successful, they never bottomed out, yes they got lucky with a few father sons but surely you cant hate them for that. they play a fantastic brand of footy.

the pies are very much in the running for the flag, but if something went wrong and we we'rent in the grand final i'd probably be rooting for cats to go back to back

something you must know about me, i do have soft spots for other teams and cant be too angry at them, like cats, west coast.. i dont know who else. actually it would make me happy to see tigers successful

of course none of this would be at the expense of the pies

im rambling

After winning 2 premierships they're rightly nonchalant about H&A games. Afterall they lost to the Saints last year and what did it mean in the end? Geelong will be right up there at the end of the season, make no mistake and their supporters know it, whether they win or lose this game.

I actually think the majority of Geelong posters are humble when compared to what Hawthorn and St Kilda posters came up with in the last few years.

How you can not like the Cats? They are great for our game. If St.Kilda had of won last year all teams would be employing full on floods etc which are as boring as a Ross Lyon interview.. The Cats showed to back yourself and beat the opposition si the way to go.

As has been said, they have every right to be cocky given what they have achieved.

The Ctas haven't bottomed out/tanked, poached players from other clubs (outside Ottens) and have developed the rest of their talent. This is the way footy clubs should be run.

Will be a great game.

The fact of the matter though is that reputation counts for squat come September. Just ask Brisbane in 2004.

Geelong have had a great reign however must be asking themselves whether they have enough in them for one more. Can they get the threepeat? Will Collingwood be the team to knock them off their perch?

But this game won't decide that. It may give an indication to what will happen in September but there is a long way to go before then. Can't wait!

wow im amazed at the cockiness of all the geelong supporters!!
they dont realise if they lose they are back in the rack on the ladder, and the fact that they can lose to collingwood doesnt really matter!!

hope it all goes wrong somewhere cause once the bubble is burst cats fans, its all downhill from here!! not much young talent there for the future........

I'm not saying we have as much young talent as you guys have, but we must have some young talent at the Cattery, since we just dished out Brisbane's biggest losing margin at the Gabba with Corey, Rooke, Ottens, Kelly, and dare I say Podsiadly, all missing through injury. Hogan, Selwood, Duncan, Hawkins and Varcoe all did pretty well I thought. ;)

Anyhow, best of luck for Friday night. Should be an absolute ripper. :thumbsu:

Geelong are terrified of losing to the Pies!