GDFL Geelong & District Football League - 2010

great win roos sure devils might not be the strongest at the moment but its a start, 4 points is 4 points:thumbsu:

absolutely.

hats off to the Roo's:thumbsu:

really don't know why i didn't tip them, i had a very strong feeling they'd get up.

couple of blockbusters this weekend

Bannockburn v Inverleigh (always a good battle no matter what position they are on the ladder, but right now they are two of the in form teams in the comp)

Werribee v Bell Post Hill (the Centurions are ready to take the next step IMO after seeing their form against Thomson. Taking on one of the league powerhouses this weekend. Will love the fact it's at home. should be a corker!)

Anyone else find it comical that East Geelong players, who wore the "Just Think" campaign jumpers on the weekend, were in a pretty firey all in brawl against Bannockburn on Saturday?

certainly don't know what was up on the weekend with the Eagles.

they really crumbled under pressure and were making very uncharacteristic errors and decisions. Skrob was pretty filthy with his boys by the looks of it and rightly so. Feel very sorry for North Geelong this week, they'll be facing a side breathing fire :p

loving the new look Bannockburn side though:thumbsu:

who was the rocket scientist who tried to pay a free kick in the East Geelong senior game for a defender trying to rush a behind, he must have been dropped from the AFL. Then sent the player off for telling him he was wrong. Who should have been sent off ? Who was wrong ? Suppose the Geelong Umps didn't see this one yet again

That was honestly close the most embarrasing thing i've ever seen on the football field.

Mark Vetter (although i can understand his frustration) should have kept his cool though, he was having a dog of a day as it was and i think it all just boiled over with that incident.

I tell you what, is there a player who has matured more in Geelong Footy over the last few years than Skrob? Few years ago he was losing his cool and getting sent off (probably costing) his team a Grand Final and lost his coaching registration. Has been arguably spotless ever since he got it back. Has a really good grasp on his emotions now and the way he handled that particular incident on the weekend (telling his players to go away so he could talk in a civil manner to the umps) was top notch. Was only worried about where the football was when the brawl erupted (not sure the Skrob of old would have done the same).

Terrific choice to coach the Interleague side IMO.

The point of the rule Vinny is to reduce rushed behinds. Take your beef up with the rule makers.

Yeah, but it's only an AFL rule.

Got nothing to do with the rule makers. Everybody know's it's not a rule in local footy, surely it's reasonable to assume that an umpire would as well for goodness sake!?

The umpire had no idea what he was doing and was trying to stamp his own influence on the game (the worst kind of umpiring IMO).

Point taken Bourky. I was seeing if there was any fish biting (particularly finnigans) over there at the Ballerine & I agree with you 100%. All the way. However, the only defence the umpire could claim is that everything else AFL the local leagues adopt in a blink of an eye. & I'm not particulary talking about the umpires fashion that all local comps picked up from the AFL immediately & were no doubt the creation of some wet lettuce N by NE of a day spa in Daylesford. I'm talking about the rules that were introduced for AFL bodies & the AFL standard that do not belong in backyard kick to kick competitions. Fair dinkum when the AFL farts the local competitions shit themselves.

In all seriousness steveo to you agree with rules that AFL have implemented that have found there way down to local footy ie- Hands in the back,holding the ball and now more than likely the rushed point will be introduced?

Im not umpire bashing on this one steveo as I know they're just interpreting rules given to them by the AFL but in my opinion these interpretations will ruin local footy just like its ruined the AFL

No I don't Tim. My point is exactly as you say. The local comps are far too quick in adopting AFL rules designed for AFL bodies, AFL pace & AFL grounds. Whether the rules have ruined the AFL is debateable but to introduce them to local comps is ludicrous - like introducing F1 rules to Go Carting.

Yeah i agree Bourky,Werribee will be hard to beat down at the duck pond.probably win by close to ten goals id reckon.even more depending on whether calbert and schembri were to play.Brendan Chugg in great form,watching him lately reminds me of how he ran around four or five years ago.no surprise that the coach finally stuck him in the guts or thereabouts anyway and the team gets the best out of him.I think from memory last year he was stuck down back while snails like Iordanis and foote and montgomery were slowing down the midfield.Thumbs up to coach of werribee for changing things up this year.Also Kitchen is going to be hard to stop now he has another goal scoring machine by his side. Looks like a super year for the boys down the highway.Centrals by by over 39.5 for mine.

duno who does the best players for north geelong, but the fact that braydee watts was in there after turning the ball over nearly every time he got it, and the fact that young szponar gave him an absolute bath beats me.

cant say i was at that game but if your talking about lachlan szponar that young kid can play, ive watched him in the 2nds at bell park on many of occasions. Actually a little shocked in hearing that hes now playing at east geelong. How much money does that club have?

Also in reference to watts on the occasions that ive seen north geelong, he comes across as a very confident kind of bloke, was it him, schwennesen or fitzsimmons that won there best and fairest last year. all were pretty consistent in my opinion

cant say i was at that game but if your talking about lachlan szponar that young kid can play, ive watched him in the 2nds at bell park on many of occasions. Actually a little shocked in hearing that hes now playing at east geelong. How much money does that club have?

He's related to the O'Learys somehow I think, Pretty sure that's why he went there.

lachlan, the red head. related to shaun o'leary? he played pretty well, bit too smart for the north defence. mathiesen played on someone else. no idea who won the best and fairest last year for north.

He is the O'leary's cousin, played juniors at the club befor going to Bell Park. His father was also on the coaching panel in the past. Has returned to the club with his brother.

Great come back by north. Terrible first 3 quarters but enormous effort in the 4th and gave the boys a real scare in the end.

BPH has been anything but impressive so far this year. really disappointing in the two games i've seen them play this year.

They'll win, that's a given. but if they play the same inconsistent quarterly football that they have been then the margin won't be that impressive.

However, I think something may click this weekend and it'll be a bloodbath.

Panthers by...

ALOT