GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

heard from reliable sources that David Johnson is about to sign on as Bell Park Assistant for a year to get in some experience b4 heading to the Gold Coast. And that Kane Tenance is also on the verge of joining him if Johnson signs and no one picks him up in the draft!!

There would be 10 solid clubs in Geelong having a fair dinkum crack at talking to D Johnson. North Shore with Riccardi as coach and GWSP with his girlfriend playing netball there for the past 5 years would be just as good a chance at enticing Johnson as anyone else. The old 'Assistant Coach' line seems to get guys across the line every season. Wouldn't surprise me that if Johnson was keen on a development role at GC or GFC next season that he would jump on board a developing club rather than an established one. Whoever gets his signature, they will have done well to recruit a guy with what; 50-100 games experience who has retired 3 or 4 years too early. As far as Tenace goes; well, we'll believe he plays local footy when we see it. Lives in Melbourne, would more than likely play VFL or GFL equivalent up that way would think; or return to Shepparton (which is not that far away) and play for Shepp in a good comp. Good money in SANFL at present also.

From what I understand Ben Raidme is highly rated by Dale Amos at Geelong..and has the ability/temperament to go on..
Not sure about the GCoast thing tho'
St joeys have moved to 2010 premiership favourites

From what I understand Ben Raidme is highly rated by Dale Amos at Geelong..and has the ability/temperament to go on..
Not sure about the GCoast thing tho'
St joeys have moved to 2010 premiership favourites

Why is it inconceivable that Raidme would go to Gold Coast? From what i know, he was 2nd in the VFL Round/Fothergill Medal and Gold Coast playing VFL in 2010. So therefore, he would be playing in a comp he has already played in underneath the watchful gaze of AFL coaches. If he's not up to their standards, they would move him on. If you were on the GC recruiting committee, why wouldn't you recruit a bloke who's played against men for the past three years and was runner-up in rookie of the year honours in the 2nd or 3rd best comp outside of the AFL.

I agree Ben has the talent and would make a safe bet for the gold coast..I just doubt the integirty of the information that he is in talks with them.
Geez you know a lot about Ben Raidme...

The guy i no from north shore said the word around the club was they were takin to jonson as well and were a good chance to get him. A bit of money still to be spent out their way is what he was saying. Can anyone else confim this.

Have heard that Dan Gibbs has accepted an assistant coaching role at Nth Shore next year.

Why is it inconceivable that Raidme would go to Gold Coast? From what i know, he was 2nd in the VFL Round/Fothergill Medal and Gold Coast playing VFL in 2010. So therefore, he would be playing in a comp he has already played in underneath the watchful gaze of AFL coaches. If he's not up to their standards, they would move him on. If you were on the GC recruiting committee, why wouldn't you recruit a bloke who's played against men for the past three years and was runner-up in rookie of the year honours in the 2nd or 3rd best comp outside of the AFL.

speaking of D Amos, a VFL player this year was told via SMS that he wasn't playing that weekend, that was from the horses mouth. Fairly unprofessional I would have thought.

those things are often done at the last minute as they always rely on the afl blokes who may or may not come up, i know of blokes that have been told on the friday night beforehand so wouldnt surprise me at all... a lot of blokes have to work as well meaning their preferred mode would probably be a text so i think you are really making mountains out of molehills with that one doggah...

...bit of coach stuff flying around at moment...Grovedale about to announce a new coach from Hamilton or somewhere up that way...St Albans embarrassed about their appointment...Rumblings about coaches of two other teams....players not happy at the technical ramblings of one..and committee not completely at ease with the other..Anyone else hearing this..Who is the Grovey coach?

well if you mentioned the names of the clubs someone might be able to help you out...

Harvey Lang from Warrack Eagles coaching Grovedale!

yes it is and was posted on here some time ago...

they are in talks with johnson but i'd imagine a few clubs would be! he is definately not over the line but will let everyone know if it happens...

hadnt heard anything about tenace but you are right, getting both of them would be a costly exercise...
i reckon johnston would go ok, but tenace would struggle when he has to find his own ball. we arent talking about selwood here

Harvey Lang from Warrack Eagles coaching Grovedale!
No way hose, harvey lang coaching grovedale. He would be the most overrated coach going around, just ask him how good he really is. Why would warrack eagles get rid of him after he got them to a grand final. He got them fit ,yes,they performed admirally in the grand final but the standard of the comp is overrated, only one team any good and that is horsham, winning the last 6 or 7 premierships on the trot. He is still based in horsham, is he moving to geelong? Grovedale you have been sucked in. Its all about the cash with harv.

so, by that, amos not qualified to coach geelong seconds, sutterby not good enough to coach gfl. a good coach is a good coach

if go longer is referring to my comments, i dont know amos or sutterbys records, i know how harvey lang operates. Has he been a premiership coach ? maybe but dont think so. Maybe his successful record is in his own mind.

Have heard rumblings about Harris at Lara - and this contributing to the rumours of Sleeman wanting out to Ammo's... (works with T.Robertson). If they lost him that would be a huge loss.