Geelong on the top shelf for AFL premierships

I just want that fourth.

Come onnnn.

Four flags over Freo means I'll never see the day a Freo supporter can say to me, "yeah but we have more flags man".

Other than that, this conversation is ridiculous, it's like the club you support and how successful they've been is somehow a reflection of how much of an awesome football person you are.

Good to see where your priorities lay :thumbsu:

I know beating Freo is all that matters these days but seriously, give it a rest :eek:

years in competition divided by premierships won is the best way to compare clubs that have been in the competition for different periods.

essendon/carlton = 7.125
collingwood = 7.6
west coast = 8
hawthorn = 8.6

and so on... not perfect, but better than the alternative.

years in competition divided by premierships won is the best way to compare clubs that have been in the competition for different periods.

essendon/carlton = 7.125
collingwood = 7.6
west coast = 8
hawthorn = 8.6

Too barmy to include Port ?

essendon/carlton = 7.125
collingwood = 7.6
west coast = 8
hawthorn = 8.6

Essendon actually 7.0625

Have played 113 seasons to Carlton/Collingwood's 115 due to not participating in a couple of war years.

Brisbane have the best ratio with 5... unless you want to argue the Bears argument, in which case it's the same as WCE.

Everyone is on 0 next year.

The game became a truly national competition when GWS joined.

You can stick your VFL/ pre GWS 'AFL' premierships where the sun don't shine.

Classic Big Footy thread.

I'd rate this as one of the "Big Four" of "Big Footy" threads...

Anyway.

Is there anyone who wants to argue that pre 1908 doesn't count because of no tigers?

Or pre 1925 doesn't count because no Hawks, North or Dogs?

The national competition started in 1982 when the Swans moved to Sydney.

1987 was an important year with two new clubs (the Eagles and the Bears). The two major equalisation policies came into effect with the National Draft (late 1986) and the Salary Cap started in 1987.

In 1990, the only thing of any significance is that the competition's name was changed to the AFL (Australian Football League).

In 1991, we finally got an Adelaide team in the comp.

In 1994, Fremantle joined.

In 1997, Port joined.

In 2011, Gold Coast joined.

In 2012, GWS will join.

Sometime in the future, we could have a Tasmanian team so that every state has a team.

Sometime in the future, we could have a NZ team and then rebrand the competition so it's the (AFL) Australasian Football League.

The VFL vs AFL argument doesn't make sense unless you reset after each new club enters.

What nonsense. It only needs to be done once - when they stopped engraving the cups Victorian Football League and started engraving them Australian Football League.

There is a definitive difference there you know. A line in the sand that is simple to delineate, just check the engraving on the front of the cup you want to add to your tally and ones with "Victorian" on them are from a state league and dont count.

Blah blah same thing. One became the other. Whatever. histrionic circle jerk.

Referring to my wonderful post above.

Is there anyone who wants to argue that 1989 doesn't count, but 1990 does because of a name change.

Are they also happy to argue that 1990 onwards counts now, but won't really count if a NZ team joins and they call it the Australasian Football League.

Anyone want to argue that 1991 onwards counts because all states are represented (except whoops we've forgotten Tassie) so maybe nothing counts yet?

It's laughable when <20 year olds talk about their side's great premiership tallies though. Winning flags and building up dynasties in the modern era is not only much more difficult than it was 20+ years ago, it's also much more meaningful in this day and age.

Who really gives a toss how many flags your club bought/was gifted through ridiculous zones.

Hey just relax - there is a world when State comps reigned & Port Adelaide is the standout, a long gone world of wall to wall Tigers fans, Saints, Bulldogs etc with those who came in late (apologies to Mr Walker) ie the Dockers.

Then the VFL was all powerful ($s) but went broke & sent Souths to Sydney, then they needed an injection from elsewhere, stuff the WAFL, stuff WA fans money is needed, & those players mean we dont need those duds from the VFA ... and Q give us the money to feed our apetite for the mighty $ ... more $,$s more. Get those Croweaters they've got money & the only good players not in our comp/hell, we cant develop our own talent ... then the best players began playing in one comp ... then more teams were introduced & the best players wre playing lesser talents .. then one underage team got a gig, then another one .. circa 2012.

Why have the Melbourne teams been bypassed, cos there are too many teams, too few good players, too few sponsors & too few Vic bums on seats, so they chase pensioners purses via the pokies. Class act !!

I also like the DVD tally.

We have 10 Premiership DVDs where you can watch the entire Grand Final.

So if a Hawthorn supporter needed some cheering up after losing the Preliminary Final, they could select one of 10 Grand Final victories to watch

In comparison Collingwood have a "box set" of 2 victories.

Seriously, if anyone had really given a stuff about the 1958 Grand Final they would've kept a copy wouldn't they?

Really each club should base the success on when they entered, so well done Eagles.
Premierships are always more impressive when there are more teams in it. 1916 Fitzroy wins 2 games for the year in a 4 team comp and win a flag as they were to poor to fight in a war.
Surely clubs that won flags in the war years and never took a year off should have an * next to their name.

So if a Hawthorn supporter needed some cheering up after losing the Preliminary Final, they could select one of 10 Grand Final victories to watch

Seriously, if anyone had really given a stuff about the 1958 Grand Final they would've kept a copy wouldn't they?

I'm glad all of North Melbourne's premierships are in decent film quality. It must suck to have no idea how the game went when your club won a flag in the early 1900s.

58 would be b&w, like how many Hawks in the provincial/local/yokel era?

Essendon actually 7.0625

Have played 113 seasons to Carlton/Collingwood's 115 due to not participating in a couple of war years.

Brisbane have the best ratio with 5... unless you want to argue the Bears argument, in which case it's the same as WCE.

There is no "Bears" argument.

Official AFL policy as stated in the official AFL Record Season Guide is that Brisbane is one continuous entity for statistics and records from 1987.

You are entitled to an opinion that this should not be so, however you are not entitled to your own facts.

Why is it that whenever I see 'this thread' it is always started by an Eagles supporter? Kind of makes me embarrassed actually :eek:

Trust a west coast supporter to come up with a thread like this. All my mates in Perth would always bring this up.
West Coast have gone alright so far (talk with Collingwood fans about early success), but the initial team that won the first two premierships was virtually a state of origin team with 10 times the budget of anyone else. With the resources available they should have won 4 or 5 in a row. West Coast were way ahead in regards to running a club in the national competition, especially because they didn't have tradition weighing them down.
Anyway this is a load of crap claim, in 5 years time Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon, North and Carlton could all join the magic three club.

The reason for all these threads i think is simply Victorian ignorance and a claim to national titles that never existed before whatever year you decide the game was truly national.

Before the year 1987 there was 3 major state Football leagues. the VFL, the WAFL and the SANFL.

If you played in any one of those leagues you were deemed to be playing first tier league football without dispute.

At no stage before the year 1987 did anyone of those leagues play for the title of national champions, no club in those 3 leagues ever won that title Ever, Did you hear me? they never ever won that title.

So why is it so hard for Victorians to simply admit that pre 1987 which was when the Eagles and the Bears jouined the VFL that all titles before hand were simply Victorian State league titles? Why is this accurate fact so hard for you guys to admit to? Why is it you think that in 1984 Essendon won the National football league title which did not exist?

We all know the VFL grew into the AFL, we all know this. But stop pretending you won AFL flags when you didn't.

Just come out and say you won a VFL flag, a state league title and these threads will stop.

We all accept the VFL became the AFL, we all accept that you can count your flags, but count them for what they are as the AFL do, VFL/AFL flags.

The AFL distinguish them because they are different, not to appease anyone, not to be smart, but because they are simply different titles. Yes won in an ongoing growing comp but vastly different titles.

If Collingwood won in 1922 and to be honest I have no idea whether they did or not, then it was a victorian suburban league comp, if any collingwood supporter seriously thinks that was a national football title then seriously you have to question the intelligence.

VFL was suburban Football, AFL is national football. It is not rocket science.

It is the Victorians who are the only ones who seem to fail at accepting this. yet keep blaming the interstaters. Wake up Victoria, a VFL flag is different than an AFL flag. Same comp but different titles.

Why is this an issue for you guys?

58 would be b&w, like how many Hawks in the provincial/local/yokel era?

58 would be b&w would it? Can I borrow your copy of the 1958 Grand Final? We're all fresh out...

Well 1961 and 1971 were both in B&W, but the other 8 are all in colour.

I suppose 1992 and 1994 don't count because they weren't in widescreen :rolleyes:

The reason for all these threads i think is simply Victorian ignorance and a claim to national titles that never existed before whatever year you decide the game was truly national.

Before the year 1987 there was 3 major state Football leagues. the VFL, the WAFL and the SANFL.

If you played in any one of those leagues you were deemed to be playing first tier league football without dispute.

At no stage before the year 1987 did anyone of those leagues play for the title of national champions, no club in those 3 leagues ever won that title Ever, Did you hear me? they never ever won that title.

So why is it so hard for Victorians to simply admit that pre 1987 which was when the Eagles and the Bears jouined the VFL that all titles before hand were simply Victorian State league titles? Why is this accurate fact so hard for you guys to admit to? Why is it you think that in 1984 Essendon won the National football league title which did not exist?

We all know the VFL grew into the AFL, we all know this. But stop pretending you won AFL flags when you didn't.

Just come out and say you won a VFL flag, a state league title and these threads will stop.

We all accept the VFL became the AFL, we all accept that you can count your flags, but count them for what they are as the AFL do, VFL/AFL flags.

The AFL distinguish them because they are different, not to appease anyone, not to be smart, but because they are simply different titles. Yes won in an ongoing growing comp but vastly different titles.

If Collingwood won in 1922 and to be honest I have no idea whether they did or not, then it was a victorian suburban league comp, if any collingwood supporter seriously thinks that was a national football title then seriously you have to question the intelligence.

VFL was suburban Football, AFL is national football. It is not rocket science.

It is the Victorians who are the only ones who seem to fail at accepting this. yet keep blaming the interstaters. Wake up Victoria, a VFL flag is different than an AFL flag. Same comp but different titles.

Why is this an issue for you guys?

There's plenty of eagles and crows fans who like to argue that 1987, 1988 and 1989 flags "don't count"...

Hawthorn entered the competition late and we're slowly catching the teams at the top. The Pies used to have 13 more than us... now we're within 5.

You're already well past the Saints and Dogs and are hot on the tail of the Swans and Roos...

I think the best way to compare clubs is to each other. Are Richmond better than West Coast because they have more premierships? No because since West Coast came in they have won 0 and Eagles have won 3. But Port/eagles each team has won 1 SINCE they have been in the competition together. I didn't even care when Freo supporters said we had won shit all since they came in because it was true until 2006. You can argue wins and losses or percentage or top 4 finishes or whatever - but when it comes down to it there is one trophy - everything else is relatively meaningless.

You could most definitely make a case for Geelong and Brisbane being more succesful than West coast. Maybe Hawthorn, maybe Port as well but come on, Richmond? Melbourne?

Please...

Geelong on the top shelf for AFL premierships