Geelong rorting the system

All 2 of them.

Dangerfield and Cameron are it, really.

We got Ablett back after he’d played 17 seasons; still a decent player but not exactly prime Judd or, well, Ablett, was it.

And we’ve now got Bailey Smith who’s being treated like royalty: in reality he’s a kid coming off an ACL who’s never made an AA squad let alone a team.

Unless you’re going to toss up names like workmen such as Tuohy as being guns, it’s not exactly a roll call of stars we’ve drafted is it. It’s just two greats and a bunch of decent players, really.

All one of them then cos Patty did all the arrangements for his move himself, Wells and Co had little or nothing to do because Patrick had informed AFC of his intentions 12 months before he left. He'd got his house almost built, we all knew he was coming back to Airey's, all GFC had to do was meet the obligations Patty had arranged with the Crows. He was never staying in Adelaide (despite what the SA press may have been saying about him being happy to stay) he had enjoyed his time in SA but he was determined to come home and to start his family and NO OTHER CLUB was ever in the race....it wasn't even a race, he was gonna do what he was gonna do (and if you know anything of the lad you'll know that once he's made up his mind), well lets just say...Geelong didn't have to do anything to arrange that trade.

Nah, that's how we got Jack Darling to begin with.

He's also had the rumours about Langer's daughter, that got shut down quickly.

WCE know how to close ranks.
Rort brothers.

High Five Way To Go GIF by Veep HBO

Define "huge"?

In the past decade they got
1) Dangerfield who was a Moggs Creek boy, basically bled Geelong
2) Jezza who was a Pies supporter but wanted to live on a farm and raise his kid there.

That's it, the others who joined were either young kids from Geelong area like Tanner Bruhn or Ollie Henry who hadn't proven anything up to that point. Bruhn was getting plonked in the forward line out of position at GWS and Henry was playing VFL for half a the season because he got replaced by Ash Johnson who himself got yeeted out back to VFL as well....

Or do you mean guys who were already over the hill/crapped on by oppo fans?
Rhys Stanley, Jack Steven, Mitch Clark, Gary Rohan, Shaun Higgins, Luke Dahlhaus etc.

Wouldn't call any of the above list outside Danger nearly a decade ago and Jezza 5 years ago as 'Huge"
Majority of Cats insane ability has been on Wells and Mackie nailing internal hits on unknown or unheralded players.

Holmes, Blicavs, Stewart, Miers, Dempsey, Humphries, Close, Mannagh, Zuthrie, SDK, Atkins etc. etc.

None of the above were superstars coming in.

Sorry but Ollie got played in the reserves because he would not engage with the club over "normal contract extension talks" and was making it pretty obvious that he was never going to sign an extension with the Pies, leaving himself available to head "home" (45 minutes down the highway). His move home was carefully orchestrated by the players management via GFC's recruiting department. They then played the "wants to be traded home card" for "family reasons" and got themselves a first round draft choice that had been chosen and then developed by CFC only to be hijacked by the Cats. When Graham Wright suggested that Geelong cough up their "first rounder" for Henry despite their already underhand tactics in obtaining the lad, GFC traded out their first round pick prior to Wright being able to keep on asking for it. In the end Wright wrangled Tom Mitchell from the Hawks, via a three way deal that cost the GFC another first round draft choice (who never did anything at Hawthorn), Geelong got Henry, Hawks got a mid off their books and Collingwood won the flag with Mitchell playing a large hand in the result.

Ollie Henry could have been part of that Premiership, had he not sooked and gone home to mum.
He was not dropped for Ash Johnson, Johnson came in when Ollie's real reason for not wanting a contract extension became apparent.

He'd got his house almost built,
Not the right timeline. He bought a house in Moggs around the time he was leaving.
It was rebuilt during covid.

I know as a mate worked on the electrics at his place as well as a renovation of BT's place in Lorne both during covid.

Define "huge"?

In the past decade they got
1) Dangerfield who was a Moggs Creek boy, basically bled Geelong
2) Jezza who was a Pies supporter but wanted to live on a farm and raise his kid there.

That's it, the others who joined were either young kids from Geelong area like Tanner Bruhn or Ollie Henry who hadn't proven anything up to that point. Bruhn was getting plonked in the forward line out of position at GWS and Henry was playing VFL for half the season because he got replaced by Ash Johnson who himself got yeeted out back to VFL as well....

Or do you mean guys who were already over the hill/crapped on by oppo fans?
Isaac Smith (who while very good everyone said was old as dirt), Rhys Stanley, Jack Steven, Mitch Clark, Gary Rohan, Shaun Higgins, Luke Dahlhaus etc.

Wouldn't call any of the above list outside Danger nearly a decade ago and Jezza 5 years ago as 'Huge"
Majority of Cats insane ability has been on Wells and Mackie nailing internal hits on unknown or unheralded players.

Holmes, Blicavs, Stewart, Miers, Dempsey, Humphries, Close, Mannagh, Zuthrie, SDK, Atkins etc. etc.

None of the above were superstars coming in.
Lol ok turbo calm down.

Not the right timeline. He bought a house in Moggs around the time he was leaving.
It was rebuilt during covid.

I know as a mate worked on the electrics at his place as well as a renovation of BT's place in Lorne both during covid.

Seems extravagant for a star player taking unders. I wonder who paid for the extra storey on his house?

He just took a paycut this year mate. He was on close to a million a season prior to that and that would have been for close to 8/9 years. Think about how much money that is.

I feel like people just say things without actually thinking about what they are saying.

I just think Geelong have found a lot of ways to shadily pay their players under the table, and that the AFL doesn't really want to investigate and create a scandal. I mean I doubt Geelong are the only ones, but I think they are the best at it.
Salary cap is way bigger now. 17 million was the Salary cap in 2024. It is now 17.7 million dollars in 2025.

It might hit 20 million dollars per club when Tassie comes in the comp in 2028.

You are a swans fan. I knew how you guys fitted Kurt Tippet on your salary cap in 2012.

You had Daniel Bradshaw on your list for 3 seasons on $600,000 a year. He played in 2010, retired in the middle of 2011. You still had to pay out his final year on his deal for that 2012 season.

Swans won the flag in 2012. So Swans had around $1.5 to $2 million freed up. For 3 reasons.

1. Dan Bradshaw's contract was up. So that's $600,000 freed up.

2. Like most sides, swans cut or traded their dead wood. So that is 4 or 5 players on $200-$300,000 a year. So that's $1- 1.5 million freed up there.

3. Salary cap increases every year. So the cap went up $500-$600,000 that season.

Tippett eventually filled Dan Bradshaw's spot both in full forward position and wages.

The league also denied it had launched an investigation into Scott’s deal, as per reports last year, instead saying it routinely reviewed the third-party arrangement like all other proposed commercial contracts across the competition.

The AFL said Scott’s Morris Finance job and the soft cap implications – if any – were a matter for Geelong.

Cats chief executive Steve Hocking would not comment on the financial implications of Scott’s role with the company, but said the club was completely satisfied with the outcome and that the coach had done nothing wrong.

Andrew Dillon and Laura Kane learning very quickly where they sit in the grand scheme of things. IF Steve Hocking says it's fine, THEN the AFL too says it's fine.

cbf057afd27ee33886481a4f70aeba11

If it's being handled in secret, it's hard not to think somethings a bit shonky.
We don't need to know what he or any other player/coach with a third party deal is being paid, the AFL are very protective of not disclosing that kind of information and I don't think that's a big deal. But not wanting to say whether they're in or out of the cap makes no sense:

"The AFL argue that by revealing what decision it had made would mean every player, staff and coach with a commercial arrangement would need to have their club’s cap position publicly stated – a door it does not wish to open."

All it does is make people assume it's dodgy. Open that door ffs.

I agree
It would be great that all third party deals across the competition were published
Yeah even if it’s all above board it’s the type of stuff that just lends itself to speculation

Sure there would be a lot of articles and what not when it’s all first released but it would all just become a non news factor once the novelty of the information has worn off

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...