Preview Geelong V Essendon - The Scott Cup - Sat 15th July 725pm @ GMHBA

What about Geel members - how many are on the books 70000
On our current trajectory we're going to hit 100,000 within the next 5-10 years...so it will be interesting.

Having said that, I'm Sydney based (Grew up in Melb) and I'm signed up, along with a big portion of our membership base as well.

For people who don't live in Victoria it's more about giving your support to the club rather than being able to attend the games.

Plus a huge number of Melbourne based supporters as well, who don't always (or never) travel to KP.

Once the stadium hits 40,000 next year it should accomadate for most of our Victorian membership base.

Caroline Wilson complaining that we are playing Essendon in Geelong because our stand isn't finished and locks out fans, but ignores that moving the game from OUR ground to THEIR ground doesn't help us whatsoever and at the end of the day its OUR home game, so * off. So locking out fans is a disgrace according to her and that peanut host Sam McClure, but no mention of sporting integrity, which I guess makes sense since they both lack any.
It locks out our fans, not Essendon's. CW continues to be the most whiny and annoying hypocrite, looking down her nostrils at any team not Yellow and Black. I can't believe so many people think she's great value. And absolutely sick of her so called sources

crha2pan72bb1.jpg

It is absolutely shooting fish in a barrel with these numpties. Year after maddening year, we're subjected to the same sensationalist drivel...'It's all about the fans.'

Yet they remain silent when fans get screwed over each year when it comes to getting GF tickets.

On your bike Caro- used to be quite good but silly and boring these days.

Caroline Wilson complaining that we are playing Essendon in Geelong because our stand isn't finished and locks out fans, but ignores that moving the game from OUR ground to THEIR ground doesn't help us whatsoever and at the end of the day its OUR home game, so * off. So locking out fans is a disgrace according to her and that peanut host Sam McClure, but no mention of sporting integrity, which I guess makes sense since they both lack any.
It would raise even more integrity of the fixture list issues. The interstate teams always get to play a consistently good Geelong team at GMHBA, but the big Melbourne teams get to play Geelong on their own home ground, the MCG.

It locks out our fans, not Essendon's. CW continues to be the most whiny and annoying hypocrite, looking down her nostrils at any team not Yellow and Black. I can't believe so many people think she's great value. And absolutely sick of her so called sources
She was right about Dew….don’t understand why people get worked up about this so much…. It’s like Scott’s reaction to being asked about the finals race… decent question- weird reaction!

I’m not worked up- it’s just a bit tedious and a bit cheap of a cheap shot. It’s a non-issue so why try and make a fuss? It’s only this rare game at K.Park for the bombers and next time they play at our home ground ( which is probably 10 years off) it’ll be a decent sized crowd that can be accommodated. So cop to it. Simple. Essendon don’t seem to be sooking, why should she?

It was funny on footy crappified how they show the clip of Scott saying "we are the danger" and Caro going on about he said it after we beat the Kangaroos, but then 2 segments later they are like "well the Blues have only just beaten 3 shit teams SO THEY ARE BACK BABYYYY".

Dew wasn't surviving the year. And those bad results made it likely he wasn't surviving til the end of August. The only credibility I see Caro getting out of this is if she gets the Hardwick call right on him coaching the Suns next year. Its not the most daring call, as Hardwick is the biggest name coach without a job, but a lot of things suggest Hardwick to suns is unlikely so if it happens power to her its a great bit of journalism.

Is a must win... No excuses.

If we are the real bull in the paddock, then we will get the points at home.

I want us to cone out and grab this game by the balls and give it a good twist and squeeze. No mercy
That post left me with a mental image of someone twisting a bulls balls so thanks for that 😂

With the amount of sooking about playing this on our home turf I hope we flog the crap out of this mob, they’re just scared of playing us on our ground because we’re so hard to beat. Half these flogs wouldn’t even turn up if they could.

There is one stat that just totally knocks your theory on the head - and statistically speaking its a decent mean average

Geelong defeated Hawthorn in eleven games in a row - all those games were played at the MCG

In the last 9 games played at Kardinia Park between Geelong and Hawthorn - the Hawks won 6 of them

I rest my case
I think it's 5-4 to the Hawks over the last nine games at Kardinia Park. Which takes us all the way back to 1993, by the way.

And the overall head-to-head between the two clubs since 1963 (when we first played each other at the 'G) is:

MCG
Geelong 22 wins
Hawthorn 13 wins

Kardinia Park
Geelong 17 wins
Hawthorn 13 wins

And the overall head-to-head in H&A games runs as follows:

Geelong Home Games
58 wins - 1 draw - 26 losses

Geelong Away Games
31 wins - 44 losses

Added to that, the M.C.G. record in finals between the clubs is 4-4. So no advantage to speak of there at all.

Source: Geelong Head to Head - All Opponents

So if you work on the basis that the 11-0 was quite unprecedented (given seven of those consecutive wins came during our premiership era), it's not like the numbers are wildly in favour of playing them away rather than at home in a historical sense. And since we actually became a really good team at home in 2007, we've played them once at Kardinia Park (for one win).

In the end, then, the hypothesis of how we'd go against them at our home ground rather than the M.C.G. simply hasn't been tested since we've been any good. I would have thought it's relatively easy to postulate that we may have recorded an 11-0 record against them at K.P. over the period of the Kennett curse, given the opportunity to play the games there instead.

So the idea that you'd dish off home games to embrace some vague notion that we're more likely to beat an opponent on what is a neutral ground at best is just silly in my view.

With the amount of sooking about playing this on our home turf I hope we flog the crap out of this mob, they’re just scared of playing us on our ground because we’re so hard to beat. Half these flogs wouldn’t even turn up if they could.
I mean, you’ll probably beat us, but literally zero of the complaining about the ground is coming from Essendon haha. We’re happy to play you down there and it’s fair enough.

It makes me happy when an emerging young team has a good win before a big visit down the highway.

These are the conditions I like for a Geelong home game against a good side.

I expect Geelong to win this, but Essendon might turn the tables on us at the MCG in the finals.
I kind of agree, home ground advantage will help us win this week and Essendon's outs Draper and Phillips. A full strength Essendon on a bigger ground is a different proposition. Accumulators Merrett and Parish and their runners would test us on the MCG. Some similarities between their game plan and ours which shouldn't surprise given both have Scotts as coaches.

It's literally only Carowhine. I think we should play you down there. My issue is that Collingwood haven't this century

I agree about Caroline Wilson. People get way too emotional about journalists. Just ignore the ones you don't like. Easy fix. Besides Wilson was right about Dew and she was right about Clarko and the Hawks parting ways so this idea that she is always wrong is, ironically, wrong itself.

Personally though I thought Scott's reaction to the question was hilarious. "We're the danger" - Chris Scott. You'd rather a coach think it's stupid that a journalist is questioning whether the Cats are just making up the numbers than the alternative. We wouldn't have won two flags under him if he didn't get annoyed when journalists ask those sorts of questions.

As for the Dons, they're flying under the other Scotty and we can't afford to drop games at KP given our ladder position. It goes without saying but it is a crucial game. We have the Lions (at the Gabba), Port, and the Pies coming up too. Plus who knows how we are really tracking given North are North and we still didn't put together a four quarter performance against them. It's going to be a rollercoaster!

I'd say Caro can 'go suck a lemon', but the twisted ghoul already looks like she's sucked a hundred lemons.

Any surprise that she's a Richmond acolyte? Didn't bother her when the Richmond women's game didn't get moved. In fact, she was in favour of it.

Absolute hypocrite of the highest order, and quite honestly, my most hated journo - and that's saying something. Genuinely looks like she derives pleasure from other people's suffering.

Re the ground situation, just a bit unfortunate the stand isn’t ready but we have every right to play our home games at home. End of.

What I’d like to see is the COGG and KPTrust putting forward a case/business model for Dogs, Roos, Saints to play a home game against us down here. Sellout just about guaranteed, particularly early in the season with better weather and Marvel being used for concerts. 1m+ payday would be hard to knock back.

And the melts if we played our first 6-7 games down here would be epic!!

I'd say Caro can 'go suck a lemon', but the twisted ghoul already looks like she's sucked a hundred lemons.

Any surprise that she's a Richmond acolyte? Didn't bother her when the Richmond women's game didn't get moved. In fact, she was in favour of it.

Absolute hypocrite of the highest order, and quite honestly, my most hated journo - and that's saying something. Genuinely looks like she derives pleasure from other people's suffering.
She's the Ann Coulter of Australian Football.