Preview Geelong V Essendon - The Scott Cup - Sat 15th July 725pm @ GMHBA

So Port Adelaide have to play us at KP but Collingwood get two games at the MCG against us. Unfair on Port.
Always has been. It's why we're grouped with the interstate clubs when it comes to #VICBIAS as our beliefs are more aligned with theirs.

Can you imagine having to explain to an American or European that this team earned home field, but has to play the game at the opposition's stadium?

It's a farce and blight on out so called 'professional' competition.

How many more years are we going to be subjected to this spurious nonsense? Can't wait until we're regularly hosting 11 actual home games each season (like every other team in the comp has the chance to do) and footy's silliest narrative eventually dies its deserved death.

#itscalledahomegame
#theclueisinthename
#getoverityouuttersooks

This is all about current stadium capacity. This is why the game was scheduled for KP in the first place. If there are 40k at KP then fair enough, but 25k? vs MCG 80k? That's a lotta missing ticket clips.

I'll be enjoying the game from the Peroni Lounge with my wife and Cats supporting kid. Hopefully a good, close match!

This is all about current stadium capacity. This is why the game was scheduled for KP in the first place. If there are 40k at KP then fair enough, but 25k? vs MCG 80k? That's a lotta missing ticket clips.

I'll be enjoying the game from the Peroni Lounge with my wife and Cats supporting kid. Hopefully a good, close match!
Same reason GWS got PF at their boutique stadium against the Bulldogs in 2016, you should get to play at your home ground. Caro big on all the people who miss out on seats but ignores that a lot of Geelong fans might not be able to make the trip to Marvel or the MCG at late notice.

She was right about Dew….don’t understand why people get worked up about this so much…. It’s like Scott’s reaction to being asked about the finals race… decent question- weird reaction!
Dew is irrelevant to what I care about; have had valid reasons to call her "sources" out.
Anyway, she's not going anywhere, so I'll just let it go.

Christ - this Kardinia Park debate just continues to rage on through the ages, doesn't it?

At the end of the day, your stance on the issue will likely be informed by what kind of person you are. Do you value fairness? Or do you value what's financially lucrative? I've always been on one side of this argument, and I think it comes down to who I am as a person, rather than which team I support.

When I was a kid, I worked in a bakery and my shifts started at 4am. One day, I got up at 3:30, got ready for work, walked there (too young to drive) and arrived for my shift. When I got there, my boss told me that he made a mistake and accidentally scheduled me on a day when he already had the position covered. Instead of just sending me home, he told me he'd pay me for the time I'd spent getting ready and getting to work, plus a little extra for my troubles. Not because he had to, but because he felt it was the right thing to do. A choice between what's right - and what's easy.

Teams should play their home games at their home ground. End of discussion.

If we were a bottom-feeder team, nobody else would give a toss about this issue. But because we've spent almost 20 years reliably finishing top 4 and winning flags, every flog from Geelong to Gibraltar (including that one-eyed, seething wench from The Age) lusts for any possible way to impose disadvantage upon us.

Sure. And it's also an absolute mockery of the fundamental concept of a home game if you make it all about the number of tickets that can be sold for the match.

How would you go as a Bombers fan if you were told that your home match was now going to be played at a neutral venue (at best), because the great and glorious game deserved to be attended by stacks more paying patrons?

Yeah, that's what I thought as well.

If we were a bottom-feeder team, nobody else would give a toss about this issue. But because we've spent almost 20 years reliably finishing top 4 and winning flags, every flog from Geelong to Gibraltar (including that one-eyed, seething wench from The Age) lusts for any possible way to impose disadvantage upon us.

That sounds like your typical Richmond supporters mentality rant

Oh look the world is so unfair - no one likes us you know - the AFL dont like us winning anything - they just have to make it harder for us all the time - look it could even be a conspiracy theory you know - fair dinkum - where is that steel bucket and mop

When the draw came out - the Geel v Ess game was at Kardinia Park - so as long as the Geelong ground is available then the game should be played at KP

However i think the arrangement they have got and had for many years - and will continue into the future of 8-9 games at KP - and 2-3 blockbusters at the MCG - is a fantastic deal for Geelong

Christ - this Kardinia Park debate just continues to rage on through the ages, doesn't it?

At the end of the day, your stance on the issue will likely be informed by what kind of person you are. Do you value fairness? Or do you value what's financially lucrative? I've always been on one side of this argument, and I think it comes down to who I am as a person, rather than which team I support.

When I was a kid, I worked in a bakery and my shifts started at 4am. One day, I got up at 3:30, got ready for work, walked there (too young to drive) and arrived for my shift. When I got there, my boss told me that he made a mistake and accidentally scheduled me on a day when he already had the position covered. Instead of just sending me home, he told me he'd pay me for the time I'd spent getting ready and getting to work, plus a little extra for my troubles. Not because he had to, but because he felt it was the right thing to do. A choice between what's right - and what's easy.

Teams should play their home games at their home ground. End of discussion.

TBH there's no such thing as fairness in the draw, and there never will be.

When you've got such a high proportion of teams in Melbourne there is never a way to make it equitable.

Wonder what sports fans from other professional competitions around the world would think when they hear about fans whinging that their team have to play away games at venues with smaller capacities than normal. Hell, teams like Man United, Liverpool and Chelsea will have to travel to the likes of Luton Town and Bournemouth this upcoming EPL season - both clubs have a home ground with a capacity of less than 15,000 which is about a fifth of the capacity of some of the bigger grounds in the league.

Oh look the world is so unfair - no one likes us you know - the AFL dont like us winning anything - they just have to make it harder for us all the time - look it could even be a conspiracy theory you know - fair dinkum - where is that steel bucket and mop

When the draw came out - the Geel v Ess game was at Kardinia Park - so as long as the Geelong ground is available then the game should be played at KP

However i think the arrangement they have got and had for many years - and will continue into the future of 8-9 games at KP - and 2-3 blockbusters at the MCG - is a fantastic deal for Geelong
That's why I rely on the club's thoughts re "home" games. Thankfully we no longer have home games at Marvel.
If they prefer to play Bombers at Geelong despite the lack of crowd, that's fine by me.
Yes, finals are at the G, but we are now entitled to a set number of games at Geelong, and it seems to be a principle.
Who knows what happens in the future if we back down this week, and reneg on playing there v Bombers.

Round 21, 1993 :D

To be fair, though, we've only played there once since at least the turn of the century I reckon
We won that game, Gazza kicked 5 or 6 on Fletcher. Late in 1990 i know we lost by about a goal after coughing up a lead at 3/4 time. But we were crap in the latter part of that season.

Surely that Caro bullshit is just ragebait.
That thing I haven't really been said at all is how much of a logistical impossibility moving a game of football actually is, especially at such short notice.
It's not just a case of saying ok the game is now at the G.
You have all the businesses at and around the ground that would have budgetted for the GameDay traffic, plus the workers who suddenly lose wages.
Thousands of season seat holders who have paid for their seat and a fair number of those wouldn't go to the G. What's the plan for them. Those who do go, bet they don't get compensated for extra travel.
Short of a ground becoming completely unable to host the game, I can't see the AFL ever moving a game because it's more trouble than it's worth to get a few more fans in.
It really shows a person's lack of critical thinking to just parrot "more can fit in the G so it should be moved"

Any chance of moving on from Caro & where she thinks this game should be played to actually chatting about the game ahead?

This week is the 2nd in a string of 3 consecutive milestone matches at the club - against North it was Tuohy who broke the games record by an Irishman, while this week it’s the local lad with a unique kicking style & who may well be leading our B&F count at this stage of the season that will bring up game #100

I heard that is why he was subbed… awareness of something.
Blitz being an athlete would be supremely aware of anything being off.
I heard before last week that he was “very sore”. He was always likely candidate to be subbed. That is why I couldn’t understand they didnt manage him or at least make him sub. Would have been better for Dempsey (who simply is too inexperienced to play sub) and better (not just in hindsight) for Blitz.

Anyway (after my rant) I would not be shocked if what you heard is correct and we see him managed this week. Maybe (unless it is a real hammy) they manage him to sub so we can get him back on if needed

We will play all 3 who become available…Jezza, Smith and Kolo

They take Mullin out of 22 and if no other injuries they rest 2 players with one of them going to sub (Dempsey to play VFL).

They did have 2E going to be managed a few weeks back but he came back in…so maybe he gets a rest this week given he has done his milestone? Blitz to sub or out?

Out. Mullin. 2E, Blitz (one of the last two as sub)

Trivia: this is the first match since round 8 2004 where Essendon has been ahead of Geelong on the ladder when we've met. We actually havn't finished ahead of Geelong on the ladder at the end of the season since 2003 - 21 years ago. And that's despite having the same salary cap. How can one team with the same salary cap finish below another for 21 years consecutively??

We also havn't won a designated away game against Geelong since round 1 2002.

It's bloody embarrassing and I'm so sick of it. Looking forward to the game but I just know you'll beat us again like always.

So if we win and if….

Lions beat Demons
Sydney beat the Bulldogs
Gold Coast beat the Saints

Then we’ll be in 5th spot with 2 points off 4th. That kind of weekend would have me thinking we might be back in action! 🤣

Go Cats, Lions, Swans and Suns!!

Not really - Kardinia has always been a small ground. It's always been an hour from Melbourne. It's always been the case that bigger teams couldn't have games there. I'm not claiming the AFL is trying to screw us - just that other voices in the community are circling on it because of their own agendas.

The noise surrounding the stadium has increased drastically in the last decade, and my personal opinion is that it's because Geelong continues to defy the equalization policies put in place by the AFL. None of that is controversial at all. Disagree with my opinion if you'd like to, but calling it a 'Richmond supporters mentality rant' just isn't reasonable. Remember, they're the ones who think the AFL is deliberately screwing their goal reviews, that former Geelong staff are adjusting rules deliberately to screw them etc. I'm just claiming that people wouldn't give a stuff about our ground if we were irrelevant like North Melbourne, etc.

Anyways, back on topic:

Hoping we give Essendon a huge reality check and maybe sway Parish a little to come down to the cattery. What are the conditions looking like at the moment? Is it likely there'll be rain?

They don't have a recognised Ruck, their best defender will either be out or playing on one leg and they have one competent key forward, if we can't win this at home we don't deserve to make finals.
We have the best ruck in the VFL coming in. In fact most people on our board are getting frustrated that he's not playing ahead of Phillips/Weideman most weeks.

Midfield will be interesting. Last time we played Essendon at KP their mids had one particularly dominant quarter IIRC.

Our earlier game at the G this year was a comfortable win, but that was somewhat on the back of some pretty bad play by the bombers, they turned over a lot in our forward half. They also got quite a few dominant centre clearances (like many other opponents have this year).

They'll fancy themselves and give it a good crack. If we are up for the contest we should win well. Looking forward to it.