Geelong v Hawthorn. Time to move it to ANZAC Day

I should probably let this offensive, idiotic comment slide, but it is so uneductaed, that it deserves to be ridiculed, and the poster humiliated due to the comments sheer ignorance.

I could leave it to other Collingwood and Essendon fans to tell you about the ancient 100 year rivarly between these two foundation VFL clubs who have won 15 and 16 premierships respectively.

But it's probably better if an intelligent Hawthorn fan who actually understands the history of the game shot you down instead and explained to you the decades old rivarly that is Essendon vs Collingwood.

Any Hawthorn fan out there with a brain who can educate this spud?

Why don't you like me? :confused:

The irony of this thread. The OP wants Anzac Day for his mob because of what it is. It is what it is because Essendon and Collingwood made it so. He is then trying to tell us Essendon and Collingwood don't deserve it when the only reason he wants it is because they're created a monster.

Oh funny.

Collingwood-Essendon

ANZAC Day
2011: 89626
2010: 90070
2009: 84829
2008: 88999

Non ANZAC Day
2010: 59277
2009: 77699
2008: 64689

Now compare that to Hawthorn-Geelong since 2008 (between 2003-2007 games between the clubs were not played at the MCG)

Easter Season Fixture (i.e. Easter Monday)
2011: 78579
2010: 68628
2009: 69564
2008: 86179*

Second Fixture
2011: 63459
2010: 69220
2009: 64824

As you can see, in the second fixture the Cats-Hawks draws comparable to the secon Essendon-Collingwood fixture since the move to play 2 games between the clubs at the MCG

Pretty good numbers. It should be mentioned too that 3 of the Geelong-Hawthorn games were at night - Round 17, 2008, Round 1, 2009 and Round 12, 2011. Collingwood-Essendon are never shown that indignity.

Never ceases to amaze how many of their fans genuinely think they're the only clubs that can draw big crowds. You've got a public holiday, played at the perfect time (between 2-3pm start), and no other games to content with in the city. How can you not draw big crowds???

Yes and notice how I didn't mention the 90s in my OP :rolleyes: Before then though in the 60s, 70s and 80s it was huge.

Fair enough, to my memory yes in the late '80s/early '90s, but not until 2008 did it really rise again. Given Geelong were shit right throughout the 1970s not sure if the rivalry was that big then.

Good work though, and can't say I disagree with the main point. Unfortunately some Melbourne clubs (and certainly their fans and the media) act like the competition is their plaything.

Games decided by under 2 goals

1995, 1996, 1997, 1999 (x2) 2000 (EF) 2001, 2007

8/24 games played in this time

Good research. Really surprised me those figures. I think I'd wiped from memory the Gary Ayres era - it was just too painful to recall.

The last 4 years have been unbelievable though for both closeness and quality of games.

Gotta be the best rivalry in the AFL by a mile. It has been top class football, with a lot spite, emotion, passion and physical incidents. The way football should be played.

Since 2007, every match bar the 2008 GF, has been decided in the last 5 minutes of the match. It's not just recent either. These teams have had massive rivalries and a long history full of cracking matches and violent incidents through the 60s, 70s, 80s an 00s.

The AFL should seriously consider moving Hawthorn and Geelong to ANZAC day, as Collingwood & Essendon have played a lot of uncompetitive fizzers, and their rivalry is just purely manufactured. No heart, no passion and no real hatred between Collingwood & Essendon.

Whereas Hawthorn & Geelong is a true rivalry & encapsulates everything ANZAC day should be about.[/quote]

FFS, whoever is playing, its just a game of football. Don't even try to equivicate it to what ANZAC Day is all about - that is total BS mate.

I should probably let this offensive, idiotic comment slide, but it is so uneductaed, that it deserves to be ridiculed, and the poster humiliated due to the comments sheer ignorance.

I could leave it to other Collingwood and Essendon fans to tell you about the ancient 100 year rivarly between these two foundation VFL clubs who have won 15 and 16 premierships respectively.

But it's probably better if an intelligent Hawthorn fan who actually understands the history of the game shot you down instead and explained to you the decades old rivarly that is Essendon vs Collingwood.

Any Hawthorn fan out there with a brain who can educate this spud?

Clearly given the number of years that they have been rivals the rivalry exists, notwithstanding the Essendon-Collingwood rivalry clearly does not have the historical significance of the Richmond-Collingwood, Collingwood-Melbourne, Collingwood-Fitzroy, Collingwood-Carlton or Carlton-Essendon rivalries.

The irony of this thread. The OP wants Anzac Day for his mob because of what it is. It is what it is because Essendon and Collingwood made it so. He is then trying to tell us Essendon and Collingwood don't deserve it when the only reason he wants it is because they're created a monster.

Oh funny.
From a purely business point of view the AFL are never going to look at Hawks/Cats as a possible replacement for ANZAC Day. If the facts support Hyperdonks story the AFL will create another "Blockbuster" to slot them into.

Rainbow Round?

Gay Mardi gras perhaps..:D:D (sorry just being facetious.)

Why do you need a special day for Cats v Hawks?

Just because you have had a few close games lately?

In fact if you look at Saints vs Cats over past 3 years and they have been even closer. One being regarded as the best H&A ever and another one of the great GFs and crowds averaging over 70,000.

But I don't think we need a public holiday to commemorate them.

Clearly given the number of years that they have been rivals the rivalry exists, notwithstanding the Essendon-Collingwood rivalry clearly does not have the historical significance of the Richmond-Collingwood, Collingwood-Melbourne, Collingwood-Fitzroy, Collingwood-Carlton or Carlton-Essendon rivalries.

Everyone has or is in the process of getting into a rivalry with Collingwood.

From a purely business point of view the AFL are never going to look at Hawks/Cats as a possible replacement for ANZAC Day. If the facts support Hyperdonks story the AFL will create another "Blockbuster" to slot them into.

Rainbow Round?

Gay Mardi gras perhaps..:D:D (sorry just being facetious.)

Cats have been lobbying for Ranga Round for years to no avail :(

In fact if you look at Saints vs Cats over past 3 years and they have been even closer. One being regarded as the best H&A ever and another one of the great GFs and crowds averaging over 70,000.

We already have a special day for Geelong v Hawthorn on Easter weekend every year now. What I'm suggesting is, that we move from the Easter weekend, to ANZAC day.

Gotta be the best rivalry in the AFL by a mile. It has been top class football, with a lot spite, emotion, passion and physical incidents. The way football should be played.

Since 2007, every match bar the 2008 GF, has been decided in the last 5 minutes of the match. It's not just recent either. These teams have had massive rivalries and a long history full of cracking matches and violent incidents through the 60s, 70s, 80s an 00s.

The AFL should seriously consider moving Hawthorn and Geelong to ANZAC day, as Collingwood & Essendon have played a lot of uncompetitive fizzers, and their rivalry is just purely manufactured. No heart, no passion and no real hatred between Collingwood & Essendon.

Whereas Hawthorn & Geelong is a true rivalry & encapsulates everything ANZAC day should be about.

There is just so much wrong with this post it's not funny.

No rivalry between Collingwood and Essendon? Seriously, has there been a stupider comment made on Big Footy, and that's really saying something.

Hawthorn and Geelong have had a rivalry since 2007? Gee, was paper invented way back then?

ANZAC Day matches have been fizzers? You obviously missed watching 2009.

A village somewhere is missing an idiot.

There is just so much wrong with this post it's not funny.

No rivalry between Collingwood and Essendon? Seriously, has there been a stupider comment made on Big Footy, and that's really saying something.

Hawthorn and Geelong have had a rivalry since 2007? Gee, was paper invented way back then?

All ANZAC Day matches have been fizzers? You obviously missed watching 2009.

A village somewhere is missing an idiot.

Read post 20 before you call me names. Been going a lot longer than 2007 mate, and a lot of experts seem to think it's produced the best games of football, the most passion and emotion of any rivalry in AFL history. This rivalry is mega and been going 50 years, unlike the manufactured fizzers between Collingwood and Essendon. The Hawks - Geelong rivalry is real and built around great football and a genuine hatred.

So before you shoot off your mouth, how about you fact check first.

Read post 20 before you call me names. Been going a lot longer than 2007 mate, and a lot of experts seem to think it's produced the best games of football, the most passion and emotion of any rivalry in AFL history. This rivalry is mega and been going 50 years.

can you please direct me to these experts' opinions?

Read post 20 before you call me names. Been going a lot longer than 2007 mate, and a lot of experts seem to think it's produced the best games of football, the most passion and emotion of any rivalry in AFL history. This rivalry is mega and been going 50 years, unlike the manufactured fizzers between Collingwood and Essendon. The Hawks - Geelong rivalry is real and built around great football and a genuine hatred.

hmm.
A 'lot' of experts, or one or two blokes who wrote puff pieces during the past week when the two teams met ?

The rivalry has only really been apparent in fits and starts, therefore not a genuine rivalry like Carlton and Essendon or Collingwood and Carlton.
Certainly hasnt been going on for 50 years as you have claimed in your post.

Geelong simply wasn't good enough in the 70's to be anyones rival, and the two teams didn't seem to engage in anything meaningful in the 90's.
The early 00's were pretty dire for both clubs.

There was a period in the 60's, a looooong gap, a period in the mid-to-late 80's, and then 2008-11.
All up I'd say the two teams have been 'rivals' for all of about a dozen years.

Not quite

Geelong V St Kilda

Rd 1 - 42869

Rd 14 - 58208
QF - 63608

GF - 99251
14 - 54444

Hawthorn v Geelong - the rivalry built almost solely on hitting people behind play. yeah lets encourage that.

As opposed to the Blues/Bombers whose rivalry is based on who could cheat the salary cap the most

shutup you flog. What about in 5 years time when both these teams or one of them falls back, gets old and bottoms out. You wont have these less then a kick matches, your arguments are appalling. Look at the footy your two mobs played in the early 2000's for fuc*s sake, scintillating stuff!!

The rivalry you had was only sparked up by a grand final. Wait till you see the day collingwood, essendon, carlton or richmond square off in a grand final, you will be reminded what a real rivalry is

Unfortunately the Sun is only going to burn for so long it will likely burn out before two of these teams are good enough at the same time to match up in the GF

As opposed to the Blues/Bombers whose rivalry is based on who could cheat the salary cap the most

Unfortunately the Sun is only going to burn for so long it will likely burn out before two of these teams are good enough at the same time to match up in the GF

Sir, either history is relevant to this argument or it isn't. Make up your mind.

Also, Carlton won the salary cap contest comfortably. We grudgingly concede that.

hmThere was a period in the 60's, a looooong gap, a period in the mid-to-late 80's, and then 2008-11.
All up I'd say the two teams have been 'rivals' for all of about a dozen years.

This.

Why is it Hawthorn supporters are so desperate to drum up a rivalry.

v Essendon, most Essendon fans would rather beat Carlton.

v Geelong, Geelong have had a great rivalry with St.Kilda and also Collingwood over the last couple of years.....but is it only Hawthorn that counts?

These 'rivalries' bob up all the time...ie Port v Bris in 01-04, Coll v Bris in 02-04, Syd v WC in 05-07..........no surprises it was based around finals and GFs.

When one, or both, teams drop off the 'rivalry' fizzes out.

Coll v Carl get 80K+ and they aint even played in a final for what....more than 20years......if they meet each other in the next couple of years people will realise what a proper rivalry is all about!!

Geelong v Hawthorn. Time to move it to ANZAC Day