Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.

Like I've said before, I don't care that we're playing at the G. We love the G.

What's absolutely hilarious though, is seeing all of the Pies and Tigers fans in this thread who've suddenly become AFL cheer-leaders.
Bless your cotton socks.

You forgot that Geelong ground has Construction works ongoing lol. The geelong government has took it out their hands.
The Cattery is always under construction, they'll finish this lot and then demolish another stand.

Only fair option is to play the game at Marvel, perfect compromise, neither team will be happy.

Welcome to following an Australian sport, we do things our own way. Not blindly follow how North American sports do things.

You may realise that the first difference between AFL and the North American sports is that in AFL finals we give our best teams a dbl chance.

Which North American team sports get a dbl chance?

Geelong has been given a dbl chance.
Geelong as minor premier, gets to play 4th to get a week off.
Geelong as minor premier gets a game.in their home state.

Unlike North American team sports, the AFL has 18 teams from just 5 states, including 10 from Victoria.

For over 100 years, the V/AFL has played big Victorian finals at the G (a neutral venue where both sides have equal access to tickets) in front of crowds of 100k people...something foreign for North American sports.

A distinct home field advantage?

Geelong played 5 games at the G in 2022, and their fans will be given equal access to tickets as their opponents.

Any North American fanbase will tell you that if a ground is ticketed equally and both teams have played 5+ games at a venue that neither has a distinct advantage.

Welcome to following an Australian sport, we do things our own way.

Don't pretend this ridiculous venue and time scheduling has anything to do with being uniquely Aussie or whatever crap you're implying, it's simply to do with finances nothing more nothing less. There's more money, a lot more, to be made selling tickets for a first round final at the MCG than at a smaller regional venue with a smaller capacity; to insinuate this decision is based on some unique Australian way of doing is quite frankly condescending, laughable and beyond stupid.

The added bonus is that is also gives an un-earned edge to the pies who have a bigger fanbase than Geelong who've rightfully earnt its home ground advantage so it's indirectly motivated by wanting to give a leg up to the club that could more bring more in gate receipts and television audiences as well in upcoming finals games.

Any other reason is trumped up nonsense to justify the unjustifiable in Geelong getting screwed by the AFL. The home team should always get to decide where a home final/home and way game should be played, not AFL headhoncho muppets who only think about what brings in more money and stuff fairness.

The added bonus is that is also gives an un-earned edge to the pies who have a bigger fanbase than Geelong who've rightfully earnt its home ground advantage so it's indirectly motivated by wanting to give a leg up to the club that could more bring more in gate receipts and television audiences as well in upcoming finals games.

If the game was played at KP Collingwood would still dominate the crowd, it would be a feral cauldron like the G is.
Tickets for finals are split between the teams, the AFL would also siphon thousands off for themselves many of which would end up in Collingwood supporting hands. Many Cats members would miss out. It's not like a H&A game where they shove the opposition supporters in that crappy pocket and the cheer squad behind the points.

Same could be said of any two MCG remnants

The same is always said when a match-up is between two vic teams.

2018 Tigers minor premier and unlucky that Hawthorn were 4th = no advantage.

Then in 2018 PF, minor Premier Tigers unlucky that up against Collingwood = no advantage.

The advantage / disadvantage of having 10 teams from one State is a s**t load of neutral games.

Finals in the VFL have always been neutral games.

Geelong just started a regular sook fest under C.Scott, now thinking they are entitled to finals at Cat Park...never been the case.
Tigers vs Hawks at MCG - no advantage.

Geelong vs Collingwood at MCG - advantage to pies.

Tigers vs Hawks at MCG - no advantage.

Geelong vs Collingwood at MCG - advantage to pies.
So 14 games v 9 games is no advantage

But 14 v 5 games is an advantage?

What is the cutoff?? If games played is within 5 is that a neutral game??

Victoria v Victoria finals have ALWAYS been at the G or Waverley.

2 weeks of Geelong sooking, and bringing up the same shit that have been talked about for years...great.

Don't pretend this ridiculous venue and time scheduling has anything to do with being uniquely Aussie or whatever crap you're implying, it's simply to do with finances nothing more nothing less. There's more money, a lot more, to be made selling tickets for a first round final at the MCG than at a smaller regional venue with a smaller capacity; to insinuate this decision is based on some unique Australian way of doing is quite frankly condescending, laughable and beyond stupid.
You missed the point of the post.

AFL award is the double chance.
Geelong who've rightfully earnt its home ground advantage so it's indirectly motivated by wanting to give a leg up to the club that could more bring more in gate receipts and television audiences as well in upcoming finals games.
This is the the problem, Geelong fans think they are entitled to something that is not written anywhere in the laws of the game.
Any other reason is trumped up nonsense to justify the unjustifiable in Geelong getting screwed by the AFL. The home team should always get to decide where a home final/home and way game should be played, not AFL headhoncho muppets who only think about what brings in more money and stuff fairness.
Again you miss the point of finals, they are league controlled games.

The entire point they were brought in was to generate additional revenue to distribute amongst ALL clubs.

The inane blabbering about earnt home finals, earnt the right to pick a venue, is just crap.

Go read the laws of the game before continuing your personal bleat.

For the second time, it really doesn’t bother me where we are playing but you realise the difference between no advantage and a disadvantage right?
How many more games at the G do Geelong need before they realise they are not disadvantaged?

Geelong play 5 at the G per year

Essendon played 8, Hawks played 9.

Dogs just 2

Geelong are very familiar at the G, it is a neutral venue and the crowd will favour Collingwood no matter where the game was played.

But wont stop entitled Geelong flogs (not you specifically) thinking they are entitled to a H&A style game at Cat Park where the Geelong members dominate the crowd for a final.

How many more games at the G do Geelong need before they realise they are not disadvantaged?

Geelong play 5 at the G per year

Essendon played 8, Hawks played 9.

Dogs just 2

Geelong are very familiar at the G, it is a neutral venue and the crowd will favour Collingwood no matter where the game was played.

But wont stop entitled Geelong flogs (not you specifically) thinking they are entitled to a H&A style game at Cat Park where the Geelong members dominate the crowd for a final.

We aren’t from Melbourne. I don’t care how many games we play there. It’s not a neutralised game, it’s one where where in terms of support we are at a disadvantage. We are at a massive one.

You are a smaller club.

Adopt finals ticketing rules at Cat Park, and would still be more Pies in the stadium.

This is something I just don't get as someone used to North American sports. The primary reason for finishing higher in the standings in most team sports is to attain home-field advantage. Other than a game in their state in the event it plays Sydney in a prelim, what has Geelong gained by finishing first in this instance? Even worse, the team that finished 4th has the distinct home field advantage. Any North American fan base would be furious with this situation.
When the financial grift that Melbourne enjoys is fully exposed you would expect some of the other states to start making a bit more noise.

The thing that Gelong fans forget is that the AFL "owns" the ground/match when finals are played and therefore own all the tickets and the AFL sells them
Why lie?

We all know that a final would be a 50/50 crowd. But it would be a 50/50 crowd at our home venue. In our change rooms.

We instead play in front of a 30/70 crowd against us, using the away change rooms.

If the AFL were fair dinkum they’d repaint the lines to make the MCG 30m skinnier.

If the game was played at KP Collingwood would still dominate the crowd, it would be a feral cauldron like the G is.
Tickets for finals are split between the teams, the AFL would also siphon thousands off for themselves many of which would end up in Collingwood supporting hands. Many Cats members would miss out. It's not like a H&A game where they shove the opposition supporters in that crappy pocket and the cheer squad behind the points.
This is a significant component of the AFL's desire for money. They can reward corporate backers and buddies, sponsors, and friends. Don't forget themselves.
All part of the massive profits and entitlements to be gained on the margins of that MCG deal. Nothing will change while that contract is in effect. AFL will remain a Melbourne sport. Not a truly Australian one. A national sport would have things like the Grand Final in other big cities around the country. It would bring the circus to town and the game's standing, local businesses, and the league would benefit. Just not some parochial stakeholders.

and on topic, after the present phase of construction is done. the AFL will have no excuses for not having Th or F night QFs at KP if GFC has the H/A standing. Weekends at MCG in the matchup is right.

Not so good at maths, huh?
??
Finals are clean games.

Geelong social club or reserved seat members wont get normal positions.

Club members split tickets.

AFL members get an allocation, and Collingwood has more of these than anyother club by a mile.

So at a 25k or 40k Cat Park, using finals ticketing arrangements the Pies will have larger share of the crowd.

Finals are AFL events. They even sell AFL finals series tickets to multiple games in Melbourne at the G.

It seems understanding current laws of the game and finals ticketing arrangements aint your strong point.

Ill just leave this here for the pies fans. An article from when the Geelong fans complained they felt threatened by loud barracking.

BTW the afl found no issues.

This is my favourite bit.

“In fact I’ve never heard that much swearing come out of females anywhere as I did on Friday night.”

Having a sook about unladylike behaviour, or some other antiquated bullshit. Spare me!

I would have liked to see some examples of the horrible language.

How is there not a home team in a grand final?

you cant make an argument for one week of finals but then not for all finals because it wouldnt suit your team if you then had to play a grand final interstate.....

pure nuffie post by you - one eye open
Cos home ranked teams in the first final are determined by ladder positions. But by the time you get to the grand final all those home and away ladder positions are pretty meaningless. the team that finished first gets easier opponents based on ladder ranking on the way to the grand final then the team that finished third. these tougher opponents for the lower ranked teams kind of cancels out the worse ladder position which should see both teams reach the grand final as equals.

Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.