Geelong's List Management - WTF?

I don't really give a rats whether you believe this is true or not - quite simply it did happen and the smarter Cat supporters will realise this rather than waste time debating it.

So Mark Blake and his father, former Geelong player Rod Blake, enter into discussions about renewing his contract after being overlooked for the premiership. Not totally sure whether there was a player-manager there or not but in any case Rod drove the bus.

Simple - Mark will play at the Cats in 2008 only if Steven King is not.

Now when Kingy enters negotiations he is gobsmacked to be told this and finds himself saying "Well perhaps I need to get my dad down to do the negotiations - and what the hell am I doing paying Ricky Nixon all this money for?" Too late - he is person-non-gratia

Steven King has been a great servant of the Geelong Footy Club, no doubt - he has been at the club since he was 15 years old, has captained the club with distinction, and it is only injuriy that has held him back from being a great of the game. He is now at St Kilda for a lot less money.

Whilst I recognise that the club has gone for the future in Blake in that if he might give Geelong 50% of King's output they are ahead - it's a shabby way to treat a champion and premiership player of your club.

But more importantly - who the hell is in charge of list management when we have the dads of players picking the sides?

I don't really give a rats whether you believe this is true or not - quite simply it did happen and the smarter Cat supporters will realise this rather than waste time debating it.

So Mark Blake and his father, former Geelong player Rod Blake, enter into discussions about renewing his contract after being overlooked for the premiership. Not totally sure whether there was a player-manager there or not but in any case Rod drove the bus.

Now when Kingy enters negotiations he is gobsmacked to be told this and finds himself saying "Well perhaps I need to get my dad down to do the negotiations - and what the hell am I doing paying Ricky Nixon all this money for?" Too late - he is person-non-gratia

Steven King has been a great servant of the Geelong Footy Club, no doubt - he has been at the club since he was 15 years old, has captained the club with distinction, and it is only injuriy that has held him back from being a great of the game. He is now at St Kilda for a lot less money.

Whilst I recognise that the club has gone for the future in Blake in that if he might give Geelong 50% of King's output they are ahead - it's a shabby way to treat a champion and premiership player of your club.

But more importantly - who the hell is in charge of list management when we have the dads of players picking the sides?

Hahahahahaha, You do know that king turned down our offer to follow more money ........ Dont you ?

Also LOL at Ricky nixson, He didnt even know where Cuzz was when this KO drugs thing came out.... That very poor

• Banned
Hahahahahaha, You do know that king turned down our offer to follow more money ........ Dont you ?

He's on less at St Kilda - he was given the arse by Mark Blake's daddy. Read the post again and while you are at it give your former Captain a little more respect and class.

Also LOL at Ricky nixson, He didnt even know where Cuzz was when this KO drugs thing came out.... That very poor

Perhaps Cuzz should have employed Blake - he seems to have a lot of influence and knowledge.

Rather than mouth off around the periphials - how about addressing the point of the thread which is, in a multi million dollar business - why do we have a player's dad holding a club to ransom at the expense of another and who is the idiot running the asylum?

How's the dole going? Guess it gives you lots of time to think about meaningless crap.

very very concerning isn't it people ? i dont think i will sleep tonight

the person who mangers our list is the neil balme the person who did such a good job that he helped us win a premiership :thumbsu:

• Banned
How's the dole going? Guess it gives you lots of time to think about meaningless crap.

So you went to all the trouble of reading my post and that lame response was the best you can possibly come up with?

I hope you are not an English teacher over in Japan or I fear they will eat you for breakfast.

• Banned
very very concerning isn't it people ? i dont think i will sleep tonight

the person who mangers our list is the neil balme the person who did such a good job that he helped us win a premiership :thumbsu:

That's the point dopey - the person who manages your list is Rod Blake and any other like minded fathers.

Geelong should forever be known as the "Daddy Day Care" club - run by blokes who weren't worth a piece of shit themselves but are living out their fantasies and footy careers again through their sons. Signs of a club that is going to be successful for a long time I reckon.

In anycase, it's an amicable arangement - you all obviously don't give a rats about Steven King and he is very happy at St Kilda - hope he Salmons you.

That's the point dopey - the person who manages your list is Rod Blake and any other like minded fathers.

Geelong should forever be known as the "Daddy Day Care" club - run by blokes who weren't worth a piece of shit themselves but are living out their fantasies and footy careers again through their sons. Signs of a club that is going to be successful for a long time I reckon.

In anycase, it's an amicable arangement - you all obviously don't give a rats about Steven King and he is very happy at St Kilda - hope he Salmons you.

lol well they did a good job last year didnt they.If a 6 year old was managing our list last year they can keep on going

no need to play so rough.

the move cannot hurt King and is a windfall for saint kilda. I will say one thing dont know about the Dad aspect but the cats did let King go very graciously, ostensibly gave him to the saints.

Sure they cited salary caps and opportunity for a captain and his servitude

Well if Rod Blake managers our list he has done a ****ing fantastic job! We should employ him before someone else does.

no need to play so rough.

the move cannot hurt King and is a windfall for saint kilda. I will say one thing dont know about the Dad aspect but the cats did let King go very graciously, ostensibly gave him to the saints.

Sure they cited salary caps and opportunity for a captain and his servitude

Though it is very much welcome elsewhere, sense does not work well in threads like this.

Steven King has been a great servant of the Geelong Footy Club, no doubt - he has been at the club since he was 15 years old, has captained the club with distinction, and it is only injuriy that has held him back from being a great of the game.

You lost any credibility with that comment.He was only a slightly better captain than Vandenberg.

King had plenty of chances to play senior footy last year,so don't use the injury excuse crap.He played a lot of VFL games last year.It's time for him and Crackers to move on and become StKildas problem.

P.S - 1/10 for the attempted troll that hasn't worked :p

So a guy who's finished 3rd in the Brownlow and won the B&F in a year Geelong were minor premiers after being also rans for years wasn't worth a piece of shit? You sure have an interesting way to rate players.

You were right though. Geelong were looking at the future, and decided Blake was going to be a bigger part of it than King was. True, King was a good servant of the club, so we did the right thing by him and arranged a trade for him to go to the club of his choosing. We could have done what Carlton did with Whitnall and said "Thanks for your service, but we don't want you now, so piss off and best of luck for the future", but we arranged a trade so he could ply his trade elsewhere.

I wonder if Mal Brown had any say in Campbell's contractual arrangements whether you'd complain as much as you are about Blake. Somehow I doubt it. Being a supporter of "the family club", I thought you'd be appreciative of a father looking after the interests of his son.

The long version:

The short version:

I don't have a f**king clue what I'm talking about.

Steven King has struggled for many years. His last good season was 2002.
He is in the twilight of his career and it was going to be touch and go whether he stayed at Geelong or not.
Anyone who knows the slightest thing about football would be well aware of this.

Have you been drinking?

No. He's genuinely that stupid.

What the Geelong supporters fail to understand is that like most things in life, football clubs are dynamic places. While this can explain the fantastic year after the train wreck that was 2006, it can also be applied in circumstances such as the one you brought up.

There is no doubting that the list management of 2007 was top class. This however cannot be extrapolated to say that it will be as good in 2008. This type of behaviour could well be the first signs of cracks appearing at the GFC.

Yep, you seem to know exactly what went on. :rolleyes:

You lost any credibility with that comment.He was only a slightly better captain than Vandenberg.

King had plenty of chances to play senior footy last year,so don't use the injury excuse crap.He played a lot of VFL games last year.It's time for him and Crackers to move on and become StKildas problem.

P.S - 1/10 for the attempted troll that hasn't worked :p
Sorry mate
Whether he trolled or not, you don't answer any critic by slagging off one of your own.
He was your captain.
He did give great service
VFL wasn't his choice.
He has been at Saint kilda 2 months

I hate seeing any Geelong supporter denigrate Kingy.

I guess everyone forgets how very good he was. Debuted as a 17yo in 96, AA in 2000 (while 21!), dual B&F in 2000 and 2002. Unfortunately did have a bad run with injury.

I really hope he goes on to dominate at St Kilda, and I've got a feeling he might. His GF performace was awesome, and it was sad the way things developed, but I don't think anyone but King and the club knows all the details.

Geelong's List Management - WTF?