AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Cox with the swagger!
EAD Rance.
Yep, don't post or even 'like' over there, folks.
Whether we think it's reasonable or not.
Just be thankful that your mods here are paragons of reasonableness and virtue*
*EXCEPT ABASIE MODERATORE HES A TROLLE
As much as I despise Collingwood I am glad the continual ejaculating over Richmond is finally over
This sort of thing was brought up on AFL360 to Jack Riewoldt earlier in the season. The observation was that the Richmond players look so relaxed and that there wasn't the same sort of intense focus that other flag winning sides have had. They highlighted Jack Higgins doing the pre-game talk to the players out on the field moments before the first bounce. He was telling an animated story/joke and when the players broke away to take their positions they were laughing. Riewoldt said it might be viewed as complacency or arrogance from the outside, but for them it was an effective way to release tension and keep the playing of footy fun.Not sure if anyone has mentioned it or noticed it but the Richmond players were laughing and carrying on in the dressing rooms before they ran out like they had the game won already.
Off topic, but Slater getting suspended for what i'd call a perfect hip and shoulder is an embarrassing look for the NRL. Tackles and the player scores as the force would not have been strong enough to get him over the sideline before he got the ball down.
Mason was outstanding. They have clearly taken notes on his leading patterns and he was absolutely disiplined and tight in where to lead, his body contact to defenders, By the second quarter Richmond defenders ajusted, But too late, You suddenly Had Mason off the chain and De Goey is a creative little devil. IMO De Goey was better then Cox, But Cox's 30/40M dominance let De Goey get off the chain.How did Richmond continually let cox have a free run at the ball? Wasn’t even getting some body against him - was a ridiculous fail by rance/tiges backline.
Pies were very good but it all went their way in first half - kicked essentially everything, cox playing out of his skin + tigers missing some easy shots.
Reckon both dees/wc have a good shot next week.
That is not a proper challenge though - there no implications for losing interstate and everyone loses games somewhere.
Agreed.I think the extra week off before finals has hurt another top 4 side.
So change the rules to let Slater get off? Laws clearly have shoulder charges are illegal, All Slater had to do was at least attempt to wrap him up in the process and he's fine.Off topic, but Slater getting suspended for what i'd call a perfect hip and shoulder is an embarrassing look for the NRL. Tackles and the player scores as the force would not have been strong enough to get him over the sideline before he got the ball down.
rubbish - they had the perfect preparation for that having experienced it last yearThis sort of thing was brought up on AFL360 to Jack Riewoldt earlier in the season. The observation was that the Richmond players look so relaxed and that there wasn't the same sort of intense focus that other flag winning sides have had. They highlighted Jack Higgins doing the pre-game talk to the players out on the field moments before the first bounce. He was telling an animated story/joke and when the players broke away to take their positions they were laughing. Riewoldt said it might be viewed as complacency or arrogance from the outside, but for them it was an effective way to release tension and keep the playing of footy fun.
It seemed to be working wonders for them up until last night. But I think other factors might have had more impact on the result. I think the extra week off before finals has hurt another top 4 side. But moreso, I think Collingwood just wanted it more, and they came in with a strategy to beat Richmond and they executed it well.
View attachment 562104
Luckily they do, one industrial size microwave coming up. Should set one up at Punt Road oval.
So change the rules to let Slater get off? Laws clearly have shoulder charges are illegal, All Slater had to do was at least attempt to wrap him up in the process and he's fine.
Win or lose next week, just watch the Pies membership soar in 2019.I am anxious to see how many members they have next year. Lynck will probably score a few, but is a ton possible again, or will it be the pies turn.
There was a huge difference in the circumstances though. In the equivalent game last year they got GWS who were playing a rare game at the MCG (their 10th ever) in front of easily the largest crowd they'd ever played in front of before - 94k. Their previous highest ever was just 60k. The average crowd size GWS had played in front of in 2017 was less than 20k. They would have been shell shocked.rubbish - they had the perfect preparation for that having experienced it last year
There was a huge difference in the circumstances though. In the equivalent game last year they got GWS who were playing a rare game at the MCG (their 10th ever) in front of easily the largest crowd they'd ever played in front of before - 94k. Their previous highest ever was just 60k. The average crowd size GWS had played in front of in 2017 was less than 20k. They would have been shell shocked.
It’s “releasing tension” if you win but it’s arrogance or complete floggery when you lose, especially when it appears you weren’t switched on for the whole first half of a Prelim. Stuff them, they have plenty of time to tell jokes now. My only regret is Broad won’t get to repeat his post GF heroics this year.This sort of thing was brought up on AFL360 to Jack Riewoldt earlier in the season. The observation was that the Richmond players look so relaxed and that there wasn't the same sort of intense focus that other flag winning sides have had. They highlighted Jack Higgins doing the pre-game talk to the players out on the field moments before the first bounce. He was telling an animated story/joke and when the players broke away to take their positions they were laughing. Riewoldt said it might be viewed as complacency or arrogance from the outside, but for them it was an effective way to release tension and keep the playing of footy fun.
It seemed to be working wonders for them up until last night. But I think other factors might have had more impact on the result. I think the extra week off before finals has hurt another top 4 side. But moreso, I think Collingwood just wanted it more, and they came in with a strategy to beat Richmond and they executed it well.
Did you miss the 2014 GF?This is a team that had won like 23 games in a row at the MCG.
if you are that good you cope with any minor issues
I don't think any other minor premier has ever put in such an insipid first half in a knock out final
There are no excuses for that
Off topic, but Slater getting suspended for what i'd call a perfect hip and shoulder is an embarrassing look for the NRL. Tackles and the player scores as the force would not have been strong enough to get him over the sideline before he got the ball down.
They just didn't/don't seem to have the capacity to be humble.I can be a classic arrogant Hawks supporter - but usually when provoked and I shit-stir back. Tigers supporters took it to another level this year. Have never seen such unjustified, untamed arrogance from a bunch of supporters.
I don't think enough has been said about the insightful commentary......... did you know Mason Cox was an American?
He is also tall.
Well one thing this last 13 months has shown; since the advent of the internet, richmond hadn't won a flag, and nobody knew what flogs success would make of their supporters. But we found out pretty damn quick. Utter utter floggery. It just seeps under the doors from tigerland out into the world. You learn about someone when they experience success. You learn what a complete and utter collection of campaigners they are. The sooner this site gets rid of the "premiershipmond" auto correct, the better.
However even that floggery should be able to be overcome with this:
ηiηthmond