Even the pubs in Richmond were trying to cash in on the ‘it’s a formality’ arrogance of the Tiggers.
View attachment 562017
‘A golden ale for a golden era’
lol. Is that for real? Reminds me of something....
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Even the pubs in Richmond were trying to cash in on the ‘it’s a formality’ arrogance of the Tiggers.
View attachment 562017
‘A golden ale for a golden era’
Many have been saying it for a while, Richmond had everything fall into place for some time. Barely any injuries for starters. All of a sudden they had a heap at once, and Noone to replace them with.
Their luck was also with the bounce of the ball. Never have I seen a team continually have the pill sit for them like the tigers did. That's not skill or coaching. That's luck. Even Martin's goal in the qualifying final was pure fluke. That went in a perfect line. A laser underneath it and it wouldn't have veered at all. That barely happens when a player fires a bullet pass, let alone a shot around the body
It was a fluke. And giving head high fend offs for 6 years and getting away with it is the credit where it's warranted.Really? You need to give credit where it is warranted. Class goal and he went for it.
It was a fluke. And giving head high fend offs for 6 years and getting away with it is the credit where it's warranted.
What does the Tigers Cheersquad do with the Yellow and Black Back to Back Banner they started making recently?
In some respects the Richmond loss puts into perspective how brutal our final with them was and how spent our guys must have been last week. Two weeks on and they were still carrying injured players from that game. Tonight's game is going to be very interesting, I've been writing off the Eagles all year due to their injuries and then the suspension of Gaff, but they may end another fairytale.
On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thanks mate, I did think it was tonight, shows how much care factor I have when the Hawks aren't playing.I think that game is this arvo, not tonight. (Just in case you didn't realise)
Schoey played ok and Murphy was dropped to make way for Hodge, despite having played quite well in the lead up.
We don’t have to worry about 2012 though because we proved ourselves a great side in the following 3 years. Compare that to Essendon who managed one flag from their ‘greatest of all time’ team.Fair point
At least we can proudly say we made the gf and were in it with a minute or so. Didn’t crumble as hard as Richmond
KOLOKOTRONIS
Jump on the Richmond boards autopsy thread, nearly the entire first page is their mods telling no one to post anything good or bad if they aren't Richmond supporters. It seems they need to build a bit if resilience.Does this mean we will no longer have Richmond supporters come on to our board to teach us about football?
Same! Just happened to see it on the side of the afl site earlier.Thanks mate, I did think it was tonight, shows how much care factor I have when the Hawks aren't playing.
On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
top postRichmond's biggest problem is they are Richmond. They have always been Richmond, done Richmond things and will forever do Richmond things. No one does Richmond like Richmond. No one ever will.
Carmichael Hunt, Premiershipmond, finally make the 8 and get knocked out the finals by 9th, finally stumble upon a flag after 37 years of shit and can't even wear there right kit............all just so Richmondy. And now this, destroyed by an unco Yank in an unlosable prelim. Love it.
Thank you to all the Richmond supporters whom screamed to the world that b2b was in the bag - you've made this instalment of Richmond failure just so much more epic.
Stay Richmondy, Richmond. 2055 will be here before you know it.....
Feels damn good to remind the rest of the comp & Richmond flogs in particular how difficult B2B is to achieve, and how unbelievable our 3peat achievement is.Agreed - ‘13 was our most dominant season. Weren’t quite as glamorous at times as the ‘12 side but we had a harder edge and wanted to win more.
‘14 was our adversarial side, the injuries, losing Clarko, Buddy walking out on us, the grand final where we shouldn’t have shown up we were written off so badly. We turned all of that into a crushing flag win against a side that was meant to humble us.
‘15 was just the sweet, sweet icing on the three peat cake.
They had been challenged interstate but were unable to win any of those...
Edited4) Coach from the Hawthorn Coaching School
You miss the point. Of course it was class, it was still a fluke. Kick that 1000 times and you will never see it go through again. The fluke was that there was zero movement/swing from the moment to the ball hit his bootReally? You need to give credit where it is warranted. Class goal and he went for it.
It was probably the loss we had to have. The hurt spurred the boys onto far greater things. I was there too and it hurt, but our redemption against the Swines with Buddy was and still is bloody fantastic
yeah, nah.You miss the point. Of course it was class, it was still a fluke. Kick that 1000 times and you will never see it go through again. The fluke was that there was zero movement/swing from the moment to the ball hit his boot