Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

A Tassie team doesnt grow the game it cannibalises support from existing clubs and doesnt increase tv viewers which is really what its all about.
Same with NT they already watch.

Only place to harvest new viewers is NSW and Qld

You're right unfortunately. Tassie's whole state population (522,000) doesn't even match the population of Gold Coast City (590,000), and the NT isn't even half of the population there (250,000). QLD has 5 million people living in it they can try to appeal to, whereas NT and Tassie combined isn't even 20% of that. Makes sense for AFL as a business, but is annoying for footy and footy traditionalists.

Not IMHO.
Many taswegians are waiting for a local team to support.
Two heads, two teams.
Tassie kids are dumping AFL for soccer.
AFL just takes from Tas, never gives back.
The goodwill is gone

Isn't one of the issues in Tassie the North/South division?

Will people from Launceston travel to see a Hobart based team, and vice versa?

Isn't one of the issues in Tassie the North/South division?

Will people from Launceston travel to see a Hobart based team, and vice versa?

Please excuse my ignorance, but all the posts I see about Tasmania gives me this strong feeling there's like a North/South Korea kind of divide going on there. Whats up with that?

Originally tas was two jurisdictions, didn't last long, but the north got pissed that they lost.
So Campbelltown is the DMZ bw north and south.

It's partly because half the population is up north, so it's difficult to have an all Tassie team.

I've been to a few Launceston games - the tourist industry is very happy with Hawthorn playing there because it brings in lots of dollars. I've done my share at O'Keefe's pub!

Tasmanians here may have a better idea, but I think any Tassie team would have to play in both venues.

The North/South thing is a tough one to explain. If Tassie did get a team it would make sense to play games in Hobart & Launceston to keep everyone happy, but there would still be bitching and moaning from either end regarding where the team is based etc etc. It really is quite pathetic TBF.

I can only speak for myself here of course. I travel from Hobart to Launceston, along with my family, to most Launceston games because I am a Hawks supporter. I will never switch to a 'Tassie' supporter, so I would likely not travel to Launceston games unless the Hawks were playing. I would go to games at Bellerive though, and 'support' the local side when they play close to home. Hell, I even briefly considered going on Sunday to watch North v Saints, but eventually came to my senses!

It is likely that most of the current Tasmanian AFL fans would continue to follow their current AFL Team, but would also make a Tassie side their second team. It wouldn't have the same passion for me as the Hawks, but would be great none the less.

Of course in time, kids growing up would barrack for their home team rather than follow their parents, or make other choices, but that will take some time.

Boom 👊🏽

100% agree with that. Brissie brought in some good seniors and look at the benefits they've reaped from that. Can't get anywhere constantly dragging highly sought after 18-19 year olds to a culture-less club, when the Vic clubs sniff them out and bring them home a few years later. Bring in the Whitecrosses, Ziebell's etc. who are experienced and play with pride. Maybe then the basketcase won't be so bad

You're right unfortunately. Tassie's whole state population (522,000) doesn't even match the population of Gold Coast City (590,000), and the NT isn't even half of the population there (250,000). QLD has 5 million people living in it they can try to appeal to, whereas NT and Tassie combined isn't even 20% of that. Makes sense for AFL as a business, but is annoying for footy and footy traditionalists.

Yep but rather than population, what are the numbers of people that are actually interested in the game in these areas?

I get that over time the AFL will help to convert neutral supporters to the code, but the Suns being consistently rubbish is not going to result in a league or union follower on the Gold Coast, turning on the TV to watch them get thumped again... actually, maybe it will !!!

100% agree with that. Brissie brought in some good seniors and look at the benefits they've reaped from that. Can't get anywhere constantly dragging highly sought after 18-19 year olds to a culture-less club, when the Vic clubs sniff them out and bring them home a few years later. Bring in the Whitecrosses, Ziebell's etc. who are experienced and play with pride. Maybe then the basketcase won't be so bad
Spot on. Why they did not move to grab Whitecross earlier had me stuffed? Whitey was a fringe player in the best side of the modern era. A consummate professional and team player. Hodgey is not about winning Norm Smiths anymore. He is a leader. A man to drive standards, who gives the young players someone to look up to.

GCS are just setting themselves up to continue with their revolving door recruiting policy. Get Cegs and Isaac Smith over for some IP. Look at giving Roughy one year on field if he can get his body right to go around again. Then slot him into a leadership role. Heck even throw a 2 year redundancy package at Birchall and pries him away for a 3rd rounder.

I am sure there are similar players from other clubs (Ziebell e.g.) who they could look to get in for a few years to help drive standards, without selling the farm.
They could not even hang on to Jarrod Lyons who has gone on to play 16 straight for the improving Lions this year.

Watch how fast the AFL move once the A-league or NRL enter a team on the apple isle (Both have had whispers of a team down there)
The NBL are looking to bring in a team by as quick as next year. They are going to play out of Hobart and some games also at Launceston too.

Hahahahahahaha.

That worked really well for the old Navy Blues last time they got rid of a coach that was winning to replace them with an "experienced coach that would take them to the next level".

Who are they going to take anyway? Poach Ross away from the fantastic job he's doing at Freo? Brad Scott from taking the Roos nowhere for 9 years? Paul Roos?

If they could get Clarko, sure, but the rest of the candidates they're better off keeping the current bloke.

Sent from my RNE-L02 using Tapatalk

Hahahahahahaha.

That worked really well for the old Navy Blues last time they got rid of a coach that was winning to replace them with an "experienced coach that would take them to the next level".

Who are they going to take anyway? Poach Ross away from the fantastic job he's doing at Freo? Brad Scott from taking the Roos nowhere for 9 years? Paul Roos?

If they could get Clarko, sure, but the rest of the candidates they're better off keeping the current bloke.

Sent from my RNE-L02 using Tapatalk

The funny thing about it all is when we hired Clarko he was a relative unknown like what Teague is now. Sometimes you need to take an absolute flyer on things in life and thank god Dunstall and the board (not you Dermie) had the balls to do that all those years ago. Imagine the butterfly effect not doing so would've had on the HFC. In that alternate universe Hodge went off the rails and Sam Mitchell probably never got the chance to become the gun he was. It scares me to think about.

Not IMHO.
Many taswegians are waiting for a local team to support.
Two heads, two teams.
Tassie kids are dumping AFL for soccer.
AFL just takes from Tas, never gives back.
The goodwill is gone
The same is happening in regional Victoria. The kids attention is drifting to other sports and past times. The AFL wants to keep an eye on home whilst the milkman is in town.

Watch how fast the AFL move once the A-league or NRL enter a team on the apple isle (Both have had whispers of a team down there)
I think that's part of the reason the AFL keep putting stories out in the media about possibly having a Tassie team. It's to keep their hopes up so they don't commit to another sport.

They will never get a team, until the AFL actually think their hold of Tasmania is under threat.

Spot on. Why they did not move to grab Whitecross earlier had me stuffed? Whitey was a fringe player in the best side of the modern era. A consummate professional and team player. Hodgey is not about winning Norm Smiths anymore. He is a leader. A man to drive standards, who gives the young players someone to look up to.

GCS are just setting themselves up to continue with their revolving door recruiting policy. Get Cegs and Isaac Smith over for some IP. Look at giving Roughy one year on field if he can get his body right to go around again. Then slot him into leadership role. Heck even throw a 2 year redundancy package at Birchall and pries him away for a 3rd rounder.

I am sure there are similar players from other clubs (Ziebell e.g.) who they could look to get in for a few years to help drive standards, without selling the farm.
They could not even hang on to Jarrod Lyons who has gone on to play 16 straight for the improving Lions this year.
Their main mistake was making Gary Ablett the captain. He did want the captaincy and was the best player in the competition for years, but his leadership was non-existent and has built this bad culture up there. The basketcase that the Gold Coast are, are due to him just as much as the coaching staff and administrators that were there from the beginning.

Personally i don't think Tassie is big enough or strong financially to support an AFL team with their economy.

The best solution is the one they got now Four AFL games up in North and 3-4 games in Hobart at least they get to see 7-8 AFL games in their state.

Yep but rather than population, what are the numbers of people that are actually interested in the game in these areas?

I get that over time the AFL will help to convert neutral supporters to the code, but the Suns being consistently rubbish is not going to result in a league or union follower on the Gold Coast, turning on the TV to watch them get thumped again... actually, maybe it will !!!

I don't think they give a rats about current interest though unfortunately. And to be honest, current interest in QLD as a whole is probably much higher than the NT and Tasmania combined on TV anyway (for the games they bother to show on FTA). NT loves footy, but League is also huge up there, so they clash sometimes as well. AFL will just look at potential viewers rather than current/likely viewers. They'll keep flogging the Gold Coast Suns and no way they will cave in. They're going to play the long game to attempt to prove they can succeed where every other sport has failed

Their main mistake was making Gary Ablett the captain. He did want the captaincy and was the best player in the competition for years, but his leadership was non-existent and has built this bad culture up there. The basketcase that the Gold Coast are, are due to him just as much as the coaching staff and administrators that were there from the beginning.
Bit of a long bow blaming Gary. I agree he should have just been a marquee signing and been allowed to play rather than being the face/captain of the franchise. He would have been out of his depth dealing with:

Karmichael Hunt, Harley Bennell, Charlie Dixon, Campbell Brown and Nathan Bock just off the top of my head, who would have been bigger problems.

Ablett performed well on field.

Bit of a long bow blaming Gary. I agree he should have just been a marquee signing and been allowed to play rather than being the face/captain of the franchise. He would have been out of his depth dealing with:

Karmichael Hunt, Harley Bennell, Charlie Dixon, Campbell Brown and Nathan Bock just off the top of my head, who would have been bigger problems.

Ablett performed well on field.
He needed to be a leader off field too for a young team. Those players weren't guided and led very well. I believe his religious stance also alienated some of the players too.

I wasn't blaming only Gary. It's the captain, the coach, CEO, and everyone else in position of power.

I don't think they give a rats about current interest though unfortunately. And to be honest, current interest in QLD as a whole is probably much higher than the NT and Tasmania combined on TV anyway (for the games they bother to show on FTA). NT loves footy, but League is also huge up there, so they clash sometimes as well. AFL will just look at potential viewers rather than current/likely viewers. They'll keep flogging the Gold Coast Suns and no way they will cave in. They're going to play the long game to attempt to prove they can succeed where every other sport has failed

View attachment 706202

The fact is that there are nearly 8 million people in NSW and nearly 5 million in Queensland.
That's a total of nearly 13 million out of 24 million, more than half the population.

And the AFL is chasing hard to get them to watch footy on TV - all they need is for a couple of million viewers from those states, and it beats anything Tassie can put up.

Ratings, that's what matters.