Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

I don't quite get the hate for Ablett from Hawthorn supporters. Selwood? I get. Hawkins? I understand. Danger? Absolutely can see why. But Ablett, when at his peak, was the best footballer I have ever seen (too young to really see/understand the greatness of Carey, for reference). An absolute legend of the game. The dive is poor but he's hardly the only player to stage.

Anyway, glad the Cats lost. The Pies look good. Makes our loss a little more respectable.

People are aware Geelong, for well over a decade, have scouted the umpires as their way of gaining that 1% advantage, right?

They study where the umpires stand, where their blindspots are and which umpires are prone to paying which types of frees.

Its why, for 15 yrs, they've always been able to have the ball conviniently disposessed to a teammate's advantage. Knowing where to drop it and where to stand to receive a drop/throw and not get penalised. It is a huge advantage.

You can see from many opponents attitude to them when they pull a stunt, that theyre not respected. Bartel turning up to mad monday in diver costume shows culturally inside they dont give a shit.

Yet the number of times cats posters were saying 'geelong saved football' eiugh.

Players do go there and play much better than previous though. Rohan for example. I think they keep their game plan as simple as possible.

Ablett definitely the best of em, i don't even hate him. Best player i have ever seen as well and loved watching him at the Suns.

I do hate that the greatest player in my lifetime decides to go to a new level every time he plays us though, i swear he still hasn't forgiven us for 08.

We really did provide the catalyst to them being a much better team

Hates a strong word
It’s the whinging I dislike and he’s an expert at it. I also don’t like the dirty he did on the Suns - it was blackmail pure and simple and the AFL allowed it to happen

How many times does a cats player go down like they’ve been knocked out only to jump up to receive a free kick - Danger imo is the absolute king of embarrassing performances and has no shame around it

Against Pies, the media ridculed us for scoring 27 points, 3.9

Against Pies, Cats scored 5.5.35. Fewer scoring shots and only 8 more total points.

Are they set up to get smashed by the media this week about having 7 players over 30 and poor ball movement???

Yep a joke. Alas that is what the game is becoming.
3 weeks is now considered a "long" suspension - not that'd you'll ever get rubbed out that long if you're a highly marketable player.

Flog Barrett referred to DeGoey's rape charge as a 'questionable off-field situation' in his article today. Really makes you wonder.

Against Pies, the media ridculed us for scoring 27 points, 3.9

Against Pies, Cats scored 5.5.35. Fewer scoring shots and only 8 more total points.

Are they set up to get smashed by the media this week about having 7 players over 30 and poor ball movement???

Mr. P.... The Cats tried hard and never gave up (just not good enough) ....... Sadly, Hawthorn just gave up.

3 weeks is now considered a "long" suspension - not that'd you'll ever get rubbed out that long if you're a highly marketable player.

Flog Barrett referred to DeGoey's rape charge as a 'questionable off-field situation' in his article today. Really makes you wonder.
Boys club

And Bruce referred to it as a “hiccup“ - he was very quick to apologise to those who “may” have “misinterpreted“ his comment

I don't quite get the hate for Ablett from Hawthorn supporters. Selwood? I get. Hawkins? I understand. Danger? Absolutely can see why. But Ablett, when at his peak, was the best footballer I have ever seen (too young to really see/understand the greatness of Carey, for reference). An absolute legend of the game. The dive is poor but he's hardly the only player to stage.

Anyway, glad the Cats lost. The Pies look good. Makes our loss a little more respectable.

Agree. I loved watching GAJ in his prime, what a legendary player. Best I've seen alongside Buddy.

People are aware Geelong, for well over a decade, have scouted the umpires as their way of gaining that 1% advantage, right?

They study where the umpires stand, where their blindspots are and which umpires are prone to paying which types of frees.

Its why, for 15 yrs, they've always been able to have the ball conviniently disposessed to a teammate's advantage. Knowing where to drop it and where to stand to receive a drop/throw and not get penalised. It is a huge advantage.

We have bent the rules for years too, in terms of standing on the mark and sneaking an extra metre, etc.

Thats not bending the rule, that's the umpire's not enforcing the rule

Cats players appealing for every possible decision is what annoys me the most. And then the sooking when they don't get paid the free.

Terrible club
Don't like it also but what they do is challenge the umpires at every opportunity, they do because sometimes the umps are going to give them something for nothing.
Human nature 101.

He was very good when he had the ball last night. Probably their best.
He's still a talented and skilful ball user. But when you start doing shit like that in contests instead of just competing straight up for it then it's a good indication that you're losing faith in your ability to play the game on merit. He could probably go on next year if he wanted to, but he's quickly tumbling from his lofty best.

He's still a talented and skilful ball user. But when you start doing sh*t like that in contests instead of just competing straight up for it then it's a good indication that you're losing faith in your ability to play the game on merit. He could probably go on next year if he wanted to, but he's quickly tumbling from his lofty best.
Really? Selwood's done it his whole footy life.

Agree. I loved watching GAJ in his prime, what a legendary player.
giphy.gif