No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 7

I'm 25 so I owe my love of footy to Cyril probably more than any other individual. It sucks because he deserves to be Hawthorn royalty.

The bloke ended up retiring because he missed his connection to his mob. Then to know he felt disrespected and the club wasn't prepared to put the resources into it's people to make the place safer or look for opportunities to embrace Cyril's community and culture with fixtures and events. That hurts.

I can see why it would be jarring to see the club promote the RAP and Aboriginal symbols/language only after he's gone. It's great that the club are making good steps now. It was a place of hostility so it wasn't going to be a perfect institution overnight.

And if the rumours of a problem with Kennett are true, Jeff also belittled Goodes and was saying he brought the racist abuse on himself, right before Cyril called time. The same racist dickhead who said as recently as 2019 that AFL security guards couldn't do their job properly because they're mostly immigrants. The man is an ugly, racist stain on the recent glory years of the club and I can't imagine his continued presence is a positive factor in Rioli's assessment.

We need Mitch, Big Reeves or a senior figure jump on the phone and see what we can do.
But there may be no placating this situation at present or ever.
I think it’s past the point of a phone call now. Surely the Rioli’s would have made their point clear over a number of chats with the club both before and after he left.

It’s all in the clubs court now. It sounds to me Rioli wants the club to be open and admit some of its faults and the way it handled things before it could even begin trying mending things. Not just protecting the clubs brand ahead of its current and ex players.

While current leadership remains in charge it’s hard to see that happening. Especially as they are the ones responsible in the first place.

Most of all it just makes me sad that someone who gave me so much joy to watch is feeling so much hurt because of our club. And our club (despite being the cause) is continuing to let it happen.

Organization's are large cumbersome beasts and it takes time to change people and views so I hope Cyril and Shannan don't completely alienate themselves from the club as sure as there are obvious issues their must have been many strong friendships and memories.

If I was Cyril and if the issues stemmed from Kennett then I would definitely be holding off until he'd left the club before considering accepting any olive branch from the club. I wouldn't want to give him the opportunity to claim credit or put any kind of positive spin on the situation. In fact, simply waiting until the moment he's gone to make that move would send a huge message without having to throw any names or details around.

IF.

If I was Cyril and if the issues stemmed from Kennett then I would definitely be holding off until he'd left the club before considering accepting any olive branch from the club. I wouldn't want to give him the opportunity to claim credit or put any kind of positive spin on the situation. In fact, simply waiting until the moment he's gone to make that move would send a huge message without having to throw any names or details around.

IF.
Sounds bigger than Jeff.

Perhaps. But there were no bigger off field personalities with massive influence over the club during that period than Jeff and Clarko. I can't imagine for a moment that there was any issue with Clarko given his relationship with our other indigenous players. And that if Rioli had strong desires for the club to play a game in NT that Clarko would champion that request with the administration, with perhaps only one person with more influence to shut it down.

But I think maybe I'm just hopeful that all these issues can be contained to a single person that is already set to leave rather than face the possibility that there's going to be a lot more change required.

Not good reading , got to say not a fan of airing that stuff via social media.
But I feel very sad that Cyril and his wife feel that way and are obviously hurt enough to air it on SM

I do feel for the club because whatever they do will be seen as a reaction to this .
But they need to fix it and asap , do whatever it takes .

Any angst from Cyril cuts deep. All 2015 I remember hearing him speaking so passionately about how much he owes the club after the inclusion in the 2014 GF after that extended injury lay off. Remember the tears as he was subbed off and embraced Roughy!? We all know how he delivered on that in 2015!

I really hope this is what that Hawks for Change crew are talking about when they reference reconnecting with past champions. I also really hope he was Ian Silk’s favourite player!!

Without speculating on the past it’s quite obvious that most of the AFL’s use of Aboriginal culture is tokenistic and for the betterment of the league and not the individuals who the culture belongs to.

I can understand how some individuals may feel taken advantage of and not supported when so much is asked of them.

Cyril is an icon of our club and represents a decade of success. Once the slate is clean we must do what’s necessary to get him back and feel a part of the club he contributed so much to.

Both SM responses seem really really odd...?
Club; 'Hey Cyril we're coming to play in Darwin!' Cyril responds basically; 'GAGF..!'
I think the club need to make some discreet inquiries on their welfare, past issues aside, I'm hoping they're not on the gear...
Wow. Last interview I saw him in, mid this year, he looked happy healthy and in a really good place. Not sure about that one mate

I'm not sure either, but something has gone sideways given their critical responses - check on their welfare ASAP is all I'm suggesting...

For the life of me I can’t remember context of the media post / interview but I knew I screen shot it at the time and sent it people.

Attachments

• D789CD99-EB6B-4D00-9A70-FB7ACE335F93.png
    D789CD99-EB6B-4D00-9A70-FB7ACE335F93.png
    422 KB · Views: 236
Concur, both SM responses seem really really odd...?
Club; 'Hey Cyril we're coming to play in Darwin!' Cyril responds basically; 'GAGF..!'
I think the club need to make some discreet inquiries on their welfare, past issues aside, I'm hoping they're not on the gear...
Cyril is in great shape, he’s a proud man who walks his own path and has his own views. Your comment is ignorant and disrespectful and an example of exactly the sort of culture that he’s taking aim at.

View attachment 1293573

From his missus. Not happy.

Yeah the club needs to bend over backwards to make amends. Rioli was the favourite player of a generation of Hawthorn supporters, and if he wasn't your very favourite he was certainly in the top few.

The club needs to sort this mess out.

Its unfortunate its Cyril but not everybody will leave on the best of terms.
That is just life and business in general.

Hopefully it all gets sorted before too long.

No chance Clarko let this rot.

A man with that much power could potentially have done more?

But it's not as if Clarko wasn't close to Rioli, or that he didn't do some good for the Aboriginal communities (from what I understand anyway). So I would love to know where the breakdown and disconnect was.

On the surface it looks like incredibly disappointing behaviour from the club to allow a legend to fall so far away from it's family ties. The Kennet situation is absolutely indefensible in my opinion. That bloke is a stain on our club and the sooner he is gone forever the better we will be for it.

However, I have two questions about this.

1. Is it up to Hawthorn where our pre-season/in season games are played outside of Melbourne and Tasmania?
2. The Tassie deal itself has meant that a pre-season game each year and multiple during the season makes it harder for the Hawks to play in more remote areas. Is Cyril possibly being somewhat unreasonable or am I missing more parts to this story?