No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome**

It's interesting reading the comments here, people actually seem to hate Sydney more and are saying positive things about Geelong.

It really shows that grand final defeats are the cause of alot of hate and are hard to move past. I think that's why Geelong are more obsessive about us and hate us more than we hate them, they went through what we have gone through with Sydney. For gods sake the fans over on the cats board made a whole thread about us losing the GF and celebrating as well as constantly saying we are no good, really shows that they are obsessed with hating us whereas we seem to not like them but it's a bit meh compared to their feelings for us.

Anyway this is just a bored observation of mine tonight haha, I'll put the beers down now, looking forward to tomorrow :)

15t78.jpg

Suddenly, after tonight's loss, property prices in Sydney just got a whole lot higher.

So glad the cats won. As much as I hate it when they beat us, they work hard for it. They haven't been handed their success on a silver platter by the AFL. I can't stand the "bloods culture" of offering huge contracts to players which their original clubs couldn't hope to match because of the salary cap. With the AFL paying the extra!

"We are Geelong, the greatest team of all"

Oh, and up yours AFL.

Sure you're a Hawk fan ?

While I share you angst for Sydney and their concessions I didn't think the match was as good a standard, particularly in the first half , as the Hawks v Collingwood match. I expect Freo v Hawks today to be just as good a standard.

Long way to go this season .

"We are Hawthorn, 10 premierships since 1925 , they are Geelong 9 since 1897."

Sure you're a Hawk fan ?

While I share you angst for Sydney and their concessions I didn't think the match was as good a standard, particularly in the first half , as the Hawks v Collingwood match. I expect Freo v Hawks today to be just as good a standard.

Long way to go this season .

"We are Hawthorn, 10 premierships since 1925 , they are Geelong 9 since 1897."
I've been a Hawthorn fan since primary school. I was only referring to their team song, of course I reckon Hawthorn's played better this year. Geelong were lucky to win against us and North. Yeah, Freo vs. Hawks would be to a much better standard.

However, Hawthorn's display next week against North would just be something else. Playing them twice this year means you might as well hand the Coleman to Buddy now.

I wonder what Sam Reids record is against top 8 sides. Every time I watch him he doesnt get a kick

I haven't seen him play a really good game for two years now. Overrated.

Silly me picked the Swans -home ground factor - without checking the form.

They have beaten North who are 0/3, Gold Coast 1/3, and GWS 0/3; I would say the media have been overestimating the Sydney Pets, but their form would suggest a top 4 position will be difficult for them.

You are correct, but it is not just the key position defenders.
It is being monitored very closely. Guaranteed. The surprise factor will be gone within 6 weeks.

In summary, it attempts to create confusion and diversions that pull defenders away from the space they would be occupying in defending against Tom Hawkins. It is designed to keep Hawkins one-out trusting he will molest his opposition. As he did on one occasion tonight and rightfully got pinged.

But their game plan is a by-product of Sydney's plan last year. It is counter-attacking footy with pace. They want the opposition 18 to be in Geelong's defence. Which has been the flavour for the last few years - frontal pressure to steal a term.

Defending against them will change.

To be absolutely honest I believe we beat geelong with the so called slingshot tactic in 08 grand final. But lets not claim it as ours, Italian soccer has been doing it forever

We're not the only team to use Italian soccer tactics. How about West Coast's staging?

None of the named substances are specifically banned

So I guess it's now just a case of whether some of them will be retroactively banned under some catch-all rule. Unlikely but not out of the question. I'd assume that this is the same as Essendon

The WADA rules ban all substances that do not have some sort of TGA approval. Several of the compounds used come under this blanket exclusion. No retro-respectivity needed. Couple of Age articles by real journo's not footy journo's have teased this out. Essendon are shot.

Off topic a bit but does anyone think the pure afl journos steered clear pf bona fide investigation, the afl journos ranged from watson shamelessly apologetic to wilson shamelessly strident but they provided plenty of chatter but no substance

It took a couple of regular journos to get stuck in and find some meaty stuff

I guess the afl journos dont want to actually bite the feeding hand, but still need to say / write something

The WADA rules ban all substances that do not have some sort of TGA approval. Several of the compounds used come under this blanket exclusion. No retro-respectivity needed. Couple of Age articles by real journo's not footy journo's have teased this out. Essendon are shot.

Yeah I read something about that, I just thought the media would have made a bigger deal of it if that was the case.

It's very very murky.

I've been a Hawthorn fan since primary school. I was only referring to their team song, of course I reckon Hawthorn's played better this year. Geelong were lucky to win against us and North. Yeah, Freo vs. Hawks would be to a much better standard.

However, Hawthorn's display next week against North would just be something else. Playing them twice this year means you might as well hand the Coleman to Buddy now.

Why do you have Geelong recorded as your team??

Because I REALLY wanted the Cats to beat the Demetriou AFL COLA Gifted Premierships $₩₳₦$ last night. It's about the integrity of the competition and giving a big "up yours" to an AFL which has been trying to screw over Hawthorn repeatedly after failing to kill us off in 1996.

Some of us just don't forget about trying to merge us and Melbourne in 1996, taking our home ground away from us (ripping the heart out of our membership base) and trying to bend us over backwards by forcing us into Etihad, making us play 4 home games in Tasmania. What has Hawthorn done to the AFL to deserve the kind of treatment we've had?

Also, what kind of real Geelong fan would have a user name like mine?

Uhmm it was Hawthorn who sought the money by playing in Tassie, I don't think the AFL had too much to do with it, didn't they try to convince us to back out of it just before our last renewal with the Tassie gov?

Yup exactly, and I support Tassie, but my point is if we had Waverley we wouldn't have had to go there in the first place. The AFL didn't force us directly into Tassie, but it was our way of avoiding the financial hole that Wayne Jackson tried to put us in.

Hawks nicely under the radar this week

We'll be hearing about Collingwood's amazing form this week.

Goddard teared up about St Kilda tonight.