No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Article is well enough written, but even a club as poorly run as Melbourne wouldn't go to waverly given the hawks have spent 10 years saying the facilities are out of date
But when you have facilities like Melbourne even our out of date facilities are better than what they have now. They could renovate and update for not a lot compared to Caulfield and as the article says. they have Casey Fields to fall back on.

Interesting article in Tge Age today suggesting Melbourne should buy or lease Waverley from us

It does make a lot of sense to be honest given the facts mentioned about their access to Casey for the other grades etc. that we did not have and is a surer and more cost-effective path than their other plans currently.

But some feelings etc. would need to step aside to abandon the larger plans and move into another team's old premises.

It does make a lot of sense to be honest given the facts mentioned about their access to Casey for the other grades etc. that we did not have and is a surer and more cost-effective path than their other plans currently.

But some feelings etc. would need to step aside to abandon the larger plans and move into another team's old premises.

Their plans to turn the centre of the Caulfield Race Course into the new MFC training grounds are a fanciful non-starter. The Caufield racing season runs during the second half of footy season, including Wednesday meets. The Spring Carnival starts at Caulfield just two weeks after the Grand Final. It's a pipe dream being floated over drinks between board members of the MRC and the MFC. Caufield members will never vote for it, I reckon.

Interesting article in Tge Age today suggesting Melbourne should buy or lease Waverley from us
As an MCC member it would be pretty sweet to be able to remind those more mouthy Melbourne supporters in the members that our club is their club's landlord.

Their plans to turn the centre of the Caulfield Race Course into the new MFC training grounds are a fanciful non-starter. The Caufield racing season runs during the second half of footy season, including Wednesday meets. The Spring Carnival starts at Caulfield just two weeks after the Grand Final. It's a pipe dream being floated over drinks between board members of the MRC and the MFC. Caufield members will never vote for it, I reckon.

Sandown may have been a goer

Article is well enough written, but even a club as poorly run as Melbourne wouldn't go to waverly given the hawks have spent 10 years saying the facilities are out of date
Melbourne have been operating out of a shipping container for 20 years though. I'm staggered that they don't have a proper home of any sort. half the week train at goschs paddock which is just an oval with lights and nothing else. Then the other sessions they share casey fields with a bunch of local clubs.

But on the "Waverley is out of date" is a bit silly. It's too small, a building can't be out of date and it being out of date is no reason to move. We have a great ground at waverley and a gym with modern equipment (but really weights don't go out of date). But we don't have rooms for men's and womens teams, no indoor training, no private training, not enough offices for staff, Merch store and museum are cramped and small.

Once we move into Dingley we will never move again as we have a massive area that most clubs don't have. And we own it.

I think the fact that Melbourne have Casey for other levels they should probably consider a lease so they can move into it for 2026 until they get something else permanent built.

The author said that and quoted merger animosity. Also melbournes last game at waverley had a ‘good riddance’ banner.

But a major motivation in the merger for Melbourne fc was to get hold of glenferrie oval as a base.

Ironic as the little old oval there is now deemed unsafe for all but Auskick

Clean my shoes you peasant ninnyhammers
I have an excel spreadsheet that randomly generates Shakespearean-like insults, it can generate to 3.5 million different insults.

Seems it could come in use here.

Some examples:
Didst thou pourest stupidity into thine own self and forgetest to say when? Thou villainous, weather-bitten, minnow
Eat thine own dung, thou puny, elf-skinned, harpy
Thou lovest thyself beyond measure, thou infectious, dread-bolted, baggage
I shall give thee up and let thee down, thou mewling, base-court, fustilarian
Thou art a swollen parcel of dropsies, thou vain, dismal-dreaming, maggot-pie
Offend mine ears no longer, thou dissembling, common-kissing, moldwarp

The author said that and quoted merger animosity. Also melbournes last game at waverley had a ‘good riddance’ banner.

But a major motivation in the merger for Melbourne fc was to get hold of glenferrie oval as a base.

Ironic as the little old oval there is now deemed unsafe for all but Auskick

How priceless would this reminder be if they did end up at Waverley

Thought this clip was interesting. Maurice Rioli talking about Cyril when he was just nine years old...

"He wants to be at Bomberland" "We could influence him to Tigerland"

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I Love the idea of a team that tried to take us over and wipe us from existence would be paying us rent for our hand me down training ground that is too small for us now.
Exactly.

I don't care for personal growth on this subject.

I will never forgive them for 1996, and have them up there in my top 4 most hated clubs. I wish them ill will, always and forever.

IF they decide on Waverly, I hope we make them jump through hoops and pay through the nose.

And like many here, I will use it to deride them whenever the opportunity arises. And if the opportunity isn't there, I will create it.

How many teams will rue the day they recruited players from Tasmania, when a Tasmanian team was a certainty to be created in the near future (2028) and the AFL would push that player back to their home state? Sometimes things are so obvious, they get forgotten as being important. But not for the Hawks.

Here is a list of all players I could find that grew up in Tassie (I may have missed a few.. if so add to the list)

1. Chayce Jones (Adelaide)
2. Lachlan Cowan (Carlton)
3. Jeremy Howe (Collingwood)
4. Brody Mihocek (Collingwood)
5. Jye Menzie (Essendon)
6. Alex Pearce (Fremantle)
7. Jake Kolodjashnij (Geelong)
8. Lachie Weller (Gold Coast)
9. Tom McCallum (Port Adelaide)
10. Samuel Banks (Richmond)
11. Toby Nankervis (Richmond)
12. Rhyan Mansell (Richmond)
13. Seth Campbell (Richmond)
14. Jimmy Webster (St Kilda)
15. Robbie Fox (Sydney)
16. Cameron Owen (Sydney)
17. Ryan Gardner (Western Bulldogs)
18. Liam Jones (Western Bulldogs)
19. Colby McKercher (North Melbourne)
20. Ryley Sanders (Western Bulldogs)
21. James Leake (GWS, Pick 17, 2023)
22. Arie Schoenmaker (St Kilda, Pick 62, 2023)
23. Geordie Payne (North Melbourne, Mid-Year Draft, 2023)

We all know how this will be done... the AFL will "call players back to their roots", with incentives.

McKercher says that he is committed to North... but he will be given the biggest carrot ever by the AFL to leave Norf. Sanders as well. Chance Jones is an easy take as is Lachie Cowen. Alex Pearce will likely be too old by the time Tassie comes in bit may do a season as a transitional captain. James Leake will be targeted along with Arie Shoenmakers.

Not a Hawthorn player amongst them. YAY.

How many teams will rue the day they recruited players from Tasmania, when a Tasmanian team was a certainty to be created in the near future (2028) and the AFL would push that player back to their home state? Sometimes things are so obvious, they get forgotten as being important. But not for the Hawks.

Here is a list of all players I could find that grew up in Tassie (I may have missed a few.. if so add to the list)

5. Jye Menzie (Essendon)
15. Robbie Fox (Sydney)

We all know how this will be done... the AFL will "call players back to their roots", with incentives.

McKercher says that he is committed to North... but he will be given the biggest carrot ever by the AFL to leave Norf. Sanders as well. Chance Jones is an easy take as is Lachie Cowen. Alex Pearce will likely be too old by the time Tassie comes in bit may do a season as a transitional captain. James Leake will be targeted along with Arie Shoenmakers.

Presumably clubs will be well compensated for any they do lose. Tassie will probably be given half the first round picks across two drafts with the mandate they must trade them. Some fairly average players will probably net clubs a late first rounder.

Yep. I never saw recruiting Tasmanians over the past couple of years as a risk. More the opposite, a shot to nothing.

They stay, great. They go home, you are over compensated.

Sent from my SM-A156E using Tapatalk

5. Jye Menzie (Essendon)
15. Robbie Fox (Sydney)

Was Kieran Lovell the last Tassie kid that we drafted?

Yep. I never saw recruiting Tasmanians over the past couple of years as a risk. More the opposite, a shot to nothing.

They stay, great. They go home, you are over compensated.

Sent from my SM-A156E using Tapatalk
The problem is that you have recruited a player to grow and fit into your system for a particular time. When you lose them for a youngster that needs to develop it can stuff up your current plan.

Imagine if we had lost Will Day or Jai Newcombe this year and what that would do to our structure.

The problem is that you have recruited a player to grow and fit into your system for a particular time. When you lose them for a youngster that needs to develop it can stuff up your current plan.

Imagine if we had lost Will Day or Jai Newcombe this year and what that would do to our structure.

A lot of mid range players sure will go back home to Tassie for promise of dollars, game time etc. Top line players will get paid wherever they are and, if they are young (no wife / kids), may very well prioritise living in a big city.

That's not the point I was making.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news