No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

GG your far more an intellect than I am , so I'm sure the phrase highlighted has been used twist what I actually was saying

Current finalists 8
Add wildcard 2 = 10 making post season or finals , whatever you want to call it
18 current sides before Tassie inclusion

Is that better , do I get an A for that one ?🙂
**** no! Your lack of punctuation makes this almost illegible 🤪

How about this.

9 v 10 play off. The winner of this then takes over from a team if they're 5 or more goals down at half time of the Grand Final.

Either way you're probably going to see a team get belted on GF day, but with the added thrill of watching a dominant team potentially choke under the pressure of holding a 5+ goal lead with 2 quarters of footy left against a fresh team who didn't even originally make finals and haven't played a game in over a month.

Wildcard should be 3v10, 4v9, 5v8 and 6v7

Eliminate the 2 lowest losers and introduce 1 and 2 but go back to the McIntyre final 8 where the 2 lowest losers get eliminated each week.

But apparently we abandoned that final 8 for this one where it’s easier for dumb punters even though the McIntyre system was in use for decades

So it’s an extra 4 finals and the top 2 get a better advantage. 3rd doesn’t get to gazump second to get in a nice position as in the current set up ie potentially easier prelim v 4th whereas 1st plays loser 2v3

In most seasons there are 2 or 3 standout teams, 4th can be a team who got lucky a bit

Let’s have the old top 5 system back.

I often thought that 5/12 was the best proportion for finalists. In an 18 team comp, that comes to 7.5 finalists: in the interests of quality, I'd round it down to 7. In a 19 team comp it comes so close to 8 as makes no odds.

In the past I've posted my preferred system for a Final 7, so I won't repeat it here. The purpose of this post is to say that in an 18 team comp, a Final 7 is better than a Final 8. But, TV, ground availability, yad yad yad.

How about this.

9 v 10 play off. The winner of this then takes over from a team if they're 5 or more goals down at half time of the Grand Final.

Either way you're probably going to see a team get belted on GF day, but with the added thrill of watching a dominant team potentially choke under the pressure of holding a 5+ goal lead with 2 quarters of footy left against a fresh team who didn't even originally make finals and haven't played a game in over a month.
Or...

If a team is more than 5 goals down at Half Time, they can sub in 2 of the first 4 place getters from the AFL GF Sprint, but it discounts the value of their goals from 6 to 5 points in the 2nd Half.

Of course, they can off-set the discount by kicking goals on their non-preferred side or from outside 50m, both of which attract a 50% bonus.

Or...

If a team is more than 5 goals down at Half Time, they can sub in 2 of the first 4 place getters from the AFL GF Sprint, but it discounts the value of their goals from 6 to 5 points in the 2nd Half.

Of course, they can off-set the discount by kicking goals on their non-preferred side or from outside 50m, both of which attract a 50% bonus.

Or...

All of these ideas beat the crap out of having your World frickin Championship decided on a POS skills comp.

Where did you hear this? That would be a huge concern and you;d feel for the young lad if he pulled his hamstring for the 4th time this year.
Sounds like there may be some underlying condition, hate to see that happening to a young bloke who has just realised a dream. Bad luck for North too who just cant take a trick.

Where did you hear this? That would be a huge concern and you;d feel for the young lad if he pulled his hamstring for the 4th time this year.
Honestly can’t even remember where I heard it, but I’m thinking it was rumored on a footy pod…. Just not sure which one I was listening to at the time.

sven_inc has shared some theories on Max and his running style before.
Hey mate, sorry I don't seem to get notified when I'm tagged in things, Ive just seen this.

To cut a long story short, both Kings have pretty poor mechanics based on my completely passive, armchair ability to watch them move from a far.

Essentially, they are a perfect example of what the modern world can do to people, especially those who are tall. Stiff ankles, tight hips, poor postures, missing shoulder rotation etc. These often express themselves through slouchy postures, turned out feet, shoulders that sit forward, knees that cave inwards. Stuff that seems obvious, makes a huge difference if corrected, but for some reason remains so common with so many elite athletes - especially in the AFL.

Scrimshaw is one who stands out a little in that way for us, and Nic Nat is one of the best examples Ive seen of someone so athlectically gifted, but leaving so much athleticism still on the table, and leaving the door so ajar to dysfunction and potential injury.

Just checked into Jackalope in Mornington peninsula, we are on holiday in Oz for the first time since the pandemic. Sitting by the pool with a frozen mojito when who walks by but our future bruest replacement in 2 years, Harry Sheezel.I thought about going up to him for a chat and a pic but he seemed to be with his partner or maybe sister so I did the respectful thing and let him be. He’s a sold unit already can’t wait for him to take the 22 of Luke for the 2025 season!

Absolutely no chance he comes to us in two years time, bookmark it

You say that like Lachie Whitfield never ended up coming here. Oh wait...

The one who never arrived… pity we picked up so many “duds” trom GWS - o’rourke, Patton and Scully(maybe)

Much better return from North - hale and Gibson. Will have to wait for sheezel.

The one who never arrived… pity we picked up so many “duds” trom GWS - o’rourke, Patton and Scully(maybe)

Much better return from North - hale and Gibson. Will have to wait for sheezel.
Not nearly as well as North did from us - Thompson, Hay, Anderson I mean Lance Piccone - they got Lance Piccione - they pillaged us for all we are worth.

Missed the speedster, billy hartung
By number of players you are right but by impact - none of them really soared after they left us.

Bulldogs on the other hand did get some guys from us who have done well - suckling (even though he missed the GF), duryea and o’brien (jury still out)

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news