Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Used to play with a guy who was pretty much the Gary Ablett senior of country football, just a natural at everything without ever training hard, gun cricketer, freak footballer, he kicked 21.7 in a game once, what a show it was. Could have been anything if he tried and didnt enjoy partying every weekend.
Yeah I played with a bloke as well like that. Basically buddy esque. 6'4 and moved like a gazelle. Hard as **** too would smash any campaigner trying to stop him
Got invited down to box hill and rolled up to training smoking darts and then ****ed off cause it was too serious

Got bought by another town was making $1200 a game without even having to train.

Yeah I played with a bloke as well like that. Basically buddy esque. 6'4 and moved like a gazelle. Hard as * too would smash any campaigner trying to stop him
Got invited down to box hill and rolled up to training smoking darts and then ducked off cause it was too serious

Got bought by another town was making $1200 a game without even having to train.

This guy was only about 6'0, solid build and would take a hanger most weeks, huge leap on him, he used to play midfield then they tried him at full forward one year and he would just dominate as a full forward for the rest of his career, would kick a ton every season for the rest of his career in his sleep. He was smoker also. :tearsofjoy:

He was invited to train with Geelong in the early 90's and said **** this after a week or so also.

This guy was only about 6'0, solid build and would take a hanger most weeks, huge leap on him, he used to play midfield then they tried him at full forward one year and he would just dominate as a full forward for the rest of his career, would kick a ton every season for the rest of his career in his sleep. He was smoker also. :tearsofjoy:

He was invited to train with Geelong in the early 90's and said * this after a week or so also.
20 odd games a season plus finals. Bloke I knew was getting about 30k just kicking a footy around with his mates and was a qualified sparky or something. Not bad when ya don't have to train.

I can't remember how long ago it was we were talking about this, but I remember saying to A11dAtP0w3R how it wasn't even cash anymore. Blokes getting cattle and sheep in their name etc especially getting around the salary cap they bought in.. I've heard of one guy years ago getting a house in his name (in a very small town) if he signed for 3 years. No money just a ****ing house 🤑 then never pay for a beer after the game his whole time there anyway.

Stories like these are why I always have a soft spot for mature age draftees no matter what club they play for. Can't tell me there aren't hundreds of blokes in leagues across the country who are twice as good footballers some of the dud 17 year olds who get drafted will ever be.

Plenty of guys at VFL level like this also. You see what Pods did at such a late age at Geelong. Ridiculous that it took him so long to break into the system.

Ian Callinan was another who played with my brother in the VFL for Tasmania. He was a freak show. Overlooked cause of his size for so long before the Crows gave him a chance.

I can't remember how long ago it was we were talking about this, but I remember saying to A11dAtP0w3R how it wasn't even cash anymore. Blokes getting cattle and sheep in their name etc especially getting around the salary cap they bought in.. I've heard of one guy years ago getting a house in his name (in a very small town) if he signed for 3 years. No money just a ******* house 🤑 then never pay for a beer after the game his whole time there anyway.
Haha knowing the Tarwin boys we'd get more than a house worth of froffies sunk by years end.

I don't even know where the **** tarwin is but I played at a little town in my early 20s, went out there thinking I'll make a bucket and ended up staying another 4 years just cos of how fun it was. Everything revolved around cans bruz

I don't even know where the * tarwin is but I played at a little town in my early 20s, went out there thinking I'll make a bucket and ended up staying another 4 years just cos of how fun it was. Everything revolved around cans bruz

Most campaigners in Tarwin couldn't tell ya where it is. Bout half hour east of Phillip island.
Yeah mate we were a real rough and tumble group of blokes, we all came from different towns but had alot of good mates outside the club after it.

Most campaigners in Tarwin couldn't tell ya where it is. Bout half hour east of Phillip island.
Yeah mate we were a real rough and tumble group of blokes, we all came from different towns but had alot of good mates outside the club after it.
**** I took those years for granted. Running around in ya 20s drinking bulk piss with the boys then occasionally having a kick in between. All of a sudden mid 30s and couldn't run outta sight on a dark arvo

Yeah I played with a bloke as well like that. Basically buddy esque. 6'4 and moved like a gazelle. Hard as * too would smash any campaigner trying to stop him
Got invited down to box hill and rolled up to training smoking darts and then ducked off cause it was too serious

Veering off topic a bit, this brought to mind a guy I used to work with in Canberra. He played for one of the shit teams in that league, probably the Tuggers? I forget now. He was massive and hugely strong and barely ever trained. I know this for a fact because we used to go for a few beers after work on his training nights and it was basically 10 percent chance he would leave early and go to training, but he always got a game because he was a really strong fullback.

Anyway he became a Melbourne supporter after his mate Aaron vanderBerg was selected. He used to play him often in Canberra - Vanders was Ainslie Football Club I think. He reckoned Vanders never trained much either what with being full time at the mint, but was awesome regardless. My mate played in that game against Ainslie where Vanders got 56 touches or something insane - which was apparently the match that got Melbourne selectors interested in him. I asked my mate what it was like and he said “can’t remember anyone else touching the ball, I know I bloody didn’t”. He said the midfielders always played badly against him because they were wary of touching the ball since they would mostly be crunched. He said his team used to call Vanders “**** no” because thats what everyone would say every time he was listed to play.

Used to play with a guy who was pretty much the Gary Ablett senior of country football, just a natural at everything without ever training hard, gun cricketer, freak footballer, he kicked 21.7 in a game once, what a show it was. Could have been anything if he tried and didnt enjoy partying every weekend.
I didn't party every weekend!!

The run home
R17: Geelong @ GMHBA Stadium
R18: Port Adelaide @ TIO Traeger Park
R19: Western Bulldogs @ Marvel Stadium
R20: Fremantle @ Optus Stadium
R21: Collingwood @ MCG
R22: Carlton @ MCG
R23: Brisbane @ Gabba

Love the extra time at HF Trac is spending. Oliver and Viney can carry the midfield and if Sparrow starts to get his game going it makes us more dangerous

because David King said the same thing I have to disagree. **** David King and everything he stands for. :p

Rewatching Petracca's highlights it stands out how he was back to using his strength a lot more. Shook off crows players like nothing and much better tackling than we're used to from him.