Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

7/9. Lton, Lauderdale, Tigers.

PE is very different to to what it was when I was a kid. Wednesday arvo sport for a start, plus games on Saturday morning. Not sure what you're doing in Tassie these days, but things got detached from 1987 when politicians argued a rule forcing kids to choose either a club or school footy...

Up here, Tully is RL territory, total dominance, and the only other sport with a league is netball. At school (I'm a teacher), the cricket nets and pitch were removed a few years ago, and the soccer nets are a combined soccer/rugby goalpost thing...the dimensions of the soccer nets are wrong because of this. Basketball is super popular, but not as a competitive sport - the courts are always full, the kids play one-on-one seriously and they all think they're LeBron, but there are no teams. For a kid to do that, there are regular events held...you can play for Peninsula (representing the entire pointy bit at the top of Australia!), and you get into that not through stellar performances through the season, but through turning up to a camp. HPE lessons themselves are half theory, because the H stands for Health - essays and powerpoints on healthy eating, drugs, body image, you name it. The intention is good, although there is something to be said for making kids run their arses around the block and for that to be the lesson plan! In 1985, I distinctly remember the PE staff having a chat before we got started on a freezing July morning, fog limiting visibility to the end of your arm, -2 degrees, with each teacher (these days they all have sleeve tatts and fake tans, but back then it was a squadron of Solo Men, full moustaches, trackies with at least one in super short shorts, and a nylon cord hanging out of them attached to a whistle)...standing there with a thermos deciding on what the lesson would be that day: "f###, I don't know...didn't we already do that a week ago...dodgeball in the hall...?...no, we'd have to stack the chairs to make room...f### that...none of them brought a book...what's that...?...yeah, we have a book for this subject...I think we do anyway, principal said we should in the last meeting...yeah, I went...you were there too...nah, f### it, it's too cold, they can run!". Ten minutes later, we were doing yet another cross country down Queechy Hill, the Punchbowl mud, the golf course, back through Norwood and the pensioners telling us to stay the f### away from their lawns...two minutes chat and then they'd let their unaccountability take over in the name of fitness...! I don't recall ever taking a biro to PE!

Everything is trial today, everything is a camp, and that's a key fundamental difference. It's like the kids have to go out on their own and learn the skills taught in 5 week blocks in HPE. Athletics day is a joke - the teachers have to do written courses on safety in events they are allocated virtually on the day (I was the shot put guy for a few years before hijacking the 1st placegetter judge position for races...the day goes a lot faster in that job), and the skills are not taught in class...on the day, I would give a little demo to the kids on how you throw a shot put, before letting them do it and go for high school records! Every sport except RL endures that up here. As a result, forget Australian footy and cricket - most of the kids are utterly ambivalent, with it being a different footy code area, and also because of the totally f###ed handling of cricket in this country...

So don't blame the ipads. Yeah, some lazy c###s in charge of parenting these days, but those who actively don't want to see their kids doing something are definitely the minority. If you put suits in charge of kids and their development, everything ends up f###ed.

7/9. Lton, Lauderdale, Tigers.

PE is very different to to what it was when I was a kid. Wednesday arvo sport for a start, plus games on Saturday morning. Not sure what you're doing in Tassie these days, but things got detached from 1987 when politicians argued a rule forcing kids to choose either a club or school footy...

Up here, Tully is RL territory, total dominance, and the only other sport with a league is netball. At school (I'm a teacher), the cricket nets and pitch were removed a few years ago, and the soccer nets are a combined soccer/rugby goalpost thing...the dimensions of the soccer nets are wrong because of this. Basketball is super popular, but not as a competitive sport - the courts are always full, the kids play one-on-one seriously and they all think they're LeBron, but there are no teams. For a kid to do that, there are regular events held...you can play for Peninsula (representing the entire pointy bit at the top of Australia!), and you get into that not through stellar performances through the season, but through turning up to a camp. HPE lessons themselves are half theory, because the H stands for Health - essays and powerpoints on healthy eating, drugs, body image, you name it. The intention is good, although there is something to be said for making kids run their arses around the block and for that to be the lesson plan! In 1985, I distinctly remember the PE staff having a chat before we got started on a freezing July morning, fog limiting visibility to the end of your arm, -2 degrees, each teacher standing there with a thermos deciding on what the lesson would be that day: "f###, I don't know...didn't we already do that a week ago...dodgeball in the hall...?...no, we'd have to stack the chairs to make room...f### that...none of them brought a book...what's that...?...yeah, we have a book for this subject...I think we do anyway, principal said we should in the last meeting...yeah, I went...you were there too...nah, f### it, it's too cold, they can run!". Ten minutes later, we were doing yet another cross country down Queechy Hill, the Punchbowl mud, the golf course, back through Norwood and the pensioners telling us to stay the f### away from their lawns...two minutes chat and then they'd let their unaccountability take over in the name of fitness...! I don't recall ever taking a biro to PE!

Everything is trial today, everything is a camp, and that's a key fundamental difference. It's like the kids have to go out on their own and learn the skills taught in 5 week blocks in HPE. Athletics day is a joke - the teachers have to do written courses on safety in events they are allocated virtually on the day (I was the shot put guy for a few years before hijacking the 1st placegetter judge position for races...the day goes a lot faster in that job), and the skills are not taught in class...on the day, I would give a little demo to the kids on how you throw a shot put, before letting them do it and go for high school records! Every sport except RL endures that up here. As a result, forget Australian footy and cricket - most of the kids are utterly ambivalent, with it being a different footy code area, and also because of the totally f###ed handling of cricket in this country...

So don't blame the ipads. Yeah, some lazy c###s in charge of parenting these days, but those who actively don't want to see their kids doing something are definitely the minority. If you put suits in charge of kids and their development, everything ends up f###ed.

Absolutely. Kids respond to the environment they are put in. If 'leadership' is lacking then the kids dont progress. They suffer in the long run. Health & mental/physical development are affected.

Sedentary behaviour is inherently unhealthy. Its about OBESITY people!! Activity starts at home, if not there, then in kindergarten. Indoor/outdoor. Fun environments, short attention spans (getting shorter. :() require an imaginative approach. Activity, music, interaction, attention.

I'd hate to be a teacher currently. Politicians & parents want to blame someone for little Johnny/Mary's behaviour. Guess who cops the crap.

If we want kids to play team sport, our sport, they need to develop active behaviours & see the sport as being 'cool'.

Around here, for those who bother, soccer is the kids choice. Their friends play, so they do too. The AFL themselves need to get into the LSE schools, not just the private schools. The 'elite' focus is a short term 'fix', & a long term disaster for our footy here, and for the kids

Launy by 45
Lauderdale by 6
KT by 30

I'd hate to be a teacher currently. Politicians & parents want to blame someone for little Johnny/Mary's behaviour. Guess who cops the crap.
It's been heaps better since covid!

Never mind the fact that my job was safe, unlike so many others who've really struggled and who I totally sympathise with - once non-teachers were forced to sit with their kids and try to school them at home, people started realising that jobs are done better by specialists...! You get the sparky in to fix the power point, the mechanic is better at fixing the computer in your car than you are...and the penny has now dropped that the person handling 30 kids at once just might have developed a few skills the average pleb struggles with having just 1, let alone a mob...!

When push came to shove, when a worldwide pandemic crisis forced us all to get to the point, yes, teaching is a job worthy of respect, and yes, socialism was the correct answer all along...! The difference these days is that when politicians want us to be babysitters, they now say "please"...!

Launnie look pretty good so far, mind you NL have slipped from recent years form and lost a lotta good players.
Clarence held on to beat the Dale in a nail biter, southern Bombers still winless but due for a win soon.
Thought NH would put up a better show at Kingston. Tigers blew em off the ground by close to ten goals. Thought that might be a close game actually.

Launnie look pretty good so far, mind you NL have slipped from recent years form and lost a lotta good players.
Clarence held on to beat the Dale in a nail biter, southern Bombers still winless but due for a win soon.
Thought NH would put up a better show at Kingston. Tigers blew em off the ground by close to ten goals. Thought that might be a close game actually.
NH just continue to go nowhere. Lots of recruits and look inept in some areas. Lauderdale vs North Hobart is a huge game this week.

Lauderdale have lead at 3QT in all 3 matches and been overrun each time, playing some decent footy but not winning, that’ll need to change soon or they’ll be too far back.

It’d be an interesting comp if you too Launnie out, everyone battling away for second unfortunately.

Yeah not bad is it. Easy read the competition at the minute. Bloody Roos had me on the edge of my seat today. Great game. Thought we might have been in for a long day early on.
How bloody good was the win mate? Pumped. Loving the energy and new style of the playing group. We aren’t winning the flag or anything, but we’re much better to watch this year

Clarence are a skillful team. Lauderdale gave them too much space, mids not defending. Great win for the Roos. Three blown leads at home could cost Lauderdale. Huge game next week.

How bloody good was the win mate? Pumped. Loving the energy and new style of the playing group. We aren’t winning the flag or anything, but we’re much better to watch this year
The energy of the group looks fantastic. Even when down we still look ready to go. And that showed yesterday. Such an exciting group. Think we are a fair bit off the top 2 sides but it's a very promising future

I just don’t see how Glenorchy stay in the league after what will happen to them this year. Having an underage system with extreme low numbers will hinder them also.
North Hobart went through something similar but had many underage players and still it’s taken 5 years to get where they are.
They have to make their club more appealing and I believe dropping to the SFL would do so. The old notions of playing in the best league possible have to be balanced with what’s best for the players you have left. How many Glenorchy players would play in the VFL team? Kamaric? Maybe/maybe not. Gunther if back yes. Grace if back and aligns with them yes.
Just my opinion.
Glenorchy will bounce back they still have buy far the best facility’s and actually have a stable income stream through there club rooms and function centre.

Having a good financial base is important for any club. The lack of a growth area seems to be a big problem for them. NH is lucky to have 2 strong junior clubs & a group of private schools to draw from. Keeping seniors has been the biggest problem for years.

The league badly needs at least 1 club from the NWC. It needs to provide better opportunity for NWC boys & to keep them on the coast.

KT by 70
Laun by 50
Lauderdale by 10

Glenorchy have 2 underage youth boys teams.
An under 13s
And an under 15s in Division 2.
No 14s,16s or 18s.
I hope they have money as they will simply have to buy senior players and hope they stay.
I really hope I’m wrong but I can’t see them being a good team in any competition for a long time.

General TSL Talk