• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

General TSL Talk

Club Ins and Out for 2023

Lauderdale

New Coach: Allen Christensen

Ins:

Phillip Bellchambers (North Shore)
Jason Gridley (Hobart)
Outs:
Lennon Marlin (Mainland)
Oscar Shaw (Overseas)
Will Poland (Sorell)
Bodhi Kingston (Sorell)
Sam Tilley (Woodville- West Torrens)
Harry Richmond

Kingborough

Ins:

Nic Baker (Sorell)
James Zeitzen (Cygnet)
Ryan Clark (Cygnet)
Reece Scotland (Cygnet)

Outs:

Brady Rees (QAFL)
Jordan Lane (Port Melbourne)
Zach Adams (Port Melbourne)
Luke Graham ( University)
Jackson Keogh ( Huonville)
Sam Duigan (Overseas)
Riley Ashlin (Overseas)

North Hobart

New Coach: Adam Bester

Ins:
Spencer White (Vic)
Outs:

Will Splann (Central Districts)
Callum Kilpatrick (West Preston)
George McLeod (Sturt)
Lachie Dale ( Victoria)
Logan Elphingstone (Burnie)
Sam Caswell (QLD)
Callum Kilpatrick (Victoria)

Clarence

Ins:

Noah Holmes (DOSA)
Mitch Anderton (Sorell)

Outs:

Colin Garland (Retired)

Keren Howlett (Claremont)
Dylan Howlett (Claremont)
Jonte Doran ( University)
Jaques Barwick (Perth)
Lachie Borsboom ( Overseas)

Glenorchy

Ins:

Outs:
Tom Cleary (University)
Ben Kamaric (Brighton)
Adam Roberts (DOSA)
John Geard ( St Virgils)
Riley Oakley (St Virgils)

Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Jay Blackberry (South Launceston)

Brendan Taylor (South Launceston)

Jake Smith (Rocherlea)

Michael Musicka ( Bracknell)

Cooper Warren ( Bracknell)

Josh Woolley ( Bracknell)

Miller Hodge ( Bracknell)

Jameson House ( Wynyard)

Jonty Mcivor ( Wynyard)

Fletcher Seymour ( Old Scotch)

Josiah Burling ( Perth)

Jett Maloney ( Longford)

Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

Its interesting that reporter, Stubbs, has come up with an exclusive here, must be feeling very comfortable,and safe , after getting his Kingston Tigers , to play with the big boys.(watch this space,for a barrage of Kingston reports from Stubbs)
He failed to mention Thurley, who was taking $25, 000 out of the $70,000

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...about-recruiting/story-fnj4f7h7-1226757742989

Nothing to see here people...Mr Scott Wade will get out the white wash on this! fair dinkum it has only taken 5 years to surface. As the article states look at all the tapping up of other clubs players over the last two -three years, Clarence has always proclaimed that they have a great junior development program, no wonder some club insiders are getting peeved off at the recruiting outside of there zone maybe its time to get rid of Roger the Dodger

Heard the Glenorchy football manager promised the senior coaching job to Matty Smith only for the President to declare Smith wouldn't get it. Smith has duly told Glenorchy what he thought of that and is now no longer there! Trying to keep Reynolds at the club with the promise of the job now is what my reliable source told me and are also looking at Aaron Cornelius as a contender too. Surely for what he could get on the mainland Glenorchy couldn't afford him, unless he wants to come home that bad?!

Yep heard that on Friday as well but they are chasing a player coach also heard one other interstate bloke has thrown hat in the ring with about 3 recruits but don't think pres likes the idea and found out today those players might be heading to Clarence "What this space" announcement soon I reckon and one source told me if they go to Clarence Glenorchy pres will be gone Bad management I reckon he might get a job at Argyle street lol ....

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...about-recruiting/story-fnj4f7h7-1226757742989

Nothing to see here people...Mr Scott Wade will get out the white wash on this! fair dinkum it has only taken 5 years to surface. As the article states look at all the tapping up of other clubs players over the last two -three years, Clarence has always proclaimed that they have a great junior development program, no wonder some club insiders are getting peeved off at the recruiting outside of there zone maybe its time to get rid of Roger the Dodger

Big Dramas down your way Grey Budgie ,went down to see my uncle and seems committee down Glenorchy don't know what's going on SURELY they need to find a coach immediately but if anyone else can shed a bit of light on it would be great still can't understand why if Reynolds has to think hard about it ,then surely his heart won't be in it and if this unknown bloke is any good and can get us players why the hell just use him to get some players here we are falling behind and really I keep thinking this is really bad management from a club I love but we are going backwards ....

Poorman I thought the current board of directors were going to be challenged by a Rival group headed by Luke Martin at Decembers AGM
(see article from Mercury Newspaper dated Sept 5th 2013)
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...-glenorchy-board/story-fnj4f7h7-1226710959701

I take it this has come to nothing, or are they still going to Challenge? There are problems at the Club but then again all clubs that are not in the camp of receiving the extra financial assistant from Argyle Street would be in the same boat. Maybe that is why they are in no rush of appointing a Coach lack of coin and a new Board about to take over.

The other fortnight I was talking to an old Player who told me that good average TSL players can earn up to Four time us much coin in Country Victoria as they can here in the TSL for the same time commitment, you would have to wonder who would want to play TSL past 21 years of age. AFL Tasmania has a lot to answer for. I predict next year Football statewide will go Belly up BIG TIME!

Poorman I thought the current board of directors were going to be challenged by a Rival group headed by Luke Martin at Decembers AGM
(see article from Mercury Newspaper dated Sept 5th 2013)
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...-glenorchy-board/story-fnj4f7h7-1226710959701

I take it this has come to nothing, or are they still going to Challenge? There are problems at the Club but then again all clubs that are not in the camp of receiving the extra financial assistant from Argyle Street would be in the same boat. Maybe that is why they are in no rush of appointing a Coach lack of coin and a new Board about to take over.

The other fortnight I was talking to an old Player who told me that good average TSL players can earn up to Four time us much coin in Country Victoria as they can here in the TSL for the same time commitment, you would have to wonder who would want to play TSL past 21 years of age. AFL Tasmania has a lot to answer for. I predict next year Football statewide will go Belly up BIG TIME!

I think that too GB. The TSL must be in trouble with all the questions hanging over the league management & its clubs.
I've been told that new team Prospect havent set the world on fire as far as players & facilities are concerned. It seems a lot of Kingston players have rejected the TSL & gone elsewhere for a kick. The tax issue at South Launy is still bubbling away, so is the Clarence salary cap inquiry. I also see that Burnie are asking for volunteers to manage the club! How professional is that! Also that the council might pull the support it gives to sports & events in Burnie. I'm still totally confused as to why NHFC doesnt exist anymore.
With any luck the AFL will look at the mess caused by AFLTas. They need to come over here, issue a few DCMs (Dont Come Monday) to most of their staff & organise this league properly & with an even hand.

I'll have a few bob each way on Clarence being found not guilty of Salary Cap breaches, they may be a lot of things but they're not stupid ..... are they?

I agree Barge ,they not stupid will have all bases covered, but interesting the mighty pies advertising for a playing coach very late to be doing that surely not many candidates left ,The guys they were chasing obviously knocked them back ,I love the pies but surely this is pretty ugly timing when training should be underway and players surely need to know what is going on ,Any thoughts and 1 question I don't understand how can South Launceston still not paid there players from last year heard this today and WIN the flag with debt ,this has got to be an absolute disgrace surely win the flag and not pay your players and on top of it all owe tax and other creditors money this is an all time joke on poor auditing by AFL TAS and yes even though Young claims to have helped them maybe he means hold creditors off and make it worse ..

Hopefully someone at the club puts their hand up to coach next year, I agree its to late to be getting anyone worth having from outside.

My understanding is all players from South have now been paid. Also heard from another source that apart from the Tax debt, which the tax department has put aside as long as South continue to pay any future taxation as it falls due, their current debt is only about 35K. A bit of hard work and that's not un-manageable. I do agree though that AFL TAS despite slipping in their own 'consultant ceo' they don't seem to have helped any.

I think that too GB. The TSL must be in trouble with all the questions hanging over the league management & its clubs.
I've been told that new team Prospect havent set the world on fire as far as players & facilities are concerned. It seems a lot of Kingston players have rejected the TSL & gone elsewhere for a kick. The tax issue at South Launy is still bubbling away, so is the Clarence salary cap inquiry. I also see that Burnie are asking for volunteers to manage the club! How professional is that! Also that the council might pull the support it gives to sports & events in Burnie. I'm still totally confused as to why NHFC doesnt exist anymore.
With any luck the AFL will look at the mess caused by AFLTas. They need to come over here, issue a few DCMs (Dont Come Monday) to most of their staff & organise this league properly & with an even hand.

AFL TAS have announced Prospect as the states representative in the Foxtel Cup. F..k me, they will never cease to amaze this lot. Surely Burnie would be the obvious club, they at least played in the GF this year.

Hopefully someone at the club puts their hand up to coach next year, I agree its to late to be getting anyone worth having from outside.

My understanding is all players from South have now been paid. Also heard from another source that apart from the Tax debt, which the tax department has put aside as long as South continue to pay any future taxation as it falls due, their current debt is only about 35K. A bit of hard work and that's not un-manageable. I do agree though that AFL TAS despite slipping in their own 'consultant ceo' they don't seem to have helped any.

Having seen what the Tax office can do (not with me:p). I doubt they would put anything aside. They would come to a payment arrangement but their is no way their wouldnt be a fine added to the bill. Their job is to get the tax in. They aint into sob stories, no matter who is at fault.
It would be interesting to see what the tax bill is for. It shouldnt be for the players as the amount they earn is not that much & I think they treat it like a hobby for tax purposes. Ie the deductions out weight the taxable amount. So the tax bill must be for their employees. Again I cant see them being let off anything like that.
I doubt we will find out.

AFL TAS have announced Prospect as the states representative in the Foxtel Cup. F..k me, they will never cease to amaze this lot. Surely Burnie would be the obvious club, they at least played in the GF this year.
WTF Prospect playing Foxtel cup now it's really going to far ,they also have no coach yet if Thorpe goes in draft ,they have lost about 11 premiership players ,this isn't a good advertisement for Tas Footy and I do hope someone at the Pies puts there hand as it's getting really late so I hope it can be sorted ....

Prospect in the Foxtel cup:eek: . Their first game out of 2nd division NTFA will be the Foxtel cup. If that club has any self respect they would decline the offer. Burnie should play. Prospect will get a payout no matter what the result so It seems that AFLTas will do anything to support its 'special' friends.
Prospect, TSL premiers 2014;)

Prospect in the Foxtel cup:eek: . Their first game out of 2nd division NTFA will be the Foxtel cup. If that club has any self respect they would decline the offer. Burnie should play. Prospect will get a payout no matter what the result so It seems that AFLTas will do anything to support its 'special' friends.
Prospect, TSL premiers 2014;)

As I understand it the Div 2 side is still continuing and the running of the statewide club is a separate entity. My own thoughts are that the tream that won the grand final should play. If that means that those players who have moved on to other clubs are invited back to play with the team then so be it. I also think they should play in the South Launceston strip. In the big scheme of things its a nothing competition anyway. The general football public won't be really interested until there is a return to genuine state of origin football at representative level or a national carnival held soon after the league rosters finish.

I understand that South Launceston earned the right to play in the Foxtel Cup but as we all know they are no longer in the competition. Surely the only option was to take the next best side from this season. I wonder what people will think of the standard of the TSL after Prospect participate in this competition. I think there are a number of other clubs as well as Burnie that would be capable of putting up a better showing than Prospect but obviously AFL Tas think otherwise.

I guess it really doesnt matter that much when compared to the mess AFLTas have inflicted on football in this state. Even so, the Foxtel cup is between clubs, NOT groups of players. SL are out of the league now. The logical replacement would be Burnie. Not the new club that has no standing in anything as yet. Let them develop first & then play in their own right.
It smacks of the sort of favoritism that Wade has shown to his 'mates' or maybe his 'sychophantic' associates.
( commonly known as suckholes!)

Any decision that comes out of Argyle St doesn't surprise me anymore, no matter how stupid it is. This administration continually makes bad decision after bad decision. The only people that suffer is the Tasmanian football public

Another purler from Argyle Street, Prospect has not played one game at the elite level of Tasmanian Football yet they have now qualified for the Foxtel Cup !!!!

AFL Tasmania the Laughing stock Of Australian Sport Administrators.

Another purler from Argyle Street, Prospect has not played one game at the elite level of Tasmanian Football yet they have now qualified for the Foxtel Cup !!!!

AFL Tasmania the Laughing stock Of Australian Sport Administrators.
Any News on Glenorchy Coach ,new team colours for Hobart City, the New Prospect team any colours is there anything guys really sub level competition ,can anyone tell me who the F--k Glenorchy hope to get as a playing coach this time of year and for that matter what decent Coach would do it this late in the season Bring in the NEW board I say the sooner or the better

Perhaps Glenorchy should have considered all this before knifing Beams and for that matter Smith! Heard they've lost 20+ players to various clubs and looking at their Colts results for 2013 don't appear to have too much quality coming through!

So with the way the roster is set up it would be appear that Clarence and Lauderdale are absolute certain to make the 5 next year. Kingborough will be putrid, Glenorchy sound as if they have self exploded and I cant see the city team challenging either of the eastern shore clubs.

Perhaps Glenorchy should have considered all this before knifing Beams and for that matter Smith! Heard they've lost 20+ players to various clubs and looking at their Colts results for 2013 don't appear to have too much quality coming through!

Must admit I am now days fairly removed from The Glenorchy Football Club all my info is second hand, but you have to wonder how well they are travelling.

Ben Beams “stood down” on 7th November the because his position was only going to be part time because the Club could no longer afford him to be full time as coach and development officer. And he had to find a full time job for his family sake.

It has been reported in the past that the AGM is being held next week and the Current board is being challenged
Things look bad from the outside:
  • No senor coach in late November
  • 20 Plus players have left
I am worried that could the Club be wound up???
As we know the Magpies along with a couple of other clubs are on the lowest form of funding from AFL Tasmania. Whatever happened to Glenorchy General Manager Jaimes Wiggins era at the pies? one minute there the next gonski....

How feasible is State-wide Football for the Clubs General revenue unless your receive special funding from the Boys and Girls at Argyle Street.

So with the way the roster is set up it would be appear that Clarence and Lauderdale are absolute certain to make the 5 next year. Kingborough will be putrid, Glenorchy sound as if they have self exploded and I cant see the city team challenging either of the eastern shore clubs.

And Then Clarence and Lauderdale will be only making up the numbers should be one the Northern teams again winning the flag next year.
Football in the South of the State is at low ebb, no team has made the GF for a while, no Southern Players being picked up in the Draft this year.

Glenorchy, Hobart City FC and Kingborough (Tigers what a silly name by itself) on the bottom with Devonport, all four clubs listed plus Prospect State FC could go belly up at any time (EG Southern Cats) the three new clubs will have very little support from the Public. Devonport don’t want to be in the SWL and Glenorchy well they are on the brink. State Wide football tick tock, tick tock...KABOOM

Not so sure about that, with Clarences recruiting I can see them easily catching up to Burnie and Launcston and Prospect will be an unknown but cant imagine them having the same impact as south did thismyear. If Lauderdale ever get there full side up and running at the back end of the year they will give it a shake. Both clubs also played off in the colts GF so that would suggest there is a fair bit of scope for improvement there. Getting almost guaranteed 9 wins and then playing Devonport, and North Launceston, i would say they both could be finishing high up the ladder.

General TSL Talk