• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

General TSL Talk

Club Ins and Out for 2023

Lauderdale

New Coach: Allen Christensen

Ins:

Phillip Bellchambers (North Shore)
Jason Gridley (Hobart)
Outs:
Lennon Marlin (Mainland)
Oscar Shaw (Overseas)
Will Poland (Sorell)
Bodhi Kingston (Sorell)
Sam Tilley (Woodville- West Torrens)
Harry Richmond

Kingborough

Ins:

Nic Baker (Sorell)
James Zeitzen (Cygnet)
Ryan Clark (Cygnet)
Reece Scotland (Cygnet)

Outs:

Brady Rees (QAFL)
Jordan Lane (Port Melbourne)
Zach Adams (Port Melbourne)
Luke Graham ( University)
Jackson Keogh ( Huonville)
Sam Duigan (Overseas)
Riley Ashlin (Overseas)

North Hobart

New Coach: Adam Bester

Ins:
Spencer White (Vic)
Outs:

Will Splann (Central Districts)
Callum Kilpatrick (West Preston)
George McLeod (Sturt)
Lachie Dale ( Victoria)
Logan Elphingstone (Burnie)
Sam Caswell (QLD)
Callum Kilpatrick (Victoria)

Clarence

Ins:

Noah Holmes (DOSA)
Mitch Anderton (Sorell)

Outs:

Colin Garland (Retired)

Keren Howlett (Claremont)
Dylan Howlett (Claremont)
Jonte Doran ( University)
Jaques Barwick (Perth)
Lachie Borsboom ( Overseas)

Glenorchy

Ins:

Outs:
Tom Cleary (University)
Ben Kamaric (Brighton)
Adam Roberts (DOSA)
John Geard ( St Virgils)
Riley Oakley (St Virgils)

Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Jay Blackberry (South Launceston)

Brendan Taylor (South Launceston)

Jake Smith (Rocherlea)

Michael Musicka ( Bracknell)

Cooper Warren ( Bracknell)

Josh Woolley ( Bracknell)

Miller Hodge ( Bracknell)

Jameson House ( Wynyard)

Jonty Mcivor ( Wynyard)

Fletcher Seymour ( Old Scotch)

Josiah Burling ( Perth)

Jett Maloney ( Longford)

Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

Not so sure about that, with Clarences recruiting I can see them easily catching up to Burnie and Launcston and Prospect will be an unknown but cant imagine them having the same impact as south did thismyear. If Lauderdale ever get there full side up and running at the back end of the year they will give it a shake. Both clubs also played off in the colts GF so that would suggest there is a fair bit of scope for improvement there. Getting almost guaranteed 9 wins and then playing Devonport, and North Launceston, i would say they both could be finishing high up the ladder.
Halftimehero do you know who Clarence have recruited at this point?

Heard it was causing a slight rift in the club between those who want to push for the underage players having a pathway and those at the top who want to raid other clubs. Maybe Lauderdale and other Southern Club should offer some Clarence colts players a pathway if they are not happy with there chances of getting a game at Clarence because of there recruiment policy.

I am not sure they have actually officially recruited anyone at this point, waiting for some cut off date or something. But if you believe the rumours they will certainly bolster there list significantly (all under the salary cap of course haha). Yeah heard there have been rumblings from inside here club about stunting there underage pathway but do you reckon Drury cares? All he wants is a flag or he will be gone, its been 3 years since they have played in a GF and he was the coach of the first Clarence side in 20 years to miss the top 3, I reckon the pressure is on.

Salary Cap, Clarence and AFL Tasmania as transparent as A Brick Wall
Re the article a few weeks back this quote had me baffled

"From the 2014 season, AFL Tasmania intends to appoint an independent person to investigate matters pertaining to the integrity of the competition"
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...about-recruiting/story-fnj4f7h7-1226757742989

So who has been policing the clubs Salary Caps in the last five years 2009 -2013.
Maybe Australia's Greatest Test All Rounder Shaun Young ?

Why not from 2014 Scott Wade should give the job to former SFL General Manager & Kingpin's favorite football administrator Noel Morrison as the independent person to investigate such matters ?

Well done to all the Tassie Boys who have been drafted this year Draft and Rookie Draft All the best for your futures. :)

Salary Cap, Clarence and AFL Tasmania as transparent as A Brick Wall
Re the article a few weeks back this quote had me baffled

"From the 2014 season, AFL Tasmania intends to appoint an independent person to investigate matters pertaining to the integrity of the competition"
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...about-recruiting/story-fnj4f7h7-1226757742989

So who has been policing the clubs Salary Caps in the last five years 2009 -2013.
Maybe Australia's Greatest Test All Rounder Shaun Young ?

Why not from 2014 Scott Wade should give the job to former SFL General Manager & Kingpin's favorite football administrator Noel Morrison as the independent person to investigate such matters ?

Well done to all the Tassie Boys who have been drafted this year Draft and Rookie Draft All the best for your futures. :)

Yes good luck to them but it does SFA for Tassie footy.
Even of those players Delisted, how many will come back? Its a one way street. The AFL have rooted our football. The last 5 years with this TSL has seen a few favorite clubs given extra money to buy players & cheat the leagues own salary cap. Then they have the cheek to talk about 'good governance'
AFLTas is just rotten to the core.

Must admit I am now days fairly removed from The Glenorchy Football Club all my info is second hand, but you have to wonder how well they are travelling.

Ben Beams “stood down” on 7th November the because his position was only going to be part time because the Club could no longer afford him to be full time as coach and development officer. And he had to find a full time job for his family sake.

It has been reported in the past that the AGM is being held next week and the Current board is being challenged
Things look bad from the outside:
  • No senor coach in late November
  • 20 Plus players have left
I am worried that could the Club be wound up???
As we know the Magpies along with a couple of other clubs are on the lowest form of funding from AFL Tasmania. Whatever happened to Glenorchy General Manager Jaimes Wiggins era at the pies? one minute there the next gonski....

How feasible is State-wide Football for the Clubs General revenue unless your receive special funding from the Boys and Girls at Argyle Street.
Well said GreyBudgie I heard again today they are trying to patch things up down there at the pies but really ,Where do they expect to find a playing coach worth his salt at this time of the year ,It really pisses me that these blokes have had applicants to coach 1 who has offered players and they saying NO I heard today don't they understand they need all the help they can get Sack the lot and get the New board in before they completely Fuuck my club I have supported for 15 years and anyone who doesn't want to go kick them out with your boot absolutely sick of it Johnnie Macc just go mate good bloke no good at this and Dan if all is true about you helping with the coach hang your head mate you couldn't run a chicken raffle if you owned a thousand chooks Sorry guys it's just piss poor ......

I saw the North Launceston President on Southern cross TV before State Parliament's Public Accounts Committee that is investigating how AFL Tasmania spends its annual State Government allocation.

He certainly did not hold back telling the committee how the AFL gave South Launceston extra funding over the last couple of years and that even all Junior registration fees in the Launceston area went straight to the Bulldogs.

Level Playing field ? about as level as Spring Hill. Your either on the Inside of the Tent with Scott Wade getting nice and warm with sweetheart deals, or on the outside being frozen out as is the case with North Launceston.

Well said GreyBudgie I heard again today they are trying to patch things up down there at the pies but really ,Where do they expect to find a playing coach worth his salt at this time of the year ,It really pisses me that these blokes have had applicants to coach 1 who has offered players and they saying NO I heard today don't they understand they need all the help they can get Sack the lot and get the New board in before they completely Fuuck my club I have supported for 15 years and anyone who doesn't want to go kick them out with your boot absolutely sick of it Johnnie Macc just go mate good bloke no good at this and Dan if all is true about you helping with the coach hang your head mate you couldn't run a chicken raffle if you owned a thousand chooks Sorry guys it's just piss poor ......

Poorman the website is back up (One small tick) I feel your pain been following the Pies since the Days of Trevor Sprigg, Stan Dac, Don Holland , Jimmy Dykes and Daryl Sutton.

Really the club seems poorly run ATM. Should be a top side in senors and Colts with the district they have. Do you know if the rival ticket that includes Luke Marin and Barry Ring is still going to challenge the current Board?

Poorman the website is back up (One small tick) I feel your pain been following the Pies since the Days of Trevor Sprigg, Stan Dac, Don Holland , Jimmy Dykes and Daryl Sutton.

Really the club seems poorly run ATM. Should be a top side in senors and Colts with the district they have. Do you know if the rival ticket that includes Luke Marin and Barry Ring is still going to challenge the current Board?

So sad to see a club like the Pies in this situation, I hope these guys do take over because it's a laughing stock at the moment if the current board cared enough they would just hand over. Beams being shafted should have been the final straw after a long list of off field f-ups. Wiggins, Morrisby, + Reid, M Bowden, Howard, Excell (most if not all, also shafted). When do they become accountable?

I heard the Parliamentary inquiry stuff yesterday. I also was told the sort of money that certain clubs were given over the last few years. As far as any clubs performance goes it looks like that apart from Devonport who were funded to stay alive, the ladder really just reflects the amount clubs were paid.
SL,Burnie way out in front, then Wades mates at Clarence & Lauderdale then Launy for some reason. The sides out of the finals (again apart from Devonport) were shafted.

Wade didnt want Hobart or NH to do any good because he was trying to rip them apart. He also hates Glenorchy & NL because they didnt suck hard enough when told. His mates at Clarence hate Glenorchy & North Launy due to 'history' so they were stuffed from the start.

So if some clubs have struggled lately, its easy to see one big reason why, Wade pulling strings is the biggest reason. The short controller himself diddling the league & the books it seems.

It will be interesting to see the salary cap investigation 'findings'

That will be funny seeing how AFLWade explains why the extra money they paid Clarence went straight into breaking their own salary cap rules.!!

HAHAHAHAHA what a bloody great farce.

& The AFL still let these dubious 'characters' control the cheque book!!

Who will act first? The AFL or the Tax office?

So sad to see a club like the Pies in this situation, I hope these guys do take over because it's a laughing stock at the moment if the current board cared enough they would just hand over. Beams being shafted should have been the final straw after a long list of off field f-ups. Wiggins, Morrisby, + Reid, M Bowden, Howard, Excell (most if not all, also shafted). When do they become accountable?
Welcome to BigFooty Ratstail22 :footy: lot's of names there as I said earlier I am a bit at arm lengths these days from the Magpies, the two name on that list that surprised me at the time of their demise were::
Mickey Bowden (Who had just coached the side to a premiership!!!)
and
Wiggo who from the outside seemed to be doing a great job.
Kim Excell I thought did not want the job the next year after taking over from Big Byron Howard
Time for a new broom at Anfield street I reckon.

What a farce, so we have a governing body of the game, who sets the rules for the league, YET are allowed to break there own rules to suit themselves??

Maybe this is the reason they didn't want a parliament enquiry, if this was the private sector of business the people responsible would be sacked. wade + young

Well AFL TAS I promise you something, I will no longer attend any TSL game, my weekly footy fix and $$$$ will be spent at SFL and OS games.

What a farce, so we have a governing body of the game, who sets the rules for the league, YET are allowed to break there own rules to suit themselves??

Maybe this is the reason they didn't want a parliament enquiry, if this was the private sector of business the people responsible would be sacked. wade + young

Well AFL TAS I promise you something, I will no longer attend any TSL game, my weekly footy fix and $$$$ will be spent at SFL and OS games.

Yes the plot thickens.
As I said I think club performances in TSL2 has been very strongly linked to AFL doling out the money, especially over the last 2-3 years.
Young's denials ring hollow, like all the other porkies told by him & Wade. they told clubs things at the start of the TSL2 which were not true.
Young should go back to a job which needs about as much management skill as shoveling shyte.
He wouldnt lie straight in bed.

AFL Tasmania have been for years been
  • · Unaccountable
  • · Untouchable
  • · Arrogant
  • · People appointed to positions on Nepotism
Its actual like the “Sopranos” the only person they have to answer to is Tony Soprona aka Andrew Demetriou and basically he gives a rat toss bag about football in Tasmania throw them a few scraps.

The Examiner article above mentions that the only club that did not receive extra funding in the last five years was North Hobart and look where that got them being independent from the teat of Argyle Street. Hopefully the State Parliament's Public Accounts Committee will open a few more people’s eyes on the rabble that is AFL Tasmania. There are still a lot of good people in Football unfortunately only a few work at Head office.

I mentioned years ago I was talking to another CEO of a Sport organisation in Tasmania and when I mentioned Scott Wade's name he immediately started laughing, that sums up what the JOKE that AFL Tasmania is in the sporting landscape of Tasmania.

FROM THE ABC Website
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-11-27/afl-tasmania-funding-revelations/5121096?section=tas
AFL Tasmania was denied some of its government funding this year because it failed to adequately support community football.

Mark my words, Wade will subtract that amount from the clubs. He wont accept any crap from a bunch of politicians. He will 'get' those clubs who spoke up & told the truth.

The only hope those clubs & footy has is as I said, either the AFL or the Tax office need to take action.

It reminds me of the Cresswell incident/situation. It wasnt until it blew up & he left that we saw what a mess was left. That was just one example of their good management skills.

Laugh, I never thought I'd stop. Yet they go on!!. AFLTas is the best comedy show in town. They are definitely better than the keystone cops at falling about & shooting themselves in the foot( now that is old!!)

Mark my words, Wade will subtract that amount from the clubs. He wont accept any crap from a bunch of politicians. He will 'get' those clubs who spoke up & told the truth.

The only hope those clubs & footy has is as I said, either the AFL or the Tax office need to take action.

It reminds me of the Cresswell incident/situation. It wasnt until it blew up & he left that we saw what a mess was left. That was just one example of their good management skills.

Laugh, I never thought I'd stop. Yet they go on!!. AFLTas is the best comedy show in town. They are definitely better than the keystone cops at falling about & shooting themselves in the foot( now that is old!!)

And before that we had Noel Morrison, Pure Comedy at it Best below is an article that has both Crezza & Morrison together in it.

Was due Diligence done on appointing either of these two, No the old Boys Club come on in No question asked "Carry On up Argyle Street"
http://prelive.themercury.com.au/article/2010/03/27/136515_todays-news.html

And before that we had Noel Morrison, Pure Comedy at it Best below is an article that has both Crezza & Morrison together in it.

Was due Diligence done on appointing either of these two, No the old Boys Club come on in No question asked "Carry On up Argyle Street"
http://prelive.themercury.com.au/article/2010/03/27/136515_todays-news.html

Haha! yes, didnt they also have the little 'liason' between an AFLTas employee & the netball person, when they rearranged the furniture somewhat:p.

"Carry on up Argyle st" on show now. (Gold:D)

Yes the netballer is still with Crezza (Now Wife Two) have a look at this "Fluffy Piece" feel sorry for his ex-wife and his kids in all of this, who he did not tell he was leaving when he jumped on that plane to London. Also all the other people he left out of pocket a lot who were involved with the Tassie Devils.

Gambling addiction is a big problem in Australia but fair dinkum this bloke shows little remorse IMO. Anyone read his book?
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fallen-idol-20130722-2qda9.html

Yes the netballer is still with Crezza (Now Wife Two) have a look at this "Fluffy Piece" feel sorry for his ex-wife and his kids in all of this, who he did not tell he was leaving when he jumped on that plane to London. Also all the other people he left out of pocket a lot who were involved with the Tassie Devils.

Gambling addiction is a big problem in Australia but fair dinkum this bloke shows little remorse IMO. Anyone read his book?
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fallen-idol-20130722-2qda9.html

Geez! I didnt know he married her:eek:. Dumped the missus & tin lids, thats a bit rough! I heard he had ripped off some people.

I didnt buy his book, I didnt want to add to his punting problem:p

State Parliament's Public Accounts Committee has discovered many issues which seriously question the ability of AFL Tasmania to properly administer the game in this State going forward (a lot of people would say the last 14 years also!). But moving forward having AFL Tasmania owning shares in clubs compromises the integrity of its own competition.

As can be witnessed by this Commission approved poaching of one clubs players to another Club as in the South Launceston Prospect case reported yesterday in the Examiner. Giving Prospect direct entry in to the Foxtell Cup by AFL Tasmania is also to act as a carrot to those players still showing loyalty to South Launceston.

To clarify a point if South Launceston had decided to merge with Prospect then I would accept that and would be Happy for them to play in the Foxtel Cup in 2014. But technically South Launceston and Prospect are two different clubs and Prospect have no right to be Playing in this comp. It just goes to show again my first point, Has the current board of AFL Tasmania the ability and the confidence of the Football Community to properly administer the game in this State going forward?

General TSL Talk