Genuinely Excited About GF Day

Shedmania

Jul 30, 2006
I can't wait. Snags, beers, bets, and the boys. Sensational. Brad Johsnson's brownlow win will pay for my entire day and when Nathan VB gets up for the Norm Smith i will run down Swanston St naked.

Shedmania said:
I can't wait. Snags, beers, bets, and the boys. Sensational. Brad Johsnson's brownlow win will pay for my entire day and when Nathan VB gets up for the Norm Smith i will run down Swanston St naked.

*note to self, stay away from swanston street

IM FIRED UP!!!

If the eagles are in it or not it's always a great day.
Best day of the year!!

If your not excited about GF day you obviously don't like football.

Shedmania said:
I can't wait. Snags, beers, bets, and the boys. Sensational.

Mate i can't agree more, It is truly a super day marked out a good year in advance on my calender. Gettin' the telly set up outside under the vergola, tables and chairs set up around the telly, all the boys will be over for a pissa of a time, all wearing footy jumpers I might add. Will get the BBQ started and the snags will be sizzling as the game gets underway. Plus the main thing, a big block of VB cans next to my deck chair, getting ready for a huge day!

Its like christmas......ooooooooh yes!

Yep it will be my 1st GF appearance and I cant wait, leaving next Wednesday will be in purple the whole way across the Nullarbor regardless of the outcome tomorrow, its just way to hard to pass up a free ticket to the GF...

Ther actual atmosphere at a grand final is crap. Too many neutrals and corporates. I find Prelim day a much better atmosphere. However meeting up at mates etc i suppose makes it a good day.

A bit like Melbourne Cup being a crap race day for drunks and the once a year goers.

jlc

JLC said:
Ther actual atmosphere at a grand final is crap. Too many neutrals and corporates. I find Prelim day a much better atmosphere. However meeting up at mates etc i suppose makes it a good day.

A bit like Melbourne Cup being a crap race day for drunks and the once a year goers.

jlc

There is a myth that the Grand Final hasn't got a good atmosphere, or that the Prelim. Final exceeds it for "atmosphere."

Every Grand Final I've been to, has had a fantastic atmosphere. There might be a lot of corporates and neutrals there, but it doesn't seem to detract from anything.

The GF has more atmosphere than any other game. I've been to 15 of them. I think I'm qualified to have an opinion on it.

westernnugget said:
IM FIRED UP!!!

If the eagles are in it or not it's always a great day.
Best day of the year!!

If your not excited about GF day you obviously don't like football.

what a load of rubbish.

I'm sorry but I'd rather watch grass grow. And I haven't miss a collingwood match in 20 years. I supposed you were pinned to seats when WC weren't in the the GF's over the years.

There isn't any build up at all over here and I suppose I have no real rivalry towards any of the clubs, and in my mind thats what makes footy and sorry Interstate clubs just don't cut it in Melbourne when you take the history of the comp in Victoria. Obviously Interstate teams scoff at this and tell Victorian clubs to get over it. But maybe you need to come over and have a history lesson on why and how the rivalry started even if it is over 100 years old.

You only had to see Louie tonight on the Footy show to understand this. What a legend, he has done so much.

Dan26 said:
There is a myth that the Grand Final hasn't got a good atmosphere, or that the Prelim. Final exceeds it for "atmosphere."

Every Grand Final I've been to, has had a fantastic atmosphere. There might be a lot of corporates and neutrals there, but it doesn't seem to detract from anything.

The GF has more atmosphere than any other game. I've been to 15 of them. I think I'm qualified to have an opinion on it.

Sure it has great atmosphere but I have been to 77,79,80,81,02,03 :eek: (90 I was in England) and all of them obviously create more tension and illness because its the last game. but since Anzac day, I really enjoy this more because at least you have another chance and both teams put on a good show (sometimes). this is a typical collingwood perspective and if we ever make another GF, please buy a ticket O/S for me please:D

malteaser said:
what a load of rubbish.

I'm sorry but I'd rather watch grass grow. And I haven't miss a collingwood match in 20 years. I supposed you were pinned to seats when WC weren't in the the GF's over the years.

There isn't any build up at all over here and I suppose I have no real rivalry towards any of the clubs, and in my mind thats what makes footy and sorry Interstate clubs just don't cut it in Melbourne when you take the history of the comp in Victoria. Obviously Interstate teams scoff at this and tell Victorian clubs to get over it. But maybe you need to come over and have a history lesson on why and how the rivalry started even if it is over 100 years old.

You only had to see Louie tonight on the Footy show to understand this. What a legend, he has done so much.
I agree with the other fellow. If your only in it for the pre game media hype than I think you really mustn't like football.

GF day is awesome. Even over here it is a big deal (actually no, only at the AUssie sports bar :eek:). But even in the cramped space with the neutral fans drinking beers & eating imported pies, it is great!

Yeah, I remember the days of waking up to watch the under 18's, then the reserves and then the build-up to the big game. Don't think it's quite like that these days but it was always nice to have a few snags and beers and have a kick of the footy at half-time.

Now I can't even watch the damn thing, being stuck over in heathen America :p

malteaser said:
what a load of rubbish.

Please "Oh Great One",enlighten us about the history of the VFL.We know about the history of the VFL you moron.We've had it shoved down our throats for years on end.I know you wouldn't have a clue,living in your insular little world as you do,but SA & WA have competitions with history as well.Our competition, known as the SANFL also has rivalries(how 'bout that!),so maybe you should come over and have a history lesson on why and how our rivalries started.But you wouldn't be interested in that now would you?No,of course not,because Victoria is the centre of the football universe.Your ignorance is embarrassing.Here's a fact:The SANFL was as good a standard and had rivalries just as fierce as the VFL.And before you shoot me down,answer this-have you ever seen an SANFL game before the national comp started?If not,STFU you self righteous twat!:mad:

copernicus said:
Now I can't even watch the damn thing, being stuck over in heathen America :p

No coverage, I had heard that coverage wasn't too bad in America. In the UK its pretty terrible - but we do get the GF live on pay tv.

Not quite the same though watching it at around 6am...

skzm said:
No coverage, I had heard that coverage wasn't too bad in America. In the UK its pretty terrible - but we do get the GF live on pay tv.

Not quite the same though watching it at around 6am...

It's only being shown on DirecTV satellite now - I don't have that and there aren't many pubs that do. None that are handy enough to stay up til 4 in the morning watching the game, unfortunately.

Shedmania said:

I'm on Brad Johnson for the Brownlow also.
Better hope its not a cold day if you plan on doing a nudey run!:p

Dan26 said:

Exactly right Dan. I think the poster you were replying to hasn't got too many clues. "Too many corporates". What rubbish.

I couldn't care less if there are no Victorian teams playing, the GF between Port & Brisbane in 2004 was a pretty good game with plenty of atmosphere. It's all about the build up to the game. Often you get a score blowout, but that comes with the GF territory.

Even when I was little I thought the Grand Final was better than Christmas!

Genuinely Excited About GF Day