Gerry Harvey is a fat ****

Jan 7, 2005
Down the rabbit hole
Fatebringer
http://business.theage.com.au/business/retail-king-slams-nohoper-charity-20081120-6cwj.html

RETAILING billionaire Gerry Harvey has lamented that Australian charity is being wasted on "no-hopers".

Asked in a new book about his community role, Mr Harvey said giving to people who "are not putting anything back into the community" is like "helping a whole heap of no-hopers to survive for no good reason".

He said it was arguable that giving charity to the homeless was "just wasted". "It might be a callous way of putting it but what are they doing?" he said. "They are just a drag on the whole community."

He emphasised that he and his retail chain, Harvey Norman, had given "plenty away over the years … the more quality individuals you develop in the community, the better off the community should be".

The comments are in the book Master CEOs, by funds manager Matthew Kidman.

Clare Martin, of the Australian Council of Social Service, said she had always thought Harvey Norman was aligned with the wider business sector on community involvement.

"It does surprise me that Gerry Harvey, who's a very significant business figure, should not share the values of many other corporates."

what a ****. He probably resents the fact that homeless don't buy his plasma tv's.

Classy, Gerry. Greedy flange. Blokes like him are the problem, and I reckon he knows it.

what a ****. He probably resents the fact that homeless don't buy his plasma tv's.

Why wouldn't they? Aren't they the type of people he is trying to attract with his 'pay nothing for three years' sales pitch?

Considering as NorthBhoy has pointed out, places like Harvey Norman are the reason for the massive overspending on credit, his statements take a lot of front.

This lap top that I use for work is from Harvey Norman using flexirent. The contract is up in a year and I shall be upgrading but not through Harvey Norman.

We have probably spent $20 000 there over the years. The prick will get no more business from my family or me.

What an absolute disgrace !

Why wouldn't they? Aren't they the type of people he is trying to attract with his 'pay nothing for three years' sales pitch?

lol yeah, not sure there's too many places to plug them in around your average park bench

Considering as NorthBhoy has pointed out, places like Harvey Norman are the reason for the massive overspending on credit, his statements take a lot of front.

Exactly; him and his easy credit buddies are one of the main contributing factors to some people sliding into homelessness.

As a legal professional MrMeaner, I'm sure one of your or your firm's largest pro bono engagements are for homeless people. It almost beggers belief this **** can be so ignorant and insensitive to societies issues, that as you've rightly pointed out, he contributes to!

This lap top that I use for work is from Harvey Norman using flexirent. The contract is up in a year and I shall be upgrading but not through Harvey Norman.

We have probably spent $20 000 there over the years. The prick will get no more business from me or my family.

What an absolute disgrace !

Good stuff. I'll never shop there again that's for sure

Exactly; him and his easy credit buddies are one of the main contributing factors to some people sliding into homelessness.

Those people are sliding into homelessness because they cant control their debts, they put themselves into that situation, Harvey Norman merely provided the goods and service. Credit institutions can be particularly deceptive when providing these "no interest for 3 years" sorts of deals, the interest they charge if you dont pay them is bordering on criminal however no ones is forcing them to take the offer.

However Gerry is out of line, very poor form.

Those people are sliding into homelessness because they cant control their debts, they put themselves into that situation, Harvey Norman merely provided the goods and service. Credit institutions can be particularly deceptive when providing these "no interest for 3 years" sorts of deals, the interest they charge if you dont pay them is bordering on criminal however no ones is forcing them to take the offer.

I don't think he is out of line,at least we know where he stands now. What do you think is poor form - what he said, or the fact he came out and said it?

There is no doubt that people need to take some personal responsibility, but big corporations like Harvey Norman have very loose criteria for checking people's ability to pay and actively push things like flexirent for people who are using the items for personal use. This means they cannot claim it against their tax and pay over the top prices.

We are fortunate to have people such as Jack Bendat in Australia who act like responsible corporate citizens and show such a generous spirit to those that are less fortunate than themselves.

The truth is however, Australian millionaires give far less per capita to charities than those in the US.

With the amount of middle class welfare under John Howard and the bail out by Kevin Rudd of profligate businesses, Harvey's comments are shallow, insensitive and hypocrticial.

So long as you aren't flipping them $20 in the street for "food" (Read: McWilliams Ginger Wine and/or Stanley Goons) then I fail to see how easing the suffering of fellow human beings via soup, shelter and clothing, can possibly construed as "wasted".

Odd!

Well what do they put back into the community?

If they are actively seeking work or looking to improve their situations then fair enough give em a hand.

But if they aren't then maybe Harvey is right about those kinds.
It's not surprising, but that's not very Christian of you. I can't recall if that useless bludger Jesus ever had home, the stories told seem to be of him laying about in the street with a bunch of other bearded hobos.

If they are actively seeking work or looking to improve their situations then fair enough give em a hand.

how exactly do you go about getting a job when you have no home, no bed, no shower, no wardrobe, & no forwarding address? What would you suggest?

And this fat **** doesn't even want to give them the minimum of help required to lift themselves out of their misery!

You sure you agree with that position?

I'm always astonished that people can have the belief that homelessness is somehow a "lifestyle choice"...

What do the elderly put back into the community? Or the infirmed? Or the disabled? Or the mentally ill?

It's not surprising, but that's not very Christian of you. I can't recall if that useless bludger Jesus ever had home, the stories told seem to be of him laying about in the street with a bunch of other bearded hobos.

What's not christian?

Pointing out that there's legitimate cases who deseve help and there's also cases of people who are just lazy or actually rorting the system?

There's an old saying that God helps those who help themselves.

How many of these homeless people have a home to go to should they wish but choose to live the life they do?

I'm not sure if you're saying these people should just be given handouts and nobody ever question them as to their motives or lack of effort to improve their situation or not.

What do the elderly put back into the community? Or the infirmed? Or the disabled? Or the mentally ill?

They have already put 50 years of work into it.

And there's disabled people out there with a work ethic that puts able bodied people to shame.

I'm sure Harvey isn't saying all people in that situation aren't worthy of a few hand outs, but perhaps he's saying ok hold on you've been taking these handouts for 10 years, when are you going to do something about your situation.

It's a fair question to ask imo.

What's not christian?

Pointing out that there's legitimate cases who deseve help and there's also cases of people who are just lazy or actually rorting the system?

There's an old saying that God helps those who help themselves.

How many of these homeless people have a home to go to should they wish but choose to live the life they do?
I'm not sure if you're saying these people should just be given handouts and nobody ever question them as to their motives or lack of effort to improve their situation or not.

omg...you can't be serious...

By definition, if you have a home, you're not homeless :rolleyes:

how exactly do you go about getting a job when you have no home, no bed, no shower, no wardrobe, & no forwarding address? What would you suggest?

And this fat **** doesn't even want to give them the minimum of help required to lift themselves out of their misery!

You sure you agree with that position?

I'm always astonished that people can have the belief that homelessness is somehow a "lifestyle choice"...

And i'm always astonished that people believe some dicks don't put themselves into these situations because they are just that, dicks.

Some guy doesn't like his mum saying he cant smoke his bong at home and leaves because she's always on his case.

So all of a sudden he's technically homeless even though he has a perfectly good home to live in.

What help does he deseve really?

His own place so he can smoke his bong in peace?

I remember reading a great article on a guy who had been homeless for 5 or more years because he got on the drugs and booze, he was about 40 and one day he just decided he'd had enough of that shit life.

Within 12 months he'd set himself up with accomodation, got himself a job and his life had completely turned around.

He did it with the help of various community groups who were more than willing to help him because he asked for it.

My question is how many of these people in these situations actually ask for help and then put in the effort to get out of thier situation?

If you haven't done it within a few years of being homeless surely it's a fair question to ask, why not?

They have already put 50 years of work into it.

And there's disabled people out there with a work ethic that puts able bodied people to shame.

I'm sure Harvey isn't saying all people in that situation aren't worthy of a few hand outs, but perhaps he's saying ok hold on you've been taking these handouts for 10 years, when are you going to do something about your situation.

It's a fair question to ask imo.
How do you know that? There could be many of the elderly who have contributed little to society over the years.

And exactly how do you know that the homeless haven`t put a lot into the community themselves before finding themselves in their current situation?

How do you know that there aren`t many homeless who themselves aren`t mentally ill for instance and beyond helping themselves? Should they be left to fend for themselves?

Anyway, my point was if people of the ilk of Harvey and yourself are going to judge people on what they contribute to society, why limit it to the homeless? The other groups I mentioned are a major drain on society and contribute little or nothing, why not stop helping them out as well?

Harvey comments are a disgrace. In my opinion, it reflects poorly on those who agree with him.

"Choose" is a strange word!

Not really.

Are we to believe every young person on the streets is there because they were abused?

Or can we assume some are there because they weren't allowed to do what they wanted at home so they just left because they want to get their own way all the time.

How do you know that? There could be many of the elderly who have contributed little to society over the years.

And exactly how do you know that the homeless haven`t put a lot into the community themselves before finding themselves in their current situation?

How do you know that there aren`t many homeless who themselves aren`t mentally ill for instance and beyond helping themselves? Should they be left to fend for themselves?

Anyway, my point was if people of the ilk of Harvey and yourself are going to judge people on what they contribute to society, why limit it to the homeless? The other groups I mentioned are a major drain on society and contribute little or nothing, why not stop helping them out as well?

Harvey comments are a disgrace. In my opinion, it reflects poorly on those who agree with him.

And how do you know all these 'homeless" people are legitimate?

Iv'e not stated that those worthy of help shouldn't get it, but fair dinkum if you have been homeless for an extended period of time there comes a point in time where people have the right to ask you when the **** are you going to sort yourself out?

Are you happy with someone who sits on the dole for 10 years and hardly makes an attempt to find work?

Are we suppossed to keep giving and giving to people who never make an effort to improve their own situations?

Gerry Harvey is a fat ****