Those who wear long sleeves already on notice
You think Xavier cares about looking incompetent? He’s done plenty of that and we just re-signed himI don’t believe the essendon talk at all, what would be the point of campbell going after Clarkson when sacking rutten would just make hm look incompetent, after first choosing to hire him and then with all the internal review stuff this year. Wouldn’t be surprised if gws are only luke warm on clarkson and his camp are getting the word out that there’s another pontential suitor to force their hand.
Give me Zerk over ClarkoThose who wear long sleeves already on notice
You think Xavier cares about looking incompetent? He’s done plenty of that and we just re-signed him
Mate.stunned that we’d consider a coaching change when we are still a mathematical chance for the finals.
Yep. 98% of fans would get over it within 24 hours and the rest of the footballing world wouldn't begrudge us for doing so.Hed absolutely spin it that while we were happy with rutten we couldn't pass up the best coach ect
I’d also approve of him getting Jobes Brownlow backI’m willing to consider it, but I would need him to formally renounce his premierships, provide some internal information that would lead to the destruction of hawthorn,…and punch Sam Mitchell in the mouth.
Some of you need to stop living in fantasy land. I'm all for showing respect, and I know it may come across as otherwise in my suggestion that we do in fact get Clarkson but.... you're all the same people that have been crying out about our lack of success as a club for the better part of 20 years now. You're the same bunch that have cried about us no longer being a ruthless club like we once were and how we were truly one of the biggest clubs in the land. We haven't been a powerhouse since the very early 2000s and that's because we've become soft and all about money/business first rather then winning games of football. This isn't just a business thing, it has extended to how we play and recruit too. I really wish things would work out with Rutten, but it hasn't worked and we don't have time to wait another 12 months to decide if we bring in Clarkson because you can bet your money that he'll be gone and signed to another club by the end of the year. Literally all other 17 clubs are lurking, trying to win his services in some way!
In order to be a great club again, we need to be ruthless and make hard decisions. People and relationships matter and they're important but the game is about winning games of football. Sure, there is no 100% guarantee that things will change with Clarkson but his proven record gives more weight to the idea that it's a greater reality then the one that is currently at play. The whole club is a mess, everyone from the playing group down looks so uninspired and that needs to change. Mark my words, if things haven't changed by round three next year and Rutten is still in charge, I sure as hell know your tone for change will be erupting and you'll regret not waving the flag for recruiting Clarkson when everyone else was.
That post had a slitter of truth in it. Keep Rutten (which I'm not against) and all summer we will be hearing how big Perkins is and Jones has grown three feet and is kicking them from 60 out of one step and Parish, Merrett, Stringer and Langford are in career best shape but come round three if this side is 0/3 or 1/2 this site and the blitz will go into full meltdown about how bad the list is and how hopeless the club is.For someone who states outright he values respect, your post does the opposite to the intended audience.
And stuff me the “same people” argument is the favourite fallacy of modern times. Which same people? What are their names? Or do you just like lumping people into one big group and shouting HYPOCRITE?!
That post had a slitter of truth in it. Keep Rutten (which I'm not against) and all summer we will be hearing how big Perkins is and Jones has grown three feet and is kicking them from 60 out of one step and Parish, Merrett, Stringer and Langford are in career best shape but come round three if this side is 0/3 or 1/2 this site and the blitz will go into full meltdown about how bad the list is and how hopeless the club is.
It was said in general, as Twitter is barking up about how they want one thing yet want to keep the person in charge - but you can't have it both ways. Seems you've taken it personal, which is fine but I was just more or less making a comment/giving opinion about people wanting this once great club to be pulled out of what has felt like 100 feet of mud for the better part of 20+ years. It's fine if you don't agree with my thoughts, that's what posting on here is about and talking about it. Also, just generally speaking, literally no coaching exit is done with respect... it's an unfortunate reality of the game. We'd be foolish to not have a serious think about this move given bar the dumpster fire that is North Melbourne, we've been a laughing stock this year. Again, it's fine you have an opinion, I respect it!For someone who states outright he values respect, your post does the opposite to the intended audience.
And stuff me the “same people” argument is the favourite fallacy of modern times. Which same people? What are their names? Or do you just like lumping people into one big group and shouting HYPOCRITE?!
How many coaches 18 months in at the start of a rebuild have been going great guns? Clarkson himself only had 14 wins in his first two seasons. Don't get me wrong, he's a great coach but **** me dead this is exactly what some of us are talking about when we say Essendon have a messiah complex. As if hiring him is a magical panacea that will cure us of all our woes.Some of you need to stop living in fantasy land. I'm all for showing respect, and I know it may come across as otherwise in my suggestion that we do in fact get Clarkson but.... you're all the same people that have been crying out about our lack of success as a club for the better part of 20 years now. You're the same bunch that have cried about us no longer being a ruthless club like we once were and how we were truly one of the biggest clubs in the land. We haven't been a powerhouse since the very early 2000s and that's because we've become soft and all about money/business first rather then winning games of football. This isn't just a business thing, it has extended to how we play and recruit too. I really wish things would work out with Rutten, but it hasn't worked and we don't have time to wait another 12 months to decide if we bring in Clarkson because you can bet your money that he'll be gone and signed to another club by the end of the year. Literally all other 17 clubs are lurking, trying to win his services in some way!
In order to be a great club again, we need to be ruthless and make hard decisions. People and relationships matter and they're important but the game is about winning games of football. Sure, there is no 100% guarantee that things will change with Clarkson but his proven record gives more weight to the idea that it's a greater reality then the one that is currently at play. The whole club is a mess, everyone from the playing group down looks so uninspired and that needs to change. Mark my words, if things haven't changed by round three next year and Rutten is still in charge, I sure as hell know your tone for change will be erupting and you'll regret not waving the flag for recruiting Clarkson when everyone else was.
I think you have to be sure because otherwise we're doing a disservice to the fans but more importantly to the players (as if playing for Essendon isn't bad enough, amirite). Players get 12 years or so in the system if they're lucky, for most it's obviously a lot less. We shouldn't be wasting some of those years umming and erring whether or not X is the right person to take us forward. We should be constantly evaluating and if need be, making changes to give our players and club the best shot at success.I really don't understand why we HAVE to be sure that Rutten's the man at this stage. When you sack someone you're saying that you know, without a shadow of a doubt that he isn't the man for the job. Now I'm not sure either way if he is but I've seen enough signs to suggest that he could be the man, which is enough at this stage of a rebuild.
I’ve been dating this girl for the last 4 years and I’m just not sure it’s going anywhere. I mean I like her, she is nice, respectful to my parents, my friends think she is fine and she gives me a lot of freedom. But if I’m honest she doesn’t have a lot of confidence, she’s a bit boring, pretty lousy in bed (I’ve been trying to implement some of her strange moves for years without success). I’m not sure where it’s going but you know Ive had a fair few relationships over the last 15 years and none have been particularly good for me so I’m trying to be sensible.
Then (you won’t believe this!) just this week I find out that the smartest, funniest, hottest little thing that like anyone has ever seen and I have always envied from afar (she used to date this guy I hated) wants to get together and spend the next 6 months in bed getting high and winning.
What do you reckon. I’m torn.
I totally get what you're saying but if you look at the performances this year, excluding the wins as they really just mask everything else, look at the overall vibe of the playing group... they've look uninspired, confused and at times not really enjoying the environment. It's just confusing when you see that there is a massive disconnection between things. I know we've somewhat been playing a better brand of footy over the last maybe 3 weeks but if you push that aside you can still see that there are obvious signs of disconnect. Whether that's just the overall vibe of the place isn't right or the message that is being said from coach to player isn't translating come gameday... something has to budge. I'm not suggesting he's going to magically fix the issues as I said above that it's not guarantee it'll fix anything but it'd be foolish to not have serious consideration given he's available.How many coaches 18 months in at the start of a rebuild have been going great guns? Clarkson himself only had 14 wins in his first two seasons. Don't get me wrong, he's a great coach but * me dead this is exactly what some of us are talking about when we say Essendon have a messiah complex. As if hiring him is a magical panacea that will cure us of all our woes.
I really don't understand why we HAVE to be sure that Rutten's the man at this stage. When you sack someone you're saying that you know, without a shadow of a doubt that he isn't the man for the job. Now I'm not sure either way if he is but I've seen enough signs to suggest that he could be the man, which is enough at this stage of a rebuild.
The vibe of the playing group has been that bad that they are all signing on again.I totally get what you're saying but if you look at the performances this year, excluding the wins as they really just mask everything else, look at the overall vibe of the playing group... they've look uninspired, confused and at times not really enjoying the environment. It's just confusing when you see that there is a massive disconnection between things. I know we've somewhat been playing a better brand of footy over the last maybe 3 weeks but if you push that aside you can still see that there are obvious signs of disconnect. Whether that's just the overall vibe of the place isn't right or the message that is being said from coach to player isn't translating come gameday... something has to budge. I'm not suggesting he's going to magically fix the issues as I said above that it's not guarantee it'll fix anything but it'd be foolish to not have serious consideration given he's available.
If Clarkson wasn't available, then we wouldn't be calling to sack Rutten this early into his coaching career. That's exactly the problem I have with the idea that Clarkson will somehow turn it around with exactly the same players. I understand if we were North/West Coast level bad, but we were only uncompetitive in 3 games this year with an inexperienced list (well 2.5 considering first half of Freo game was close). We already made enough progress to beat one of them in the return game.I think you have to be sure because otherwise we're doing a disservice to the fans but more importantly to the players (as if playing for Essendon isn't bad enough, amirite). Players get 12 years or so in the system if they're lucky, for most it's obviously a lot less. We shouldn't be wasting some of those years umming and erring whether or not X is the right person to take us forward. We should be constantly evaluating and if need be, making changes to give our players and club the best shot at success.
In other areas of life, taking the "not sure, wait and see" approach generally isn't the correct option. In business - if someone was underperforming, you thought there were better options or you're just not convinced - you'd make the change. In personal relationships, you'd do the same thing.
I know how much we both love Blitz; I thought this post was quite funny but also true.
Sir this is a Wendy’s.Some of you need to stop living in fantasy land. I'm all for showing respect, and I know it may come across as otherwise in my suggestion that we do in fact get Clarkson but.... you're all the same people that have been crying out about our lack of success as a club for the better part of 20 years now. You're the same bunch that have cried about us no longer being a ruthless club like we once were and how we were truly one of the biggest clubs in the land. We haven't been a powerhouse since the very early 2000s and that's because we've become soft and all about money/business first rather then winning games of football. This isn't just a business thing, it has extended to how we play and recruit too. I really wish things would work out with Rutten, but it hasn't worked and we don't have time to wait another 12 months to decide if we bring in Clarkson because you can bet your money that he'll be gone and signed to another club by the end of the year. Literally all other 17 clubs are lurking, trying to win his services in some way!
Clarko wants to come back and coach. There's no ifs and buts about it.If Clarkson wasn't available, then we wouldn't be calling to sack Rutten this early into his coaching career. That's exactly the problem I have with the idea that Clarkson will somehow turn it around with exactly the same players. I understand if we were North/West Coast level bad, but we were only uncompetitive in 3 games this year with an inexperienced list (well 2.5 considering first half of Freo game was close). We already made enough progress to beat one of them in the return game.
Clarkson doesn't even know if he wants to come back to coach. That's a massive red flag. Doesn't matter how much they've achieved in the past, but a coach has to be hungry from the outset and willing to be there for the long run. There's no evidence that Clarkson can do with our current list what Rutten can't do given his win-loss record with Hawthorn wasn't great in his last couple of years. It's also not like Rutten and Caracella haven't overseen the overhaul of the most dominant team in the last 5 years.