Nov 3, 2006
Philadelphia Phillies
No.9 For God's sake be BOLD

Have just walked home from work listening to the radio, so this comes with a large rider on current events.
"Assuming no-one has been murdered......."
Looks like WC will be forced into action re: Ben Cousins regardless of his actions in this situation.
Provided it's nothing major & he's not going to jail, I believe RFC are now in a prime position to BE BOLD and take a major risk on this guy.
Now, before you lynch me, hear me out......
We have a troubled man here who just happens to be one of the best midfielders of the past decade.
We have a recently much vaunted club support culture that is supposedly 1st class regarding personal issues.
We are constantly told what a level-headed, mature bunch of kids we have on our list. Kids who you would hope, can make up their own mind in their personal lives.
We have a list screaming out for a genuine star, someone who can show the way re training till you die, then pushing through.
We have been a pathetically timid club in recent memory and suffer disdain from opposition supporters for all number of reasons.
So,
Bad boy?? So what.
Bad influence on the kids?? Have some faith in these guys as individuals.
Could we use him on field? Hell yesssssss!!!!
Could we use him on the training track? Hell yes!
Is there anything to be lost? Well, PSD has thrown us rubbish recently. Get this guy out of his current environment & see what happens. No doubting his efforts regards to footy. If it pays off, what a coup!! If not, well, we were at least BOLD enough to try something big to change our fortunes.
I know, I've gone on a bit here. And I know I'll probably be shot down, but why not take off the PC warm & fuzzy glasses and try something crazy.
What did Kernahan say? We are Carlton and **** the rest.
What would GR do??

Re: No.9 For God's sake be BOLD

Have just walked home from work listening to the radio, so this comes with a large rider on current events.
Looks like WC will be forced into action re: Ben Cousins regardless of his actions in this situation.
Provided it's nothing major & he's not going to jail, I believe RFC are now in a prime position to BE BOLD and take a major risk on this guy.
We have a troubled man here who just happens to be one of the best midfielders of the past decade.
We have a recently much vaunted club support culture that is supposedly 1st class regarding personal issues.
We are constantly told what a level-headed, mature bunch of kids we have on our list. Kids who you would hope, can make up their own mind in their personal lives.
We have a list screaming out for a genuine star, someone who can show the way re training till you die, then pushing through.
We have been a pathetically timid club in recent memory and suffer disdain from opposition supporters for all number of reasons.
So,
Bad boy?? So what.
Is there anything to be lost? Well, PSD has thrown us rubbish recently. Get this guy out of his current environment & see what happens. No doubting his efforts regards to footy. If it pays off, what a coup!! If not, well, we were at least BOLD enough to try something big to change our fortunes.
I know, I've gone on a bit here. And I know I'll probably be shot down, but why not take off the PC warm & fuzzy glasses and try something crazy.
What would GR do??

Hmm interesting
maybe sign him for a year
first bad thing he does sack him

if he plays good footy and stays clean well done
if he does anything wrong we look like we wont tolerate bullshit at our club might be an option mate

no doubt he can play

nope - this guy is no victim - he is his own worst enemy - doesn't deserve to be an AFL footballer - doesn't deserve to be respected - he has totally let the eagles supporters down after they supportered him fantastically up his return - they have just lost judd - and cousins finds himself in cuffs getting dragged into a cop shop.

screw him

AFL and PA should act and de-register this shithead now and put an end to the embarrassment this fool keeps bringing to our great game

big no from me - i'm all for taking a risk come PSD day - but not a fan of letting shitheads getting opportunity after opportunity - that many of us would only dream about - and spitting in its face:thumbsdown:

suck a fat one west coast - it all came back to haunt you - you ignored the problem for 2 years in the hope you could win a flag - you sold your soul for it - and a deals a deal....

judd - cousins - one year

GONE!

So,
Bad boy?? So what.
What would GR do??

I would have no problem with it ... football wise he would provide desperate leadership for the younger players for a start.

His training regimen is unbelieveable ... has the ability to draw the best out of team mates on the training track and on the field ... only downside is the drugs issue.

Make him aware if he stuffs up, he's finished.

Everyone is innocent until proven guilty. However, presuming what we have heard is all true and that ...
Sometimes you have to draw a line in the sand and set an example.
All 16 AFL clubs have an opportunity now to send a message to the kids out there that drugs are not to be tolerated.
By picking him up in the PSD we send a message that elite athletes are above the law. They're not.
He had his chances. More than one.
No sympathy. If I was a major sponsor of the RFC and we drafted Cousins, I'd pull the pin immediately.

I'm with the OP. If he's available, take him. It's not like we're going to get anything else in the PSD. One year deal. Could be a huge coup.

interview him and if he is concinving in his attempt to rehabilitate himself away from the Perth society then we should seriously consider it.
But if he come in the with the same arrogant, smart-arse smirk as if to say 'whats the issue, I didn't really do anything wrong then he can just piss off

He's a shit footballer. Never rated him, always hated him before he started screwing people around with his drug use. Yeah he trains hard but he wouldn't fit in at the club, people would be scared of him and it's like he'd be training on his own. No need to disrupt the group we have if they are a close knit and level headed as you say.

Biggest risk is to never take one............. put him on a one year deal - if he stuffs up sack him and u have lost nothing.....if he performs he could be a serious coup....get him out of perth and get him to start over in Melbourne. A center square of Simmonds, Foley, Cousins, Coughlan and Deledio looks very nice for u guys....if it became available id go for it....especially with the rubbish that usually is in the PSD.

He's a shit footballer. Never rated him, always hated him before he started screwing people around with his drug use. Yeah he trains hard but he wouldn't fit in at the club, people would be scared of him and it's like he'd be training on his own. No need to disrupt the group we have if they are a close knit and level headed as you say.

what do you mean shit footballer how can you b shit and win a brownlow??
answer that!:cool:

Biggest risk is to never take one............. put him on a one year deal - if he stuffs up sack him and u have lost nothing.....if he performs he could be a serious coup....get him out of perth and get him to start over in Melbourne. A center square of Simmonds, Foley, Cousins, Coughlan and Deledio looks very nice for u guys....if it became available id go for it....especially with the rubbish that usually is in the PSD.

Thankyou Booms, my point exactly

The downside if it goes wrong far outweighs the upside if it doesn't. The best we could hope for is a great midfielder for a handful of years, the worst a toxic influence on the next generation of Tiger players.

Pass.

At least it would put some interest in the place.

We were virtually non existant in the media last year since we did nothing all year. We do need something in the immediate future to be excited about as we are always on this rebuilding path.

Then again we will look like a club that cant build its own players and needs to run to anyone from another club regardless of thier off field problems.

It is posters such as you who, along with leaving your imprint of filthy stupidity all over the place create a general disdain toward our supporters.

Your thoughts here are some of the more laughable things I've ever read. Ben Cousins was one of and in many people's minds the best player in the league up until his recent problems. Do you think the fact that you 'hate him' (despite the fact you've likely never met him) might cloud your opinion of him football wise?

Secondly if Richmond are a close knit group how is it that this same group has consistantly played with such insipid spirit?

Cousins would instantly be one of the more positive influences at a club such as Richmond despite his off field issues. Provided at the first indiscretion Ben could be sacked, there is hardly a player who would be better suited to the Richmond football club given its current playing culture.

The downside if it goes wrong far outweighs the upside if it doesn't. The best we could hope for is a great midfielder for a handful of years, the worst a toxic influence on the next generation of Tiger players.

Pass.

Why should we listen to you? You said the exact same thing about Polak last year! :p

It's the end of the world! A toxic influence will infest the kids and our culture will crumble! Ahhhhhh!!

If Cousins does get sacked from the weagles and he does enter the PSD, why shouldn't Richmond take him on a 1 year contract....he'll be the best player in the PSD by a long way....all depends what their holding him on of course, probably to early for this speculation....should all come out tomorrow.

Brad

I'd throw in my membership if we recruited Cousins.

It's not really that the guy is on drugs, heaps of society are on drugs. It's not really the fact that he can't get off them, because I couldn't give a crap anyway.

It's the fact that Cousins can't admit he has a problem publicly. How could any of his teammates or the club management trust him? Look at his history, look at who he associates with. Look at the big picture. Our sponsors can't afford to support a team with a loose cannon like Cousins. I would hope that most people could see what this sly, conniving piece of shit Cousins really is.

If we want him at Richmond, they can jam my membership.

It is posters such as you who, along with leaving your imprint of filthy stupidity all over the place create a general disdain toward our supporters.

Your thoughts here are some of the more laughable things I've ever read. Ben Cousins was one of and in many people's minds the best player in the league up until his recent problems. Do you think the fact that you 'hate him' (despite the fact you've likely never met him) might cloud your opinion of him football wise?

Secondly if Richmond are a close knit group how is it that this same group has consistantly played with such insipid spirit?

Cousins would instantly be one of the more positive influences at a club such as Richmond despite his off field issues. Provided at the first indiscretion Ben could be sacked, there is hardly a player who would be better suited to the Richmond football club given its current playing culture.
There is no doubt that the fact that I hate him as a person clouds my judgement of him as a footballer. I'm being transparent about that. Notice I said IF this is a tight knit group as people have suggested...Cousins would HATE it at punt road. He's used to success, from juniors all through AFL. That's why he's such a tool. He won't wanna play with a bottom side and a bunch of kids he doesn't know. I would throw up if I saw him in a yellow and black jumper. And think of our players' opinions of him now, despite the fact he may have been a hero once. I'm sure no-one's very impressed with him.
We'd get more out of Brennan anyway.

I would like to see him in the yellow and black next year, we really need someone who is able to play the game at a very high level consistantly, he will help our youngers players on the field. Give him a 1 year contract and then if he gets in shit then hes out the door, this will be his last chance at afl football.

Most kids are strong enough to say no to drugs these days and with all the effort the RFC have been putting in i doubt any of our kids will be willing to sacrifice their careers for drugs.

get cousin PSD!