Get ready for high farce at TD this weekend

FFS! Would everyone just get over this. Everyone knew this game was never going to be moved and that it would be a sell out. Easy solution, get in early and buy your tickets. The people who miss out on tickets but expect to purchase level 2 seats days before the game are cleary not true supporters and don't deserve to be there in the first place. Evey year Anzac Day sells out but the day they go on sale I buy them and have never missed one. So to everyone complaing about this get over yourself. And to all those die hard collingwood or hawthorn fans who have'nt got tix. Suck shit.

Exactly...It's the fairweather supporters who are now winging about not getting tickets. Any "true" supporter would:

a) have a membership and /or reserved seat
b) Buy their tickets in advance whether or not their club is going ok.

People are flying in from all over Australia to see Archer play his 300th game.
It is a game that North people have had marked on their claender for over a year. Whether or not they will get over 50,000 people remains to be seen, but no-one should miss out on the biggest club legend's 300th nor should North be deprived of celebrating that at the home of football. We get enough bad scheduling as it is.

Suck it up, and if you or any other whinging Pies or Hawks want to see the game, get there early and I bet you will get a ticket.

Flying in from all over Australia? You have about 12000 supporters in the world. What the hell are you talking about?

Smaller in number, perhaps, but at least as passionate in our support. That passion has kept the club going for 138 years on a shoestring, and counting. And on Sunday we will gather from all over to celebrate our greatest - not best, but greatest - player's 300 games, at the ground where he won two premierships and a Norm Smith medal. I really don't know where the lack of respect comes from.

I'll assume you are interested enough in the team you have listed to have bought a ticket for the weekend, so what's it to you?

Smaller in number, perhaps, but at least as passionate in our support. That passion has kept the club going for 138 years on a shoestring, and counting. And on Sunday we will gather from all over to celebrate our greatest - not best, but greatest - player's 300 games, at the ground where he won two premierships and a Norm Smith medal. I really don't know where the lack of respect comes from.

I'll assume you are interested enough in the team you have listed to have bought a ticket for the weekend, so what's it to you?

The way your fellow supporters make it sound, its like every one has pencilled in this game for Archer's 300th for the the last year. Thats crap. What if he got injured? He could have easily been playing his 300th in WA or Adelaide. In fact it would be interesting if Archer was a last minute withdrawal this week. No disrespect to Archer but there are plenty of players that have been better and didn't get the whole MCG fanfare.

North is engineering a lot of the fanfare, for the guy who was voted the player who most clearly represents the club's spirit, and who is only the second man to reach 300 games for North. Well worth the fuss for the NMFC. If other clubs didn't bother celebrating the milestones of "better" players, that's up to them.

And North supporters have been counting down to this week - changing target as games were played or missed - since R1.

btw if you think this is too much wait until - barring injury - Archer becomes our games record holder later this year. Then his final game will be one to fuss over too. Maybe it's losing Carey the way we did - but we know the chance to celebrate one of our own like this is something rare, that we intend to make the most of.

Exactly...It's the fairweather supporters who are now winging about not getting tickets. Any "true" supporter would:

a) have a membership and /or reserved seat
b) Buy their tickets in advance whether or not their club is going ok.

This is the problem. You are looking at the issue as a Essendon supporter who is a tenant of the dome

Hawthorn members have never had to (and i hope we never do) reserve a seat or book tickets. Our home is the MCG.

To me the whole dome pre game organising pisses me off. I just want to watch a game of footy with my friends, have a laugh and see buddy kick nine ;)

This is the problem. You are looking at the issue as a Essendon supporter who is a tenant of the dome

Hawthorn members have never had to (and i hope we never do) reserve a seat or book tickets. Our home is the MCG.

To me the whole dome pre game organising pisses me off. I just want to watch a game of footy with my friends, have a laugh and see buddy kick nine ;)

Poor fella. Can I do anything to help? i can give you the links to ticketmaster and ebay, maybe a train timeable to you can rock up at Spencer Street on time.

It must be tough.

People are flying in from all over Australia to see Archer play his 300th game.
It is a game that North people have had marked on their claender for over a year. Whether or not they will get over 50,000 people remains to be seen, but no-one should miss out on the biggest club legend's 300th nor should North be deprived of celebrating that at the home of football. We get enough bad scheduling as it is.

Suck it up, and if you or any other whinging Pies or Hawks want to see the game, get there early and I bet you will get a ticket.
Dont get me wrong. Love Arch, like most footy fans. But how can you schedule for a milestone game.
Did the Afl know how many games Arch would have missed with injury by Rnd 13 when they made the fixture??
Anyway, Telstra dome is yours and his home ground. Rather do a lap of honor to a full house than at a half empty one.

get over it.. TD 'farce'

All of a sudden 2 vic teams in the top 4 ie Pies vs Hawks. So it should be switched to a 'bigger' stadium. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. Pies always pull a big crowd whether they're top 4 or bottom 4 so i can't fault them.. but these dang Hawks bandwagon jumpers all of a sudden see them doing well so think it's time to dust off the scarves and beanies and start barracking the Hawks again.

As much as i'd like to believe how silly the AFL are.. even they'd know how much money they'd be losing. I'm not a lawyer but even i'd know TD would be within their rights to sue the AFL if the games were switched.

So maybe next time it should be on the proviso that as long as the teams from the previous year don't suck then they should have a back up plan to cater for the influx of 'true' supporters.

Even some interstate teams have the 'homeground' advantage in Vic during finals time..

So only Collingwood and Hawthorn fans matter in this whole discussion?

I'm sorry, but, the fans are but one aspect to all of this. It's only the players who should matter. And I'm tipping the Pies and Hawks players would rather play on a good surface than a muddy one seeing as they are just a tad soft.

So its going to be a big game, whoop di doo. If people were organised they'd already have their tickets.

The medallion club might look empty but its always full, you just can't see that most fans are sitting behind the glass in the restaurant or the bar. The carlton v hawthorn game was a sell out but also looked empty... because Carlton were down by 100 points! They all went home.

Club members need to step up as well. I've been to a few games this year in a reserved seat and been the only one's sitting in the whole row.

AFL Members, club members, club hospitality, general public can all not turn up as well.. then who will everyone whinge at!

So only Collingwood and Hawthorn fans matter in this whole discussion?

I'm sorry, but, the fans are but one aspect to all of this. It's only the players who should matter. And I'm tipping the Pies and Hawks players would rather play on a good surface than a muddy one seeing as they are just a tad soft.

So lets ensure next years Anzac Day blockbuster is at Telstra Dome then? Can only imagine the response you would get from Flatchulence Hill. Sheedy would call a press conference and come up with a unique line like "Aliens with marshmellows abducted Demetriou in his sleep when they fixtured this one" blah blah. His usual dementia riddled garbage. It doesn't mean much to you but when I call up trying to get my family to go to the game and Ticketmaster says "we cant sit all of you together" after you have paid a membership it can be a little bit frustrating.

Book early? It's an easy thing to do. I've been known to book up to a month in advance at times for games at either the G or the Dome...the whole culture of footy has changed..this leaving it to the last minute thing doesn't actually work now.

Well I hope that they bring out the fixture for 2011 so I can get a seat for the next Tiger premiership season.

Mate.. the reason it's called a 'blockbuster' is just that. Regardless of where Bombers n Pies are on the table they know they'll get 80+ thousand. If the Hawks didn't suck the last few years it might've been a different story.

So were you one of the Hawks supporters that got in early or waited till they were top 4?

$100 i'd say, maybe between $80 - $100. Its a good quality game and they're ripper seats. Definitely $100 if they have the TV's.

Slome of them are extraordinarily under-priced at around the $30 mark. But I assume they get snapped up very quickly.

Cheers wasnt necessarily talking about this game itself but when I come over later in the year am considering going to Pies/Crows on Friday night before Saints vs. Tiges on saturday.

I think I'll wait and see if I can snap up cheap tix for it. :thumbsu: ;)

Get ready for high farce at TD this weekend