Discussion Getting to know you (20 questions)

1. In which decade were you born?
90s
2. Where do you live (State/Country)?
Queensland
3. What are 3 words that describe you as a footy supporter?
Parochial, loud Queenslander
4. When did you first start supporting the AFL?
When I was 7 (unfortunately for me that was 2004)
5. Who is your favourite all time player?
Tough call - Simon Black goes close, Aker in his prime... hard to go past Gaz Jr
6. What is your favourite footy memory?
Being at the '09 Elimination Final between Brisbane & Carlton. When we were 30 points down I think I told my parents that if Carlton kick the next one, we're leaving. We kicked the next 7 and won and I was sitting right in front of Bradshaw when he kicked that belta from the pocket. Got pure unbridled joy out of swinging my scarf in the faces of the Blues fans behind me that talked smack all game while they were in front.
7. When did you become interested in designing?
I was actually a BigFooty poster a few years ago under a different name, about 2011/12,
8. What is your favourite design piece (yours/someones elses/a club)?
At the moment I'm a fan of Port's prison bars, but it has to be the Lions premiership jumper in 01/02
9. What is your whale (footy jumper)?
Either the yellow Brisbane clash they used to wear vs Melbourne at the Gabba (not that hard to find, my brother has one but it's far too small for me) and the infamous Ochre.
10. If you could change one thing about modern footy, what would it be?
Eddie McF******Guire
11. What is your favourite past-time (other than Australian Rules)?
It used to be designing jumpers so hopefully I'll get back into that again. Unfortunately I lost most of my portfolio due to computer death.
12. What is the dumbest thing you ever bought?
AFL Live 2. Played it twice.
13. Who is your favourite poster on BigFooty?
Back in the day I used to really enjoy Smeagle's work. A lot of the design guys make some good stuff, although I distinctly remember there being more content a couple years back.
14. If you were a BigFooty moderator for one day, what would you do?
Moderators gonna moderate
15. What is your favourite possession?
In terms of practicality, my car
16. If you were in a band, what would you call it?
Not Worth the Price of Admission
17. Where did you go on your last holiday? Would you go back?
Would have been an impromptu stay at Main Beach near Surfers at the Gold Coast after a game against Southport. Absolutely.
18. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1?
Dont make me choose between Rap God - Eminem or something by the Chilis. Or Watsky.
19. Who are 5 people (dead or alive) you would invite to a dinner party?
Off the top of my head Jeremy Clarkson, Robin Williams, Eminem, Anthony Kiedis, Steve Irwin. Reckon it would be a fun night.
20. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)?
The States & the UK, go to a Grand Final at the 'G (although any game at the 'G would be nice, only been to the Gabba, Metricon and Etihad for footy).

1. What’s with your BigFooty username?
Was originally maxy110 to be uniform with my username on PSN, XBox Live, Steam, etc.
2. What do you wear to the footy?
Never really get the chance to go to the footy, but when I do I usually wear a jumper with a guernsey over the top.
3. On a scale of 1 to 10, how would you rate your AFL club’s current jumper set? Why?
9. Absolutely love how Freo went from the anchor to the chevrons. Only thing I would change is to wear this:
Fremantle-Haze-2006.gif

Has to be one of my favourite guernseys.
4. If you could change one design piece in the AFL, what would it be? Why?
What I said above ^^
5. Do you prefer European or American style design? (think Premier League logos vs NFL logos)
European!
6. If you could bring back one player from your club’s history to start their playing career again as an 18 year old next year, who would it be? Why?
Even though he's still going I would have to go with Pavlich.
7. What other sports and teams do you follow? Where does Aussie rules rank amongst them?
1. Aussie Rules
2. NBA - Bucks...
3. NRL - Wests Tigers
8. What do you do when you’re not here? (work/school/etc)
School - year 11
When it starts getting a bit busier in town I'll start work again.
9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Still waiting for Fremantle to win a grand final.
10. What was your last “big purchase”?
A new computer for about $2000
11. Facebook or Twitter?
Facebook

Hello internet friends,

My name is Jay. I'm currently finishing year 12 and am in the midst of exams (I study English, Maths Methods, Physics, Visual Communication (Graphic Design) and IT Software Development). I like planes. I've played footy since I was 6 years old for a number of clubs, and next year will see me move through to an exciting and more serious competition. After my responsible binge on schoolies you shall find me frequenting many gymnasiums in the south metropolitan area of Melbourne smashing weights.

Despite having a shrine of a body and a positive account balance at the Tab, I am not quite the attraction for women. They don't understand me fussing over minuscule defects of the apparel worn by sporting clubs in Australia, and treat me as if I'm some kind of psycho who regularly gets off to the sporting memorabilia located in my closet. My favourite pick-up line to use at house parties comes into play at house parties when women migrate to the bathroom in a group. A simple "Can I come too?" then winking seems like a winning combination. I've only been blocked by 3 women and received 2 threats from men much larger than me as a result of this, but I'm sure it's going to pay off one day. In the words of Samuel Beckett, "Try. Fail. Try again. Fail better."

I am in this pic somewhere below:

DSC0658.jpg

I also like beer.

2000s
Victoria
Mad "Turncoat" Passionate
There are pictures of me in 03 watching the Pies vs Lions grand final in my dads wool pies jumper
Chad Wingars
Going to the 2012 Pies vs Eagles game and catching the ball in the crowd
As a kid in kinder I used to paint club logos and get upset because they didn't look right.
Stewart2Austin's space hogs in the NAFL
Port 1997 Away jumper
Remove the Round 23 bye!
Listening to music
iPhone armband, when I didn't have an iPhone.
Mero because he's in the know, created my favourite website, just an all round great guy.
Deactivate a few accounts ;)
My caps
LIFE
Gold Coast, I'd go back.
18. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1?
Straight Outta Compton by NWA
Don't know
Meet the whole Port Adelaide team.

I am not quite the attraction for women. They don't understand me fussing over minuscule defects of the apparel worn by sporting clubs in Australia, and treat me as if I'm some kind of psycho who regularly gets off to the sporting memorabilia located in my closet.
Amen.

1990's
Western Australia
Way too passionate
Around 2000- I have a picture in my Year One daily journal where I drew West Coast wearing the ochre playing Fremantle. Honestly believed the Ochre was their home jumper.
Tied between Ben Cousins and Josh Kennedy
Either getting to be Rick "The Rock" Eagle for a day for my job (meeting Lynchy, Gaff and Darling in the process) or being at the Royal Show when the Eagles won the 2006 Premiership
Always loved designing soccer and AFL kits- probably started when I was five. I bought "TIF 2006" or whatever it was on the PS2 for the sole purpose of designing every team's kits.
From this board, I'd say lmach doing the West Coast rebrand.
A modern Yellow Peril guernsey (the Heritage Round one, or hopefully they release one for 30 years without names all over the front!)
The rolling pack- I wish footy was a lot more free-flowing and open.
Playing football (soccer) or drumming.
The WWE Undisputed Championship belt. Although, on the other hand, I still have it and it's sort of symbolic to me as my first massive purchase from my own money.
Mero, E92_ or Andonis1997
Rename my account to just "Freight Train"
Either my laptop or my drumkit. That being said though, I have a player issue Portugal shirt from 2004 for Luis Figo which is my favourite of my football/soccer shirt collection.
Pink Wednesday
Sydney - it was pretty cool, but seems very plastic. I'd go back but there are other places I'd rather see first.
Now by Paramore. It's my fight song.
Dave Grohl, Luis Figo, Hayley Williams, Neil Patrick Harris and Brad Hogg. Sounds like a hell of a dinner to me.
Meet Luis Figo. Already met/at least talked to most of my other idols, he is pretty much the last one on the list.

I also feel like Dylan8, Maxwell110 and Greater Gattsby deserve a shoutout as some of my favourite posters too.

Haven't been here too long but yeah, you guys are rad.

I kind of picture E92_ a bit like Captain Holt from Brooklyn Nine-Nine- everything he says is deadpan but he generally has some solid one-liners.

I know I don't contribute to this board a whole lot but I do love to go through all the threads every night/lunch break and amaze myself that there are more jumper/graphic design nerds out there like me! :p

1990's (94)

WA

Quiet but passionate

2003, first game I watched on TV was a derby and I remember picking west coast as my fav because I liked their colours :D

Dean Cox

the 06 premiership, also the 06 prelim final win vs Adelaide (best mate is a crows fan)

Around 2007, was initially interested in stadium design and drew many plans up on paper/sketch up before discovering Mero's site and fell in love with footy jumpers.

Love Grange Wallis's work with the mascots he creates, currently have the eagle as my phone background

Adelaide's 06 Away jumper - just something about it, loved the colours.

Sponsors logos made smaller! want to see more of the jumper in it's glory

Piano, gave it up..was sick of playing classical stuff, wanted to mix things up and now wish I hadn't, can't remember a thing

Toffee Apple, seriously..how does anyone enjoy one of those things?

Mero , simply because of his website. Is the main reason why I fell in love with Graphic Design and now do it for a profession. Also loving TheFreightTrain's work with the jumper series.

No idea, what can a moderator do? I haven't been here long enough

My iPod, simply can not function at work/design without it!

Yesterday's Tomorrow

Gold Coast/Brissy, most definitely! Amazing place when the weather is nice

Green day - Holiday (keeping it punk rock themed)

Michael Hussey, Michelle Jenneke, Dean Cox, Ellyse Perry & Old mate

Go to the AFL Grand Final

1990's (From my own song: "Born in Camperdown, 10th of June 94")
NSW
Casual but growing
First remember hearing about the Sydney Swans just before 3, and that my dad always barracked for them. (He got a pair of schooner glasses with Swans branding for his 41st? birthday IIRC)
Jude Bolton always stands out in my memory from a few moments in 2002(?), but dudes like Nick Davis and Leo Barry will always remind me of my first time celebrating a premiership in any code.
For nostalgia, the first game I went to which was also the first game at Homebush. My cousin played AusKick that night. Otherwise, probably the final siren of the 2012 final.
Around 9 years old.
For the elusiveness, Souths' 1997 sevens jersey. Overall, the Newcastle United away shirt from 1997. Such a terribly amazing kit.
An Aussie international rules jumper probably. The good old days with the sash.
Needs more clubs tbh. Tassie and the NT surely deserve teams. Never understood why not.
Kicking back with "da boyz"
Don't think we can talk about them on this site...
I enjoy most of the posters in FJGD, and don't really dwell anywhere else to be honest. To pick one it'd be Mero simply for his contribution to the recording of history.
Steal some votes for the Sydney Exiles.
Don't really have one TBH. Love my collection of sports gear though.
Midnight
Perth for my now estranged cousin's wedding. Took my now ex girlfriend as well. I'd rather go to Israel wearing a Palestinian flag than set foot in Perth, even though the city itself is lovely.
Human Nature by Michael Jackson. It follows me around.
Your mum, your sister, your missus, your hot cousin and someone who knows how to mix strong drinks... bugger it. Probably Bono, Rob Swire, Shawn Michaels, Greg Inglis and maybe my grandfather since I never actually got to meet him.
Get to the following: Premier League game at St. James Park, All-Ireland Senior Football AND Hurling Championships, Super Bowl, WrestleMania. Probably too many others for this post but thems be the big 'uns.

Wow after reading some of the others on here I feel Old, Lets just say Early 80’s
Victoria
Passionate / Loyal / Loud
The day I was born haha
5. Who is your favorite all time player?
Tony Lockett / Peter Matera
6. What is your favorite footy memory?
95’ Semi Richmond V Essendon, also winning a playstation of Voice of the “G” (If anyone is old enough here to remember him)
Just a couple of years ago to pass the time
8. What is your favorite design piece (yours/someone’s else’s/a club)?
Wouldn’t say I have a favorite, everyone’s designs are good in different ways.
My Richmond Heritage jumper.
that umpires didn’t vote for the brownlow
11. What is your favorite past-time (other than Australian Rules)?
Ten Pin Bowling
My ex an engagement ring haha
13. Who is your favorite poster on BigFooty?
as much as I love this bored I spend most of my time on the NFL bored so most faves are there
Create more design comps
My Michael Jordan “The last Shot” memorabilia piece
The Hacks ( I can’t play instruments), tho it would be a power metal band
New Zealand just a few weeks ago, an amazing place and Yes would 100% go back
Blind Guardian, Valhalla
Michael Jordan, Jennifer Lawrence, Elvis, Robin Williams & Kevin Hart
To see a live Super Bowl

N/A
West Straya
Passionate / Loyal / Loud
Whenever I was old enough to be brainwashed aha. My first game was a Western Derby, and I can recall seeing James Hird's last game where Lucas kicked 8 in the last or something absurd like that.
5. Who is your favorite all time player?
Peter Matera. ( Matera... Sets sail for home! And the Eagles, hit the front.) Great player, loved his outside run.
6. What is your favorite footy memory?
2013 WAFL Grand Final, my Falcons winning.
I always used to draw teams jumpers as a little kid frequently, found this site 4 years ago. I always wondered how everyone made the Jumpers look so professional.
8. What is your favorite design piece (yours/someone’s else’s/a club)?
My Delhi Chargers FIRA 2016 entry ( It's a ripper!)
Ochre. It's design perfection, my team and incredibly rare.
Umpires let the game flow.
11. What is your favorite past-time (other than Australian Rules)?
Graphic Design
A showbag at the Royal Show. Full of crap things made in Taiwan that easily break.
13. Who is your favorite poster on BigFooty?
Everyone Is good in there own way I guess. I don't pick favourites.
Eradict the "Boys Club".
My Shaun Marsh ODI P.I
Wouldn't have one, I'm horrible at using musical instruments.
The AFL Grand Final. And yeah, I'd love if the Eagles could go back and win the flag.
Jump Around- House Of Pain.
Ben Haggerty, Kim Jong Un, George Trump Donald Trump and Ariana Grande.

Must go to an Olympic Games and/or the Superbowl.

Okay, time to do this again...

90s
Melbourne, Victoria
I don't care
Year before prep
Kouta
I think I've only been to one Carlton which was 12/13 years ago, so I really don't have any good memories
When I was about nine
]
I don't really have a favourite
I used to have a woolen Carlton jumper with the '98-'05 monogram. I'd like to find one in my current size.
The clash jumper policy :oops:
At the moment, watching TV. And supporting India in the cricket
Food
No comment
Heaps of stuff.
I don't have anything that shows I support Carlton
I can't play an instrument, so I doubt I'd be part of a band
Fiji. I'll be there in just over 72 hours from now, so yeah, I'd go back.
Hall of Fame by The Script
Sachin, and I really can't think of anyone else.
#1 would be: Creating a Bucket List.

1960's (1969)
Pricktoria Victoria
Pensive , Nervous , Hopeful.
:oops: It was the VFL back then and my first memory of a live game was at VFL Park 1976 - South Melb .vs. Collingwood. Supporting started around then.
Maurice Rioli.
1980 GF.
I don't see myself as a designer (not fit to tie designers shoe laces). It's more an interest in footy jumpers as to why I'm here.
Don't have 1 really , I like seeing what the really good designers post and some of the out there designs. I like the idea on FJGD that there are threads posted that bypass the norm if you know what I mean , Different competitions , hypothetical teams / Leagues etc.
I will have to come back to this one.
Richmond to win another flag:oops::cry:
Reading. When younger it used to be hanging around tram depots:$ , watching various sports.
2 cars that have cost more to get on the road and keep on the road than worth it and in my infinite wisdom 2 years ago I bought a Microsoft Surface Tab 2 , stupid impulse buy( Surface Tab 3 came out not that much later on ) , could have saved the do re mi (money) to get a macbook earlier.
I respect a lot of posters without having a Favourite , however from a personal POV I am thankful and indebted to 2 particular posters on FJGD , Greater Gadsby and Mero for help given. I respect and appreciate posters who post on FJGD things such as helpful hints , putting up tutorials , feedback that may be given and the work / designs posters submit for competitions etc. (On the flip side , one person recently has had me shaking my head - won't divulge who).
Learn being a Moderator
my iPad and MacBook Pro
Tough , all cool sort of names are taken.
Technically it was January 1977 to Sydney to visit my Mum's family. Since then I have to places that were not classified by me as actual holidays.
I often drive up to visit my mate in St.Arnaud.
Anarchy in the UK (Sex Pistols)
Where to begin... There are literally millions through out History I could pick but for an odd dinner party that I would be hosting ,
1. Prof. Hans Holzer ( Late Parapsychologist / Author / Ghost Hunter ).
2. Sybil Leek ( Late English Trance Medium ).
3. Capt. Matthew Flinders ( Navigator / Explorer ).
4. Francis Boardman Clapp ( Driving Force behind the implementation of Cable Trams in Melbourne ).
5. George Smith Duncan ( Chief Construction Engineer of Cable Tram system in Melbourne ).

Ahh , a ' bucket list ' before I ' kick the bucket '...Hmmm , I guess it would be to visit Great Britain for numerous things I could think of , tourist stuff , visit Anfield and other famous sporting grounds etc.

Discussion Getting to know you (20 questions)