AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
As a general comment the reason umpires like Vozzo and McLaren get up peoples goats is very simple. They try to make too many decisions rather than let the players sort it out. If you pay less decisions like holding the ball chopping the hands real soft etc then people don't notice you. You're better balling it up or letting the play go on. Let the players decide the game. Call the obvious stuff. The extremely obvious calls. Especially in a GF. A few hard hits here and there will not hurt anyone in the long run and makes for a more exciting game.
Because so many calls are made we now get used to a culture where people expect decisions to be made. We should have a culture where calls are the last thing we want and the players decide who wins.
Personally I was astounded when V and McL got the GF. Ryan did a great job because he didn't try to look for a call. He let the calls come to him.
Anyway that's my little vent as a non biased spectator of the game
I was watching the game live on the big screen in a pub... nearly threw my pint at the screen on that downfield decision... held my nerves...just as the boys did... AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Well I was there at the game and the umpires gave them 4 Goals from free kicks and in my veiw one was there. In the middle of the MCG Gary Ablett got way to many frees and only once he got court Holding the ball by the umpire (Ryan). My point is he gets way to many frees and takes people-on and hardly gets called holding the ball its just the usual play-on. I know for a fact that Hawthron didn't get a fair go by the umpires. Anyway the the Giech picked the wrong umpires for the grand final in my veiw the panel should of been
FIELD- 3 MCBURNEY, 7 KENNEDY, 8 ROSEBURY EM 25 RYAN
Boundarys and goalies were great and many claps for them.
At least the best team won!
GO HAWKS!!!!
piss off johnboy. its not just the hawks supporters but the neutrals as well. it was obvious to see that the umpiring was off and if it had cost us the game, we would have all been furious
It's their bloody job to apply the rules of the game! If you don't like it then go watch a game like rugby where you can do that shit!!! Better still, start a petition, lobby to the AFL, write to the rules committee, go on the radio - why not be proactive in changing the written rules if you don't like them, but don't criticise the umpires for doing their job. They have to be strict or else footy will go back to the old days where winning the contest was more reliant on who could push, hold, grapple or punch the most. This is a game of SKILL, not thuggery!
Let the players sort it out... what the hell does this mean anyway???
I agree with your main idea, that the umpires need to apply the rules. It makes for a better game when the rules are followed.
The complaints in this thread aren't of a generalised "stop paying free kicks" nature though, it is more direct criticism of the interpretations being made on the weekend and how the rules were being applied.
If an umpire is making mistakes like the downfield free, then he isn't applying the rules, is he? That goes beyond mere difference in interpretation, that is a flat out case of not knowing the rules, or not having any idea what is happening under your nose, one of the two*. I'd call it incompetent myself.
*The other option being they knew what they were doing, and meant it. I don't believe the umpires are corrupt though, so I discount this.
It's also a complete disregard for the laws of the game, and it's a disregard for the idea behind being strict - the intention of strict application of the rules is to encourage players to win the ball through superior skill, determination and teamwork. One of the reasons I love AFL is because to me it's a perfect synergy of agility, speed, strength, power, skill, instinct, teamwork and courage. Taking the easy option and pushing in the back, chopping arms, holding, head-high bumps and other infringements undermines the intention of the rules.
It's just not Football.
I thought the umpiring wasn't too bad overall. There were a few more frees to the Cats, but the Hawks were definately playing the man harder than the cats (there should be no argument about that), so that's kinda what happens. 21-29 isn't a massive divide anyway...
And as for goals from free kicks, the hawks got their fair share too, namely:
Hunt's very dubious "hands in the back" was a goal
Tom Harley's 50 metre penalty (extremely soft) was a direct goal to Osbourne.
They were also at crucial points in the game. So you got some help too.
And the double 50 to Bateman, you can't complain about that because Bateman had direct control over whether he was going to shut his yap.
In the end, it's done and dusted, I've seen FAR worse officiated games in my time, so just enjoy your win and stop bitching about the umps FFS.
Our style of play should have no bearing on how they umpire. It is plain wrong to pre-judge a team before a game and each free kick should be given on it's merits. Free kicks do not have carry-over points like suspensions and umpires should realise that.Hawthorn's style of play doesn't endear them to umpires
I've just watched the game for the 4th time, this time with the sole focus on the umps.
Harley's 50m penalty against Ladson wasn't soft. It was there. The push was applied after the mark. This gets paid every day of the week.
The double 50 against Bateman wasn't. It was a single 50 against Bateman that was dubious. The tackle that brought Ablett to ground was in the contest, the 'spill' of the ball was Ablett's doing. HOWEVER. The second 50 was Brent Guerra against Stevie Johnson for high contact. That would've been downfield, so the result still would have been a goal.
Without my brown and gold goggles on, I thought the umpiring was so-so. A couple of things missed here and there and, as always, consistency in application was a problem. I was impressed by the umpires not getting sucked in to Hawthorn's and Geelong's theatrics. Chance Bateman tried it on a couple of times (disappointed in him actually), Stokes was a culprit too. The big one they fell for was Franklin/Scarlett. That one was disgraceful.
The speed of the game is probably the biggest challenge going forward. This point was highlighted by the commentators who had the benefit of slo-mo. Extra umpires won't solve the problem. Video umpiring would be a disaster to the thrill of our game. Not sure where the answer is on this.
Whoever made the comment about letting the decisions come to the umpire, rather than them looking for something is absolutely spot on.
Hawthorn's style of play doesn't endear them to umpires but at least they are learning and adapting to that god-awful 'unsociable' tag. We supporters should take a leaf out of their book and adapt as well. Our whining doesn't endear us to opposition supporters. Going forward, we need to take the emotion out and study the game from all three sides.
And yep. Done and dusted.
Our style of play should have no bearing on how they umpire. It is plain wrong to pre-judge a team before a game and each free kick should be given on it's merits. Free kicks do not have carry-over points like suspensions and umpires should realise that.
Not that it matters now, because the flag is the sweetest way to deal with ordinary umpiring, but one of the Campbell Brown incidents was a strange one. He took the mark, and then played on and kicked the goal. Was told to go behind his mark (no issue with that) and proceeded to miss it. The very next quarter, one of the Geelong players took a mark near the goals (pretty sure it was Mooney), the umpire called time off, ran in to mark the mark and Mooney played on and passed it to a player in a better spot. The umpire didn't call it back. It caused a fair few beers to almost be thrown at the telly at our BBQ. It's exactly the lack of consistency that we are talking about.
I referee basketball at a high level in this country so have a good understanding of officiating. My house mate umpires footy at a high level too of which we’ve had many a discussion about. Bball has a ton more rules than footy so I know all about implement rules. My views are not from going back to the old bogan punch up style of footy. I think you miss understood my post. I'm not saying to stop implementing rules, that must be done and as a whole the umps do a good job. You notice them less when they make the good decisions. I just believe at the AFL level they make a lot of decisions on 50/50 calls. Ones where you could let it go or not call it, and either could be judged as correct. In those situations I believe the whistle should be put away and let the players make the decision.
"Whoever made the comment about letting the decisions come to the umpire, rather than them looking for something is absolutely spot on." Thanks TwentyTwo sounds like you understood what I'm on about.
"Let the players sort it out... what the hell does this mean anyway???"….Don't make a decision on the 50/50 calls. Let the players play for the ball and they their actions will decide who wins the footy, not the umps whistle. The game is about the players not about the umps.
If you pay less decisions like holding the ball chopping the hands real soft etc then people don't notice you... Call the obvious stuff. The extremely obvious calls. Especially in a GF. A few hard hits here and there will not hurt anyone in the long run and makes for a more exciting game.
Hawks are employing cheap tactics, umps havent been that bad. Just cause Geelong are getting frees doesn't mean they aren't there.
You hawks supporters on this thread should be ashamed of yourselves! You've just won the flag and you're on here bitching about the umpires. Get off the computer you flogs and get on with celebrating the premiership. No-one remembers the umpires decisions!
So the All Australian umpire was not given the gig to umpire the Grand Final yet Scott McLaren was? Truly mind-boggling.
It's funny, I said the exact same thing while watching the game and got the the obligatory "ohh, ahh, someones a bit stroppy" remarks. Good to know I wasn't just being biased (well... completely biased )Hawthorn vs Geelong & umps