Gippsland League

Moe Players arent recommitting due to the fact the ground wont be ready and they will be playing elsewhere again for the first part of the year.

Things have come along up there from what I can see. Heard the other day that they may only miss 1 or 2 games there now, which is good news. Havent heard of any other players leaving other than those on here so they should be ok again this year, with the additions of the 3 guys from Beaccy, mentioned here.

Good luck to them.

Just been looking at some of the major country league's websites and I have to say that as far as updating website with news and info that Gippsland League is a forking disgrace. No news items and rarely updated (only just recently added Bairnsdale as a member club).

Compare this to MPNFL or even Mid Gippy and I have to ask why can't the league join the 21st century like other leagues and promote their league and clubs properly.

agree. the gippy league could do a lot of things better but i wouldnt use the mid gippy as an example of how to do things better!!! absolutely pitiful that league....worst in gippsland!

Been to an EDFL game lately, TIAN?

Clubs are still providing their own footy record/notice board on game-day. The league says it would be too hard.

For a 15 club league, that pays it's administrators very well, it is quite a disgrace that there is no formal journal for punters at the gate.

Been to an EDFL game lately, TIAN?

Clubs are still providing their own footy record/notice board on game-day. The league says it would be too hard.

For a 15 club league, that pays it's administrators very well, it is quite a disgrace that there is no formal journal for punters at the gate.

Yeah, I must admit that was a big shock when I went to my first EDFL game a couple of years ago. It was the first time that I had been to a country football game with no record.

agree. the gippy league could do a lot of things better but i wouldnt use the mid gippy as an example of how to do things better!!! absolutely pitiful that league....worst in gippsland!

cough*ODFL*cough

Ok its only vaguely classified as " East Gippsland" let alone Gippsland.

However to be fair, I think they did just get dial-up in Swifts Creek 3 weeks ago so you can't blame them too much ;) and the senior competition more resembles the UFC octagon at times with the ball the least of anyones worries but as long as their having fun...

Re: Gippsland League: Bairnsdale

Whats the go with Bairnsdale AKA the Redlegs?

Any chance of making the finals?? How'd they go last year?

Reckon its a bit hard to predict how they will go, mate.

What happened last year will probably have little bearing on how they go this year. It's certainly good to see them back in the big league. When I was playing them back in the 80s we used to look forward to the long road trip in the thirds because we could have a few cans on the way back.

They should go ok 1st up but it might be a challenge for them to get the team gelling for 2011. I would expect them to be better come 2012, just on that merit. Players need to learn how each other plays.

Having said all that, I have no knowledge of anything the redlegs are up to, nor do I know any of their players or coaching staff. Others here would be far more qualified to comment on them.

Will be interesting to see how they go, though. I hope it works for them this time around. The beauty of it will be the fact the blokes that play for them will do so in the knowledge they are going to have to travel and the fact they are playing a better standard than they have been used to.

Good luck to them!!

Heard today Morwell have picked a VFL player by the surname Vardy, not sure of his first name, can someone help me?

Reckon its a bit hard to predict how they will go, mate.

What happened last year will probably have little bearing on how they go this year. It's certainly good to see them back in the big league. When I was playing them back in the 80s we used to look forward to the long road trip in the thirds because we could have a few cans on the way back.

They should go ok 1st up but it might be a challenge for them to get the team gelling for 2011. I would expect them to be better come 2012, just on that merit. Players need to learn how each other plays.

Having said all that, I have no knowledge of anything the redlegs are up to, nor do I know any of their players or coaching staff. Others here would be far more qualified to comment on them.

Will be interesting to see how they go, though. I hope it works for them this time around. The beauty of it will be the fact the blokes that play for them will do so in the knowledge they are going to have to travel and the fact they are playing a better standard than they have been used to.

Good luck to them!!

It is hard to tell just how competitive Bairnsdale will be, seeing as I have not seen for myself the quality and standard played in the Gippsland Football League for a few years now (since before the name change).

I think the one major aspect to take into consideration is that there was a major push by the players to make the league switch. Sure the Bairnsdale and EGFL officials all wanted a bigger challenge for the most succesful side in the league in recent times, but it would never have gotten off the ground if there was no interest from the local players.

The very first open meeting the BFC held where interested players were invited to attend drew a crowd of over 40 senior players, with every single club in the EGFL represented. The interest has only increased since, especially with footy season starting to build upon us.

All the players training are there because they want to play in a higher standard league and are looking to take the next step with their footy and challenge themselves further. Sure the cash being offered by the side is a major improvement from the EGFL (side note - I have no idea about how much players get paid in this league so have nothing to compare it to apart from what I know some players in the East Gippy league get paid) which I'm sure encourages some players to push themselves to a higher league, but they are all together to really have a crack. This is not some novelty, a lot of preperation has gone on behind the scenes as one could expect from the important club personel like the Prestons and so on.

In terms of the team, it is not bad. IT would be looking much better if they were able to retain the services of Moose, but you cannot blame him for taking the job that was offered to him. Corowa-Rutherglen play in a bloody high standard league and it was a fantastic opportunity for him to take, however he could have left Jason Marks as he would have been very handy to retain. Also hearing that Matty Davidson is staying up at Melbourne now and not playing for the Redlegs anymore will hurt the forward line without a doubt. However Cowell is pulling a strong side together with some very big bodies in Matthews, Gibbs and Nickless training with them initially as well as the class of Sellings, Ashwood and Dyer.

As I said earlier though, I do not know how these guys rate up against the players in this league. They may be absolute C Grade quality and struggle to even be competitive, or they might be able to hold their own and prove that all the effort for the push and Government funding has been worth it.

I'm happy to try and answer any questions any of you may have regarding players from down here or anything related to Bairnsdale to help you guys out, and will try and get as much info as I can coming out from the Redlegs camp.

Cheers.

did a bit of research in google earlier actually just type there names in.

turns out Tom muir made the vic country sqaud and is always a proficent basketballer as well.

Nothing on chris carey.

Buttner a member of the gippsland power sqaud and also looks to be high jumping (athletics) at a national level a year or so ago.

is tynan a top age under 18 now?

Been watching tynan train lately, the kids a freak, sure to go top 10 in the draft, the kids got amazing speed, great agility, a massive vertival jump, pinpoint kicking on both feet, what doesnt he have! pwoah still cant beleive that i have been watching the next juddy out there. :D

I see the clearances have opened up for the Gippy League, it should be interesting!:thumbsu:

Who is Malcolm Dow playing for in the EDFL?, surely a big blow to Drouin especially with the rumoured loss of Andy Soumallis and Brad Carmody.

Sale would have to be happy with the return of Matt Ferguson and Shane Fyfe, top additions for them!

Who is Malcolm Dow playing for in the EDFL?, surely a big blow to Drouin especially with the rumoured loss of Andy Soumallis and Brad Carmody.

Sale would have to be happy with the return of Matt Ferguson and Shane Fyfe, top additions for them!

Dow is playing at Ellinbank, Soumallis has re-signed with Drouin

Anyone keen to do a prediction of there ladder for 2011?
Mine is:
Sale
Maffra
Traralgon
Drouin
Wonthaggi
Bairnsdale
Morwell
Leongatha
Moe
Warragul

Sale
Wonthaggi
Maffra
Traralgon
Droun
Leongatha
Bairnsdale
Morwell
Moe
Warragul.

Sale
Maffra
Drouin
Moe
Wonthaggi
Traralgon
Morwell
Leongatha
Bairnsdale
Warragul

Sale's new inclusions will make them tough to beat this year along with the Eagles, Wonthaggi consistenty played finals when previously in the comp and with the incoming desal recruits should again prove competitive. Drouin should be there abouts again with the loss of Dow and Carmody hurting and the Lions look to have picked up some quality recruits which should see them playing finals again!!