Going to the Footy Alone

I go to the footy on my own all the time and I think it's fun.

I used to worry like yourself but I found a crazed pack of Hawks supporters who stand in M10. They jump up and down, sing, carry on and have a good time. I love it. So just wander around the ground until you find a group of Dees supporters to stand with.

But even if you don't find a group of people to carry on with, just have a few beers, bring a radio to listen to the call and don't be afraid of letting fly.

Same here I found these essendon fans every week behind the goals in standing room and you just join and sing along good friends with most of them now. Go stand with peoeple and talk about the game or just sit and relax.

If I go to the footy by myself, I stand near the Richmond Grog Squad and its always a heap of fun :thumbsu: Standing room is great :thumbsu:

Same.

Go on my own most times and love it!

We are lucky we have the best supporters.

The grog squad we have RULES !!!!!

I go to the footy on my own all the time because who wants to go with a loudmouth that cans umpres repeatedly (very well deserved 95% of the canning I give them).

Late last year showed more passion on my own than the team did on field and this led to verbals with opposition supporters and issues with security (never kicked out but told off even though I was occasionally responding to provocation - stupid bias security)

As far as I'm concerned, no-one would go to the game with me ever because of safety issues :(

Passion it seems is a real crime :(

From the evidence shown on Big Footy, you're a pretty angry person.

I've been a few times on my own and don't really care either, who really cares if some people you don't know and most likely never will think you are a loner for being at the game on your own.
Not only that I can honestly say I have never thought that when I see somebody be themselves, only complete ********s would really care really at the end of day

From the evidence shown on Big Footy, you're a pretty angry person.

Well I do make no secret that I have anger issues but I'm learning to accept myself better, anger and all.

One question though

Did you actually go through some of my posts to come to that conclusion? :eek::eek:

I go alone sometimes cos I only know like 4 people who barrack for the saints and none of them love footy as much as I do. Usually try not to go alone cos i feel like a crazy woman if I'm yelling by myself!!

I go to the footy on my own all the time because who wants to go with a loudmouth that cans umpres repeatedly (very well deserved 95% of the canning I give them).

I went with a fellow Essendon supporter to the footy last weekend. He pissed me off because when Carlton got a run on in the third quarter he started yelling abuse at the players telling them to harden up. I almost told him to shut up but figured that a brawl in the stands wouldn't be a good idea.

I am with everyone else in that I have been to the footy heaps by myself and still have a great day out. You usually end up chatting with the people around you and if you don't then it is cool to tune in the radio and watch the game. The other advantage of going by yourself is you can scream out and have a ball and you have noone telling you to shoosh etc or giving you dirty looks like my better half does.

Actually you'll find that other supporters take the role of your better half in that scenario (telling you to shut up or giving you dirty looks)

I got to the footy all the time on my own...almost always to Tiger games when I come down to Melbourne. Pretty much always head out to Swans games with a few mates and have a few beers but I actually like to dissect a Tiges game and concentrate right through it and hence I go alone.

And love it!!

Nothing at all wrong going to the footy by yourself.

Are people that insecure that they are affected by what other people around them think.

Go along and enjoy the game.

Not being a troll , but I attended all four of Melbournes wins in 2009 at the MCG , over Rich , WCE , Port and Freo and I was disappointed to see that not more Dees fans got along to those games to support their team.

In each of those games the crowd that was there saw some good play from their club.

I too am a female and I often attend games alone. I find that my friends either don't like footy enough to go with me, don't have the finances or don't have the same freedom (family etc).

I often travel alone too. I attended the the World Twenty20 Cup in London 2 years back and sat with some lovely Pommy and French blokes, sipping apple juice all the while watching Aussie blokes return to their seats with 8 glasses of beer each and slowly but surely get surrounded by security guards when their behaviour got progressively worse.

I like to people-watch too.

The only times I'm not alone are when I drag my bored 10 year old daughter along and then regret doing so after she loses interest 4 mins into the first quarter.

Mind you, I go out to pubs and clubs on my own because I like meeting people & I enjoy the freedom of going wherever I want.

Mates are such a drag, eh? :)

When I used to go to the Football, I generally went by myself.

I only have one close mate who is a Collingwood supporter and I don't like going to the football with casuals or people who support other teams. It's just not as fun.

So, nothing with going by yourself, doesn't make you a loser. I go to the movies by myself sometimes and I have plenty of friends.

It's good to go with someone else but there is certainly nothing wrong with going by yourself, still great fun and I find you tend to take the opportunity to chat with other supporters a lot more.

Probably wouldn't go to a WAFL game by myself though when there is only a small crowd plus you need someone to have a kick with at the breaks :)

I always go to the footy alone.

Grew up in in the city of kingston, a city with pretty much only stkilda supporters.

Id rather go to the footy alone and chat with randoms (actually met a mate at the footy before he moved interstate) then sitting at home

Therapeutic actually going alone. You can speak, yell, swear, or say nothing and nobody will give a rats. There'll be people to speak to if you're desperate. Enjoy.

I go to the footy on my own all the time and I think it's fun.

I used to worry like yourself but I found a crazed pack of Hawks supporters who stand in M10. They jump up and down, sing, carry on and have a good time. I love it. So just wander around the ground until you find a group of Dees supporters to stand with.

But even if you don't find a group of people to carry on with, just have a few beers, bring a radio to listen to the call and don't be afraid of letting fly.

I'll see u on tuesday :)

My reserved seat is on my own. Friends are rows away.

I'd prefer to sit with a footy buddy, but I've been deserted this year.

It's ok as I'm with other Collingwood members, although I hate sitting with people who can't understand what's going on and criticise our players for no reason.

Luckily they sell beer at the games to help me through. hehe

Gone on my own once or twice, while it can get a bit of a loner vibe on the train ride to and from as well as at half time, during the game half the time you're paying too much attention to the match to really care. Add in a radio and it's fine, would prefer to go with family / friends but when there's tickets that would otherwise be left unused it beats watching a delayed telecast on 7.

Going to the Footy Alone