Golden Rivers FL

Righto sooks lets talk some footy. Do you reckon there is a conspiracy to get the cup back in the Gannawarra shire? All the league officals work for the shire and the umps seem to look after the teams from there.:D

Yeah only the one game on this weekend up at moula, they a playing with themselves again.
Should be an interesting contest with gastev going toe to toe with the munger in a serious hand in each others pants match, scorebaord to be the umpire.
They should both come out with a smile on their face but won't be much of a spectacle to watch. I suggest you head to the local fish and chip shop to watch the fat boil, bout the same amusement factor.

Whats wrong buddy, you keep the insults coming mate but the moula boys are here to stay. Your saying that you want to start talkin footy, but all you are talking about is me and gastev are you sure their is not a little bit of jealousy their.

It wasn't intended to be an insult, and yes you got me there i do deep down wish i was a swan and i am jealous that i am not in your love triangle.:mad:

Thats good to hear, how about we end this little tiff. Do you think that the top four is already cemented going on what you have seen in the first half of the year,

Do clubs have anything planned for the weekend off?
It sounds like it has come at a good time for some clubs, Nully with the 47 injuries and also
Wakool have stated that you don't win premierships in May, but you do have to win in may to make the finals! Ice has said that all the injured players should be back after the break.

Wakool will be almost gone if Nully get up over them after the bye with a loss to the swans, loss to the tigers, draw with the bombers, loss to the blues two byes and a possible loss against Nully.
Thats 8 weeks without a win

It is possible lets hope not but wakool could go undefeated for the second half of the season including finals that is with a fit side on the paddock.

i dont like to go back on the past, but i think that a few blokes were on the money after i took the time to read today's edition of the guardian, and took a particular interest to the GRFL round up!! The coverage is appauling, so much so i feel that the footy coverage of the Swan Hill Junior competition was far more superior than the GRFL! It maybe time that the Northern times take sa leaf out of the Guardians book, getting a person who is actually at the game to reflect on the weeks footy?? Any thoughts??

Unless its voluntary it will be very hard.

Maybe they should read bigfooty before they write their articles. That way they could get an insight into the mouli game atleast.

Dear GASTEV GOES BANG,

You have received an infraction at BigFooty.

Reason: Mid-Range
-------
language, abuse
-------

This infraction is worth 3 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.

I think it could work, lets say they pay someone $50 a game to do a bit of a write up. That's $200 a week to get some decent comment on the game, that's probably what they pay Ben Carter anyway to attend 1 game and write an ill informed description on the result. He will often talk about players who aren't even playing the game, one of the write ups on our club mentioned that a certain player faded in the 2nd half and that player didn't even play. It's not just a matter of looking in the record if he doesn't know a player then he should ask someone who knows who it is.

At least if it's someone with a knowledge of the clubs they will get names, positions and other info right. Maybe they could get clubs to submit there own info and he could take the notes from both clubs and put together a half decent article. Not just:

John Smith was in the goals for the home team and Fred Jones also played well.

We can look at the match results to get that info. I would prefer to know if any young guys came up and performed, any particular passages of play that changed the game, any injury's that occur during the match, positional changes that changed the momentum, great marks, great goals, contreversial umpiring calls, any biffo that occured, these are interesting facts about the game.

I think the coverage of the GRFL definetly needs an overhaul. I don't even buy the Northern Times anymore because it tells you nothing you can't find on the GRFL website.

I think it could work, lets say they pay someone $50 a game to do a bit of a write up. That's $200 a week to get some decent comment on the game, that's probably what they pay Ben Carter anyway to attend 1 game and write an ill informed description on the result. He will often talk about players who aren't even playing the game, one of the write ups on our club mentioned that a certain player faded in the 2nd half and that player didn't even play. It's not just a matter of looking in the record if he doesn't know a player then he should ask someone who knows who it is.

At least if it's someone with a knowledge of the clubs they will get names, positions and other info right. Maybe they could get clubs to submit there own info and he could take the notes from both clubs and put together a half decent article. Not just:

We can look at the match results to get that info. I would prefer to know if any young guys came up and performed, any particular passages of play that changed the game, any injury's that occur during the match, positional changes that changed the momentum, great marks, great goals, contreversial umpiring calls, any biffo that occured, these are interesting facts about the game.

I think the coverage of the GRFL definetly needs an overhaul. I don't even buy the Northern Times anymore because it tells you nothing you can't find on the GRFL website.

agreed:thumbsu:

Can anybody tell me how young harry smith is playing up there at nully. Heard he has been in the seniors, does his big mouth get him in trouble? Has a few tickets on himself.

Hey Scoreboard, wanna buy a racehorse. His name is My Face. Just imagine him running aroundthe home turn and all the girls screamin "COME ON MY FACE"

Can anybody tell me how young harry smith is playing up there at nully. Heard he has been in the seniors, does his big mouth get him in trouble? Has a few tickets on himself.
Not sure if he plays but he must go to training at least cause the whole of nully must hav the same ego problem.What I have herd about the nully blokes is they cannot get enough tickets to there own shows,if HARRY is a ones player he would b hard to pic out in the maroon crowd cause ther all the bloody same:D

Like, I didnt mean to sound to critical of Ben, as it would be a tough job having such a responsibilty! But it wouldnt be hard for an on-looker, not necessarily needing to be paid to just take a few notes, hence having better footy coverage! And Im sure that football on-lookers would agree, and be willing to maybe put there hand up?? Although it is only a small town paper in a small league, it is only going to turn people away from the competition after reading something that a 11yr old kid could write after reading results!

mm...good point munger! heres some footy talk... you boys have improved a hell of a lot since last year...but i suppose thats calling the pot black! just a question to the moula boys...how many home town/ home grown boys playin in the 1st team at present (no offencnce intended with that either just wondering)? cause it must be a hell of a thrill for those few original lads who have stuck through the bad times to be in the position they are in now! i would probably back u in for a premiership if u had maybe.... a TEE_R playin for u!

On another point...wakool could be the dark horse! would never take them to easy because if the guys who are out return they could be the team to beat for 2007:thumbsu: carn the hawks

i heard a whisper yesterday that Brad Kingwell made another ass of himself on there week off at Lalbert watching the old team play. Played up after the game and was kicked out by Lalberts President and told never to return. Looks like murrabit may have him longer than planned. Can anyone confirm this??

With half way closing in on us after the long weekend, which players at clubs have really impressed opposition teams?

Young nully Aaron Smith looked pretty good the other week, pretty quick and got a fair bit of the ball.

Also Mick Bott at Wandella seems to be in the best a fair bit, he continues to get a mention and would have to get some attention during a game?

Any others?