Golden Rivers FL

pecker69 said:
Glen you little gnome, why didn't you ask those 2 blokes when they were sitting beside you on saturday. What about the other ommissions from saturdays side, Delmenico & Roberts? where were they. Have a look at the Guardian, Pickering got best, Griffiths should have been reported and get atleast 2-4 weeks for his effort. The standard of umpiring in this league is crap, blind freddy could see him dong the young Ultima bloke, yet no report.

Roberts and Delmenico are not noted week to week senior players, at least not this year... never said Pickering didnt play well merely posed a question about how he get the footy... you've got no idea who i am so give the whole people guessing a miss, your just embarrassing yourself.

Ok new question -- Who are the best kep position players in the comp?

Here's a few to get you started...

FB:Jimmyboy (Ult)
CHB: John Fitzpatrick (Hay)
C: Ben Parker? (Nul) Simon Bunyan (Hay)
CHF: Josh Bode (Nul)
FF: Alan Thorpe (Wak)
Ruck: Matt Graham (Wak)

iamfooty said:

very surprised after all the posts you have put re fitzpatrick that he isnt in the ruck

telstra101 said:
very surprised after all the posts you have put re fitzpatrick that he isnt in the ruck

Good reason for that Telstra, he is a genuine CHB -- played most of his footy at CHB, but has proven to be a dominant ruckman in the one year he played there (2005, when he finished runner-up to O'Toole) Has played a bit up forward this year too but CHB is his go. Versatile big man one might say...

iamfooty said:
Good reason for that Telstra, he is a genuine CHB -- played most of his footy at CHB, but has proven to be a dominant ruckman in the one year he played there (2005, when he finished runner-up to O'Toole) Has played a bit up forward this year too but CHB is his go. Versatile big man one might say...

fair call. but i would like to see players pick as to where they are playing at the moment..

iamfooty said:

FB- not sure, but either humphries, keating, or thompson
chb - Doyle
c - bunyan, whelan
chf - No standouts - maybe Auldist
ff- No standouts - maybe Thorpe
R- Bode, clearly.

Tassie Devil said:
I can see your point Catter but by all acccounts many of the Melbourne crew are ex locals and not on payments of any great amounts. Also some just travelling with there mates and playing in the 2's thus is the reason for their improvement over last month. As for the financial downslide YES it can have a hugh effect on clubs and with Wakool next few seasons will tell all of us on here if it has worked for them. Overall a very good point you have made.

Watched Wakool on the weekend with a full side and apparently have four more coming in. Any team that recruits 15 players surely will put a reasonable 2nds side on the ground. As far as money goes odds on they are spending more dough than some clubs in CMFL. How many blokes are travelling from Melb. to play 2nds. for nothing? Must be top blokes or are their senior mates getting enough to share the love!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

iamfooty said:
couldn't agree more, that's why I have picked him at CHB -- where he played on the wkend

hate to tell you iamfooty, but the man went head to head with Big Brendan Mackenzie in the ruck all day except for perhaps 5-10 minutes where he was at CHF

iamfooty said:
couldn't agree more, that's why I have picked him at CHB -- where he played on the wkend

how could you see the game? i believe you watched half of tyntynder v koondrook game and half of the woorinen v nyah game. is this correct?
and as roosta said, he played ruck all game bar about 10 mins which was spent walking around at half forward

pecker69 said:
If l has 3 alias' like you l'd look a hell of a lot busier.
there is only 1 of me 69, and i am not who u think i am! but fair call with "mad dog" Griffith not getting reported, on sat i was standing right behind the umpire looking over his shoulder and i seen two of the best jumper punches thrown - no insult to rodmann, but they connected sweetly. Should hav been reported, foung guilty and given 3-4 weeks.

alfie said:
there is only 1 of me 69, and i am not who u think i am! but fair call with "mad dog" Griffith not getting reported, on sat i was standing right behind the umpire looking over his shoulder and i seen two of the best jumper punches thrown - no insult to rodmann, but they connected sweetly. Should hav been reported, foung guilty and given 3-4 weeks.

jumper punches??? i would of called them haymakers

alfie said:

after the incident griffiths was heard saying, "rogers couldn't fight his way out of a wet paper bag", and after witnessing the incident i tend to agree:eek:

super snooper said:
FB- not sure, but either humphries, keating, or thompson
chb - Doyle
c - bunyan, whelan
chf - No standouts - maybe Auldist
ff- No standouts - maybe Thorpe
R- Bode, clearly.

And you say that wakool would beet woora.. a team with the above players in it would not beet woora.. and they are apparently the standouts...... And you cant even find top players in the league for chf or ff... and fb leaves a lot to be desired.... and bode in the ruck... great player but not a ruck a r s e hole..

footy02 said:
And you say that wakool would beet woora.. a team with the above players in it would not beet woora.. and they are apparently the standouts...... And you cant even find top players in the league for chf or ff... and fb leaves a lot to be desired.... and bode in the ruck... great player but not a ruck a r s e hole..

Everyone saying that Woora is a good side. They are a good side on paper but thats all. They have not came together. They have a team of "champions" but..well you know the rest. Wakool would beat woora no doubt about it. They win one game against Nyah and you think they are world beaters. Grat a grip. Wakool have got players that work well as a team and those teams win games. It would be interesting to if they did put up the 10,000, but wakool would win, not by heaps but will win. The GRFL have got qaulity players but because they dont get the write up every single monday they dont get the respect which they deserve. Wake up to yourself!

footy02 said:
Haven't seen Woora play this season so probably can't comment, but im pretty sure wakool would beat other lowly CMFL teams such as Koondrook-Barham. GRFL is not brilliant football, but it's a good comp, and despite what you beleive, the CMFL is not the AFL.

super snooper said:
Haven't seen Woora play this season so probably can't comment, but im pretty sure wakool would beat other lowly CMFL teams such as Koondrook-Barham. GRFL is not brilliant football, but it's a good comp, and despite what you beleive, the CMFL is not the AFL.[/quote]

Fair call:thumbsu:

super snooper said:
Haven't seen Woora play this season so probably can't comment, but im pretty sure wakool would beat other lowly CMFL teams such as Koondrook-Barham. GRFL is not brilliant football, but it's a good comp, and despite what you beleive, the CMFL is not the AFL.
woorinen are a joke.. have no doubt about that... but they would walk all over wakool. you are on here talking about interleague and such and you cant find half of the key position players in the league. you name players that would not play in woora side. and this is suppose to be the best you have.... cmfl is far form the afl.. I just like to put things into perspective.. I have seen them both play. tell me. how can a side that is... smaller. less skill full. less depth. no where near as fit.. that has many travellers.. beat woora..

footy02 said:
woorinen are a joke.. have no doubt about that... but they would walk all over wakool. you are on here talking about interleague and such and you cant find half of the key position players in the league. you name players that would not play in woora side. and this is suppose to be the best you have.... cmfl is far form the afl.. I just like to put things into perspective.. I have seen them both play. tell me. how can a side that is... smaller. less skill full. less depth. no where near as fit.. that has many travellers.. beat woora..
I said i couldn't comment on Woora.

No one is going to change you mind, but realise that a side like wakool is made up of players with 'major' league experience. Unfortunately you have the mentality that GRFL players are ****, and CMFL players are all guns.

super snooper said:

No one is going to change you mind, but realise that a side like wakool is made up of players with 'major' league experience. Unfortunately you have the mentality that GRFL players are ****, and CMFL players are all guns.
mate i dont think that, i am just a realist. I think the grfl is a great league because it is more competitive between clubs than the cmfl.. I am a fan of the grfl, just a realist.....

B Humphries Condely Morton
HB Whelen Fitzpatrick Hewitt
C Lawry Korp Parker
HF Dickson Bode Auldist
F Atkins Thorpe Dillon
R Graham, Harvey, Bunyin
INT Chamberlain, M. Demeria, Hardman
What do you think. Do you think this side could get close to likes of Swan Hill or Balranald? Open to critism. Modify if need be.

super snooper said:

You don't have to justify yourself SS.... :thumbsu:

Catter said:
C Lawry Korp Parker
HF Dickson Bode Auldist
F Atkins Thorpe Dillon
R Graham, Harvey, Bunyin
What do you think. Do you think this side could get close to likes of Swan Hill or Balranald? Open to critism. Modify if need be.

Fair chance. Pretty good side there Catter. well researched....Demaria on the bench is pushing it though -- prefer hard-nut Trav Pryor

Catter said:
C Lawry Korp Parker
HF Dickson Bode Auldist
F Atkins Thorpe Dillon
R Graham, Harvey, Bunyin

Wouldn't get within a brass razoo of Balranald but would push Swan Hill a bit I reckon.