Golden Rivers FL

Went to Wandella to watch the young boys go around in the interleague. What is with the GRFL not being able to organise boundary umpires for the game. They had some little kid (about 10 at the most) doing one side of the ground and the poor little bugger couldn't keep up or throw the ball in. Then an older guy went over to help him but they obviously couldn't find him a whistle.

It was mickey mouse and the league should be disgusted with themselves, but I'm sure there not. If you are going to host an interleague fixture show some professionalism and do the job right. I don't care if LVFL were supposed to supply an boundary or not, GRFL was the host and should have made sure things were organised better.

Really doing a great job supporting our young up and coming stars.

Went to Wandella to watch the young boys go around in the interleague. What is with the GRFL not being able to organise boundary umpires for the game. They had some little kid (about 10 at the most) doing one side of the ground and the poor little bugger couldn't keep up or throw the ball in. Then an older guy went over to help him but they obviously couldn't find him a whistle.

It was mickey mouse and the league should be disgusted with themselves, but I'm sure there not. If you are going to host an interleague fixture show some professionalism and do the job right. I don't care if LVFL were supposed to supply an boundary or not, GRFL was the host and should have made sure things were organised better.

Really doing a great job supporting our young up and coming stars.

The league has these young kids who can barely throw over their heads officiating at a senior level every week, so i dont see why they would make any exceptions to a one off junior league game

been to a few nully games this year, whos the number 49 running round goes in pretty hard and use's the ball pretty good. any info??

yeah, he gets alot of the ball from what i've seen and isnt a sheep dog- puts his head over the ball and doesnt mind the hard stuff.

whats his history? been watching nully seniors for a few yrs now & have only noticed him this yr. seems a handy inclusion

yes he played last year as well but had come back from a 3 year break off footy i heard so started in seconds and broke into the seniors late last year and i think he makes the trip from melbourne every week coz used to come from swan hill

The league has these young kids who can barely throw over their heads officiating at a senior level every week, so i dont see why they would make any exceptions to a one off junior league game

Not the leagues fault re the size of the boundary umpires. Typically people are ready to throw muck,but are unable to pick up a whistle. These kids will grow bigger, hopefully they will still be around after the crap they get from supporters,some players and tools like you.

Well bring them up through the juniors until they develop and then have them boundary umpiring the seniors. It maybe a minor league, but it is still senior footy therefore the standard of the game should be at the highest levelmade to the highest level possible!

yeah, he gets alot of the ball from what i've seen and isnt a sheep dog- puts his head over the ball and doesnt mind the hard stuff.

whats his history? been watching nully seniors for a few yrs now & have only noticed him this yr. seems a handy inclusion

If you have been watching Nully seniors for a few years now you would probably know his name mate...being a bigfooty newbie and talking him up so much makes me suss if you follow my drift!

Well bring them up through the juniors until they develop and then have them boundary umpiring the seniors. It maybe a minor league, but it is still senior footy therefore the standard of the game should be at the highest levelmade to the highest level possible!

it would be safe to say they are only being used because they are all we have...if we were to develop them through the juniors it would leave us with no boundries for the seniors...

If you have been watching Nully seniors for a few years now you would probably know his name mate...being a bigfooty newbie and talking him up so much makes me suss if you follow my drift!

As I said Footy Pie I have been watching a few Nully SENIORS games over the past few years and I hadnt noticed him until this year.
As I have now been informed by Coach Carter, he joined the club last year in the reserves.

Danielkerr has got it right. So therefore they have to start at senior level and learn the ropes there. Is better than having clubbies doing senior games and copping flak from opposition supporters and being accused of favouritism with any close calls. So bend an arm Footy Pie and pat a few of these kids on the back for having a go. Encourage, don't discourage.

I reckon the young fellows have been doing a great job doing the boundary. If it wasnt for them the players would probably be doing it.

i think that the young fellas are doing a fantastic job for there size... but i agree with footy pie in saying that they need to start at a lower level. most clubs would have under 17's players who could do the boundry if needed or even the parents

are you silly? the kids are obviously the best you can get otherwise there would be older kids / adults doing it wouldnt they, leave the kids alone, most of them have already played under 17's and under 14's and are sacrificing running around and kicking the footy with all of their mates to make the game that you play run more smoothly... have a think smithy

I think you'll find that the initial debate was why was there a kid running the boundary in the Junior Interleague match, in which the point was made that there is these kids in seniors through out the league so why would it be any different for a Junior Interleague game?

most under 17's would be happy to do it on some sort of rotational system if say $15 - $20 was up for grabs. they can all so have a kick at half time with their mates so it isnt as if they are missing out completely. and with the junior interleague game, i think that it is fine in juniors but for 10 yr old kids to be doing it at a senior level is going overboard and expecting to much of the young fellas... but i still say they do a fantastic job considering

so theres three games left, whos looking good for the b+f from each club???

ultima - luke wilson
quambatook - luke maher
wakool - willie cossack
hay - bill auldist/rory redfern
these four would nearly be definates...

nully - glenn smith
wandella - will callow
moulamein - kane bannam
murrabit - simon morton
macorna - unsure

thats just a rough guess on what ive seen and read in the results...

ultima - luke wilson
quambatook - luke maher
wakool - willie cossack
hay - bill auldist/rory redfern
these four would nearly be definates...

nully - glenn smith
wandella - will callow
moulamein - kane bannam
murrabit - simon morton
macorna - unsure

thats just a rough guess on what ive seen and read in the results...

Macorna - Brendan Murchie???

Luke Wilson for Ultima for sure, not so sure bout Glen Smith for nully but. Has'nt had the year like last and has missed a few games.

Quambatook: Luke Mahar
Wakool: Willie Cossack
Moula: Kane Bannan

Who saw the umpiring at nully on the weekend, bloody shocking!!!!!!!!