Review Good, Acceptable, and Putrid vs Kitty Kats

I’m just watching the sanfl....Pyke needs to go if this is the best he can manage.
It’s a repeat of last nights soft efforts followed by panicked decisions with some god awful skills thrown in for good measure....oh and it’s called a tackle for ffs.

I can’t figure out what our plan actually is, and it looks like the players are the same. Handball in the congestion to one of the flat footed players under more pressure than yourself, because god forbid you risk taking the game on, just so we can deliver the special patented crow, down the line no look hack kick.
Where have our skills gone?
Our forwards have no ******* idea what’s going on and our mids can’t hit them when they do get the chance. We are so close but so goddamn awful as well.

I thought we had the bestest greatest pre-season ever, it’s 3 games in and this team looked cooked.

I am generally pretty supportive of the club but something is majorly awry somewhere at the moment, we suck big time....badly suck.
Pyke needs to turn this around.

Hart needs to go immediately.

Scuse my rant.

I’m just watching the sanfl....Pyke needs to go if this is the best he can manage.
It’s a repeat of last nights soft efforts followed by panicked decisions with some god awful skills thrown in for good measure....oh and it’s called a tackle for ffs.

I can’t figure out what our plan actually is, and it looks like the players are the same. Handball in the congestion to one of the flat footed players under more pressure than yourself, because god forbid you risk taking the game on, just so we can deliver the special patented crow, down the line no look hack kick.
Our forwards have no ******* idea what’s going on and our mids can’t hit them when they do get the chance. We are so close but so goddamn awful as well.

I thought we had the bestest greatest pre-season ever, it’s 3 games in and this team looked cooked.

I am generally pretty supportive of the club but something is majorly awry somewhere at the moment, we suck big time....badly suck.

Scuse my rant.
Does he coach the SANFL team too?

Scuse my rant.
Our best forward is playing full back.

Geez I think a lot of people in this thread are being a bit hard on Tex.
In our forwards defence, I’d hate to try and play as a forward with some of the quality of ball being delivered and the strutures they’re working too.

Our skills suck, our plan sucks even harder.
Too easy to play against.

Does he coach the SANFL team too?
Jenny I really admire you, you are the epitome of a club supporter....please don’t be offended, it’s great that the club has supporters such as yourself.

But Don is the head coach, he sets the agenda, he makes the plans the buck stops with him.

Darcy Fogarty is playing full back again tonight, on 202cm Goliath and hating life and getting a complete bath while doing it.
So how do we pick him for afl if we need him as a forward off of the back of his non existent form?
Who’s bloody idea was it send our most likely replacement forward to the last line of defence and do you really think Don has no say in what position he wants players developed in?
Especially highly talented players....it’s completely bonkers.

Jenny I really admire you, you are the epitome of a club supporter....please don’t be offended, it’s great that the club has supporters such as yourself.

But Don is the head coach, he sets the agenda, he makes the plans the buck stops with him.

Darcy Fogarty is playing full back again tonight, on 202cm Goliath and hating life and getting a complete bath while doing it.
So how do we pick him for afl if we need him as a forward off of the back of his non existent form?
Who’s bloody idea was it send our most likely replacement forward to the last line of defence and do you really think Don has no say in what position he wants players developed in?
Especially highly talented players....it’s completely bonkers.
It was actually a genuine question. I thought we had a coach for the twos.

Regarding Fog. I remember by hubby saying once that there was a famous SANFL coach who would put new forwards as defenders to teach them how to play as a forward (ie. learn how the experienced guys play that position). I reckon he got a lesson and a half tonight if that was the case! Also remember Rutten? His first three kicks in AFL were goals, then spent the rest of His life in the back lines. I don’t agree with it myself, but it’s probably not the first or last time it will have been done.

Was weird at work today...

I work with a fair few expat south aussies and Victorians and there is a great spread of supporters of many AFL clubs..

The overall impression of the game that I got from most of them was that it was an exciting game of footy to watch... that both teams played an exciting brand of footy.

Most thought Adelaide should have won the game but poor kicking in front of goal, some dubious umpiring and some poor decision making from a few of Adelaides players was the difference..

Maybe being crows supporters we expected a hell of a lot better?.. I didn’t think I was being too harsh on the team.. I thought they were atrocious.. got plenty of the ball but disposals and decision making was D grade.

Positive news on Seedsman I guess.. hopefully he doesn’t spend months on the sidelines still.

Still think Mackay, Atkins, Kelly and hartigan deserve to be dropped.
Yeah. I live in the west. Guys at work saying we played ok. Must have been watching a different game.

It was actually a genuine question. I thought we had a coach for the twos.

Regarding Fog. I remember by hubby saying once that there was a famous SANFL coach who would put new forwards as defenders to teach them how to play as a forward (ie. learn how the experienced guys play that position). I reckon he got a lesson and a half tonight if that was the case! Also remember Rutten? His first three kicks in AFL were goals, then spent the rest of His life in the back lines. I don’t agree with it myself, but it’s probably not the first or last time it will have been done.
Ok sorry, yes we do have a sanfl coach.

Loved Truck, last kick was a goal too.
Rutten was not, nor ever had the potential as a forward that fog has.
Fog is wasted as a defender, how do we select him as a forward (he is our next big forward in waiting) and comfortably have faith in him to do his job on the form he has now....when he is playing as very poor version of a defender?

NTRabbit has got this right hey shorty
Jenkins had just sprinted down the wing keeping the ball alive with a tap back, and was presented with three options:
1. Kick it to a non-leading Walker in a 3 on 1
2. Run to 60, risk a tackle/smother and make a tired kick to the goal square, where two Geelong players were in position to easily reach it before I think Eddie Betts
3. Draw a man and handpass to Lynch running on the overlap. He picked 3, and just as he went to do it, Lynch stopped overlapping, and the ball went out. Hiding to nothing.
Lynch actually changed direction but Jenkins didn't see it and handballed to where Lynch was. Straight oob.

My complaint with Jenkins was the way he went about it (btw, did he look inside and not just forward?), before the errant handball --- lumber, bounce, stop, think, lumber, bounce, stop, think --- where a natural footballer would have been more decisive, even telling Lynch where to go ie back and around. The oob handball was not the problem. It was accidental, for sure, but looked comical, like in cricket when two players go for a catch then both pull out and the ball lobs between them :eek:.
What was bad was the way we lost possession without even being tackled.

I'd say another reason he picked 3 is because Walker was getting belted and he had no faith that he would actually mark the ball.
Nah, that involves a level of thinking which is beyond Jenkins.
I used to be a Jenkins supporter (until early last year) and thought he was maligned, under-appreciated. He isn't. He's not.
He's worse than bovine; he's a slow, lumbering brontosaurus with a tiny, non-footballer's peanut-brain.

I'm in a Motel in Outback NSW where AFL doesn't count and just found out about Seedsman (last page in here).
That's great news :thumbsu::thumbsu:.
Anyone know how long he'll be out for?

Saw that as well mate, and it's definitely a factor; which is why I don't excuse the players, but I think it's a sign of confusion and uncertainty.

When we're good (and when any team in the comp is up and running), they play with purpose and certainty; they know they're supposed to do, and they do it... and if it doesn't work, they know it will next time, so they

We look hesitant, confused, uncertain and completely lacking in confidence and purpose.
Someone said before it looks like players are over thinking it (or have too much thinking to do)

Development is fine and systems have their place, but if you draft instinctive players then let them play on instinct

Review Good, Acceptable, and Putrid vs Kitty Kats