Good bye top four goodbye season...

Tough start? You had Collingwood which you won, Geelong you lost by a kick, Adelaide at home that one must have really taxed you, WC over there about your only really tough assignment and you only lost that by a kick......and Sydney at your second home. How is that bending you over? Overreact much?
Who's had a tougher draw than us? you've played one tough side Collingwood the rest are Bris Rich Freo all 12th or worse last year and Essendon who spanked you.

Agree with this, not shot yet and we will come good as the season gets longer no doubt. Hard to take that second half though, terrible to watch. Slow, crap ball movement and just not enough players running into clear space.

Yep, we looked quite lethargic in comparison to the Swans who were just gliding over the ground.

Thank you afl for bending us over with the draw and giving us such a tough start to the season. We simply couldn't afford to loose this game but we did. Umpiring was terrible but no excuses for not kicking a goal in the third quarter. Again too many passengers breust tried hard but went missing dropped a sitter in front if goal. Osbourne - did you even play? Hale can't play four quarters, along with several others. The way we gave up in the last quarter was very very disturbing. We cannot win the flag this year on todays performance.

A bad game was bound to come. Can't fault their effort in the first 4 rounds. The trip out west and now travelling to Tassie got too much. They were out on their legs early in this game. If it were not for some brilliant fwd play by Roughy, the result would have been awful. But the excuses dont count especially if you are flag aspirant. Sydney's tackling was ferocious, played in their hands in the end. The chip and run game was so needed today but tired players can't do any of that. Losing Gibbo did not help.

One critiscism for mine would be the bomb inside 50, since when has this become part of the game plan? Delivery inside needs to be addressed. Other teams drule at the chance of having class in the fwd line like Cyril and Buddy and yet the Hawks choose to deliver rainmakers on a hope and a prey. :confused::confused::confused:

Ossie has run his race, he is undiciplined and past his best. Replace him with Smith.

Tough start? You had Collingwood which you won, Geelong you lost by a kick, Adelaide at home that one must have really taxed you, WC over there about your only really tough assignment and you only lost that by a kick......and Sydney at your second home. How is that bending you over? Overreact much?
Your thoughts are appreciated, but I wouldn't stir the hornets nest.

Season is done. No chance of top 4 now. I question if we will even make top 8 after that. The simple fact is they just don't give a sh.t.

Too many passengers! It's nice of the hfc club to give 60,000 members the up yours. Thank-you hawthorn.

Oh well onto 2013 and the club to hype it all up and feed us more shit about our chances.

Your thoughts are appreciated, but I wouldn't stir the hornets nest.

Fair enough, I wasnt suggesting other teams have had tougher starts, just that yours hasnt been that tough and you have only played one bad game, today's and its hardly enough to think you wont make the top 4.

And supposing we agree you have had a tough draw, it must get easier from here, so either way I would not be too concerned about your top 4 potential. Your team is the one most on our board fears facing most. Hopefully if we have to play you in a final, its in the last one.

Get stuffed you clown. Go back to that shit hole you call the cfc. Your club are the biggest pretenders going around. April bloody champions.

Barely got our hands on it in the clinches in the second half. Can't give the opposition so many clearances and expect to win it..

We seem to rely on too few to do the grunt work while the rest of our players wait for a quick handball out to spread from the clearance. It meant being burnt time and time again.

Hale looks WAY off it and has so far this season. He isn't taking contested marks, is 2 paces off it and is barely rucking.. I'm not sure what he adds to the team at the moment, we clearly need better mobility inside 50.

Our defence is a shambles... When Gibson went off it was almost a given for Sydney to score from an i50. Shoey started well but as soon as the heat was on all our defensive players lost the plot.

Buddy in the middle: wrong, wrong, wrong! :mad:

Travelling from perth to melb then to Tassie will hurt.
Why were we scheduled to travell to Tassie straight after we just been over to Perth..

No excuse anyway we are not a top 4 side it's quite simple really. We will finish in the 8 and same scenario as 2010..

I hate our game style it sucks and takes a lot of out off us. We have been a mentally weak team for a long time now and I just don't understand why..
We win the flag in 08 and instead of riding on that confidance we fall away and may not see another flag for a while unless we learn to deal with our mental issues

No villains, no scapegoats.
Just looked a very tired side after half time, no doubt due in part to the tough draw to start the season.
Loss of Gibbo critical, coupled with Birch missing, basically stuffed us.
Gibbo was second only to Roughie for BOG until his injury. Changed the game.
Top 4 not shot yet. Will be a very even season.

We still have St Kilda, Fremantle, North, Calton, Colingwood, Essendon, Geelong, West Coast and Sydney to play this season

ATM i cant see us winning any of these games. Either we change NOW or 2013 here we come

Bit of an overreaction I think. But I only watched the first quarter... shocked that we lost considering we were all over them!

If you put it into perspective we could very easily be 4-1... it's been an unlucky start but I think we're good enough to still make the top 4

Come on you guys. It is round 5. We have played last years two grandfinalists, NAB cup premiers whom hadn't lost a game till they met us, Eagles in Perth on a wet night and an undefeated Swans......in Tassie AFTER said trip to Perth........until today we have been great. For God sake Richmond beat us in 08, our premiership year.

We were woeful today, can't be disputed. But that's life. We will probably be woeful again against another team once or twice this year but to just get off us after one game is ridiculous. Give the boys a break i say. No one gets everything right all the time and today they all got it wrong. We are too talented and i hope too proud to just roll over. I said at start of year we'll win it, i still believe that. September is a loooooong way away guys.

We are all different, see things differently, have differing opinions and i respect everyone's right to their opinions.......i love the passion....... but one shiteful showing wont change mine.....

I reckon we'll be there..

Come on you guys. It is round 5. We have played last years two grandfinalists, NAB cup premiers whom hadn't lost a game till they met us, Eagles in Perth on a wet night and an undefeated Swans......in Tassie AFTER said trip to Perth........until today we have been great. For God sake Richmond beat us in 08, our premiership year.

We were woeful today, can't be disputed. But that's life. We will probably be woeful again against another team once or twice this year but to just get off us after one game is ridiculous. Give the boys a break i say. No one gets everything right all the time and today they all got it wrong. We are too talented and i hope too proud to just roll over. I said at start of year we'll win it, i still believe that. September is a loooooong way away guys.

We are all different, see things differently, have differing opinions and i respect everyone's right to their opinions.......i love the passion....... but one shiteful showing wont change mine.....

I reckon we'll be there..

Big difference when Richmond beat us in 08 we 8 straight and that loss didn't effect our season

Bit of an overreaction I think. But I only watched the first quarter...

Watch the 3rd quarter, and the last 15 minutes of the final quarter.

You will think you are watching Swans versus a pub team.

That was supposedly our best team on the field at home....what a joke...maybe players aren't performing because all other teams know our game plan....since 08...every team has caught on....im predicting we'll still finish top 8..but will be an easy beat come finals....midfield has been getting smashed....backline is still suspect.....franklin and rioli supposedly stars...have done jack this year...Hale needs to go back to the 2's were are too tall.....id rather have maculay/bailey in ruck....rough to take hales spot...

No villains, no scapegoats.
Just looked a very tired side after half time, no doubt due in part to the tough draw to start the season.
Loss of Gibbo critical, coupled with Birch missing, basically stuffed us.
Gibbo was second only to Roughie for BOG until his injury. Changed the game.
Top 4 not shot yet. Will be a very even season.

Keep rolling out the excuses mate...we arnt good enough couple with a poorly coached side plain and simple.

Lets remember who we have played so far...

The two grand finalists from last year and 3 undefeated teams.

Right.... so when (excuse me, IF) we make it to the finals and play the same teams all over again things will suddenly be different?

Clarko, this is for you......(deep breath) ....What the hell was that? And don't give me the "we were beaten by a better team".

On paper is so different to what happens on the field and it is the coaches responsibility to make sure we deliver. I expect only wins from here mate. Another 2 losses and we can kiss the top four goodbye.

Bring back the unsocial football and a bit of mongrel, or do we need to break out the iced vovos?

Watch the 3rd quarter, and the last 15 minutes of the final quarter.

You will think you are watching Swans versus a pub team.

Pub team. We couldn't get our hands on the ball. Just disgraceful! Clarkson needs a long hard look in the mirror as do the players. They're kidding themselves if they think they're anywhere near winning the flag this year.

I still think we are good enough to make top 4. However , over the last few years the team who has won the GF has had the luxury of having a top 4 (and probably top 2) spot sewn up early, allowing them to rest players who needed it. Part of the reason we haven't made a GF since 08 is because we've had bad stretches of the year that put us under the pump just to make finals (2010) or top 4 (2011), and without the ability to rest players we ran out of fit (or well rested) players in the final games of the season (Freo and Pies), despite having had some really good stretches in both seasons. I can see the same thing happening again this year, very disappointing. Don't believe we are that massively overrated, but do think we have underperformed, given how good we've been in parts of '10, '11 and so far in '12. Consistency within games probably an even bigger problem right now than consistency over the season.

Bit of an overreaction I think. But I only watched the first quarter... shocked that we lost considering we were all over them!

If you put it into perspective we could very easily be 4-1... it's been an unlucky start but I think we're good enough to still make the top 4

I appreciate the positivity here mate but I am sick of hearing "we could be 2-0", "we could have been 4-0". Could have, should have, would have!

We are not good enough, sick of excuses. It needs to change and change FAST!!

Fair enough, I wasnt suggesting other teams have had tougher starts, just that yours hasnt been that tough and you have only played one bad game, today's and its hardly enough to think you wont make the top 4.

And supposing we agree you have had a tough draw, it must get easier from here, so either way I would not be too concerned about your top 4 potential. Your team is the one most on our board fears facing most. Hopefully if we have to play you in a final, its in the last one.

Are you really that friggin' stupid???

Apparently yes!!!

How is playing the other three top four sides from last year, not a very tough start to the season???

Unbelievable.

The only club that came close to our draw is Richmond who had:

Carlton (5th)
Pies
Cats

which is tough for a weak side.

However, it is still no where near as tough as Pies, Cats, Crows (a breather) then the Eagles in Perth, which should prove to be the toughest game any side will face this year.

Good bye top four goodbye season...