News Goodbye Shane Mumford

I reckon we've done really well so far in trade week, for once. Usually we get screwed over (e.g. Prismall deal last year). We get Drum for jack all, get pick 28 for Mumford, sad to lose him but I think we get a pretty decent pick and then the weird trade where we get 3 picks for 1 I think we've done all right. Hope we can get Smith as well and keep Wojo

haha, some of you see the world through rose coloured glasses if you can't see why mumford would leave. a 4 year deal at the swans when the cats would probably have only offered 2 or 3. more money, and most importantly the chance to probably play first ruck rather than in the VFL.

the guy's 22 and this is his first shot at a big contract. they could give it to him, we couldn't have come close. you can't blame the guy.

pick 28 for a guy we got in the rookie draft is a fair swap too.

Agreed, converting a rookie draft pic to pick 28 a couple years later isnt a total loss. Its a lot better than the deal the cats got for prismall.

Re: Mumford wants to be a Swan

Do you apply the same loyalty test to the GFC, given that they may have to show a two-time premiership player in Wojcinski the door for exactly the same reason, monetary considerations ?

Loyalty is a garbage concept.

Unless Ottens retires or Blake leaves, Mumford is going to be playing mostly VFL for the Cats next year on half what he could get by going to the Swans.

It's not as if he is 17 years old and has all the time in the world to make is $$.

I hope he stays, but good luck to him if he goes.

On you DeanoT....the most sensible comment i have read on this topic.....alot of very jealous people on here who in the same position would make exactly the same decision....good luck to you Shane...I for one will be certainly following your progress at the Swans.

Sorry mate but it looks like we are getting pick 28 from Sydney for Mumford, can't believe it, we are so soft, it's a joke. Why do we still have Blake ?. He has had 3 years to show us something, yet nothing, he still can't kick a ******* footy. I'm over Geelong and their money issues, it's getting so annoying, i hear Wojo is leaving to, well if that's true that's another disgracful decision. I love the cats and all but why are they so dumb????? getting rid of mumford has got to be one of the worst things ever, he is 23 and would easily have been the replacement for Ottens, but now we are stuck with Blake and West for the next decade, absolutly pathetic, what are they gonna do next, trade Ablett to the GC for picks 1,2 and 3.

Dude, relax. You signed up a few months ago just so you can write this crap? We've won two out of the last 3 flags.

If you're over Geelong, don't let the door hit your **** on the way out.

Sorry mate but it looks like we are getting pick 28 from Sydney for Mumford, can't believe it, we are so soft, it's a joke. Why do we still have Blake ?. He has had 3 years to show us something, yet nothing, he still can't kick a ******* footy. I'm over Geelong and their money issues, it's getting so annoying, i hear Wojo is leaving to, well if that's true that's another disgracful decision. I love the cats and all but why are they so dumb????? getting rid of mumford has got to be one of the worst things ever, he is 23 and would easily have been the replacement for Ottens, but now we are stuck with Blake and West for the next decade, absolutly pathetic, what are they gonna do next, trade Ablett to the GC for picks 1,2 and 3.

Okay. Let me introduce you to this wonderful sport called AFL. Now the second thing I learnt about the sport is that we have a thing called 'salary caps'. (The first thing is that Geelong is awesome and apparently I needed to support them. :p) Now if you can't handle the concept, you're more than welcome to choose the English Premier League - here's a hint, Man U will probably win it, but if they screw up Chelsea is always there. :thumbsu:

It's disappointing to see him go, but for that kind of money I know what i'd be doing. I still cannot believe they offered him so much.

Good luck to him. :thumbsu:

The Swans have lost over 1600 games worth of experiance recently (if you include both Fosdike and Kennelly). 8 premiership players have left our list this year.

As a result of all these players leaving (Hall, Jolly, Kennelly, Fosdike, Buchanan, O'Loughlin, Crouch and Leo Barry) the Swans have a huge amount of space in our salary cap.

ahh, see there is tax on cooked sausage. But if you cook it yourself there isn't ;)

Really, i am amazed at how angry some posters are at Mumford. Be ****ing reasonable!

The trade went like this:

Sydney offered a 20 game Rookie 900k over three years, with assured game time.

Geelong, due to salary cap restrictions, offered a touch over half that - say, 550k over three years, but without the guarantee of senior football.

Needless to say Mumford was interested.

Geelong then entered discussions with Mumford and apparently convinced him to stay on the lower salary (which is bloody amazing in itself).

Sydney shot back by offering more money and another year on the contract.

Mumford did what any sane person would do in his position and took up the Swans offer.

Like any GFC fan i am disappointed to see Mummy go, but this is the reality of winning flags.

Congratulations to Mumford and all the best in your playing future with Sydney.

Of course he could be selling himself short if he turns out half as good as he has been pumped up too be on this board. In 2 years he will be the next Cox playing for a measly 300K

Well good luck to him. I can't in all honesty say that I share the bitterness of some Cats' fans on here. Let's face it, he has to provide for himself and with twice as much money on the table, he'd be mad not to take it unless he had a very, very compelling reason to stay Geelong (i.e guaranteed to be ahead of Blake in the pecking order). I don't we could really do much about it once Sydney threw four years and $1 mill plus on the table.

I wish him well.

Well i have decided to become a big Mark Blake fan. I was a bit Mumford fan and he left so maybe Blake will do the same.

Just kidding. We are going to rely on Blake a lot next year now with Otto getting older and likely to injure himself again next year. Although i am worried he won't improve if he spot in the team isn't under pressure. Anyways i suppose that is a bit off topic.

Goodbye Mummy hope you enjoy playing for Sydney but i hope Blakey smashes you in the ruck when we play Sydney.

News Goodbye Shane Mumford