Goulburn Valley FL - 2011 Season

Mansfield 14.11.95 def Tatura 9.16.70 :mad:
Mansfield led by 1-11pts at each qtr time then kicked 3.3 to 0.3 in the last. Great effort considering they had no bench after 3min mark of the 3rd qtr. They had Much more run and skill when it mattered.

Ky's win at seymour has come at a big cost. Ogden gone for an undecided time with a shoulder injury. apparently he has 35 possies up untill he was injured at the 5 minuter mark of the last quarter and was stiull BOG. Newman 5 Barnett 4 and withers ordinary. Dont think the Ky boys will be happy. apparently the club are not happy with the ogden incident involving the tackle with both arms pinned. he was taken to melbourne with the game held up for a period of time to get him OK.

The interleague squad has been announced;

Michael ROBERTS Lachlan McGHIE Adem YZE (Mooroopna) Robbie WOOD (Euroa) Paul COLBERT Brent COLBERT (Seymour) Elliot BOWEN Perry OLIVER (Rochester) Linc WELLINGTON Lee WARNETT (Tatura) Brodie A'VARD Ryan SEMMELL (Shepparton Swans)
Brett MAHONEY Nick GIESCHEN Adam BOSHEVSKI (Mansfield) David CLARKE Brady GREEN (Benalla) Rhys O'SULLIVAN (Shepparton)
Paul NEWMAN Chris ATKINS Jason MORGAN Josh VICK Nathan BECK (Kyabram) Shaun HUY Tyson SIDEBOTTOM Tim LOOBY Ryan NORMINGTON Ryan BUTLER (Shepparton United)
Chris EGAN Kristan HEIGHT Brad MURRAY Rhys ARCHARD Tom SHELDON Joel PERRY Matthew POLLOCK (Echuca)

Coach :- Peter WHITE

Ky's win at seymour has come at a big cost. Ogden gone for an undecided time with a shoulder injury. apparently he has 35 possies up untill he was injured at the 5 minuter mark of the last quarter and was stiull BOG. Newman 5 Barnett 4 and withers ordinary. Dont think the Ky boys will be happy. apparently the club are not happy with the ogden incident involving the tackle with both arms pinned. he was taken to melbourne with the game held up for a period of time to get him OK.

Concussion and a broken collar bone but will not require surgery. No, they are not happy! If it was in a AFL game, the Seymour player would receive a number a weeks. Pinning one of the smallest blokes arms on the field and dropping him on his head was not a brave act. The umpires did nothing in this instance and players should be protected in these incidents.

Was at the game and saw the incident and didn't think there was too much in it to be honest. Yep, it was a hard tackle but that's footy. Bit stiff to hang the tackler because the tacklee was injured, that's just bad luck. If he hadn't suffered an injury no-one would give it a second thought. Speaking to a Ky committee member today and he's of the same opinion too, not great for Ogden but nothing malicious from his point if view, but no doubt people saw it differently to me.

:confused:One Person from 3 & 1 Shepparton?

Would have thought there would be a few more in front of O'Sullivan too?

Yes, it does seem imbalanced.

I thought a few other Rochy boys should've made it like Guy Campbell, Brad Collins, Sam Vale, Ash Watson and Sam Brennan, however I'm not sure if they pulled out with injury or unavailability.

Yes, it does seem imbalanced.

I thought a few other Rochy boys should've made it like Guy Campbell, Brad Collins, Sam Vale, Ash Watson and Sam Brennan, however I'm not sure if they pulled out with injury or unavailability.

I belive Watson, Campbell and McGlone made themselves unavailable.
I think Matt Rendina is pretty stiff to miss out

Was at the game and saw the incident and didn't think there was too much in it to be honest. Yep, it was a hard tackle but that's footy. Bit stiff to hang the tackler because the tacklee was injured, that's just bad luck. If he hadn't suffered an injury no-one would give it a second thought. Speaking to a Ky committee member today and he's of the same opinion too, not great for Ogden but nothing malicious from his point if view, but no doubt people saw it differently to me.
Mate... trengove got 2 weeks for the tackle on Dangerfield that was no where near as bad as Ogden's. Having your arms pinned then dumped on your head is illegal in our game. What does it take ... someone to get their neck broken. The guy who did the tackle should be rubbed out. There is no place in footy for tackles of that nature. Bad Luck.... get real, if cat sacns on your brain and xrays on your spine to determine if there is damage is "bad luck" god help us. That tackle was illegal and dangerous. Thankfully "he only broke his collarbone!!!

I didnt see the game or the incident, but I hope the boy recovers ok because he is a gun. Can play!

Sorry mate I didn't mean for it to sound that harsh. Oggy is a good kid and a gun player, and I hope he's ok and will be back playing good footy for the bombers soon. The point was more that in my opinion, I didn't see anything too malicious in the tackle, it was unlucky that he was hurt like he was. Having said that you make a very valid point re: trengove and I didn't see much wrong with that tackle either. If the tackle is illegal then penalise it, but whether or not a player is injured shouldn't come into it. If it's not illegal and someone is hurt, then let's just all take a deep breath and accept thy sometimes in footy players get hurt and it's no-ones fault. Id also assume that the cat scans were more precautionary than anything else.

Suggest you get a copy of the free press and have a look at the photo of the tackle. Pinning a players arms, lifting him off his feet and then driving him into the ground on his head is dangerous, illegal and gutless. Had you been in the rooms to see the state Ogden was in, perhaps you would change your thinking. The cat scans were because he was knocked unconscious for several minutes and he vomited continuosly in the ambulance on the way to Melbourne - precautionary!!!! you bet!!!!. The league needs to make a stand here. The AFL have, and quite rightly have shown these tackles have no place in our game.
Kyabram will be asking the league to enforce the rules so that players who perform these tackles are carded and dealt with. The point that I make is that the player who showed courage to go and get the ball was not protected. The umpires have alot to answer for here.
I'm certain all gvfl big footy followers would support me here.
What would the posts be if he broke his neck?

Suggest you get a copy of the free press and have a look at the photo of the tackle. Pinning a players arms, lifting him off his feet and then driving him into the ground on his head is dangerous, illegal and gutless. Had you been in the rooms to see the state Ogden was in, perhaps you would change your thinking. The cat scans were because he was knocked unconscious for several minutes and he vomited continuosly in the ambulance on the way to Melbourne - precautionary!!!! you bet!!!!. The league needs to make a stand here. The AFL have, and quite rightly have shown these tackles have no place in our game.
Kyabram will be asking the league to enforce the rules so that players who perform these tackles are carded and dealt with. The point that I make is that the player who showed courage to go and get the ball was not protected. The umpires have alot to answer for here.
I'm certain all gvfl big footy followers would support me here.
What would the posts be if he broke his neck?

Seen the free press photo, and it looked fine to me, you keep going on about pinning his arms, sorry but isnt that the perfect tackle, haven't all your coaches told you to pin a players arms when tackling, and when faced with being tackled haven't you also been told to lift your arms so they can't pin your arms.
Kyabrams President came out in the paper and said there was nothing in the incident.
If anything the photo shows it as not being as bad as the Trengove tackle as Ogden still has the ball and all the tackler seems to be doing is finishing the tackle off by taking him to the ground, I bet if Dirty had one of the Ky players lay the tackle he would have highlighted it as being something that he wanted to see more of.
Sometimes shit happens out on the field and people get hurt inside the rules of the game.

Jaggo. Just a couple of points I want to make before I move on. 1. I actually agree with you - if a player does what you said, then yes he should be penalised, but I didn't see it that way. I stand to be corrected though if I'm wrong, but it's a subjective game. 2. I'm a Ky supporter and dont want to see our players hurt, especially to that extent, but as Hank said sometimes they do. 3. Take the emotion and the injury out and judge the act itself in isolation. The same tackle could be applied to someone else next week and the damage won't be anything like that of Ogden. Again if it's outside the laws of the game then rub him out. You ask if the posts would be different if he'd broken his neck. What would your post be if he'd got up and played the rest of the game unhurt? You just cant take the resultant injury into account. I didn't see too much of a problem with the tackle, nor did the president and other commuittee members, you obviously did - we saw it differently and have different opinions. Fair enough

Seen the free press photo, and it looked fine to me, you keep going on about pinning his arms, sorry but isnt that the perfect tackle, haven't all your coaches told you to pin a players arms when tackling, and when faced with being tackled haven't you also been told to lift your arms so they can't pin your arms.
Kyabrams President came out in the paper and said there was nothing in the incident.
If anything the photo shows it as not being as bad as the Trengove tackle as Ogden still has the ball and all the tackler seems to be doing is finishing the tackle off by taking him to the ground, I bet if Dirty had one of the Ky players lay the tackle he would have highlighted it as being something that he wanted to see more of.
Sometimes shit happens out on the field and people get hurt inside the rules of the game.
You drop kick. nothing wrong with pinning the arms, its when you lift the player from the ground and then put them on their head that is the issue.
Injuries are part of our game but for you to say this is within the rules is disappointing. The possible damage to the head and spine cannot be dismissed. If shit happens hopefully it never occurs to you!!

Jaggo. Just a couple of points I want to make before I move on. 1. I actually agree with you - if a player does what you said, then yes he should be penalised, but I didn't see it that way. I stand to be corrected though if I'm wrong, but it's a subjective game. 2. I'm a Ky supporter and dont want to see our players hurt, especially to that extent, but as Hank said sometimes they do. 3. Take the emotion and the injury out and judge the act itself in isolation. The same tackle could be applied to someone else next week and the damage won't be anything like that of Ogden. Again if it's outside the laws of the game then rub him out. You ask if the posts would be different if he'd broken his neck. What would your post be if he'd got up and played the rest of the game unhurt? You just cant take the resultant injury into account. I didn't see too much of a problem with the tackle, nor did the president and other commuittee members, you obviously did - we saw it differently and have different opinions. Fair enough
First point , you mighn't have seen it that way but for a player to be knocked unconscious from his head hitting the ground when his arms are pinned is afact. Secondly and i repeat... the tackle is illegal in our game... no emotion here its purely player safety. As i said injuries are part and parcel of our game BUT there is no place for tackles such as these. The AFL and NRL deem these to be the most serious of offences eg Trengrove.MY post wouldn't be any different had he played on... they are dangerous and illegal and players who perform these tackles should be carded. I can assure you that the president and the board will be taking it to the league, not for any action on the player involed but to ensure that in future the umpires enforce the rules correctly.
If you cant see any thing wrong with a pinned player being driven head first into the ground i look forward to seeing you firstly having the courage to go and get a hard ball and then wearing a tackle such as this that puts you in hospital for the weekend and out of the game for an indefinate period. These were the consequences of what you say was an OK tackle???? Amazing!!!

You drop kick. nothing wrong with pinning the arms, its when you lift the player from the ground and then put them on their head that is the issue.
Injuries are part of our game but for you to say this is within the rules is disappointing. The possible damage to the head and spine cannot be dismissed. If shit happens hopefully it never occurs to you!!

Been knocked out countless times, AC Joint through arms being pinned in a tackle and driven into the ground and not being able to protect myself, on every occasion the opposing player has never been reported.
If he was lifted up and dropped on his head as you are saying then yes I agree that is not on, but from the photo in the free mess I couldnt see that happening. If he has broken his collarbone I would say from my CSI skills that his shoulder was the first thing to hit the ground and take most of the force, then his head which meant he was knocked out and in a bad way.

You seen the tackle though and I'm only going on a photo, so best I leave it to the people who actually seen it.

Been knocked out countless times, AC Joint through arms being pinned in a tackle and driven into the ground and not being able to protect myself, on every occasion the opposing player has never been reported.
If he was lifted up and dropped on his head as you are saying then yes I agree that is not on, but from the photo in the free mess I couldnt see that happening. If he has broken his collarbone I would say from my CSI skills that his shoulder was the first thing to hit the ground and take most of the force, then his head which meant he was knocked out and in a bad way.

You seen the tackle though and I'm only going on a photo, so best I leave it to the people who actually seen it.
Your situation only reinforces my point.... these tackles are dangerous and illegal.
Thursday's Shepp news - JR Ryan :Here, Here, its time to act.

My tips for this round:
Mooroopna 50pts v Benalla
Mansfield 24pts v Seymour
Echuca 35pts v Kyabram
Rochester 48pts v Euroa
Tatura 18pts v Shep Swans
Shep United 30pts v Shep Bears
:D

half time scores...Benalla winning by 1pt; Rochester winning by 22pts, Tatura winning by :D 91pts :eek:, Mansfield up by a few goals.

So Mooroopna and Benalla was the closest game today..Cats by 39pts....and I thought the GV was going to be a ripper close comp this year....maybe it is starting to open up a bit now after 6 rounds....