GRFL Season 2013

It wasn't howden on holidays it was the wakool official who walked the umps off the ground he saw the whole thing gave evidence to the investigator was waiting on the phone for the tribunal to call him but weren't allowed because of a stupid rule..

Different people have different versions. Don't get me wrong, no one should ever touch an umpire, but this was a bit of carry on after a controversial decision cost Nully a game, with the umpires maybe using this to deflect the situation away from what happened towards the end. If the NFC believed what was claimed, Doran would not be sitting on the match committee now. But they believed his word (and don't forget Doran has won a league identity award), and the word of the witnesses, that at no stage did Doran 'push' (or purposely touch) umpire Howden. It has been dealt with, move on. Interesting times ahead with the final 4 not yet set.

I agree move on but your wrong about the decision that was one they actually got right...for a change

How flattering are Kirkland's numbers??? 54 goals in 10 games looks amazing on paper but against the other top 4 teams he's had a combined 3 goals in 3 games. Definitely not a good enough return for the $$$

[qdon't ="danielkerr, post: 29125092, member: 24961"]How flattering are Kirkland's numbers??? 54 goals in 10 games looks amazing on paper but against the other top 4 teams he's had a combined 3 goals in 3 games. Definitely not a good enough return for the $$$[/quote]
I dont think he played against ultima so he has kicked 3 goals against the top side and 4th side in 2 games??

[qdon't ="danielkerr, post: 29125092, member: 24961"]How flattering are Kirkland's numbers??? 54 goals in 10 games looks amazing on paper but against the other top 4 teams he's had a combined 3 goals in 3 games. Definitely not a good enough return for the $$$
I dont think he played against ultima so he has kicked 3 goals against the top side and 4th side in 2 games??[/quote]
Wouldn't that be a positive for wakool that he hasn't contributed much to beating Nullawil and Ultima and they have still won they have added another goalkicker to their team in Chris Hunt who his a gun he kicked 5 on the weekend

I know what you mean some teams get a dream run and the others get shafted something shocking its close to cheating
I have watched a fair bit of LVFL footy and reckon the umpiring there can be between pretty ordinary and blatant cheating (when you hear an umpire bemoaning having to umpire a certain team before the game and how much he enjoys watching them lose sets a poor starting point for professionalism).
I see a few of GR games a year and have no allegiance to any team, in fact there is one team in particular that I despise from back in Southern Mallee days - Nully.
Despite this genuine and deep dislike, I can say that I have seen them get absolutely crucified on several occasions with some of the most disgraceful displays of whistleblowing I've ever seen, leaving me shaking my head and genuinely feeling aggrieved for the maroons. (For me to feel sorry for them (Nully) is akin to me shedding tears if Collingwood loses a grand final - hell freezing over time).
On these days I could seriously understand how frustrations get to ridiculous level (whilst you never condone umpire contact geez you could understand if someone did).
THis umpiring standard also leads to player tempers getting high and instances where serious injury can occur from a lack of blatant free kicks being paid esp head high, in the back etc.
Umpires have a huge responsibility to be custodians of the game, it is a bloody hard job but they are getting paid to be there to fulfil a role. Is it too much to ask for genuine neutrality, understanding of the game and an interpretation of the rules that is consistent for BOTH teams?
There is a respect for the umpires round and it is important that we acknowledge the job they do but it is time some of these blokes showed some respect for the game and earnt the respect of Joe Public.
Then we can enjoy teams fighting an even game and (usually) the best team will prevail.

I have watched a fair bit of LVFL footy and reckon the umpiring there can be between pretty ordinary and blatant cheating (when you hear an umpire bemoaning having to umpire a certain team before the game and how much he enjoys watching them lose sets a poor starting point for professionalism).
I see a few of GR games a year and have no allegiance to any team, in fact there is one team in particular that I despise from back in Southern Mallee days - Nully.
Despite this genuine and deep dislike, I can say that I have seen them get absolutely crucified on several occasions with some of the most disgraceful displays of whistleblowing I've ever seen, leaving me shaking my head and genuinely feeling aggrieved for the maroons. (For me to feel sorry for them (Nully) is akin to me shedding tears if Collingwood loses a grand final - hell freezing over time).
On these days I could seriously understand how frustrations get to ridiculous level (whilst you never condone umpire contact geez you could understand if someone did).
THis umpiring standard also leads to player tempers getting high and instances where serious injury can occur from a lack of blatant free kicks being paid esp head high, in the back etc.
Umpires have a huge responsibility to be custodians of the game, it is a bloody hard job but they are getting paid to be there to fulfil a role. Is it too much to ask for genuine neutrality, understanding of the game and an interpretation of the rules that is consistent for BOTH teams?
There is a respect for the umpires round and it is important that we acknowledge the job they do but it is time some of these blokes showed some respect for the game and earnt the respect of Joe Public.
Then we can enjoy teams fighting an even game and (usually) the best team will prevail.
Very well said i agree with everything you said the way its going it will turn players away from the league the board needs to make their presence felt i haven't seen one board member at any of our games this year there is no leadership at the top and if they aren't careful the league could descend in to a rabble.

Obviously you do not know the league representative or maybe not at your game I have seen them at quite a few games this year and I can tell you they are concerned about the game as much as you are

This is probably the the most intelligent post I have ever read on big footy...
Saw the worst performance from the oldest umpire in the GRFL on Saturday at Moulamein i can honestly say he gave them 5 goals he took over the game from the junior umpires and made the game about him not about the players the best umpire we have had is Johnny Doyle he lets the game flow but pays free kicks when they are there im not sure what the answer is maybe video the game and then play it back to them to show them how bad they are or maybe send it on to a higher level because we may not see the best team win on Grand Final Day if these umpires in the GRFL dont check there egos out before they take the field.

All we footy fans ask is that the game is umpired fairly - i.e. the rules consistently applied for both teams out there without bias.
Sadly this seems to be a concept that is out of date, having watched a few AFL games lately that had some absolute shockers of decisions, I just wonder how incompetent some umpires are at the highest level - what hope do we have in bush leagues.

Lots of umpire bashing on here at the moment, it might be time that push forward some of there own members forward to do the job as they seem to think its so easy. Some new faces in the umpires camp would be a good thing, with reward going to the umpires that are doing a good job?

I agree lets just get back to the footy which should see the GRFL have a fascinating finals series.

Finals time - best time of year when the sun is out, the grass is freshly mown - love it...oh crap just saw the weather forecast for the weekend - another day of watching footy through a foggy windscreen or standing by a 44 gallon drum fire... Go hard fellas, enjoy the winter conditions - makes for good old fashioned hard at the footy contests !! Delicious :)

Wow with Ultima getting up on the weekend I can't wait to see some finals action. Anyone got some tips for us, whose going to win that? What about a league medal?

G/F between nully/who ever wins between ultima and wakool this w/e
League medal top 5
J Blair
D Watts
L O'tool
B Jones
A Kiegaldie

Nully Wakool play each other this weekend, and will then front up again in the second semi? Do we believe that winning form is good form and both teams will have a fair dinkum crack or do we think that they will hold their cards close to their chests? Do both teams rest a few or not? Whats everyone's opinions?
Top 3 for the league medal would have to be out of Baker, Kielgardie and O'Toole in my opinion? In what order though has me stuffed!

Nully Wakool play each other this weekend, and will then front up again in the second semi? Do we believe that winning form is good form and both teams will have a fair dinkum crack or do we think that they will hold their cards close to their chests? Do both teams rest a few or not? Whats everyone's opinions?
Top 3 for the league medal would have to be out of Baker, Kielgardie and O'Toole in my opinion? In what order though has me stuffed!
If i was them id play my cards close too their chest maybe rest a few as long is its not a belting no harm done should be a great finals series, i would put Ben Jones from Wakool in the mix for the Hunt medal.

does anybody know when the last time both wandella and murrabit
missed finals?
well done to quamby on making it got to be honest i didnt think they
would make it great effort by them.

Any truth to the rumour that Ryan Petzke was named on the team sheet for Ultima on the weekend but was a no show at the game, meaning he did not play his 3 games to qualify for finals? This may not be true but is word on the street.

GRFL Season 2013