Guerra's hit on Dal Santo

I'm not a huge fan of Guerra he's not as hard at the ball as I would like.... but the hit on Dal Santo was fine.... Dal Santo brought the contact on himself by taking two more steps than was needed.... but he made sure he disposed of the ball well (courageous act) and took the full force of a bump.

Feet off the ground argument.
Any player about to hip and shoulder always raises their lead leg and usually the back leg too... this is not an aggressive act, this is a defensive mechanism to protect their torso by tightening it up.. it also means less head clashes and less leg, in particular knee, clashes.

The hit itself was fine, if the umpire deemed it late (which I don't think it was)then award the down field free. That's it!

The cowardly argument.
This is bloody rediculous. The player sees an opportunity to make another player pay for his bad positioning by giving him a bump. The player also knows if he does something legal or not he's going to cop it from anywhere up to 18 blokes. It is not cowardly to lay the bump, it is cowardly not to!
Any of you see Matthews talking about smashing Bruns, he knew straight after they'll be coming! Was it cowardly or stupid.... I would say stupid!

If Guerra goes for this then chuck the whole bump out the window once and for all and make people tackle with their arms... yeah lets add to more ball-ups, more dislocated shoulders, week timid play because no one knows what they can do.

Can anyone explain to me how their was no footage of the aftermath! Guerra got his punishment the old fashioned way and that should be it!

If we're going to go down the track of being a pack of marshmellows pretty boys soon the only thing people that don't follow the game will think of it as a game for softies! (putting it as nicely as possible).

What will be next, no jumping for marks because people have to back into packs and somebody could get seriously hurt.

I'm not asking to bring back king hits and racial abuse just leave the friggin rules alone!

AFL wake up to yourselves and don't ruin the game.

Saints fans look at the bigger picture and quit the sooking.

dmc333 said:
Offered 2 :thumbsdown:
Liz Ellis has taken bigger hits.

Your joking.:eek:

Absolutely pathetic. :mad:

If anyone sets up a rebel AFL league that incorporates the physicality that was once a feature of our game, let me know because I would much rather watch that. Demetriou should not be allowed to ruin the game like this. It's bloody criminal.

Disgraceful decision! Great bump as far as i was concerned.

Decisions like this validate the reasons why i no longer have any interest in AFL footy outside my club. Used to watch at 'least' 3-4 other games of a weekend. Now i am lucky to watch 1.

The game is a joke.

As a saints fan, i thought it was a fair bump. I love hard footy like that. It is a sad state of affairs that in footy that now means 2 weeks.

What a joke.

The AFL has bent over and said, "Here you go Soccer, we've just been keeping Australia warm for you for 100 years". Seriously, Demetriou is obviously from a soccer-mad family, and is driving the game into the ground with pussy rulings like this.

That bump was good to watch, well executed, Dal Santo wasn't too badly hurt, and i dunno how he is supposed to pull up and stop in a split second, he was obviously going to tackle but dal santo disposed of it so he didn't have much choice but to hit him, and instead of being a girl like everyone else, he decided to make him earn the kick and cops 2 weeks. What a pathetically soft sport we are creating

OneEyedHawk said:
Embarrassing for the game that he's been offered 2 weeks. No doubt Hawthorn will challenge, and lose, again.

too right. guerra gets 2, fletcher the weak dog doesnt get cited. What about baker as well for sniping hodge behind the play, a joke.

cussernaut said:
too right. guerra gets 2, fletcher the weak dog doesnt get cited. What about baker as well for sniping hodge behind the play, a joke.

Hodge sniped him first, a fact even the TV guys acknowledged .

Stop sooking. :rolleyes:

garth p said:
Hodge sniped him first, a fact even the TV guys acknowledged .

Stop sooking. :rolleyes:

yeah fair enough, i never saw that part. Baker should be cited anyway for being an annoying ferrit, blokes like him shouldnt be allowed to play afl.

I don't know why people are going on about whether he had left the ground or not. If you look at the Giansiracusa incident he was clearly in the air at the time of the hit but no-one in their right mind (apart from those of us at the game who were a little emotional :eek:) would suggest that he did anything wrong.

Having looked at the Guerra incident both at the game and on replay I think he's unlucky to get suspended but at the same time I can't understand why people are talking it up so much. The best part of our game is when you have two committed players running at the ball and doing everything they can to win it. Seeing players like Riewoldt, Bartel and Brown run back with the flight of the ball to take a mark. That's courage. As is running with the football and concerning yourself with finding a teammate without fear of what is coming in front of you and then getting up straight after a big hit as Dal Santo did. As far as I'm concerned all Guerra did was try and hurt a player when he wasn't protected. I wouldn't have suspended him but I think the incident spoke volumes for where both players are at.

BTW when you look at Jeff Farmer run at a player with an elbow and connect with his jaw and get one week, and then see Paul Williams get the same amount of activation points for an attempted trip, you do have to wonder what is going on with our great game.

You are (or at least you used to be) allowed to hit a bloke, not tackle, when he had just disposed of the ball. If Guerrera had gone a tackle it wouldn't have been a problem. I'm sick of this, footy used to be good.

Its the only highlight worth watching from that massacre....but a good one....its got everything !!!

One of the games gun midfielders gets shirtfronted by one of the AFL's strongest hip n shoulder ...who was a team-mate last season....but not before he delivers the perfect pass to his forward....absolute class and guts knowing u are about to get murdered.
THEN
Regulation dust up...Guerra's obviously been whacked but there's no footage of it anywhere ....huh ???....lol...it mysteriously went missing.

No fines for "melee's" ?...how does that stupid offence work ?
A few guys having some "fun" but no fines for wrestling either ?

Normally it would come under the banner of "and a good time was had by all".....but the AFL's tribunal system has managed to stuff it up with a poor decision instead of just LETTING IT BE AND STAY OUT OF IT !!!!

Evryone was fine...Dal Santo isnt in hospital...it was good footy...what we want to seeee !

The "culprit" even got the whack he deserved...it got sorted out on the field....evrything's sweet isnt it ??

I reckon they'll appeal it and he'll get off.

Bollox said:
Evryone was fine...Dal Santo isnt in hospital...it was good footy...what we want to seeee !

I'm not gonna say Guerra deserved suspension cause I don't think so.... but the way your thinking leads to is that someone needs to end up in hospital in order for the AFL to step in the mess. Come on... :cool:

bluejay said:
I'm not gonna say Guerra deserved suspension cause I don't think so.... but the way your thinking leads to is that someone needs to end up in hospital in order for the AFL to step in the mess. Come on... :cool:
That is and always has been football. It is what has set the couragous midfielders like Dal Santo, Skilton, Matthews, Paul Kelly, Tony Shaw etc from the rest. The AFL is ruining the game by taking out the bump and in effect making the game non-contact. We can watch other sports if we like no contact:rolleyes:

150 + years of hard hitting tradition down the drain because of 3 peoples agenda's! Thanks Vlad, Anderson and Schwab!
Rugby League fans now have every right to call the game arial ping pong:thumbsu:

Guerra's hit on Dal Santo