• 11 games in Western Sydney? Name change to Western Sydney

Votes: 57 27.0%
  • Merge with a Vic club?

Votes: 9 4.3%
  • Just be patient?

Votes: 98 46.4%

Would still look better than the ugly current jumper they wear ( enormous G on a slant)

The early history of Australian Football shows that AFCs chose simple and powerful colours and motifs.
Royal blue, reds, maroon, black and gold.
Royals, cardinals, demons, blood-stained- angels, bulldogs, lions, tigers, gorillas. etc
Then sharks, panthers, eagles, hawks etc
The original designs had little detail. Powerful clubs had just a monogram -
Carlton, Claremont, Subiaco, Western Sydney, Fitzroy, South Melbourne, South Adelaide, Sturt, etc.

Never has there been such an insipid design as yours - save that for soccer.

View attachment 2096737

I'll meet everyone halfway
  • Keep the colours
  • Traditional design
  • 'Homebush giants'
If no improvement, then merge/or move to Canberra

What do you count as improvement?

Half of their Sydney games this year have been record crowds against respective opposition.

Canberra doesn't want sloppy seconds. We want a fresh team.

What do you count as improvement?

Half of their Sydney games this year have been record crowds against respective opposition.

Canberra doesn't want sloppy seconds. We want a fresh team.
Ideally I think we'd all prefer if there weren't anymore relocations, but I'd support a relocated side under the right (or wrong depending on how you look at it) circumstances.

I just don't see how the Giants relocating here would benefit anybody, or, what Canberra would actually be inheriting other than the license. No offence to Giants fans (not having a go, just telling it like it is), but they haven't existed long enough for their brand and history to be particularly valuable, their fanbase in Sydney is negligible in real terms, and, for the most part, would be more likely to either give up on the AFL or swap to the Swans over supporting a Giants side that's based in Canberra fulltime IMO.

The Giants were always a long term investment that was unlikely to show significant results for at least a couple decades anyway, so declaring them a failure at this point is silly. They simply haven't been given enough time to build. But if the worst were to happen, and they were to fail and be forced to relocate to Canberra (or anywhere else), you'd likely be better off going for a fresh start and completely rebranding the club at this point.

This is the brochure that the AFL put out about GWS in the early days, I'm guessing circa 2009?

It was sold to us as a Greater Western Sydney team. What a crock that has turned out to be.

(I've had to upload each of the 9 pages as individual files).

Attachments

• 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    728 KB · Views: 24
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    759.7 KB · Views: 23
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    736.5 KB · Views: 22
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    688.7 KB · Views: 22
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 22
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    572.5 KB · Views: 23
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    867.9 KB · Views: 22
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    306.2 KB · Views: 20
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    180.1 KB · Views: 16
View attachment 2096946

I'll meet halfway
  • Keep the colours/logo
  • Traditional design
  • 'Homebush giants'
if no improvement, merge/relocate
Even people from Homebush don't want to be associated with Homebush lol.

If you were going to change the Giants name, and I'm not necessarily saying they should BTW, the only sensible options would be 'Western Sydney Giants' or maybe 'Western Suburbs Giants'. Anything else would be likely to alienate people.

Western Sydney is a big place and tribal place. If you choose to represent a specific part of it the people from the other suburbs and regions will refuse to support it. Obviously I'm generalising, but as a general rule people from Parramatta, Penrith, and Macarthur will all support a 'Western Sydney team', but people from Penrith and Macarthur wouldn't be caught dead supporting a 'Parramatta team'.

Sydney Giants.

IMO the swans are powerful enough to let go of the "Sydney" monopoly.
Someone maybe able to confirm/correct, but I understand that Sydney Swans have the AFL rights on the name Sydney, and hence our club can’t use Sydney Giants even if we want to?

At a member connect meeting a couple of years ago, when our Chairman was mooting playing a couple of big games at the SCG, our CEO was talking about building up the brand GIANTS rather than GWS

A lot of bad and unfocused ideas in this thread, but Homebush Giants has to take the cake lol.

No one would expand a national level sport in Melbourne and call a team the Sunshine Whatevers. Suburb names have no value unless they have a ton of history and therefore cultural relevancy/normalcy. You literally cannot buy or market that.

A lot of bad and unfocused ideas in this thread, but Homebush Giants has to take the cake lol.

No one would expand a national level sport in Melbourne and call a team the Sunshine Whatevers. Suburb names have no value unless they have a ton of history and therefore cultural relevancy/normalcy. You literally cannot buy or market that.
well just call them 'Sydney' then

In the case of Homebush, the issue is also the nature of the suburb.

Homebush is a mix of rail yards, old warehouses, old factories, and soulless identical apartment blocks.

Picture the first thing that comes to mind when you read the phrase "generic seven-storey apartment block".

Okay, now Imagine a whole street of them.

Now imagine the next street and the next street looks exactly the same.

Congratulations, you just imagined Homebush.

Technically, the Olympic precinct isn't actually in Homebush.

The old Olympic Village? Yeah, that's Newington.

The place where they put up generic apartment blocks on the good side of the Olympic precinct with Parramatta River views? That's Wentworth Point.

Many of the people who live there would say they live 'near Olympic Park' or 'near Strathfield' or ' near Burwood' rather than 'in Homebush'.

It doesn't even really have that tough blue collar suburb vibe about it. It's not aspirational. The suburb name can't stand in for a region of the metropolitan area.

Honestly, I'd take Sunshine as the name of a footy club over Homebush any day of the week.

At least the name Sunshine invokes the image of a team of rough-as-guts factory workers and dole bludgers who won't be scared to land a bump or lay a tackle on the footy field, before mugging you in the car park for ciggies after the game.

Whereas the name Homebush invokes the image of a team of players who live in a dodgy apartment block covered in combustible cladding, with a beautiful view of a rusty warehouse or rail yard, who drive to more interesting suburbs on weekends and pretend to live somewhere else.

Nothing wrong with Western Sydney Giants or West Sydney Giants. When the team is mentioned in the media the word Sydney must be in there, along with West or Western, you know, to remind d people that they are from that part of Sydney. Half the people in Western Sydney would not prick up their ears when they hear GWS or even Giants. Minimal change for maximum brand recognition.

If Homebush is a dump,

Stadium Australia is soulless and poorly designed dump that was biased towards rectangular configuration.
It could have been made into a decent oval, but time has long past.

is there a chance of finding a new facility in a different area ?

if you knew anything about Sydney you wouldn't have asked that question.

Nothing wrong with Western Sydney Giants or West Sydney Giants.

Why limit to Western Sydney ? Homebush is in the geographical centre of Sydney.
Sydney Giants would attract people from all over Sydney that's why the Swans wont allow that a.t.m.

When the team is mentioned in the media the word Sydney must be in there,

absolutely !

along with West or Western, you know, to remind d people that they are from that part of Sydney.

No. Central Sydney Giants would be more correct.
That is the heart of Sydney - new logo- a heart.

Half the people in Western Sydney would not prick up their ears when they hear GWS or even Giants.

Again, hyperbole from you. The operative word is GIANTS - that's what the media uses and what people hear.

Minimal change for maximum brand recognition.

Maximum brand recognition is Sydney Giants - anything else dilutes the brand.

GWS is the AFL's biggest problem - not North, GC, or Tassie