Colonial
Premium Gold
- Apr 12, 2012
- AFL Club
- GWS
Sorry mate think you are mixed up. Its Briggs that has been killing it the last 9 weeks.Christ he must be injured. He was playing incredible footy
He (Wicks) applies general pressure while Clarke tags a specific player. When that player is off the field Clarke will be too.
so who does Calrke take this week? whitfield, who really hurts you with his delivery or Ash who kills you with his speed. He couldn't keep up with Ash. Idon will get Heeney at some stage I should think.Not Wicks' role. He applies general pressure while Clarke tags a specific player. When that player is off the field Clarke will be too.
Oooops I got Fynn mixed up with BriggsUmmm Flynn is an emergency.
He will not play on Greene. He plays in the forward line. So I do not see your point. He could not play on Greene anyway as Greene would kick 10 on him.Everyone complaining that we don't have a plan for Greene, now we bring in Clamps and everyone complains!
That's because he can't catch them. He is as slow as a turtleHis tackle numbers are down iirc.
There's not a massive gap with Ash, but Whitfield is higher in R50s, metres gained, intercepts. So when he's down back he has to be the one to lock down on (via Clarke).Just had a look on who Clarke lined up on when we've played GWS in recent times;
RD 7 2023 Whitfield
RD 20 2022 Cumming and then on HH when HH went back 2H. (Whitfield played but was coming back from a two week break and had little influence).
RD 1 2022 DNP
EF 2022 DNP
RD 18 2021 DNP
RD 5 2021 DNP
RD 12 2020 DNP
RD 20 2019 Whitfield
In the games where Clarke DNP, Wicks was in the team.
In none of the games above did they both play.
Clarke might have been a terrible option as a sub, but I can certainly see why he and Wicks are both playing this week.
As Kiama Chris said above;
GWS ranks 2nd in the comp in R50s and it's a key part of their game.
There is little difference between us and GWS in contested possessions, clearances, marks I50 but they have slightly more intercepts and uncontested possessions, but for them it primarily starts in the D50. They can overuse the ball coming out and they are 2nd in handballs league wide (averaging nearly 20 more than us per game).
Pressure the Giants across the ground and don't give them time and space and release the Chad and Errol show.
He was wonderful in the first. Some of his decision making was elite. I can't wait to see him have a full AFL seasonRoberts was on limited minutes and probably played just two thirds of the game. The only full quarter he played was the first where he had 16 possessions and distributed the ball with great skill.
rider did not disgrace himself either.That's how it looked. He was in very good shape for 3 quarters. Mind you, Warner and Stephens were OK too and Cleary looked up to VFL standard against that mob.
Haynes also. Ash and Whitfield won't be given lockdown roles, so you'd think we'll actively send Clarke to one and they'll put the other "on" Hayward or Wicks.Answering who will play on our smalls
Perryman, Idon, Ash & Whitfield
All the best for the game.
A big derby only helps the sport in Sydney.
Hopefully hard and good with no injuries.
If Hayward goes to Ash then who gets to have Haynes? Hayward always plays well on HaynesThere's not a massive gap with Ash, but Whitfield is higher in R50s, metres gained, intercepts. So when he's down back he has to be the one to lock down on (via Clarke).
Hayward could try and make Ash accountable.
Yes I realised that after. I always get them mixed up. They basically started together.Sorry mate think you are mixed up. Its Briggs that has been killing it the last 9 weeks.
whatever mate. Was just thanking the fans and hoping for a good game.it's easy to have a sell out there. capacity of 27,000
I agree about the negative tactics. Horse needs to leave Paul Roos tactics at home. Footy has moved on and the putting one back tactic rarely works these days because as soon as you do the opponents start to exploit your lack of players at the fall of the ball. The Extra t the ball means the mids tire well before they should especially as we are not at peak fitness anyway.IMO we are not anywhere near consistent enough across the park to have so many players in negative roles. I feel like it will backfire. We are short of winners in the team this year.
Will be all swans , greater waste of space have about 5000 that gowhatever mate. Was just thanking the fans and hoping for a good game.
I think you guys will win easily. Home deck. Best form in 2-3 years. Clearances. Big word that and we have a small amount of wins in that area. I was not having a go at you just the fact that the govt has no plans to expand the stadium. It could easily expand to 35,000-40,000 which would be wonderful for our games. After all we now have 66,000 members and i would think you have 33,000 and growing.whatever mate. Was just thanking the fans and hoping for a good game.
What sort of beer , i hear there is a new one up there called Scallop Lager , no potato's used in the makingWon't be cold.
Sydney is now in October.
Weatherwise.
I'm off to the beach in 10mins. Live about a min away.
Then back for an arvo beer.
Actually, GWs have 33,000 members and they do go to games. but due to them playing in two venues instead of one it is difficult to maintain good crowd numbers. Their ground only holds 27,000 and Manuka only 16,000. The NSw govt needs to expand the Giants Stadium to at least 35,000 within the next 5 years. It is overdue.Will be all swans , greater waste of space have about 5000 that go
A choice of about 30 beers I should think. Boutique, VB, Tooheys, Reichs & many more. They also have a choice of food stalls that is the best of any footy ground in AusWhat sort of beer , i hear there is a new one up there called Scallop Lager , no potato's used in the making
I Was replying to Donza who said he was going for a beer !A choice of about 30 beers I should think. Boutique, VB, Tooheys, Reichs & many more. They also have a choice of food stalls that is the best of any footy ground in Aus
To be fair, sometimes the coaches have no choice. For example, if the boys are gasses towards the end of a quarter, putting one behind the ball to stem the bleeding can be the only option. Likewise an extra at the contest if we're getting smashed there. But I do agree that negative moves like this shouldn't be routine and only as a last resort.I agree about the negative tactics. Horse needs to leave Paul Roos tactics at home. Footy has moved on and the putting one back tactic rarely works these days because as soon as you do the opponents start to exploit your lack of players at the fall of the ball. The Extra t the ball means the mids tire well before they should especially as we are not at peak fitness anyway.
How many grounds have you been toA choice of about 30 beers I should think. Boutique, VB, Tooheys, Reichs & many more. They also have a choice of food stalls that is the best of any footy ground in Aus