AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Read list of Eddie’s gaffes you may learn something, though I doubt it. Now what about Ed’s gaffe re disabled coin tosser....sorry another thread.Yeah, assumed that would go over your head
This is starting to feel like more of a Lumumba-Buckley issue...
Nobody should be surprised by Collingwood's systemic racism, nor by Lumumba's disappointment at the club leaders.
Eddie McGuire's true colours were laid bare during Collingwood vs Sydney race row in 2013.
This sequence of events below sums up McGuire's principles and priorities.
May 24th, 2013
Collingwood President Eddie McGuire immediately sought out Goodes in the change rooms following the match...
"I went in to ask Adam what happened, and he told me [someone called him an 'ape']... I just apologised to him. I wanted to look him in the eye and let him know that we don't stand for this. This club doesn't stand for it, the football world doesn't stand for it... We are just absolutely devastated that someone would say something like that. We will be taking every step. Everyone knows the rules at Collingwood: if you racially vilify anybody, it's zero tolerance; you're out. Hopefully the police have got the person. They should be absolutely ashamed of themselves."
May 29th, 2013
Darcy: What a great promo that is for King Kong.
McGuire: Get Adam Goodes down for it do you reckon?
Darcy: No I wouldn't have thought so, absolutely not.
McGuire: You can see them doing that can't you?
Darcy: Who?
McGuire: Goodsey.
Darcy: What's that?
McGuire: You know with the ape thing, the whole thing, I'm just saying the pumping him up and mucking around and all that sort of stuff.
With one poorly conceived gag, Eddie literally undid every bit of spin he had weaved over the previous weekend. What was Goodesy now supposed to think of McGuire's after-match apology and offer of support, when the moment things had died down and Eddie was back behind the mic at the Triple M boys club, he started making jokes about King Kong? Unbelievable...
Of course, McGuire knew he'd f**ked things up royally and made an absolute arse of himself, so he immediately called a press conference to "unreservedly apologise to Adam Goodes", before making excuses and saying "it was a slip of the tongue" and "I was zoned out and tired"... But he denied he was racist.
McGuire's half-arsed apology and gobbledygook didn't sit well with most people. He was lampooned on social media that afternoon.
Some more spin was required. So he appeared on 360' that evening to make his position clearer.
Eddie on 360: "I'm not trying to look for excuses. Did I racially vilify? No, I had a slip of the tongue. But did what I say, was it racial vilification? Yes it was. The question that I took at the press conference today - and I don't want to get into semantics because I think I've been as open as I can on this - was did you racially vilify? And the answer was no and I stand by that. Does that mean that there was an act of inadvertent vilification of somebody? Then yes there was and for that I will apologise and I will do anything at all. There's no ducking on this; I'm not trying to be semantic."
So Eddie admitted it was indeed racial vilification. But was it he who racially vilified Goodes? No. And he stands by that.
The racial vilification came out of his mouth. McGuire racially vilified Goodes. Fact.
McGuire's twisted version of events: "There was an act of inadvertent vilification of somebody"
McGuire apologises for this & says he will "do anything", that he's not "ducking" nor trying to be "semantic"
So what about McGuire's strong words to Adam Goodes after the match?
Everyone knows the rules at Collingwood: if you racially vilify anybody, it's zero tolerance; you're out.
McGuire knew the rules. He made them. He should've immediately resigned.
Here's what he said on 360 about that....
McGuire said on Wednesday evening that he will talk to the board of Collingwood about whether he should stand down. "I'll work it out with other people tomorrow; I've just got to get through today to be honest... And if that's appropriate and if that's symbolic, if that makes a difference, then I will. I have no problem with that. And I'd have no problem if Triple M said have a spell, if Fox Footy said we don't want you to be the face of footy this weekend, maybe have a spell, then I would happily do that and I'd cop that blemish on my impeccable record in that regard to make the point."
That's McGuire being a strong principled leader and taking personal responsibilty for racially vilifying Adam Goodes. The very day he made a joke about King Kong and apologised to Goodes (for the 2nd time in a week), he then bullshitted about stepping aside as Collingwood Prez (what about his own rule?) He said "Yeah I'll do it if people want a symbolic act" (wow, that's really taking responsibility) and then he bitterly spoke about "copping that blemish to his impeccable record" (poor poor Eddie... what a guy...)
Just a few days later....
"You and Horse have f**king ruined my career," an enraged McGuire said to then Swans chairman Richard Colless at an AFL club bosses meeting in Canberra in May 2013, just days after Eddie had unreservedly apologised for jokingly likening Goodes to King Kong.
(2015 article)
McGuire said Colless had told him prior to the Swans’ press conference that he would make sure that everyone knew the Collingwood’s president’s work with the indigenous community. McGuire said the Swans boss’s failure to do so led to the confrontation.
“I was still coming to grips with being totally misrepresented and I had spoken to Richard and he said ‘yeah I’ll make sure that everyone knows your history on indigenous relations’, I am the chairman of the Michael Long foundation; I helped establish the Barrawarn program; I started a foundation for homeless people, and a fair number are in houses tonight, and a fair amount are indigenous Australians. I am doing this stuff every day of the week, it’s not like a ‘let’s have a round for this’. So, you’ve got all that in your head, then Richard told me, there’d be a fair putting across ... but hey look it wasn’t about me, it was about making the point in Adam’s situation."
See, it's not about Eddie. It's about Goodesy...
Richard Colless and John Longmire supported their player by calling a press conference the week after he had been racially vilified by a Collingwood fan and racially vilified by the Collingwood President. During that press conference, when asked about Eddie's racist joke, Colless said "Eddie will have to live with his comments". This triggered McGuire. He thought the Swans should've been telling everyone about how fantastic he was and listing his personal accomplishments. So he confronted them a few days later and lashed out at them for "ruining his career".
Eddie sounded so sorry.... for himself.
July 16th, 2016
McGuire blames painkillers for Goodes gaffe
Eddie McGuire says he "was on heavy-duty painkillers" when he said Adam Goodes should be used to promote the musical King Kong in 2013.www.abc.net.au
"I haven't really said this before, but I was on massive painkillers and crutches for an infection in my knee," McGuire said.
"I was on heavy-duty painkillers, antibiotics and steroids."
^^^^
That's how "sorry" McGuire really was. That's him taking some more personal responsibility for his racist jokes.
McGuire's priority has always been to get in front of every story; to control the narrative and portray himself & his footy club in the best way possible to media and potential sponsors. He's a spiv. The master of spin. An oily media manipulator who thinks only about his interests and just pays lip service to everyone else's interests.
It's funny to hear him speak as though he is the pillar of decency and civility. He invented The Footy Show, for f**k's sake... the televised AFL blokey boys club of male toxicity and "F*** you" non-PC humour. People always associate Sam Newman as the main man, but it was Eddie who owned that show. That's how he made all of his coin. He made Sammy a star. Before TFS, Eddie was just a Channel 10 sports reporter.
We all know McGuire never really gave a sh*t about Lumumba's concerns over endemic racism within their club. Him & Bucks thought Harry was nothing more than a trouble-making pain in the arse who embarrassed them by airing their dirty laundry to the media. That's why they railroaded him out of there. But I see McGuire is now offering meaningless olive branches to Lumumba and speaking about getting him back to the club... What a campaigner. It's too late for that, you POS
I didn't think being traded to Melbourne would be so devastating for the artist.Of course it is. Its clear as day. The refusal to blame Mick, or the captain for the majority of his playing career or any of the players. Brings it up to Bucks when he was coach and it stops immediately.
He has a clear vendetta against Buckley. Nothing will make him happy other than Buckley and Eddie both resigning. A public apology won't do a thing.
So Eddie and Bucks are the victims here?Of course it is. Its clear as day. The refusal to blame Mick, or the captain for the majority of his playing career or any of the players. Brings it up to Bucks when he was coach and it stops immediately.
He has a clear vendetta against Buckley. Nothing will make him happy other than Buckley and Eddie both resigning. A public apology won't do a thing.
More Collingwood victims oh dear.What a load of hyperbole. Do you have a life??
Shall we go into good old Jeff's gaffes and history of actually destroying people's lives?
Throwing tens of thousands out of their jobs and causing them to lose their homes.
Your president has backed ED on more occasions than not through his career as he knows the scrutiny public figures receive. He must a racist too for agreeing with a racist.
Your list forgot to mention EDs berating of a St Kilda fan who was slinging offensive and racial slurs at Andrew krakeour. It also forgot to mention the work ed and Collingwood have done working with all sections of society.
I wish ED would not have his fingers in so many things but that does not mean he should be wished to hung by Collingwood haters like yourself as you have nothing better to do.
Whatever happened to the 13 YEAR OLD GIRL the mob like you went after and wanted destroyed??
The 13 year old girl splattered all over the media and treated like a witch by the media and some over dramatic Collingwood haters like yourself itching to get a story to hate Collingwood even that little bit more.
More Collingwood victims oh dear.
Just have an opinion of my own, which is something Pies supporters don’t have. They appear to blindly follow their President which is why he still has a job.Your most searched word with the filter restrictions ON is Collingwood.
I think you are obsessed
Or perhaps you are lonely??
A smiley face back. See loneliness doesn't have to foreverYour most searched word with the filter restrictions ON is Collingwood.
I think you are obsessed
Or perhaps you are lonely??
And that's why we're all racists too and we steal babies. Loneliness doesn't have to be forever BBC. Maybe seek some inspiration to keep moving forward, maybe from a wise man, say Heretier Lumumba even.Just have an opinion of my own, which is something Pies supporters don’t have. They appear to blindly follow their President which is why he still has a job.
You have seen the light.....to bad you didn’t listen to him when he tried to tell you.And that's why we're all racists too and we steal babies. Loneliness doesn't have to be forever BBC. Maybe seek some inspiration to keep moving forward, maybe from a wise man, say Heretier Lumumba even.
If only you could let people in and join me, let the artist formerly known as guide you.You have seen the light.....
Come on this is a serious thread.If only you could let people in and join me, let the artist formerly known as guide you.
Don't be sadCome on this is a serious thread.
What a load of hyperbole. Do you have a life??
Shall we go into good old Jeff's gaffes and history of actually destroying people's lives?
Throwing tens of thousands out of their jobs and causing them to lose their homes.
Your president has backed ED on more occasions than not through his career as he knows the scrutiny public figures receive. He must a racist too for agreeing with a racist.
Your list forgot to mention EDs berating of a St Kilda fan who was slinging offensive and racial slurs at Andrew krakeour. It also forgot to mention the work ed and Collingwood have done working with all sections of society.
I wish ED would not have his fingers in so many things but that does not mean he should be wished to hung by Collingwood haters like yourself as you have nothing better to do.
Whatever happened to the 13 YEAR OLD GIRL the mob like you went after and wanted destroyed??
The 13 year old girl splattered all over the media and treated like a witch by the media and some over dramatic Collingwood haters like yourself itching to get a story to hate Collingwood even that little bit more.
They would have had to buy a new mattress with all the bed wettingCan you imagine if Ed said this....
AFL 2019: Jeff Kennett’s ‘new arrivals’ comments strike a nerve with AFL media fraternity
Kennett’s security staff comments called out as being ‘totally out of line’www.foxsports.com.au
No hyperbole needed, mateWhat a load of hyperbole.
Obviously not. Why else would I be arguing with flogs on Big Footy?Do you have a life??
What's that gotta do with Collingwood's systemic racism and their enablers in leadership roles? Why deflect?Shall we go into good old Jeff's gaffes and history of actually destroying people's lives? Throwing tens of thousands out of their jobs and causing them to lose their homes. Your president has backed ED on more occasions than not through his career as he knows the scrutiny public figures receive. He must a racist too for agreeing with a racist
Ha! I'm glad you brought this up. Your take on that incident is 100% wrong. Sucked in by Eddie, the oily media manipulator. He tried to spin it his way and bully the Saints fan using the traditional media, but he was caught out lying by folks on the new social media and he had to furiously back-pedal. I remember reading all about it on here as it all unfolded. Funny shit, that was.Your list forgot to mention EDs berating of a St Kilda fan who was slinging offensive and racial slurs at Andrew krakeour.
Stop crying, would ya?It also forgot to mention the work ed and Collingwood have done working with all sections of society.
Wow, you really don't have a life. You do know you can leave your house now.No hyperbole needed, mate
I added in a few of my own comments, but the direct quotes from McGuire speak for themselves.
Obviously not. Why else would I be arguing with flogs on Big Footy?
What's that gotta do with Collingwood's systemic racism and their enablers in leadership roles? Why deflect?
I didn't vote for Jeff, and I don't condone anything he says or does. To put bluntly, I think Jeff Kennett is a f**king a-hole. So now what? Now that you can see I'm not a mindless moronic footy fan who blindly supports his club president, are you going to admit that Eddie McGuire is a f**king a-hole?
As for Kennett sticking up for Ed, that's what friends do. That doesn't make a person racist by association... You idiot.
He never endorsed Eddie's King Kong jokes. Even a tosser like Jeff knew that was beyond the pale.
Ha! I'm glad you brought this up. Your take on that incident is 100% wrong. Sucked in by Eddie, the oily media manipulator, but. He tried to spin it his way and bully the Saints fan using the traditional media, but he was caught out lying by folks on the new social media and he had to furiously back-pedal. I remember reading all about it on here as it all unfolded. Funny sh*t, that was.
To recap:
Andrew Krakouer had served time in a WA jail for kicking a bloke in the head.
Collingwood gave him his second chance for the 2011 season.
So... June 5, 2011... Collingwood v St Kilda at the MCG, Saturday night, big crowd, first meeting since the 2010 Grand Finals and only one year after the Milne/Malthouse rapist incident, so there was a bit of spice & emotion. Many people were on the sauce, it being a Saturday night.
Eddie was shown on TV going off at a Saints who was sitting on level 2 of the MCC members, just metres away from Eddie and all the Magpie V.I.P.'s
After the game, Eddie told all his mates in the media that a Saints fan had racially-abused Krakouer
He got written up in the Herald Sun as the hero who stood up to racism
The only problem is that people already knew what was said thanks to Luke Holmesby posting on Twitter
The Saints fan never said anything the slightest bit racist. He made a few good sledges about Krakouer's criminal past.
Krakouer went to ground and Sam Gilbert was penalised.
The Saints smart-arse shouted "Turn it up, umpire! Did he use his "Get Out Of Jail Free" card for that one?!?!"
Then he shouted, "Kick him while he's down, Sam, he'd do the same to you"
Eddie was fired up, lost his temper and made an arse of himself... and then he lied about it later to make himself look good.
It was covered in real time in this thread. Page 5 of this thread is where the cat is let out of the bag
Eddie having words with someone in the crowd
you don't need proof to call someone a rapist, you just need not to be wrong when it comes to defamation. It's not about just being wrong, it's about having a defence. If you don't have a defence it's high risk. Your defences to defamation are: Truth, honest opinion, consent, privledge, fair...www.bigfooty.com
The worst part of it is how McGuire continued to lie about it and spin the story, even after he was caught out.
He couldn't just admit he misheard, overreacted and acted like a dill. He claimed the remarks were "borderline racist"...
What a Knob.
He brought up this incident again two years later when defending himself over the King Kong joke
All it really illustrates is that he's completely shameless and he'll go to any lengths to make himself look good
Stop crying, would ya?
You remind me of that "Leave Britney alone!" guy from years ago
LEAVE EDDIE ALONE!!!!
So Eddie and Bucks are the victims here?
Yes really.
I am white. If someone calls me monkey boy or chimp it doesn't bother me in the slightest, as there is no centuries of mocking, hatred and subservience.
To a man of colour it is totally offensive.
Pretty simple.
Krakouer went to ground and Sam Gilbert was penalised.
The Saints smart-arse shouted "Turn it up, umpire! Did he use his "Get Out Of Jail Free" card for that one?!?!"
Then he shouted, "Kick him while he's down, Sam, he'd do the same to you"
Eddie was fired up, lost his temper and made an arse of himself... and then he lied about it later to make himself look good.
Can you imagine if Ed said this....
AFL 2019: Jeff Kennett’s ‘new arrivals’ comments strike a nerve with AFL media fraternity
Kennett’s security staff comments called out as being ‘totally out of line’www.foxsports.com.au
Its not really that simple.
Big defenders are often called gorillas. If we now only call white defenders gorillas and non white defenders something else then we are introducing a racial division where one previously didnt exist.
So do we now stop using a term which didnt have racist conotations ?