Play Nice Héritier Lumumba blasts Collingwood's racist treatment of him during his career (Civil discussion please)

So let me get this straight-

Lumumba brought the issue to the attention of the club (8 years in- which understanding a bit about racism and discrimination- might have taken a while to feel confident (unsure if right word) enough he could bring it up- so time no issue)

Once made aware of nickname-mediation with club, which I understand Buckley was a part of- the name calling stops. Club then seemingly has made a fair effort to change culture and according to them are a very different organisation (will have to take their word- yet, this seems to have been a league wide improvement).

Lumumba's form turns downward- he moves to Melbourne- seems amicable- B&F speech- while strange was glowing in praise of teh club, its culture and Buckley

Goes to Dees- form gets worse- Muhamed Ali grieving- while I can't understand it myself- accept it could be genuine.

Retires due to concussion??

Lumumba then releases documentary- I watched it and really felt for the guy- heartbreaking background stories- family-abandonment, suicide, racism etc

Now a few years later he's obviously still hurt- and again- I understand this to be normal.

I'm still unsure what he actually wants- as its seems from what he has said- acknowledgment of racist nickname and cultural change - has actually happened.

Can anyone help me out? Have I missed Lumumba's end goal?

The AFL and the clubs- I reckon have done a good job in helping to change cultures around sexism and racism- granted still a way to go- but change doenst come easily, nor necessarily quickly.
You forgot about his devastating hurt at not meeting bArack Obama

My son is half Asian. He's browner than white fellas but not black. Not once at school and only once on the footy field in a combined total of about 300 games of both RL and AFL was he racially targeted. A kid on field (AFL) called him; "an Asian c*nt". A team mate overheard and told the coach. The coach told an official and the official approached me and asked if I wanted to take action?

I said NO, I don't want to make an issue of it. My boy isnt a victim despite what the kid called him. Theres nothing wrong with being Asian, and if I made a complaint about it, id be reinforcing that there WAS something wrong with being Asian. He was kicking their asses anyway, and the boy was frustrated.

The point is, racism is an image of self. Theres nothing wrong with being White, Black or Asian. It seems to me a lot of the stuff going on is making people feel LESS by saying they should feel bad because of the racial identity they were born with.

There really isnt much racial division in Australia till all this crap was imported here by our media, created by corporate media, and concocted by the most wealthy/powerful ruling class in the world. Its easier to rule a divided people.
This sort of sensible practical reality sits uncomfortably with warriors.

Nobody should be surprised by Collingwood's systemic racism, nor by Lumumba's disappointment at the club leaders.

Eddie McGuire's true colours were laid bare during Collingwood vs Sydney race row in 2013.

This sequence of events below sums up McGuire's principles and priorities.

May 24th, 2013

hqdefault.jpg

Collingwood President Eddie McGuire immediately sought out Goodes in the change rooms following the match...

"I went in to ask Adam what happened, and he told me [someone called him an 'ape']... I just apologised to him. I wanted to look him in the eye and let him know that we don't stand for this. This club doesn't stand for it, the football world doesn't stand for it... We are just absolutely devastated that someone would say something like that. We will be taking every step. Everyone knows the rules at Collingwood: if you racially vilify anybody, it's zero tolerance; you're out. Hopefully the police have got the person. They should be absolutely ashamed of themselves."

May 29th, 2013

Darcy: What a great promo that is for King Kong.
McGuire: Get Adam Goodes down for it do you reckon?
Darcy: No I wouldn't have thought so, absolutely not.

McGuire: You can see them doing that can't you?
Darcy: Who?
McGuire: Goodsey.
Darcy: What's that?
McGuire: You know with the ape thing, the whole thing, I'm just saying the pumping him up and mucking around and all that sort of stuff.

With one poorly conceived gag, Eddie literally undid every bit of spin he had weaved over the previous weekend. What was Goodesy now supposed to think of McGuire's after-match apology and offer of support, when the moment things had died down and Eddie was back behind the mic at the Triple M boys club, he started making jokes about King Kong? Unbelievable...

16x9_large

Of course, McGuire knew he'd f**ked things up royally and made an absolute arse of himself, so he immediately called a press conference to "unreservedly apologise to Adam Goodes", before making excuses and saying "it was a slip of the tongue" and "I was zoned out and tired"... But he denied he was racist.

4721692-16x9-xlarge.jpg

McGuire's half-arsed apology and gobbledygook didn't sit well with most people. He was lampooned on social media that afternoon.
Some more spin was required. So he appeared on 360' that evening to make his position clearer.

Eddie on 360: "I'm not trying to look for excuses. Did I racially vilify? No, I had a slip of the tongue. But did what I say, was it racial vilification? Yes it was. The question that I took at the press conference today - and I don't want to get into semantics because I think I've been as open as I can on this - was did you racially vilify? And the answer was no and I stand by that. Does that mean that there was an act of inadvertent vilification of somebody? Then yes there was and for that I will apologise and I will do anything at all. There's no ducking on this; I'm not trying to be semantic."

So Eddie admitted it was indeed racial vilification. But was it he who racially vilified Goodes? No. And he stands by that.
The racial vilification came out of his mouth. McGuire racially vilified Goodes. Fact.

McGuire's twisted version of events: "There was an act of inadvertent vilification of somebody" :oops:

McGuire apologises for this & says he will "do anything", that he's not "ducking" nor trying to be "semantic" :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

So what about McGuire's strong words to Adam Goodes after the match?
Everyone knows the rules at Collingwood: if you racially vilify anybody, it's zero tolerance; you're out.

McGuire knew the rules. He made them. He should've immediately resigned.

Here's what he said on 360 about that....

McGuire said on Wednesday evening that he will talk to the board of Collingwood about whether he should stand down. "I'll work it out with other people tomorrow; I've just got to get through today to be honest... And if that's appropriate and if that's symbolic, if that makes a difference, then I will. I have no problem with that. And I'd have no problem if Triple M said have a spell, if Fox Footy said we don't want you to be the face of footy this weekend, maybe have a spell, then I would happily do that and I'd cop that blemish on my impeccable record in that regard to make the point."

That's McGuire being a strong principled leader and taking personal responsibilty for racially vilifying Adam Goodes. The very day he made a joke about King Kong and apologised to Goodes (for the 2nd time in a week), he then bullshitted about stepping aside as Collingwood Prez (what about his own rule?) He said "Yeah I'll do it if people want a symbolic act" (wow, that's really taking responsibility) and then he bitterly spoke about "copping that blemish to his impeccable record" (poor poor Eddie... what a guy...)

Just a few days later....

"You and Horse have f**king ruined my career,"
an enraged McGuire said to then Swans chairman Richard Colless at an AFL club bosses meeting in Canberra in May 2013, just days after Eddie had unreservedly apologised for jokingly likening Goodes to King Kong.

(2015 article)

McGuire said Colless had told him prior to the Swans’ press conference that he would make sure that everyone knew the Collingwood’s president’s work with the indigenous community. McGuire said the Swans boss’s failure to do so led to the confrontation.

I was still coming to grips with being totally misrepresented and I had spoken to Richard and he said ‘yeah I’ll make sure that everyone knows your history on indigenous relations’, I am the chairman of the Michael Long foundation; I helped establish the Barrawarn program; I started a foundation for homeless people, and a fair number are in houses tonight, and a fair amount are indigenous Australians. I am doing this stuff every day of the week, it’s not like a ‘let’s have a round for this’. So, you’ve got all that in your head, then Richard told me, there’d be a fair putting across ... but hey look it wasn’t about me, it was about making the point in Adam’s situation."

See, it's not about Eddie. It's about Goodesy... :rolleyes:

Richard Colless and John Longmire supported their player by calling a press conference the week after he had been racially vilified by a Collingwood fan and racially vilified by the Collingwood President. During that press conference, when asked about Eddie's racist joke, Colless said "Eddie will have to live with his comments". This triggered McGuire. He thought the Swans should've been telling everyone about how fantastic he was and listing his personal accomplishments. So he confronted them a few days later and lashed out at them for "ruining his career".

Eddie sounded so sorry.... for himself.

July 16th, 2016

"I haven't really said this before, but I was on massive painkillers and crutches for an infection in my knee," McGuire said.
"I was on heavy-duty painkillers, antibiotics and steroids."

^^^^
That's how "sorry" McGuire really was. That's him taking some more personal responsibility for his racist jokes.

McGuire's priority has always been to get in front of every story; to control the narrative and portray himself & his footy club in the best way possible to media and potential sponsors. He's a spiv. The master of spin. An oily media manipulator who thinks only about his interests and just pays lip service to everyone else's interests.

It's funny to hear him speak as though he is the pillar of decency and civility. He invented The Footy Show, for f**k's sake... the televised AFL blokey boys club of male toxicity and "F*** you" non-PC humour. People always associate Sam Newman as the main man, but it was Eddie who owned that show. That's how he made all of his coin. He made Sammy a star. Before TFS, Eddie was just a Channel 10 sports reporter.

We all know McGuire never really gave a sh*t about Lumumba's concerns over endemic racism within their club. Him & Bucks thought Harry was nothing more than a trouble-making pain in the arse who embarrassed them by airing their dirty laundry to the media. That's why they railroaded him out of there. But I see McGuire is now offering meaningless olive branches to Lumumba and speaking about getting him back to the club... What a campaigner. It's too late for that, you POS

Brilliant post. I was obviously unhappy as a Collingwood supporter, by Eddie’s racist comments against Goodes but if you look at the above timeline of events, he was never genuine in his apology. Everytime he tried to address it, he was still adamant that he did not racially vilify Goodes. He learnt nothing from Goodes reaction to the 13 year old incident and preceding days press conference, where Goodes addressed the incident to the media. The bullshit excuses from Eddie, “slip of the tongue”, I meant the opposite what I was say”, “I was tired”, “I was on painkillers”, just proves he refuses to properly own up to his mistake. And he obviously lied about the zero tolerance policy at Collingwood. I’m truely staggered that he wasn’t made to resign. We all know the Collingwood board is handpicked by Eddie, and full of Eddie yes men, so it pretty clear they would stay quiet. But I can’t believe the AFL choose to look the other way. No sanction what so ever? Not even a mandatory counseling/ training course on racism.

Mandatory training course on racism run by whom?

Maybe start with conducting it by those effected not those who haven't.

Recently attended a course on Aboriginal history conducted by the local Aboriginal centre, this session included information that was not taught (but should have been) in schools. It was very good.

Maybe start with conducting it by those effected not those who haven't.

Recently attended a course on Aboriginal history conducted by the local Aboriginal centre, this session included information that was not taught (but should have been) in schools. It was very good.
[/QUOTEm

So maybe Peter Daicos or Andrew krakeour?

Who suffered racist abuse at the hands of saints fans. Daicos especially. Or are his views not valid ?

QUOTE="Black white, post: 65589947, member: 180915"]
Nicky Winmar would be ok, bit then again you fools not listen the first time around.
[/QUOTE]
Peter Daicos, same time , received even more abuse.

'So maybe Peter Daicos or Andrew krakeour?

Who suffered racist abuse at the hands of saints fans. Daicos especially. Or are his views not valid ?'

Yes mate some things are bigger than the club you support, would include Eddie Betts and Adam Goodes as well as worthwhile contributors who would be good to actually listen to. Above cheap shots as well.

Sure, maybe Travis cloke and some white guys that received abuse too.

Maybe the 13 year old girl !!!! That the mob could say a few words if her mental health is okay too

Sure, maybe Travis cloke and some white guys that received abuse too.

Maybe the 13 year old girl !!!! That the mob could say a few words if her mental health is okay too
"

Look over there look over there, fairly lame way to address a debate

To come to the boundary line and hear a 13-year-old girl call me an 'ape', and it's not the first time on a footy field that I've been referred to as a 'monkey' or an 'ape', it was shattering."

"
'I don't put any blame on her'

‘But it’s not her fault, she’s 13, she’s still so innocent, I don’t put any blame on her… it’s what she hears and the environment she’s grown up in.’

Let's bring it back - do you believe racism is an issue?

You have a point of view that seems fairly entrenched, that is fine.

To be honest I believe listening is better than lecturing.

"

Look over there look over there, fairly lame way to address a debate

To come to the boundary line and hear a 13-year-old girl call me an 'ape', and it's not the first time on a footy field that I've been referred to as a 'monkey' or an 'ape', it was shattering."

"
'I don't put any blame on her'

‘But it’s not her fault, she’s 13, she’s still so innocent, I don’t put any blame on her… it’s what she hears and the environment she’s grown up in.’

Let's bring it back - do you believe racism is an issue?

You have a point of view that seems fairly entrenched, that is fine.

To be honest I believe listening is better than lecturing.
Did I blame Goode's?? It was the media and the Collingwood haters, with entrenched views that exploited her. Maybe you were on of them , maybe your weren't.

Best to have a good look at your own club/s before having a go at Collingwood every week. I'm 48 and been to most grounds in Oz and even worked at windy hill when I was a teenager when being a steward was just showing people to their seats. The most racist vile crowd I ever saw at moorabbin, so we each have our stories. We are hated the most, so you all wet your beds on every story. If you want to take as gospel anything the artist formerly known as Harry says good for you. But if you think Collingwood leaders need to attend mandatory racist courses, you better get a lot of deal space for all other clubs. Now I've got get back to watching us get beaten sadly. I hope that cheers you up.

Did I blame Goode's?? It was the media and the Collingwood haters, with entrenched views that exploited her. Maybe you were on of them , maybe your weren't.

Best to have a good look at your own club/s before having a go at Collingwood every week. I'm 48 and been to most grounds in Oz and even worked at windy hill when I was a teenager when being a steward was just showing people to their seats. The most racist vile crowd I ever saw at moorabbin, so we each have our stories. We are hated the most, so you all wet your beds on every story. If you want to take as gospel anything the artist formerly known as Harry says good for you. But if you think Collingwood leaders need to attend mandatory racist courses, you better get a lot of deal space for all other clubs. Now I've got get back to watching us get beaten sadly. I hope that cheers you up.

Why are you attacking other clubs? Tad defensive way of addressing the issue.

I would never excuse racist vile crowds anywhere - it ain't a race to the bottom mate. I might support a club but would not excuse that sort of stuff, stop trying to deflect. As I said not a great way to discuss anything. If this about a St Kilda player being treated this way I'd react the same way.

Close game at the moment and I'm not taking joy in one side winning or not. damn boring game (all games at the moment seem that way)

Should be about improvement, believe all clubs and the AFL need to improve, might be a start by as I said listen not lecture on Heritier

Why are you attacking other clubs? Tad defensive way of addressing the issue.

I would never excuse racist vile crowds anywhere - it ain't a race to the bottom mate. I might support a club but would not excuse that sort of stuff, stop trying to deflect. As I said not a great way to discuss anything. If this about a St Kilda player being treated this way I'd react the same way.

Close game at the moment and I'm not taking joy in one side winning or not. damn boring game (all games at the moment seem that way)

Should be about improvement, believe all clubs and the AFL need to improve, might be a start by as I said listen not lecture on Heritier
Improvement according to whose judgement?

Could be a good start for it to be those effected by racism.

We need to listen not lecture.
Youre so vague on this. I thought you knew what you were talking about.
Lots of criticism no solutions..
Maybe the artist formerly known as can take the new Nicky winmar way and sue Collingwood.

Youre so vague on this. I thought you knew what you were talking about.
Lots of criticism no solutions..
Maybe the artist formerly known as can take the new Nicky winmar way and sue Collingwood.

Cheers mate

Here is the difference, you are lecturing :'Maybe the artist formerly known as can take the new Nicky winmar way and sue Collingwood.'

I have not stated I have the solutions, that is what you are doing and mainly diverting with cheap shots at players.

Believe our job is to not being making value judgements and implement changes from the voices of those effected, and not re invent history with a different narrative.

This issue cant be resolved until he names people. He has smeared everyone who was at the club during that time....except for a couple who are happy to out themselves and support Lumumba.

To back away and refuse to participate in the investigation is p1ssweak....imo

"The civil rights movement has become the civil rights industry".
"My beef with the black left is that they want to keep the focus on what government or Washington or politicians or whites in general can do for blacks, instead of what blacks can do for themselves," Jason Riley, author of Please Stop Helping Us: How Liberals Make it Harder for Blacks to Succeed.

Some folk depend on the industry for their identity and to avoid taking responsibility.

Play Nice Héritier Lumumba blasts Collingwood's racist treatment of him during his career (Civil discussion please)