Hard Decisions

No, people make youthful mistakes at 15-18. By 21-22 you're an adult and meant to understand you live in the real world and there are consequences for your actions and that you need to work for your sucess. The "he'll grow out of it" arguament is a bit of a thin one. Just sayin'.

Still, lets hope he does indeed grow out of it, and finds a way to stay true to himself as he does so. He still could be anything imo.
As good as Cotch and Lids.. but in his own way.

While I would trade Dusty for the right deal, I also agree that he could still be a gun and people writing him off are being premature. Just saying you'd consider trading him doesn't necessarily mean you think his past his use by date.

On the 20-21 thing though - you are completely wrong. Naturally everyone develops at different rates, but plenty of studies have shown the brain doesn't fully develop until the mid 20's (sometimes later).
A National Institutes of Health study proposes that the part of the brain that restrains risky behavior, including reckless driving, and thinking skills is not fully developed until the age of 25.

you think things were ugly with Tambling and Fiora threads?

If we trade Dustin Martin, and he goes on to dominate the game at GWS, we will be rightly seen as flogs of the highest order.

On the Martin "claims":

1) not naive enough to think he's a clean skin, but the club are already on this so I'm happy to let them do their job.

2) most the Martin rumours come from people who have either heard from mates, or people who have seen him drinking at a pub. On the latter, I still remember on poster being up in arms over a player drinking LIGHT beer and had been calling him pissed. One mans couple of brews is another mans pissed. We need some perspective, and need to remember people often see what they want to see (i.e. Martin + amber liquid = off his nut pissed). On the former, most these rumours come from people hearing the same speculation again and again, and it becomes the "where there's smoke" argument. Very rarely do we get any real first hand claims, so we should weight them accordingly.

Again, not saying Martin is a clean skin, but I think half of what is being said is complete guff.

3) You only trade a player like Martin when either you have given up on him, or he has given up on you. Seeing no sign that either is remotely on the radar yet.

No, people make youthful mistakes at 15-18. By 21-22 you're an adult and meant to understand you live in the real world and there are consequences for your actions and that you need to work for your sucess. The "he'll grow out of it" arguament is a bit of a thin one. Just sayin'.

Still, lets hope he does indeed grow out of it, and finds a way to stay true to himself as he does so. He still could be anything imo.
As good as Cotch and Lids.. but in his own way.
If you think people have their stuff together by 21/22 then you really have way too high an expectation on youth. Each person develops differently and has different experiences, for dusty, he had a troubled childhood. The club knew this and have put things in place to help him.

The fact you think its a bit thin means you're out of touch, maybe we throw people lives open like we have here with dusty and see how each of you likes being under the microscope. Where anything he does is magnified 100 times. I don't think any of us here will even know what it is like to have this happen to them.

And to the OP, trading, my god, you are the one on the ice. Nothing substantiated apart from rumours which could of easily come from some drop kick brisbane supporter with an axe to grind.

You think I am being harsh, how about we start holding some of the angels here up the standards they hold footballers up to.

BTW: Astro, this isn't all aimed at you in particular (in fact there are harder posts than yours). But it does get on my goat that we start laying into young adults.

I'm actually 37 (no not old, but getting there), but I don't forget what its like to be younger and have older people cast judgement, I'd be hypocritical to do that now!

Jeeze LC. Don't give up on it just yet, thats one of the best bits about getting older. :)

If we trade Dustin Martin, and he goes on to dominate the game at GWS, we will be rightly seen as flogs of the highest order.

On the Martin "claims":

1) not naive enough to think he's a clean skin, but the club are already on this so I'm happy to let them do their job.

2) most the Martin rumours come from people who have either heard from mates, or people who have seen him drinking at a pub. On the latter, I still remember on poster being up in arms over a player drinking LIGHT beer and had been calling him pissed. One mans couple of brews is another mans pissed. We need some perspective, and need to remember people often see what they want to see (i.e. Martin + amber liquid = off his nut pissed). On the former, most these rumours come from people hearing the same speculation again and again, and it becomes the "where there's smoke" argument. Very rarely do we get any real first hand claims, so we should weight them accordingly.

Again, not saying Martin is a clean skin, but I think half of what is being said is complete guff.

3) You only trade a player like Martin when either you have given up on him, or he has given up on you. Seeing no sign that either is remotely on the radar yet.

I very rarely see a post of yours I don't agree with. You usually save me summing up my thoughts in a thread and I wish more of our supporters were as balanced as you.

Keep it up my man.

i'd hate to loose dusty! i keep thinking of he's 2011 games against the kanga's and the lions when he kicked 5 goals and had 30 odd touches! i just hope he can get his lifestyle right off the field and come out and have a great career at tigerland cause as they say talent can only get you so far!

There are too many old people on this board that just don't get it.

Not sure i get what you mean.

For the record im 48 and hav no problems with Dusty havn a beer and smoke and even the occasional joint to unwind.(moderation is the key)

Talk of trading possibly one of richmonds greats is a joke.

Its clear to me that in general younger people now r far less mature and less developed in life skills and wisdom than in my day but they will probally say the same about generations that come after them.

If he is dabbling in hard drugs like ice i hope he can handle it and doesnt get caught.

Anyone that does try these drugs is a dead set dumb arrse no matter how old.

Even eccys r a no go by me even though they r percieved to b quite harmless by the youth today and eaten like jellybeans.

Yes there is some old fuddy duddys on here but there sure is a number of clueless young c...s as well.:cool:

On the Martin "claims":

God, a bit of sense. Finally!

Dusty doesn't want to leave Richmond and we won't let him go. He will be right, and with the leadership group and captains we have in place now, if he doesn't pull into line, then no one will!

Not fussed either way when it comes to Dusty.Glad to have him but Glad to trade him.
How can you honestly utter those words, "glad to trade him" ?????

I'd be that gutted if he left! I can't wait for him to show why he can be just as good (or even better) than Cotch!

Football is his world, he isn't stupid enough to realize that if he takes a bad path, there's no coming back.

Keep the faith mate!

How can you honestly utter those words, "glad to trade him" ?????

I'd be that gutted if he left! I can't wait for him to show why he can be just as good (or even better) than Cotch!

Football is his world, he isn't stupid enough to realize that if he takes a bad path, there's no coming back.

Keep the faith mate!
Hear what your saying,but i,d be more devastated if we lost Cotch or Lids.Just not so sure on Dusty in terms of on feild performances on weather or not he can take the next step.But like i said i,m not fussed either way.

I love how silly BF gets at times. Anyway, if Dusty loses the plot trade him. But put everything you can into managing him. Get people he can relate to to lead him to a bit of maturity. Why? Becuase he can be a 30 possession and 3-5 goal a game player. He literally could be an A grade mid that wins the goal kicking. That is amazing talent. But he isn't really full AFL fitness and attitude yet. He only has to play at 85% to be A grade. If he ever got Cotch's disease and got the best out of himself he coudl very well be a multiple brownlow medallist. That's why you stick with him. Why you'd trade him is if he really is going off the rails and you could get equivalent value in a trade. Sometimes these things happen. But he is young, immature and will get boofheads and chickybabes hitting on him pumping up his tyres all the time. I've had mates that we clever and capable and pissed it all up against the year until sudenly the penny dropped an they went to uni/or equivalent, and got ahead really fast. Dusty might get it some time, and when he does watch out!! I'd expect the club to be carefully monitoring this and tryign to help him. But hammering him, or trying to egt him to hang around the good citizens won't work most likely. He'll be comfortable with guys like him. Careful thoughtful and patient management of the man will lead to good things - I am quite sue of this.

People tend forget that Dusty is only 21. Who hasn't made mistakes when they were young? It's not like he has been taking hard drugs and been caught or slept with a hooker and had photos released. Dusty will get it together and learn that he will be punished if he ****s up. I bet money that we hear nothing about any sleeping tablets or drinking binges regarding Dusty in the next 5 years.
IF true, then why don't I keep reading about OUR club is concerned about the behaviour or mistakes from Ben Griffiths, David Astbury, Matt Dea .... or why don't I hear anything from other clubs about Jack Trengove, Tom Scully, John Butcher, nathan Fyfe, Mitch Duncan and others from the same draft. Face it ... he ain't your average 21 year old!!!

Well I reckon we convict offenders based on evidence, not hearsay. Love watching Dusty play for us, just a thrill when he bombs one from 60m, or delivers the don't argue. Will keep improving and be a champ.
Axel is a gun who got injured a few times, a real shame for him, and us. But it's our risk to keep him and hope he stays fit and we must take it. Another club would give us jack shit to take the same risk. Dumb trade.

Foley - there are obvious risks but if he can get himself right he might make the difference for us. Very good upside.

Dusty - When the club itself comes out and stating their concern there is something to worry about. Putting player favourites aside, it is in the clubs best interests to act decisively with Dusty. He needs to get his act together 100% this year or we should trade him. waiting for something of fact to come out will be too late, his trade value will be gone. The ball is in Dusty's court, shape up quickly or the club will have no choice.

IF true, then why don't I keep reading about OUR club is concerned about the behaviour or mistakes from Ben Griffiths, David Astbury, Matt Dea .... or why don't I hear anything from other clubs about Jack Trengove, Tom Scully, John Butcher, nathan Fyfe, Mitch Duncan and others from the same draft. Face it ... he ain't your average 21 year old!!!
Your right he is not your average 21 yr old. He is a kid who I think probably had a bit of a tough upbringing and now has money in his pocket. No one is calling him a saint, however, cool down. many of the kids you mentioned have come from far more stable environment and Dusty will learn to handle it. As I have mentioned before on another post, many of the top stars over the years attract trouble. It is in their nature... Personally I don't care as long as he performs. In ten years time if Dusty is a multiple premiership player for the Tigers then who'll care? It will not matter. He will be considered legend in our minds. Many tiger players over the years have had problems. Just recently Ian Stewart was elected our number one recruit from another team of all time. He won a brownlow, premiership and was known/reported to be an absolute drunk... Supposedly had to be locked down on Friday nights before games, otherwise he would be legless. I don't care. shit he could play and so can Dusty. Trade talks are ridiculous at this stage.

Jeez it's a long off season.

What has dusty done exactly? Was late for one training session for having a few drinks and taking a sleeping pill. Outside of footy it wouldn't get a mention at any workplace. The only other story was coming back to the start of his second preseasn a little out of shape, which he hasn't repeated. Any other off field indiscretions? Not a whisper from what I recall.

Seems his worst crime is not backing up his stella second year and people want to hang him for it.

Seriously this speculation about ice etc is unfouded at best, libellous at worst. The kid loves his team mates, has missed 3 games in his career and has verged on elite for parts of it. If a few posters on This forum are representative of how our supporters treat our players then wouldn't blame him for wanting a trade next year and making us regret it everytime he plays. :thumbsdown:
Thank goodness for some logic!

Hard Decisions