Hardwick quits

Just wanted to say congrats to Dimma. He's been simply amazing for the RFC and will go down as one of the all time great Legends of AFL coaching. It was a shock to hear on the radio yesterday morning that he had decided to hang up the magnets but at least he earned the right to go out his way when he wanted, that was probably all he would have wished for.

Three premierships and a heap of finals, taking a big Victorian club from the wilderness to a powerhouse was no easy task but he did it, and I am envious!

He'll be very tough to replace but Richmond is a strong club and knows what it wants and how to get it.

Good Luck Dimma, you were a true adversary and a top bloke with a keen edge. The footy world will be a bit empty without those Mrs Hardwick references.

What an emotionally charged day. Watching the press conference I couldn’t help but feel an overwhelming sense of loss.

I will be eternally grateful to Dimma and the club for turning our then rabble of a club into the success it was to become. Who could have dreamed of 3 premierships back in 2016 - not me. One, yes, but 3? That was beyond my wildest dreams.

Words cannot describe how sad I feel right now. We owe Dimma so much. Go well into the future Dimma and thank you for loving our club as much as we do 🙏

Great post, my story is similar re my sons. I grew up in Melbourne, shifted to Perth but still loved Tigers which sons inherited and thankfully hung on to. They went on with their lives and were living in Switzerland but came back for the day of 2017 flag, great as a Tiger, great as a dad, great that we were all there together.
It will last for ever.
"Eat `em alive"
I ****ing LOVE stories like this!

My favourite Hardwick moment was when Caddy gave away a 50 metre penalty against Port, and the camera goes to the coaches box with Dimma
yelling get out of the ******* way you dumb campaigner
I 😅
This and the “I think we’re going to win” when we were 70pts up over the giants in the 2019 Granny, 5 minutes to go

Umpires, turn it up, tell that to Jack Ginnivan, and Bobby Hill, had their heads nearly pulled off last week, no free kick, Murphy gets hammered across face, v swans, blood everywhere, no free, nothing, umpires do us No favours mate, can tell you that.
Groupie_ please answer this

they get sucked off every week lol

lets see em with Richmond bottom of the free kick ladder umpiring

its all roses when the umpires have you in their mouths every week

Man I'm so flat today. If only we had some real up and coming talent coming through the ranks and our first round pick, then I'd probably be feeling better and would be able to reflect more on what Dimma has accomplished. I can't help but feel as though we're in for a real dark period for the foreseeable future.

Have you not been listening to Dimma for the last decade? Take a leaf out of his book of optimism and you’ll realise it’s not all doom and gloom.

We have loads of top-end talent at the peak of their powers or close to it for many more years. Balta, Baker, Bolton, Rioli, Vlastuin, TT, Hopper, Broad, Lynch, Short, Martin, Graham, … then the sky is the limit for Ryan, Cumberland and Gibcus. And many other young talents like Brown, Banks, Bauer and Campbell haven’t even debuted yet.

Seriously, the pessimism with our list and our future is ridiculous IMO.

Struggled to really think of the best words to say here.
Like many have said, the 2017 Grand Final day was just beyond any hopes of how great seeing a premiership in the flesh could ever be. Was very lucky to have a great position near the Punt Rd goals that day and it still brings a tear to my eyes 6 years on.
Every time I've seen or thought about Dimma since this broke last night I've had that feeling of tears coming on.
Before 2010 I used to say that the next Richmond premiership coach will go down as a legend of the club and Hardwick has surpassed everything I thought that person could be. This era will be talked about for decades.
He has contributed to bringing so much happiness to thousands of fans and I just hope he understands that. I'm sure he does.
Thank you Damien and I hope we get the chance to show our appreciation real soon.
Even though I understand the reasoning I am quite disappointed he won't be coaching on Sunday. I wish we could pack out the G and say thanks.

Anyway, I'm going to watch the 2nd half of the 2017 GWS Prelim :)

Have you not been listening to Dimma for the last decade? Take a leaf out of his book of optimism and you’ll realise it’s not all doom and gloom.

We have loads of top-end talent at the peak of their powers or close to it for many more years. Balta, Baker, Bolton, Rioli, Vlastuin, TT, Hopper, Broad, Lynch, Short, Martin, Graham, … then the sky is the limit for Ryan, Cumberland and Gibcus. And many other young talents like Brown, Banks, Bauer and Campbell haven’t even debuted yet.

Seriously, the pessimism with our list and our future is ridiculous IMO.

Nank, Balta, Baker, Bolton, Rioli, TT, Hopper, Short, Graham and possibly Ross - this is currently our 'core' which will lead the next generation of Richmond.

gibcus and cumberland you could possibly make a case for ending up as A graders, but imo it's a stretch. I have zero faith in Ryan making it, I'm not sure what people see in him. Doubt he even becomes as good as Vickery.

Vlaus, Martin, broad, Lynch, Prestia are all entering the twilight of their careers and/or injury prone. I'm worried about will happen to Dusty as well after this.

The rest of our list is, at this point fodder/highly unlikely to make it. We have no first rounder this year and Tassie is on the horizon. We must absolutely nail every pick from 2024-2026. If we don't, then I don't see us anywhere near it for the next 10 years at least.

Struggled to really think of the best words to say here.
Like many have said, the 2017 Grand Final day was just beyond any hopes of how great seeing a premiership in the flesh could ever be. Was very lucky to have a great position near the Punt Rd goals that day and it still brings a tear to my eyes 6 years on.
Every time I've seen or thought about Dimma since this broke last night I've had that feeling of tears coming on.
Before 2010 I used to say that the next Richmond premiership coach will go down as a legend of the club and Hardwick has surpassed everything I thought that person could be. This era will be talked about for decades.
He has contributed to bringing so much happiness to thousands of fans and I just hope he understands that. I'm sure he does.
Thank you Damien and I hope we get the chance to show our appreciation real soon.
Even though I understand the reasoning I am quite disappointed he won't be coaching on Sunday. I wish we could pack out the G and say thanks.

Anyway, I'm going to watch the 2nd half of the 2017 GWS Prelim :)
I still tear up watching the replay

Umpires, turn it up, tell that to Jack Ginnivan, and Bobby Hill, had their heads nearly pulled off last week, no free kick, Murphy gets hammered across face, v swans, blood everywhere, no free, nothing, umpires do us No favours mate, can tell you that.
Maybe they need to stand up and stop dip duck and diving around the place. Reap what you sow