Preview HARLEY IS BACK! (v Richmond Rd 22)

Scatter

Dec 30, 2008
Geraldton
Fremantle v Richmond

Round 22 – 2.40pm AWST Sunday 20/08/17

When considering on how to write this preview before the start of the season I thought it would be a narrative on how crap Richmond were. Bugger me dead, they are actually playing good footy and a silly chance to win it all. There is still time for the likely melt in finals though.

After we played Richmond earlier this year, all I could think was the preview would be rolling videos of David Mundy icing games.

It was only recently I also realized this is the last game at Subi for us. Whilst many highlight the crap facilities, and admittedly when I first went to the MCG & Etihad a few years back I couldn’t believe how much better it was to watch footy in those stadiums. But Subi holds a lot of memories for me, my best mate in the late 70’s and early 80’s was a Subi supporter and we would often go as 10/11 year olds to an empty stadium to watch them being beaten, sometimes against my team (Claremont). I also have fond memories of some finals and state of origin games attended during that time, as well as playing little league in around 1980 and kicking the footy on the oval after games. I don’t get to many games now as I live in the country, but I did get to the North game this year and got to have a kick with my 12 year old daughter on the oval after the game, which was awesome and a bit circle of life-ish.

Bugger me dead, now Freo decide to release Harley as well for this game!

So a boring last home game in a non-finals year is suddenly quite exciting and highly anticipated.

Summary

We played like crap last week.

Tigers are possibly stuttering late in the season.

Harley is back!

Last 5 times

Who cares? Harley is back!

Points of Interest

1. Harley is back!

2. Nat v Dusty?

3. Harley is back!

4. Will Sean Darcy finally get a Rising Star nod?

5. Harley is back!

6. Harley is back!

Odds

Freo $3.35

Richmond $1.33

Ins/Outs

Expected Ins for Freo – HARLEY!!, Hayden Crozier

Expected Outs – Lachie Neale (sore), Danyle Pearce (old)

Whilst Richmond deserve favouritism, I think we are a sneaky chance to bounce back from last week.

Freo by 1 point (Mundy, no, Harley to kick the winner after the siren)

Attachments

• upload_2017-8-16_12-53-25.png
    upload_2017-8-16_12-53-25.png
    4.2 KB · Views: 11
Just one thing to add:

HARLEY is BACK!!

I hope we can end a few dreams this weekend but Richmond seem to play well here for whatever reason.

I do want to see Dusty try and fend Fyfe off again only to get monstered and done for holding the ball this time.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

darnit......and i thought i was over with sportsbet for the season

Got a feeling Sheridan might get back in to play a role on the ball with Neale and Walters out and Mundy sore or out as well. According to the match report he was one of the best players in the last Peel game playing this sort of role.

Is anyone else scared for Harley? I mean, AFL is a big step up from WAFL. From his WAFL games I saw he didn't seem to get out of a canter.
I'm super happy he's back and proved the doubters wrong, but i'm just scared for him.

Is anyone else scared for Harley? I mean, AFL is a big step up from WAFL. From his WAFL games I saw he didn't seem to get out of a canter.
I'm super happy he's back and proved the doubters wrong, but i'm just scared for him.

I thought he looked OK in the last game. Burnt a few. AFL is a big step up though

He's a pro, and he's talented enough to have an impact without having to blow himself up;as Lyon said he 'tends to regulate himself pretty well'.
Well that's the aim.:cool:
Bloody hard to hold much back when you're a elite competitive athlete and the whips are cracking.
I reckon they've done the work and it'll hold up.

I always thought that Ballas falling over issues was from just running beyond his capacity. Or put a different way, if you are a musician and are subjected by your wife to the Voice and hear the tv from a different room while your doing something more interesting (watching paint dry etc), control issues like pitch/tone and breathing etc is prone to stuffing up when they try to oversing - less is more sometimes.

So with Harley, I presume that through all of this, he should have an awareness of his body and hopefully doesn't try to go beyond his limits. Kind of hard if in your mind, going 105% is what you think 100% is, moreso in the heat of the moment - open goal if I get to the ball first - and easy to overdo a sidstep and stuff that might damage you if done wrong.

Good luck Harley, I'll have a beer (on top of any other "sundry" ones) for every goal you kick - make me drunk please.

Just as long as we're competitive and for god's sake can we knock the Tigers off on our turf for a change.

Good to see Bennell back but I'm not going to have any high expectations in regards to his output. Just having him on the field will hopefully be a lift.

I have a sneaky suspicion we'll raise our game for this one as it's an occasion and it will be good to send Domain off with a win. In saying that, I think the Tigers will be too strong for us here.

Tigers by 20 points is my prediction