Injury Harris Andrews injury updates :(

Dodongo had the same thoughts.

Dodongo isn't questioning the doctors but if Dodongo was a DR in that situation Dodongo would have sent him to hospital for tests straight away. Dodongo realises everyone is different in what they would do.

Especially when they've had many years of training and experience in a very difficult job compared to someone with none of that.

Guys. Seriously. These are trained professionals. "What I would have done..." and "What I reckon..." simply doesn't come into it. You weren't there, you have no evidence, you made no medical assessment of the situation. I'm not saying doctors are holier than thou, but this comes across like taking ill-informed pot shots.

It might sound hurtful, but there are times in life when you have to realise that your opinion simply doesn't count.

Drop it.

Intentional, High and Severe is as bad as it gets.

Cameron is ******.
One can only hope so but the track record of the AFL on this sort of stuff has been soft as butter in recent times. Cameron is a serial offender and broke 18 year old Rhys Matheson's jaw in 2016...he has form and this will probably not even be given any consideration.

This incident has impacted the wider community. I had quite a few people today comment to me about what a grub act it was and that they were hoping Harris would be ok. I’ve also just seen the Archbishop of Brisbane account on Instagram ask people to keep him in their prayers.

There seems to be both a broad condemnation of the act and concern for Harris’s welfare, irrespective of whether the community follows footy or not.

Saw a comment somewhere expected verdict should be 8 weeks and 3 rounds in the ring with Mitch Robinson.
8 weeks isn't long enough, the flog deserves to never play again.

Probably wouldn't put him in a ring with Robbo though, Jezza is a big bloke. :p

Talk of Harris coming back in 3 to 4 weeks. I think we have to put a line through him for the year. Nothing gained bringing him back. Who cares if we win an extra game by having him in the side if its to the detriment of Harris's long term health.

Give him as much time as needed to fully recover and be ready to go in 2019. And if we finish last we get first round draft pick so it's not the end of the World. Not like we haven't finished down the bottom before is it.

What a stupid thing to say!

Having seen the the knock and fall Harris took, common sense says he should've gone for a check-up and tests at the hospital straight away....had he been knocked unconcious off a bike, he'd have been taken to hospital as a precaution by ambulance..

..why was this any different?

I do not have blind faith in doctors. I said in post 24 of the review thread that i thought he should've gone for xrays. My thoughts haven't changed.

..and as it was Harris had to go there later in the night. Perhaps he should've already been there.
Common sense? Your common sense trumps medical expertise?
Ambos are not doctors, that's why they take people to see doctors. He was seen to, by doctors, at the ground.

...and they missed a brain bleed.

That is my opinion on the matter you and others feel differently. Nevertheless the handling of the situation by the club has been talked about on the radio, so I'm not the only one to question it.

You're not a doctor. Your feelings don't override standard practice for dealing with concussions.

Are people suggesting that everyone who has a head knock, should go to hospital? As soon as he showed symptoms of more than mild concussion, he was taken to hospital. If he had gone straight to hospital, they wouldn't have done anything different to what the doctors did at the ground. They don't just rush people in for head scans without symptoms demanding it.

That turd McGuire on 360 mounting an argument for Cameron.
The culture of the game is incredibly toxic in a lot of ways. Dropkicks who seriously assaulted people off the ball for fun back in the day (not to mention whatever they got up to off the field) are considered the arbiters of what's right and wrong. They should be ridiculed rather than having their opinions on this or any other incident taken seriously. I think what the NRL's done shows that you can get a lot of this out of the game (punching, the shoulder charge/the bump) if the league is willing to commit to it. Pissants like Eddie, Derm, Paul Roos and the rest of them will whinge about it for a while, but they know where the money comes from in the end.

I think the point is that with head trauma things can change well after the incident occurs. Perhaps he should've been in hospital for observation, but that's not really how the hospital system works.

Brain bleeds don't necessarily happen instantly. I had a friend have one 28 hours after having scans in hospital.

Certainly, no matter the outcome, he will appeal to downgrade it to careless to reduce the penalty.
His own words in the interview after the gamegame that impossible. He basically admitted he intended to make contact with him. He won't get that downgraded

The culture of the game is incredibly toxic in a lot of ways. Dropkicks who seriously assaulted people off the ball for fun back in the day (not to mention whatever they got up to off the field) are considered the arbiters of what's right and wrong. They should be ridiculed rather than having their opinions on this or any other incident taken seriously. I think what the NRL's done shows that you can get a lot of this out of the game (punching, the shoulder charge/the bump) if the league is willing to commit to it. Pissants like Eddie, Derm, Paul Roos and the rest of them will whinge about it for a while, but they know where the money comes from in the end.

I think the point is that with head trauma things can change well after the incident occurs. Perhaps he should've been in hospital for observation, but that's not really how the hospital system works.
Yep, unfortunately for us the NRL is a lot better administered competition than the AFL at this moment in time.

Still ubiquitous boys club macho bullshit going on.

Injury Harris Andrews injury updates :(