News Hawks keen to re-sign Sewell

HAWTHORN has moved to re-sign Brad Sewell, the tough midfielder who has the option of becoming a restricted free agent at the end of the season.

Sewell, 28, is off contract this year and is the only restricted free agent on the Hawks' list. While players such as Collingwood's Travis Cloke, St Kilda's Brendon Goddard and Mark Jamar (Melbourne) have dominated free-agent headlines, Sewell remains one of the best onballers in the AFL.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawks-keen-to-resign-sewell-20120525-1zadb.html#ixzz1vvRimvns

I know it's poor form to post so soon after the Tiges slaughter ... but ...

I really feel Sewelly is the most expendable of our mids. Given that he isn't blessed with speed, and given that we continue to be so glaringly exposed ... I wouldn't think the situation helps him with negotiations.
Not just this year which hasn't been great, but I think recently he's played more bad games than good, and even fewer great games.

Bad timing to make the post, and to be negotiating.

sewell has been one of my favourite players...has given his all for the brown and gold....instrumental in our success in 2008....but we need to start to rebuild that engine room....if we can trade for a gun midfielder it bodes for our future well....not sure if we can do a deal with GWS/GCS at end of the year....if not sewell one of the old heads must go....

He is already in post footy mode. Making the most of his opportunities in the media, even though he cannot string a sentence together to save himself. Overrated limited player who must be let go or traded. You are shit sewell

KOLOKOTRONIS

Classy comment :thumbsdown:

I know where the shit is in the above post and it ain't Sewelly.

He is already in post footy mode. Making the most of his opportunities in the media, even though he cannot string a sentence together to save himself. Overrated limited player who must be let go or traded. You are shit sewell

KOLOKOTRONIS

You are a deadset flog.

Can't string a sentence together? That's you tiprat.

I've had enough of your character assassinations of our players, this post just says it all.

Piss off.

KOLOKOTRONIS

I know a lot of people like to vent on here after a hawks loss, but even so this is one of the worst comments I've seen :thumbsdown:

KOLOKOTRONIS
Mate what the hell is wrong with you? angry? understatement geez control yourself there is no need to get personal

P.S I see others were as taken aback as i was

Mate what the hell is wrong with you? angry? understatement geez control yourself there is no need to get personal

P.S I see others were as taken aback as i was[/QUOTE

It's his opinion. Let him have it. Not everyone agrees with him but some do.

Would we get more for him if he was taken under free agency or if we traded with a club directly?

P.S I see others were as taken aback as i was[/QUOTE

It's his opinion. Let him have it. Not everyone agrees with him but some do.

Would we get more for him if he was taken under free agency or if we traded with a club directly?

Thats not his opinion mate thats just taking a pot shot at someone because there are no consequences

KOLOKOTRONIS
Poor form :thumbsdown:

On Sewell, to be honest depending on what type of coin he is looking to be on I think we may have no choice but to move him on. I love the guy but we are getting exposed more and more, already have Mitchell and Lewis who can play similar roles to a higher standard and desperately need to start blooding our next generation midfield more. He's starting to look much slower, probably not helped by the whole team being exposed but he has to be the most expendable from our mid group. Can still see him playing a role for a couple years at a team that needs a workhorse midfielder. Just not what we need if the coin is too much. Would much rather see us free up some space, blood the kids and try to get some real quality about us.

Sewell is a tough one because he's slowed down this year, and has often been caught holding the ball or forced into selecting a poor option because he doesn't have the agility & speed to break or evade tackles.
His attack on the ball is still excellent but now that he's no longer able to win us clearances consistently the limitations in other areas of his game are becoming more noticable.

I'm concerned that he should probably be spending less time in the midfield and more in the back or forward half, but his weakness overhead and workmanlike disposal skills would make it hard for him to play up forward as he's never been much of a goalkicker. Perhaps he could be used to tag an opposition small forward when he isn't used on the ball?

Failing that the only other thing I could suggest is if he was used as an "impact player" a bit like Dane Swan, maybe in the role of substitute.

Over rated for sure. Just being honest. Way too slow to tag an opposition small foward, and 2 yrs too late to trade him, unless GWS or GCS want him? Great year to have an extra trade up ur sleeve for some more mid field depth. Bring on one T.Schnieder.

News Hawks keen to re-sign Sewell